BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Connecticut Basement Systems, Inc. offers basement waterproofing services, basement finishing and crawl space repair, foundation repair and concrete lifting and leveling.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Connecticut Basement Systems Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Connecticut Basement Systems Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Connecticut Basement Systems Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1987 in CT Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 07/08/1988 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Janesky, President Ms. Katherine Gulick, Marketing Manager Mr. Ross Mannuzza, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Janesky, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ross Mannuzza, General Manager
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Basement Waterproofing Basement - Remodeling Contractor - Crawl Space Concrete Repair/Leveling Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Other Building Finishing Contractors (NAICS: 238390)


Additional Locations

  • 60 Silvermine Rd

    Seymour, CT 06483 (800) 640-1500 (877) 864-2115 (203) 881-5090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an open contract with CT Basement systems to complete a project that started on Nov 3rd. I was told both before and after I signed the contract that the implementation would take 2-weeks and be professionally managed with a Project Manager assigned. The implementation has been disorganized and remains unfinished.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is a review of the open items on site, a quality inspection, and an organized plan to finish the job, with appropriate resources assigned.

Business Response: We finished the project and walked through the new finished basement with the homeowner, who signed off that everything was complete.  The next day he called and said that there were a few minor items missed, and we said no problem, and made arrangements to come back, which we did.  I a bit confused because yesterday we were there at the house taking care of a few small items - and today the customer made this complaint.  Yesterday he reported a cable wire needed a tweak by our electrician and there was a small vibration in pipes.  So yesterday we made arrangements for our plumber and our electrician to go take care of these things.  Our project manager has been responsive, yet today we get this complaint.  Today I left a message with the customer, on Christmas eve, the same day this complaint was filed.  We are always responsive and have never walked away from any customers concerns in 33 years.  We will take care of these few items which are very small and admittedly not urgent, very soon.  We are happy to be able to finish yet another basement project so well.


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with the characterization regarding the status of my basement project or purported project managenent services received.  The additional arrangements made have not been communicated to me.  The project began 11/2 and remains incomplete with open items and quality issues.  The Project Manager has never been on site since the project began.


We are willing to work with CT basement systems to see if the project can be organized and managed to completion.


Sincerely,

****** ********

Consumer Response:

I was writing to notify you that the complaint with CT Basement Systems has been successfully resolved.  They met with me and then implemented a plan that resolved all the outstanding issues.

 

I wanted to ensure that the complaint online was modified accordingly as successfully resolved by the business.

 

Thanks and let me know if there is further action required on my part.

 

**** ******** ** ****** **** ********* ** ***** ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Connecticut Basement Systems Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart