BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/14/1999

Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep

Find a Location

Phone: (251) 943-5075Fax: (251) 943-8785View Additional Phone Numbers3781 S McKenzie St, FoleyAL 36535-3755

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/14/1999

BBB has determined that Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
08/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought 2011 Buick regal with 48000miles on had major engine problems after 4 days. 5 more since. It carries two warranties.
I bought this 2011 Buick Regal CLX Nov13 trading in a Chrysler Sebring LXI and an Oldsmobile both running fine,, the third day I had the car the turbo exploded shutting the engine down on a major Highway , we coasted into a rest stop in Mississippi and the car was towed to Gulfport because of a blown up turbo, it was gone a week.
almost a month later it went into the repair shop on site for engine light calling bad sensor witch made the care have no power to move to speed. Three weeks later it happened again and would not crank so it was sent to the Buick dealership in ********* and came back a week later saying all fixed. not 3 weeks later it had to be towed from my home and have a new time and chain in ****** at the Buick dealership. Driving home from the beach and the engine light started blinking and I had no power to step on the gas which slammed the busy Beach traffic to a halt and two cars going off the road top not cause a collision . I was offered two awful cars to replace my stitched leather beautiful Buick and then gave ne a Chrysler 600 and wanted 6000.00 more. I am now paying for the tows and having to get my own rides. They acted like I never traded in two running car's when they looked for a different car.
I have the original warranty that they never gave to me and a Zurich warranty that cost 1719. which I am still paying on. The Zerick warranty said the tow was good for 60000. so thinking it was 6000 while I owned it , that was good. But No it was good only for 13000. miles. As of this moment NO car to drive and had to pay for the tow.
Date Purchase 11/13/2015
VIN *****************

Desired Settlement
I want the total of 14000. back and the trade in coat of my two car's or a car back . With that I can purchase a new car. I called twice this morning with no return call. The stress of all this has put my physical being in distress with this having a large change in my kidney function loss as I am post transplant.
It asked below when I contacted the company and it was first time a month after I bought the car , then the second after the sensor lights kept coming on . The third time Holly (lovely Lady) took me looking a cars within my range that were trash. At this point I see only a refund back to my bank and the money on the trade ins will the right thing as I have been through HELL with this car.Idon't think its unfair to ask this because the car is in the shop again and I yet to know how long.

Business Response
We are presently working with this customer to trade her into a different vehicle. Have been in contact with her and will update the file when we have a resolution.

Thanks,
***** *********
Dealer
Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep

09/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misleading diagnosis and cost of services.
My wife took our 2014 Chrysler Town and Country van in with a loss of power and jering during acceleration. Also has a whistling sound during deacceleration. Diagnosis was this engine had head issues but no recall was put out on this vehicle but warranty was extended to 150,000 miles because of the problem. We were told the head was defective and had to be replaced according to diagnostic codes. The next day we were called and said it wasn't the head it was the #6 sparkplug. The intake was already off the motor in order to do a compression test. We agreed for them to change the plugs since the engine was already apart. They changed the plugs and did a oil change. The cost for changing 6 plugs plus oil change was over $350.00. We were charged for taking the intake off and taking the plugs out, yet this was already done in order to do the compression test. I feel we were very much taken advantage of ,also the service rep, ****** seemed to care less what we thought, we were going to put my Ram truck in the shop right after the van repairs were done but I said I would take my business elsewhere and he said that was fine with him, as if he didn't care if we brought our vehicles to them or not. He actually said he could care less. Both of these vehicles are under warranty. Our van is now performing worse than when we put it in the shop. It will miss hard and rpm will drop around 200 rpm, sitting thru one red light at co rd 20 and the beach express it cut out 23 times. This is my wife's only transportation and it only has 60,000 miles on it. We feel substandard work was done on our vehicle and would like some resolution to this problem. We now have to take it to a different dealer as we feel incompetent in the service reps ability to insure his mechanic exhausted all efforts to fix our car. Also the whistling sound is still there. I hope we hear from someone with regards to this situation soon.

Desired Settlement
We want the car fixed and feel they are responsible for any repairs needed. We took it to them in good faith as a reputable business, but now feel we were given substandard care and now have to go thru the process again. I SKED To SPEZK To THE Service Manager Twice but he was not available either time.

Business Response
We reached out to ********** the day we received the complaint and he was scheduled to come in that week to let us take a look at his vehicle. He did not make the appointment and said he would call to reschedule and we have not heard from him at this point.

We are on standby waiting for him to reschedule.

02/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership is charging for services it did not provide.
On Jan. 23, 2015 I went to Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram car dealership in Foley Al.. I found a vehicle want I was interested in buying. The MSRP on the window sticker was $26,120.00. The dealer had added $1315.00 for additional services bringing the total cost of the vehicle to $27,435.00. The additional items were Mopar mastershield paint sealant and nitrogen for all tires ($895.00) and premium window tint ($420.00). I informed the salesman I was not interested in the additional items but was told the work had already been done and the total cost could not be changed.
I negotiate a sale price based on the fact that the additional services had been done. During the closing no IOU was given because they said the additional services were completed.
The next day I questioned if the tint was on the windows. I took the vehicle to a local tint shop and had the windows checked for tint. The results were that no tint had been applied to the windows. I also learned that if the manufactures window sticker was reapplied after the tint was applied it would damage the tint when the sticker was removed. All the vehicles I looked at on the day I bought the vehicle had the window stickers applied to the window. So none of the vehicles had the tint applied to the vehicles. When I informed the dealership that there was no tint applied to the vehicle and asked for a refund on the cost of the tint I was told they would not refund the money but they would apply the tint if I brought the vehicle back. When I took the vehicle back, I was told that a 3M premium tint would be applied and a warranty would be given. I had already checked with the 3M website and a lifetime warranty came with the tint. After the dealership applied the tint to the car I received no paperwork to even show that the dealership had applied the tint to the vehicle nor did I get any paperwork of any type of warranty.
I was told by the salesman that the Mopar mastershield paint sealant would provide me with an extended warranty on the paint. I was not provided with any paperwork to show that the sealant had been applied or any paperwork extending the warranty. I cannot prove that the sealant was not applied but I did learn that if the sealant was applied that the surface of the vehicle would by very slick my surface is not.
As for the nitrogen in the tires, I cannot prove it was installed. I do know that for the nitrogen to be effective all the air must be removed from the tire only nitrogen put back in. Then I received the vehicle all 4 tires had been over serviced. I believe this was the results of the dealership only adding nitrogen to the tires and not replacing the air.
I believe that I am not the only person that the dealership has told that the additional services had been done to their vehicle resulting in the additional cost being added to the vehicle for services they did not provide.
I would appreciate any help you can provide to ensure that is practice of charging the consumer for services not provided is stopped.
Thank You ******* ********, 7 **** ****** **** ****** ****** Florida XXXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
refund for the services not provided and stopping the practice

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********,Pres.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@gulfcdj.com
I have reviewed Mr. Starlings concerns with both the salesperson and sales manager involved in the transaction. The salesperson involved did incorrectly assume that the window tint had been applied prior to the sale. He is a very experienced salesperson and made a mistake and apologizes for that. Sometimes due to the volume of vehicles delivered to the dealership one may be sold and the product may have to be applied after the delivery. It is rare but does happen. In that case there is no need for an IOU since we just make an appointment to have the product applied.

I did find Mr. ********* Vehicle Owner's Warranty Booklet for the ************ ******* ********** Product in the deal jacket and this should have been completed and given to him at the time of delivery. I am dropping this along with the tint warranty from 3M in the mail today.

I can assure Mr. ******** that the products we sell are applied to the vehicles. It takes two full time technicians to apply the tint and MasterShield and they stay busy all day.

We do apologize for the tint not being applied at the time of delivery and hope the warranty information sent today will give him confidence in the products.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No my car did not have the tint applied at the time of sale. The dealership suggested that this was a onetime mistake. I find that hard to believe since every vehicle I look at had a sticker on the window stating that the tint had been applied to that vehicle. So all the vehicles I looked at was a onetime mistake. I also find it hard to believe that the window sticker was reapplied to the window after the window tint was applied since that would damage the tint when the sticker was removed. And why did the dealership not refund the cost they charged for the tint once the mistake was discovered? I could have had the same 3M tint applied locally for half the cost and received a lifetime warranty. Since the dealership would not refund the cost of the tint and I had to return the vehicle back to the dealership for a service I had already paid for and after seeing the color of the tint applied I found it even harder to believe an experienced salesperson would not know that the tint had not been applied to the vehicle he is selling on a daily basis especially since I questioned the salesperson about the tint.

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased vehicle sales person said noise normal within three weeks vehicle was in the shop. Still having issues sales mgr wont return call
Purchased Aug 2014 noise continued and got worse . On 10/8/14 took vehicle to be inspected was kept over 1month with major internal engine issues to include burning oil. Vehicle was returned to us on 11/08/14. Dealership stated there is a oil consumption issue and testing is needed at a 1qrt low consumption. We returned when this took place on 12/09/14 which determines we are Still having issues with this vehicle. Per the dealership the vehicle needs Pistons now. So now we have issues with a vehicle we just purchased , making payments , keeps going to the shop not to mention the time off from work and the inconvience the dealership has caused. We where lied to and sold this vehicle under false pretenses. . There are Continuos issues with vehicle but was told the 100point inspection was done and the vehicle was in top notch condition . We have contacted the sales manager *** *********, several times which most of the time he will not respond to your call. The last conversation we had was approx 3weeks ago and he was going to check into it and call me back. I have exhausted all efforts with the dealership and plan to take further action. We told *** we where sold a lemon that cost us over $20,000 that was told specifically it was in top notch condition. We also stated even though we where lied to we are willing to buy a new vehicle from a different salesperson within the company and return the current lemon we where sold. We feel it is the right business move the dealership should make. To this date 12/16/14 the sales manager has not bother to be in contact with us. Poor business tactics.

Desired Settlement
Take the over 20,000 dollar lemon back and sell new vehicle to us with a salesman that can be honest!

Business Response
The vehicle that the customer is referring to is a 2012 Chevrolet Equinox sold with 20,818 miles. The repairs on this vehicle are being performed by the local Chevrolet dealer under warranty at no cost to the customer. Although there is no cost for the repairs we do understand the inconvenience and apologize for that.
After speaking with the service manager at the Chevy store on 12/30/14 he informed us that they were performing an oil consumption test on the vehicle to determine if the use of oil is considered excessive.
The consumption test has started on 12/9/14 and at that time was showing 1/2 quart low. According to the service manager GM wants to document the rate of oil consumption and then will make any repairs needed under warranty at that time. All repairs will be made with mew GM parts and have a full factory warranty.
According to *** **********, he did speak with Mrs **** about trading vehicles and she indicated that she was not flexible on payments. At this time it would not be possible to trade and keep the payments the same with the negative equity from a 2010 Malibu that was traded on the Equinox.
My recommendation is to let the Chevrolet dealer perform the consumption test and to make any repairs if needed under the factory warranty.

08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/04/1996Business started: 01/01/1974
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2000, AL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. David Blanchard (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used cars sales.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Used Car Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep

3781 S McKenzie St

Foley, AL 36535-3755

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3781 S McKenzie St 

    Foley, AL 36535-3755(800) 677-3325
    (251) 943-5075
    Fax: (251) 943-8785

  • PO Box 790 

    Foley, AL 36536-0790

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gulf Chrysler Dodge Jeep is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 677-3325
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Car Tips
Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.