BBB Accredited Business since

Yours Elegantly

Phone: (860) 355-4184 9 Lillinonah Ridge Dr, New Milford, CT 06776

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Yours Elegantly offers retail and wholesale women's clothing and accessories; unique gifts, shawls, scarves, tunic tops, jewelry and bags.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Yours Elegantly meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Yours Elegantly include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Yours Elegantly
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2010 Business started: 10/11/2005 in CT Business started locally: 10/11/2005 Business incorporated 10/07/2005 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Shernaz Nagarwalla, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shernaz Nagarwalla, Owner
Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail Gift Shops Handbags Jewelers - Retail Women's Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448120)

Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations

  • 9 Lillinonah Ridge Dr

    New Milford, CT 06776 (860) 355-4184


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 4, 2015 I ordered a shawl from this company. I chose their "free" shipping. Today, September 11, 2015 I received an email from this company letting me know that the product I had ordered was out of stock. They did try getting me to accept a substitution; altho I found that exceptionally preposterous as they are not the only company one can get a shawl from. Any other online company I have dealt with; and there have been many; immediately make the customer aware if the item desired is out of stock. My only presumption would be to have to pay this company extra money (supposedly for faster service) to find out if an item is in stock. I find this very poor business practice. I contacted them twice. My last reply from them is that they understood my predicament. whatever... As of yet my payment has not been put back into my bank account. I find it particularly appalling they would even take payment out without having product.

Business Response: Online orders are received by us once the order comes through with payment. Then it goes to the warehouse for processing.  We have thousands of shawls and sometimes in a rare instance the item is sold out but we have ability to get restock and ship it to customer in the time period they requested. We generally get restocks on items very fast. This customer chose free shipping which is up to 14 business days however her event seemed to be earlier for which she wanted the shawl. Typically such customers choose the 4-7 business days option.  We informed the customer the shawl was sold out and restock was delayed so we could help her choose a substitute that we can ship right away as we have so many comparable shawls - we generally don't take an extra amount if the customer chooses a slightly more expensive item as a substitute. Our past few customers in last 10 years who chose a substitute have been thrilled and thankful. In this instance since customer's event was earlier we understood her predicament. The order was sent to accounting for a credit to her card since she did not want a substitute. Full credit was posted to her card.  We strive to please and hope to avoid such a situation in the future. We appreciate the feedback. We apologize profusely for any inconvenience caused to her.




Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  as of yet my payment has not been put back into my account.


****** *********

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two pashminas on 12/17/13 from Elegantly Yours. The package arrived on either the 23rd or 24th of December. Upon delievery, I pretty much knew that the colors of the one were not going to work. I received, what I thought, was a return number (#Wiilliams*********0130)from Shere per email dated 12/29/13 (but as it turns out it was an 'exchange' number)(apparently in my first email I inadvertenlty used the word 'exchange' in error). I mailed the pashmina back to Elegantly yours on January 6th, scheduled to be delivered on the 8th, but was not delivered until the 9th. After several communications back and forth, it was made clear that this vendor was not going to refund my money, because I did not return within 15 days. Seriously, taking into consideration, the holidays in between, etc., I can't believe that they won't refund my $36. I have no interest in a credit, there is nothing else I need on their website. I order thousands of dollars in merchandise in a years' time over the internet and have never had a bad experience until this company. If I go to order something and the site policy states, no refunds, credits returns only, I don't order from that site. I feel as though Elegantly Yours is being unreasonable in not refunding my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit card refunded for the full $36.

Business Response:

RE: We have Merchant Policies in place so we can function efficiently as a business and treat all our customers equally and fairly. This customer was told that since she was beyond the 15 days return period she could do an exchange. In fact her request was for an exchange which she changed to a return. Had she been within the return period we would have gladly allowed it.

We even went a step further to say we could keep the $36.00 for the shawl on account so she can buy anything site wide for that amount when she is ready to make that purchase. Customer was insistent on a credit back to her card with a total disregard to our merchant policies.

We are well known with our customers in being a caring business and go out of our way in case of emergencies to accommodate the customer. In this situation with the customer just not caring to follow our merchant policies we felt we could not justify an exception.


Shere N.

Yours Elegantly

9 Lillinonah Ridge Drive
New Milford, CT 06776

Tel :      (860) 355 4184


Consumer Response:

Complaint: 10000498

I am rejecting this response because:  I find their policy to be extremely unforgiving, especially for the time of year of the purchase.  I inadvertently used the word 'exchange' in my initial e-mail to Elegantly Yours, when in fact I wanted a refund.  And, that is where they are being unbending.  I could not find anything on their webside that I needed.  I received this item from them on the 23rd or 24th of December (I'd like proof of delivery from them as to when I actually received it); and, had it back in their facility by the 9th of January.  By my calculations, if I received it on the 23rd, they had the item returned to them in 17 days; and that 17 days includes Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.  If you were to allow for Sundays and holidays, when mail facilities were not open nor delivering mail, this item was returned in a timely manner.  I agree that their merchandise is quality, I just feel that they are being extremely unbending in the return policy, considering the time of year, etc. 


Jacqueline Williams

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called and ordered a Dolphin Necklace Set (cost $19.99,with $6.99 shipping). Upon ordering they were very nice and helpful, answered questions I had.I recieved set within a couple days. Upon opening box that contained items we noticed small scratching on body of dolphin. As this was meant to be a gift of our granddaughter, I was unset. I called company following day and explained defect. Per ***** I was told I could not exchange or get refund due to hygiene issues. This was never removed from box. She said their items are inspected twice before packing. It was nicely packaged, but in shipping the chain was loose and probably fell over the item and scratched it as it was tightly wrapped. It was "never" stated upon ordering that this was a No exchange/no refund item..A paper was enclosed in the package stating this. It was a shock to me. ***** finally said with her permission I could exchange it for something up to $15.00. I "do not" want an exchange. I would like my money refunded so I can have no furthur ties with them. To think I was so excited about something and then to be treated like this is saddening. Please look into this manner for me and I am so sorry for complaining but I was so hurt at their misleading me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my total amount of money refunded to me

Business Response:

This customer Carol Summers called in several times & spoke to me  and our representative Marie - each time asked numerous questions and took measurements of the necklace set and took a  lot of help on this dolphin necklace set for $19.99 for her 9 year old niece. We gave her 100% excellent service each time went over and above to answer all her questions and she did like that.

The customer Carol Summers was online and found this product herself reading about the description and the Jewelry Section mentions "all jewelry to be a final sale". The reason being we do fund raisers for Hospitals and many nurses and especially  patients come shop our jewelry at the Hospital Fund Raisers with confidence knowing we have a policy of "no trying on jewelry" especially earrings as that could be a health hazard to patients with low immunity. Our jewelry online too is hence a final sale. Nobody to date has an issue with that. It is mentioned online to be a final sale. This customer placed an online order so she would have read that.

Carol Summers was unsure if this is going to be good for her 9 year old niece and we told her after extending all the help we could give that it is a decision she makes and she chose to place the web order online.

When packing jewelry we do a two time quality check and place the necklace set in a particular way with bubble wrap in the box and out of box. This gives it good cushioning and our jewelry reaches the customer in good condition as packed. The bubble wrap cannot press the chain on pendant and scratch it during transit as customer suggests as the chain is at the back of the soft material holding the jewelry in the box.

Customer wants to return it and we cannot allow jewelry returns per our Merchant policies online as that piece will not be resold. Still I went over and above and said I would allow her an "Exchange" as an exception we would take a hit on jewelry as we will not resell it. The necklace set was $19.99 she was to keep $4.99 to ship the exchange to her & was to do an exchange for $15.00 with any one of our (over thousand) items online and she agreed.

We thought we went way out of our way to assist this customer and allow an exchange for a final sale item. We are a customer service oriented company - this was done to be courteous and understanding though against our Merchant Policies and we thought we satisfied her. This complaint to the BBB is a surprise as we went way overboard to help. We did all we could do by making an exception for this customer and allowing a final sale to be an exchange instead. Conclusion is we did more than our best to please this customer and she knows it. She is fully aware of the time we took to answer her many calls and responded to her email too. We were courteous, patient and understanding in trying to make an exception for this customer yet this customer put a complaint which is shocking. Conclusion is we tried our best to please and will leave it at that.


Shere Nagarwalla

Yours Elegantly