BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/2004

Barkley Buick-GMC-Cadillac, Inc.

Phone: (205) 556-6600Fax: (205) 553-48293575 Skyland Blvd E, TuscaloosaAL 35405-4557 Send email to Barkley Buick-GMC-Cadillac, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/2004

BBB has determined that Barkley Buick-GMC-Cadillac, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Barkley Buick-GMC-Cadillac, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
03/07/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a service contract for $2,701.00 when I purchased the vehicle. The service contract was for tire rotations, oil service, a mechanical ser?
I attempted to have the oil changed and tires rotated 3 times. Each time I would leave need to leave the vehicle which I could not do. I asked to make an appointment. They told me then they do not do appointments. I wasn't explained ANY of this when I purchased this service. I asked for a credit and they refunded $260.00?
In looking more closely at my paperwork, it appears I was charged for "Major Guard" which I do not really know what it is. I was not given any paperwork. I understood it to be service for 3 years or 100,000 miles. The vehicle has manufacturer warranty for this period, so what is this.
The bottom line is I wanted to purchase service for a convenience to me. Isn't that why you purchase anything? Then after I purchase it, I find out how it really is not any convenience to me, but inconvenience.
They should not be allowed to sell this product without explaining it will take an half of day to get your oil change and tires rotated or you need to leave your vehicle and have someone pick you up and then go back the next day to get the vehicle. If this would have been explained honestly, I would not have purchased the plan.

Desired Settlement
I expect a refund of $2,701.00.
I have NEVER used any part of this service. I attempted to resolve with Dealership. They did not do what they told me they would do. They told me they would do a full refund, but they refunded approx. $260.00

Business Response
We spoke to customer regarding his concern on the above claim. Although we had properly presented the products in question at the time of purchase using a menu system which the customer had initialed (the maintenance and service contract) we do understand his concerns. In an effort to keep our customer satisfied we have agreed to cancel both of the above products at his request. The full refunds will be sent to the lien holder **** ********* and reduce his outstanding loan balance accordingly. Customer advised us today that he was satisfied with this resolution.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

** ****

05/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My truck was towed to Barkley's on Tuesday morning 05/05/15 I already had a work order written up two weeks ago when I took it to the shop but they were backed up so I told them I would bring my Envoy back. So I called the shop and spoke to *** in the service department to let him know my truck was on the way. Of course it was there all day with nothing being checked on it I called hundreds of times that day they still hadn't had time to look at it. So Wednesday about 10 am I called them Lee tells me the Alternator needs to be replaced first before they can do a Diagnostic so they bought a starter from an outside lender and replaced the starter. So about 3:30 that afternoon Lee calls me and tell me about 2,800 Worth of work that needed to be done based upon the Diagnostic that was done. So I said well I don't have that type of money but since you replaced the starter did they clear the codes and it my truck running ok and will it be ok until I get more money in two weeks Lee said yes it should be. So I said can you fax me a copy of the estimate he did I Got it and it was a mess I can't believe that that piece of chicken scratch was suppose to be my estimate. So anyway I go to the shop about 4 after being picked up from my job by Barkley. I arrive get my Bill pay it Thanks ***. Go get in my truck and hell brakes loose. I crank up my truck it shuts off immediately like five times. I sit in disbelief for a moment the check engine light is still on I crank it up and turn on Ac it shuts off again. I go inside get Lee he comes out crank it up give it gas for a few checks under the hood and he says well drive it home and see what happens. I drove it home with no air my windows already wont come down and I was so scared in traffic that my truck would shut off it is now shaking worst than it was and the engine light is blinking constantly. I called *** on my way home and told him I was bringing it back in the morning I dropped it off and they had my truck all day and still do no one called I am ******.

Desired Settlement
I too work for a billion dollar truck company and I am also a service writer but I have never taken advantage of any of my customers and if they were treated unfairly and there vehicle is more messed up than it was before they came to my shop we take care of the customer. So that's what I expect Barkley to do this transaction was unprofessional I still don't have a ride to my doctors apt or to work I haven't talked to *** they don't care about me as a customer and I feel violated as a woman.

Business Response
Ms. *******'s vehicle (2003 GMC Envoy with 145,000 miles on it) was towed into our dealership not operable. It was necessary for us to install a new starter just to get the vehicle running and properly diagnosis it. Ms. ******* has declined work we recommended that would get her vehicle back up and operating smoothly. My Service Manager and Service Writer would gladly meet with Ms. ******* and provide her with a detailed estimate on the necessary work needed on her vehicle, schedule an appointment to complete the work, and fix her vehicle properly. Unfortunately, only repairing certain items and not addressing all the issues results in the vehicle not properly performing as it is now. We would be happy to meet with Ms. ******* and discuss with the repair of her vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There portion of the complaint is not accurate my my vehicle was towed to Barkleys on Tuesday May 4th. First of all they are so slow I don't see how the shop makes money. They had my truck all day they finally called me and said I needed a starter I said go ahead replace it then about 2:45, Ed Lee called me with a 2,800 estimate I asked him could he fax it to me it was a mess hand written I couldn't understand it. So I told him that I don't have that kind of money I will talk to him when I get there. So I arrived paid the bill and I talked to ** and asked was it anything I could wait until I get paid in two weeks he said no they first thing that I should do is have the throttle body cleaned. I went outside to try and start my car it kept shutting off I went inside to get *** and he tried to start my truck it took awhile he popped the trunk and said the mechanic tightened up this and that and I said did he drive my truck he said no I said something's wrong it's knocking bad and shutting off. So I drove it home terrified I called Ed he says bring it back in the morning so I did they kept my truck all day not a word I called several times I don't think the mechanic did his job throughly I think they lied to me and charged me for nothing and I think when I took it back the next time they took more money from me I feel violated as a woman and as a customer I feel like I was raped with my eyes closed. And ** called me the day after the complaint with an attitude and never apologized . I will never go there to buy a car again to have work done and my father has a car also from Barkleys and I told him how I was taken advantage of and he says from now on he will go somewhere else. You don't treat your customers like this and this to me is unacceptable Shame on then if this is how they make their money by lying to their customers, over charging them and giving them a unprofessional hand written quote what kind of mess is that. My experience was horrible omg I will never forget it. I'm still not satisfied.

Final Business Response
Based on the customer's response no further effort will be made by the dealership to respond to her complaint.

05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

they have not fixed the problem with my 2008 saturn vue after several visits
I dont have all receipts and service dates my daughter is in school in tuscaloosa and she just had the car in monday and they replaced alternator for $600 2 weeks before they had it for 2 days charged labor and didnt find anything wrong $150 1 week before they replaced baterry

Desired Settlement
fix free the issue its having since in their shop less than a week ago

Business Response
Per dealership repair records the customer had her vehicle in our shop on 2/11/2015 (93,407 miles on car) for an issuing relating to her ignition key not coming out of the ignition switch. We worked on the vehicle for 3 days and we were not able to duplicate the concern. Customer was only charged our standard diagnosis fee of $95 for this visit. On 4/23/2015 (95,581 miles on the car) the customer returned for service with the battery light, airbag light, and onstar lights warning lights lit up on her dash. Our diagnosis indicated that her alternator was not charging properly. She ok'd the repair. We finished the job and charged her $605.75 for the repair. The repairs were two completely separate repair issues on the vehicle. Our repair order records are available if they are needed for review.

11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/05/2004Business started: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Title Division
PO Box 327640
Montgomery, AL 36132-7640
(334) 242-9000

BBB records show a license number of 63-00027-16 for this company, issued by Motor Vehicle Title Division. Barkley Pontiac Cadillac GMC Trucks, Inc. dba Barkley Buick-GMC-Cadillac, Inc..

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 1980, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Hval (General Manager)Mr. William C. Adams (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers sales and services for new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair
Used Car Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Barkley Buick-GMC-Cadillac, Inc.

3575 Skyland Blvd E

Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4557

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3575 Skyland Blvd E 

    Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4557(205) 556-6600
    Fax: (205) 553-4829

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Barkley Buick-GMC-Cadillac, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Repair
Used Car Tips

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.