BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa

Phone: (205) 345-8040Fax: (205) 391-0802View Additional Phone Numbers4301 Greensboro Ave, TuscaloosaAL 35405-3613 Send email to Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosahttp://carlockdeals.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hasn't paid off trade in as of yet and it has been 29 days.
I traded in my 2014 toyota camry to Carlock Mazda in Tuscaloosa Alabama on September 12, 2014 for a 2015 Mazda3. They asked for a 10 day payoff and stated they would pay off my trade in within 14-15 business days and informed me to cancel my auto payment for my car payment due on September 16, 2014 because it was figured into my total payoff. I paid $29 to do that. Now it is October 11, 2014 and I have a late payment, late fees, and another payment due coming up on October 16, 2014. They have failed to pay off my trade in as of yet and they have already recieved the check from the bank that financed me on September 26, 2014 and are holding it. On October 16th will be 30 days of deliquencies and will start reflecting negative on my credit report and I have not been late on any payments in over 6 years. They are also charging me double for gap protection of anyone else who offers it and told me that I could cancel at anytime which I was informed last week that it is too late and it is already figured into my loan. I am being charged $14 per month just for gap protection while everyone else we talked too including my insurance company charges around $5-$6 per month. I was mislead by this company and am highly upset about this matter.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for my trade in to be paid off along with all late fees and late payments. I am seeking pay back of $29 that I had to pay for stopping auto payment requested by carlock mazda. I also would like my gap protection payment corrected and not over charged. I would like this done before October 16th, 2014 due to fear of reflecting negative on my credit report.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** General Manag
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ***********************.com
The dealer ship has paid all fees associated with the late payment to the lending institution. We have also informed customer we will pay additional $29 stop payment fee with proof of fee incurred to customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


04/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle started having trouble after a week of being purchased.
I purchased a 2009 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon on 3-8-16 and on 3-15-16 it would not crank. We called the dealership and they had it towed to Carlock in ******* The mechanic but a new battery on it and a steering dampner on it. They paid for the battery and the towing bill and we had to pay for everything else. We got it back from them on 3-22-16. The ESP, BAS, and check engine lights and the speed odometer have not been working properly and there have been instances when it will not start and stay running. I have tried to contact the dealership and they will not talk to me or return my phone calls.

Desired Settlement
I just want the vehicle fixed and feel that it is their responsibility to fix it.

Business Response
Mr. ******** purchased the subject vehicle as a 7 year old used vehicle with 87306 miles. At the time of purchase Mr. ******** was informed that with the high miles on this vehicle and because of aftermarket parts that the vehicle was sold "AS IS" with no warranty expressed or implied. He also signed a document stating such.
All vehicles are inspected before retail sale and most problems are detected and also documented. While every effort is taken to ensure the highest probability for safety and mechanical soundness, the probability that a high mileage, older age vehicle could have an issue after purchase is great.
Although Mr. ******** signed an "as is" form the dealership has already gone above what would be considered normal customer service by paying for a new battery and a tow bill.
There is nothing further the dealership is willing to contribute at this point.

10/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales Manager handled my, as well as other customers personal infomation(social security number, pay stubs, & other documents) with no privacy,
I visited location twice. First time I went, I wasn't shown any cars first like other dealerships. I wasnt even asked if I wanted to look first. I was directed onto the sales floor and asked for my personal infomation. Being that I already knew what type of car I wanted, I just wanted to see could I get approved. My boss was late emailing me check stub, so that was the only infomation I did not have. I was told my application would be put on hold until I came back the next day. I have a credit monitor app on my smartphone that allows me to see whenever a change is made to my credit. 6 hard inquires was added to my credit. I contacted the salesperson who helped me and he stated that in some cases your credit is ran without having a check stub. I went into the sdealership again on yesterday, Oct. 1, 2015 and the salesperson who helped me before was not that. After standing for about 10 minutes, I seated myself. I was then asked if I needed help. Again, I was not asked about test driving, or looking at a car. It was all about my credit. The salesperson gave the sales manager(who sits at a desk, on the sales floor with no privacy, my info. He looked at it and placed it on the desk. He asked me to sit down, while he was on the phone with "the bank" about financing another customers car. While sitting there, salesperson after sales person brought him customers info on a sticky note with SSN, monthly income, etc. While sitting there(thinking he's handling my application) he calls up a salesperson and tell them to ask another customer about personal infomation on their credit file. He then told me I needed 10% down of the car I wanted, and threw my check stubs down as if he wanted me to get them and walk away. 5 more credit inquires were added to my credit file.

Desired Settlement
I would like the inquires taken off of my credit file.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** GENERAL MAN
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***************************
After reading the complaint the dealership has taken several actions to correct future customers from feeling that their privacy has been compromised.
*** ******* admits to filling our a credit application which gives the dealership permission to try and obtain a loan for the customer. Therefore removing the credit inquiries is not something the dealership will do as the dealership had express permission from *** ******* with his signature.

09/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales of a car
On August 29, 2014 I went into Carlock Kia to purchase a car. I ended up trading in a vehicle for a 2015 Kia Optima. That same day me and my fiance did all of the paper work for the car and drove away in a brand new Kia Optima. A few days later I recieved a call from the dealership asking us to come back in and redo our contract because they were able to get my car financed at a cheaper price so i would have a cheaper carnote and intrest rate so we did. When it was time for me to pay my carnote I called the finance company to get the information to make the payment online only to find out that my contract had been sold to another finance company and it was for the more expensive contract. I called the dealership and explained to the guy who did our paperwork what happened and he acted like he was clueless and said he would talk with the new finance company. After talking with the president of the new finance company i found out that the dealership put in no effort to contact them with the correct contract and so i went back to the dealership and they pretty much called me a liar and put in no effort to try to fix the situation. Also looking over both contracts i noticed that the new contract that i had signed with a cheaper rate was predated for the day before i actually bought the car or even came to the dealership. Until this day nothing has been done about this issue.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the cheaper contract to be honored like it was supposed to be and these people to stop being fraudulant

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** ******* ***
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***************************
The dealership conducted an internal investigation and discovered that there was an error. The dealership has agreed with Ms. ****** and cut a check for $1586.68 to compensate her for the difference.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I traded a car in on APril 2 and it took them 5 weeks to pay the traded car off. In the meantime it has gone on my credit and has effected my score.

I contacted them several times only to be given the run around. I was told they were waiting on paperwork from ************ yet they didnt call her until 2 1/2 weeks later after all papers were signed

Desired Settlement
I want them to do what they need to get bad marks off my credit and my dads credit who was also a cosigner. If they dont take care of this I will proceed in a lawsuit.

02/03/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Car Buying Service, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1982New Owner Date: 08/14/2012
Business Management
Customer Contact: Andy Fisher (General Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Grover C. Carlock Jr. (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Car Buying Service, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

Products & Services

Carlock Volkswagen, Mazda and Kia Of Tuscaloosa is a Tuscaloosa Kia, Mazda, and Volkswagen Dealership located at 4301 Greensboro Avenue, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405. Our new vehicle line-up includes: Kia Cadenza, Kia Forte, Kia Forte 5-Door, Kia Optima, Kia Rio, Kia Sedona, Kia Sorento, Kia Soul, Kia Sportage, Mazda CX-5, Mazda CX-9, Mazda Mazda2, Mazda Mazda3, Mazda MAZDA3, Mazda Mazda5, Mazda MAZDA5, Mazda Mazda6, Mazda MX-5 Miata, Volkswagen Beetle, Volkswagen Beetle Convertible, Volkswagen Beetle Coupe, Volkswagen CC, Volkswagen Eos, Volkswagen GLI, Volkswagen Golf, Volkswagen GTI, Volkswagen Jetta Sedan, Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen, Volkswagen Passat, Volkswagen Tiguan, and Volkswagen Touareg. We buy and sell quality used cars and have a nice selection of pre-owned cars, trucks, vans, SUVS & CUVs. We sell Kia, Mazda, and Volkswagen parts and accessories. We service and repair all Kia, Mazda, and Volkswagen models.

Click here to Reply or Forward

Alternate Business Names
Carlock Mazda of Tuscaloosa, Carlock Automotive Group, Carlock Kia of Tuscaloosa, Volkswagen of Tuscaloosa
Industry Tips
Auto Repair
Used Car Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa

4301 Greensboro Ave

Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3613

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4301 Greensboro Ave 

    Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3613(205) 345-8040
    (800) 663-4240
    Fax: (205) 391-0802

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 663-4240
  • (205) 345-2285
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • carlockmazda.com
  • carlockkiaoftuscaloosa.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Repair
Used Car Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.