BBB Logo

Council of Better Business Bureaus ®
Start With Trust®
Council of Better Business Bureaus
About the BBB International Torch Awards

The BBB International Torch Awards program recognizes outstanding businesses and individuals. The Torch Awards will recognize achievements in the following areas:

Torch Awards for Ethics - The inaugural 2014 International Torch Awards for Ethics will be presented to businesses in recognition of best practices in leadership character and organizational ethics. Candidates must be winners of their local Torch Award FOR ETHICS, a category currently offered by 14 BBB Centers for Character Ethics accessible by linking to

Marketplace Excellence - presented to businesses in recognition of their superior commitment to exceptional standards that benefit their consumers, employees, suppliers, shareholders and surrounding communities.

Businesses entering the Marketplace Excellence Award competition will be judged in one of three categories based on the number of employees:

  • Category 1 – 1-99 employees
  • Category 2 – 100-999 employees
  • Category 3 – 1000 or more employees

The award for Marketplace Excellence is open to all for-profit businesses in North America that provide goods or services to retail and/or wholesale markets.

Non-profit organizations are NOT ELIGIBLE for this award.

BBBs in Canada and the United States conduct local competitions, forwarding winning entries for consideration in this category. Businesses may also self-nominate for the Marketplace Excellence award. BBB Accredited Business status is not a requirement for entry or consideration.


A business is not eligible if any of the following conditions apply:

  • They have been in business less than 3 years
  • They have earned less than a “B” rating from BBB
  • There are indications they have not met their financial obligations
  • They have received this award in the past 5 years

Key Dates for 2014

  • Deadline for entries: February 28, 2014
  • Winners announced: Late April 2014
  • Award Ceremony: June 24, 2014

Judging Process

Entries are evaluated by an independent panel of judges comprised of volunteer business, academia and community leaders based on the four judging criteria.