BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa

Phone: (205) 345-8040Fax: (205) 391-0802View Additional Phone Numbers4301 Greensboro Ave, TuscaloosaAL 35405-3613 Send email to Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosahttp://www.carlockdeals.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hasn't paid off trade in as of yet and it has been 29 days.
I traded in my 2014 toyota camry to Carlock Mazda in Tuscaloosa Alabama on September 12, 2014 for a 2015 Mazda3. They asked for a 10 day payoff and stated they would pay off my trade in within 14-15 business days and informed me to cancel my auto payment for my car payment due on September 16, 2014 because it was figured into my total payoff. I paid $29 to do that. Now it is October 11, 2014 and I have a late payment, late fees, and another payment due coming up on October 16, 2014. They have failed to pay off my trade in as of yet and they have already recieved the check from the bank that financed me on September 26, 2014 and are holding it. On October 16th will be 30 days of deliquencies and will start reflecting negative on my credit report and I have not been late on any payments in over 6 years. They are also charging me double for gap protection of anyone else who offers it and told me that I could cancel at anytime which I was informed last week that it is too late and it is already figured into my loan. I am being charged $14 per month just for gap protection while everyone else we talked too including my insurance company charges around $5-$6 per month. I was mislead by this company and am highly upset about this matter.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for my trade in to be paid off along with all late fees and late payments. I am seeking pay back of $29 that I had to pay for stopping auto payment requested by carlock mazda. I also would like my gap protection payment corrected and not over charged. I would like this done before October 16th, 2014 due to fear of reflecting negative on my credit report.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** General Manag
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ***********************.com
The dealer ship has paid all fees associated with the late payment to the lending institution. We have also informed customer we will pay additional $29 stop payment fee with proof of fee incurred to customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I traded a car in on APril 2 and it took them 5 weeks to pay the traded car off. In the meantime it has gone on my credit and has effected my score.

I contacted them several times only to be given the run around. I was told they were waiting on paperwork from ************ yet they didnt call her until 2 1/2 weeks later after all papers were signed

Desired Settlement
I want them to do what they need to get bad marks off my credit and my dads credit who was also a cosigner. If they dont take care of this I will proceed in a lawsuit.

05/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The total owed at time of pick up is different from quoted amount -work incomplete.All parts not ordered.
On March 13th I took my car to have an oil change and at that time I requested parts to be ordered. When doing so I asked the mechanic and the person ordering is this all I need and were they sure.They said, "Yes that' all I needed" They even printed me the pictures of the parts and wrote the cost. They also quoted me the amounts for parts and labor of $310.00 They contacted me and told me that the parts were received at their location.On March 28th 2013 I dropped my car off at about 8:00AM. I received a call at from the dealership at 12:23PM and was told that I needed a latch to complete the repair work for the inner parts of my car door/parts that allow the door to be opened and the window to be let up and down. After arriving at the dealership the total bill was not the $310.00 they quoted me but $536.17/ I requested Seat belts after the $310.00 quote but they were priced at $80.64 The $536.17 is much more than $310.00 + $80.64 When speaking to the cashier, the service person who quoted the $310.00 became loud and very nasty when I questioned the total bill.I was also charged an additional $14.99 for shop supplies when I paid for all the parts I needed. Because this was much higher than the original quoted price, my car still has the same issues that it had when I took it there. The door is not fixed even after they printed and pointed out parts needed and ordered them then did not order every thing needed to finish a simple job. Poor service and a nasty attitude at the end of the ordeal.

Desired Settlement
I do not desire a refund but I do feel that they should have made sure that all parts were ordered even if they made a policy that they must look at a problem and actually see it(pull the door cover off and look inside even with some kind of inspection charge)to make sure they can complete the job. I feel that they should have some kind of customer loyalty and fix the door of my car even if I purchase that part which all parts has a mark-up and this is also a way money is made. I do not feel I should have to pay for labor because of their mistake.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title:*************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********************
We at ****** automotive strive to give all of our customers upfront and accurate pricing and fair treatment. I have had a conversation with Mr. and Mrs. ****** and have apologized not only for the quote being unclear and also the behavior of the service writer. At this time the service writer is no longer an employee with our company. I have spoke to Mr. and Mrs. ****** and we are ordering the additional part that would be needed to fix their passenger door. When that part arrives we will provide an appointment time that is convenient for them to come by for us to finish the repair.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Car Buying Service, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1982New Owner Date: 08/14/2012
Business Management
Customer Contact: Andy Fisher (GM)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Grover C. Carlock Jr. (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Car Buying Service, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

Products & Services

Carlock Volkswagen, Mazda and Kia Of Tuscaloosa is a Tuscaloosa Kia, Mazda, and Volkswagen Dealership located at 4301 Greensboro Avenue, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405. Our new vehicle line-up includes: Kia Cadenza, Kia Forte, Kia Forte 5-Door, Kia Optima, Kia Rio, Kia Sedona, Kia Sorento, Kia Soul, Kia Sportage, Mazda CX-5, Mazda CX-9, Mazda Mazda2, Mazda Mazda3, Mazda MAZDA3, Mazda Mazda5, Mazda MAZDA5, Mazda Mazda6, Mazda MX-5 Miata, Volkswagen Beetle, Volkswagen Beetle Convertible, Volkswagen Beetle Coupe, Volkswagen CC, Volkswagen Eos, Volkswagen GLI, Volkswagen Golf, Volkswagen GTI, Volkswagen Jetta Sedan, Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen, Volkswagen Passat, Volkswagen Tiguan, and Volkswagen Touareg. We buy and sell quality used cars and have a nice selection of pre-owned cars, trucks, vans, SUVS & CUVs. We sell Kia, Mazda, and Volkswagen parts and accessories. We service and repair all Kia, Mazda, and Volkswagen models.

Click here to Reply or Forward

Alternate Business Names
Carlock Mazda of Tuscaloosa, Carlock Automotive Group, Carlock Kia of Tuscaloosa, Volkswagen of Tuscaloosa
Industry Tips
Auto Repair
Used Car Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa

4301 Greensboro Ave

Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3613

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4301 Greensboro Ave 

    Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3613(205) 345-8040
    (800) 663-4240

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carlock Automotive of Tuscaloosa is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 663-4240
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.carlockvw.com
  • www.carlockmazda.com
  • www.carlockkiaoftuscaloosa.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Repair
Used Car Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.