BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/1999

Brewbaker Dodge

(334) 271-4111View Additional Phone Numbers222 East Boulevard, MontgomeryAL 36117 Send email to Brewbaker Dodge

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/1999

BBB has determined that Brewbaker Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brewbaker Dodge's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brewbaker Dodge

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********* Dodge and it's salesmen are not providing proper customer service by neglecting to communicate with me.
To begin, I first went to this dealership on November 9 to look for a vehicle. I spoke to ***** and although they did not have what I wanted on the lot, he said he could get it for me (transportation fee a TOTAL of $500 and drive it to me in Georgia for no cost) from North Carolina if I wanted. I had his cell number and had a couple of questions for him later that day, so I called him and he answered them. November 11 I called ***** to tell him I would be coming in to see about buying the vehicle I had chosen. He did not answer. I got to the dealership and the receptionist did not know where Blake was either, and stated that it was not his off day, so she called him with no answer. Since they could not find ****** I was sent to ****. I filled out a credit report, but since it was late in the evening and I had to travel back to Georgia, he said he would call me back with financing options after the banks had shopped my credit profile. I asked if I could negotiate in any way the interest rate I was quoted. **** said he would get *** to call me. I did not get a call. November 13, some other manager called me about financing issues and then I spoke to **** again, telling him I wanted they had located in North Carolina. November 14, **** called and said that the vehicle in North Carolina had sold, but he found a similar vehicle in Tennessee and he "had it on lockdown" and told me to trust him. November 18 I called ****, and he said the hitch was probably going to be put on that afternoon. Logically, this can only be done if they had it on their lot (come to find out, it was never there). Nov 19 I called **** to see if we were ready to sign on the vehicle, but he did not answer. Instead, I called ****** ***** told me the last he heard about the situation, they were having issues with getting the vehicle from the Tennessee dealership, but he would find out and either he or **** would call me. There was still no word by November 21, so I called **** twice, he did not answer. I texted him my name and to call me. He texted back that he was in a school in Atlanta and he would call on the way back. November 22 I finally got fed up from the lack of communication and called the main office to speak to the general sales manager. Shortly after, ***** called me and apologized for **** not talking to me, and said he would be taking care of me here on out. He said that TN would not come off the vehicle they were aiming for, but he had found another similar vehicle in NC (diff dealership than first time). He also said that the trasportation fee would be different even after I was told it as a flat fee. He said the drivers were scheduled to go get it and it may be in the 25th or 26th, but hopefully by the 26th, the tow hitch could be put on and my cosigner could sign that afternoon. No communication from salesman on the 25th. By noon the 26th, I was curious, so I called ****** but he did not answer. I texted him, telling him I was looking for an update on the vehicle. Three hours later I called him again. November 27 I called the main office to speak to a general sales manager and I was told ***** would call me back within 5 minutes. **** then called me and said he thought that ***** had worked out the whole situation, but Blake was home and had the flu. I asked him if they even had the vehicle on the lot by now, and he said no.

It has been 3 weeks trying to work with the dealership to get this vehicle, with nothing to show for it. I keep getting transferred between salesmen and the general sales manager won't even talk to me personally. I am not being treated as a valued customer, and I am buying a brand new vehicle. I should not have to chase information and have salesmen that do not respond to my inquiries.

Desired Settlement
The only settlement I would seek from them is to get the vehicle at employee price and have the transportation fee capped at $500 like they told me from the very beginning. I have lost all patience with this dealership and will not settle with them unless there is a decrease in price and I can get a guarantee on delivery.

Business Response
We attempted to find the vehicle with the options and equipment *** ******** wanted and were unable. The dealerships that had a vehicle that was close were typically very far off and we had no relationship with them so they were not very helpful in working out a transfer. She was not flexible enough for us to find a vehicle that would work. We were already selling the vehicle at an in stock price yet **** ******** wanted an additional discount because we could not locate her exact vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Brewbaker Dodge's response was written to try and keep itself from a negative rating from the BBB, but their statement has several major flaws.

1. Brewbaker was trying to make a sale. They did not have what I wanted on the lot and said they could get me whatever I wanted from wherever as far as options. Both ***** and **** told me they could provide me with my request. If all of the vehicles located were too far off or Brewbaker did not have a relationship with them, they should have said they did not think they could get it instead of leading me to believe that it was no problem. This particular issue was not even my fault, nor anything I was told about until the end, so why is this being held against me by Brewbaker? As a business, they should be honest in dealings with customers.

2. I was flexible. Very flexible. I waited around thinking they had their business under control for over three weeks before I called it quits. In that time, **** found a Jeep in TN that had all the options I wanted, except no tow package, but he said that they could add the hitch on later (I mentioned this in my original complaint). This TN Jeep is the vehicle he guaranteed me he had "on lockdown," and I had agreed to get the vehicle. This demonstrates my flexibility with "finding a vehicle that would work." Not to mention **** told me on November 18 that they would be adding the hitch on the vehicle at the dealership shop that very afternoon, but they did not even have my vehicle around to even possibly put a hitch on. But the dealership didn't respond to that lie Doug told, did they? No, instead they decided to paint the customer as being unreasonable in their response.

3. I never mentioned any additional discount when talking to either **** or ***** "because they could not locate my exact vehicle." After I filed my original complaint mid-morning on November 27th (where I came up with the employee pricing idea while filling out the "desired resolution" section), I received a call from ****** at Brewbaker Dodge around noon. He said that ***** was no longer with the dealership and he had gotten all of the customer files from ******** office to follow up on and asked if he "could earn my business." I told him that after the way I was run around in circles that there was nothing he could do because I had already taken my business elsewhere. He said he was not familiar with what had happened so I told him my story. He asked what vehicle I was looking for and I told him what I wanted and what options. He said he could find a vehicle. I told him not to bother unless he could do something magical like let me get it at employee pricing. He responded that he could make something magical happen. He called back a couple of times after that to tell me that he was still trying to get me a vehicle. I haven't heard from him in nearly a week now. In conclusion, my request to get it at employee pricing was not "because they could not locate my exact vehicle," but that was the only way that I would let ****** "earn my business" after receiving the horrible customer service.

The dealership did not even address the fact that I was shuffled back and forth between two salesmen a total of four times, nor did they mention the fact that the general sales manager ***** got involved twice because I was not receiving any communication from the salesmen. Again, this is because they want to make me sound like an unreasonable customer and direct all attention towards me being the problem.

I would also like to add that after I spoke to **** last on November 27 and told him I was done with Brewbaker, I submitted this complaint. Some other manager (*** maybe?) called me 5 hours later (probably because I am so "valued"), to say that **** told him to call me. He didn't even know what was going on (which back and forth between salesmen and the general sales manager, no one ever had the full story to tell me) but when I told him they lost me as a customer because they had horrible customer service, his response was a catty "well I am sorry you feel that way" and hung up.

Final Business Response
Business supplied email: *************@yahoo.com
**** L *********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1984Business started: 01/01/1940
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Dick L Brewbaker (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new car sales.

Industry Tips
Service Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brewbaker Dodge

222 East Boulevard

Montgomery, AL 36117

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 222 East Boulevard 

    Montgomery, AL 36117(334) 271-4111
    (334) 279-0174

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brewbaker Dodge is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (334) 279-0174
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.