BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2004

Oak Mountain Body Shop, Inc.

Phone: (205) 664-9977Fax: (205) 664-7327

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oak Mountain Body Shop has done terrible work repairing my vehicle twice as of Friday, August 23rd 2013.
Oak Mountain Body Shop has done terrible work repairing my vehicle twice as of Friday, August 23rd 2013. The paint looks terrible like an amateur did the work. The first time I left my Red 2006 Pontiac Solstice on Friday, July 19th 2013, Oak Mountain Body Shop kept my car for two weeks and did not complete all of the repairs my insurance company ***** and I agreed they should repair and they were paid for. Oak Mountain Body Shop just painted over some bad gouges and a dent in the body that should have been repaired. I have photos to show the original damage which was not repaired. My insurance adjuster, ***** ****** from ***** will state that Oak Mountain Body Shop did not complete the work properly and the body work and paint looked terrible. Mr. ***** from ***** can be reached at phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX. The Geico claim number involved is XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX.

I met with ***** ***** from ***** and **** ******** from Oak Mountain Body Shop on Monday, August 12th, 2013 at Oak Mountain Body Shop to go over the poor work and agree on what should be done to repair it. Mr. ******** agreed to repair the area on my car properly this time but said he would need to bill ***** yet again for the work. I left my car with Oak Mountain Body Shop again on Tuesday, August 20th 2013 for the original damage to be repaired properly and painted again. I went to Oak Mountain Body Shop again on Friday, August 23rd 2013 to pick up my car around 5:00 PM. On Saturday, August 24th, 2013, I could inspect my vehicle in full sunlight and noticed that the paintwork Oak Mountain Body Shop did is poor and looks like an amateur did the work. There is an area about six inches long by one inch tall that has runs in the paint on the panel Mr. ******** agreed to repair. There are also at least two small gouges on the panel that were painted over again like before.

This is unacceptable coming from a body shop that was recommended to me by ***** ****** ********* in Pelham, AL. I expected Oak Mountain Body Shop's work to be of excellent quality being a BBB accredited business, having an A+ rating with the BBB and having only one complaint on 6/18/2012 that was resolved with BBB assistance.

Desired Settlement
I expect Oak Mountain Body Shop to repair the damage properly for the third time my vehicle will be in their body shop. Since I have been without a car both times Oak Mountain Body Shop has had my car, I expect them to provide me a rental car during the time my car will be in their body shop for the third time. I also expect the body shop to reimburse me mileage per the IRS rate of $0.565 cents per mile of $8.59 for the mileage for the four times I will have had to drive my car to their shop from my work and the mileage reimbursement of $49.08 my wife has had to drive to pick me up and bring me back to the shop the second time.

Consumer's Final Response
**** ****** the new owner, has worked with me to resolve this. I am satisfied with the results.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.