BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Veterans Advantage, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (203) 422-2526 View Additional Phone Numbers 81 Holly Hill Ln, Greenwich, CT 06830 http://www.veteransadvantage.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Veterans Advantage is a nationwide benefits program whose mission is to deliver respect, recognition and rewards to U.S. Military Veterans, Active-Duty military, National Guard and Reservists and their family members with the VetRewards Card. Card members are eligible for program insurance and health benefits, and are entitled to receive preferred pricing on goods and services from top U.S. companies.

Veterans Advantage offers its services on a trial basis for thirty (30) days. Consumers who accept the trial membership agree to be charged a $4.95 processing fee per membership card. If consumers do not cancel membership within the trial period, they agree to be charged an annual membership fee until such time when the consumer chooses to notify the company of membership cancellation or opts out of the continuous service program. Memberships include one, three and five year plans.

Content offered on VeteransAdvantage.com includes HeroVet, VetFamily, TopVet and TopRank profiles, Cover Storie, VetNews and Jobs & Career Center Network, free for Veterans and employers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Veterans Advantage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Veterans Advantage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 12
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 22

Additional Complaint Information

BBB, in its three year reporting period, has received consumer complaints concerning full membership charges being applied to consumers' credit cards prior to the end of the thirty (30) day "free" trial period.

Veterans Advantage responded to complaints by stating that consumers who select to have the $4.95 processing fee waived bypass the thirty (30) day trial period. By doing so, those consumers enroll directly into the membership club, thereby creating an immediate full membership charge to their credit cards.

Veterans Advantage resolved complaints brought to its attention by BBB by providing refunds.

On March 31, 2008, Veterans Advantage representatives met with BBB staff to discuss the company's programs, as well as advertising modifications the company is making to address underlying causes of consumer complaints filed with BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Veterans Advantage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 10, 2001 Business started: 03/10/2000 Business started locally: 03/10/2000 Business incorporated: 03/10/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. H. Scott Higgins, CEO Mr. Roy Asfar, VP, Marketing Ms. Rebecca Martin, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. H. Scott Higgins, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Rebecca Martin, Office Manager
Business Category

Veterans & Military Organizations Civic and Social Organizations (NAICS: 813410)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4410 Massachusetts Ave NW

    Washington, DC 20016

  • 81 Holly Hill Ln

    Greenwich, CT 06830 (203) 422-2526 (800) 838-2774

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 838-2774(Phone)
  • (203) 422-2526 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Veterans Advantage card does nothing more than what the ******** ** card does . And for a lot less price. the price for this card for me was $199.95 it's value for the service it renders is not worth the price as advertised $4.95 Much less then the overblown price of $199.95. This is a Blatant scam.

Desired Settlement: return the $199.95 to my account and destroy my contract I want nothing to do with this scam ,that takes advantage of our Veterans.

Business Response:

Re:  ******* *** **** ************

To whom it may concern:

We have received your correspondence regarding *** ****. Thank you for bringing his concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide exemplary service to our members.  Our records indicate that on 7-1-14, *** **** enrolled in a 30-day trial membership through our partner ****** website at ************. (Veterans Advantage provides up to 30% off the purchase of **** laptops and desktop computers.)  *** **** enrolled in the 5-year membership plan. The five year plan is our most cost effective plan -- with a five year trial membership, the 5-year fees are payable in full on day 31 if a member does not cancel before.

*** **** immediately received an email confirmation activating his memberships and allowing full access to all benefits of the program online through our Members Only area. His membership materials were sent on 07-11-2014. After 30 days, on 08-01-2014, during which *** **** never cancelled or opted out of his membership, Veterans Advantage charged the $199.95 five year membership fee.

As it is clear that *** **** does not wish to continue his membership with Veterans Advantage, a refund of $199.95 has been issued to his credit card.  We would ask that he return his VetRewards Card and membership materials to complete the cancellation process.  These can be sent to Veterans Advantage, ** ***** **** ***** ********** **  *****.

We believe that *** ****’s concerns have been addressed in a timely and professional manner and that this matter has been fully resolved.  Thank you for your assistance in resolving this issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Veteran's Advantage "DISCOUNT" for ********** INCREASES the cost of **********'s services. The increase is almost double. $170 weekly rate increases to $300+. Using VA's discount code's ******* or ******* on **********.com. I called an ********** agent and the discounts resulted in the same thing: increased cost of service.

Desired Settlement: Veteran's Advantage needs to fix this with ********** IMMEDIATELY. They could be costing veteran's more money.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing *** ******** concerns to our attention.  It is our goal at Veterans Advantage to provide excellent customer service to our members.  The Veterans Advantage member plan includes expedited VIP customer service for Veterans Advantage members with all of our partner companies. Veterans Advantage will troubleshoot any issue on behalf of our members to ensure their benefit is received.

The ********** discount provided for our members is two-fold:

1.        The first discount code ******* references a corporate discount and provides a discounted rate card off general rental rates.  Our members report significant discounts when using this code.

2.       Our second code:  ******* – offers a 5% discount off the lowest rental fare.  ********** franchisees will occasionally offer rental specials at their location that would “beat” the corporate rate card price.  Our second code was added to offer best available pricing scenarios for Veterans Advantage members guaranteeing a minimum 5% discount.

From the information provided by *** ******, it seems his reservation fell under the franchisee special offers.  When he applied the rate card rate (NA24VA1), it resulted in a higher fare.  When we researched rentals in his zip code, we found discounts on all vehicle types using our secondary code:  *******. (See attached.)

We apologize for any confusion caused by the two different discount codes.  The intent is to provide both codes, so that our members can compare the two to optimize savings.  We would encourage *** ****** to reach out to us directly in the future for assistance with benefit usage. Our phone team can be reached at ###-###-#### and is available Monday-Friday, 9am-9pm ET, and also Saturdays 11am-4pm ET.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  If Veteran's Advantage wants to display both codes as "discounts", then they need to inform the customer of the difference.  They advertised BOTH codes as "discounts" even though they admit that the first discount code ******* sometimes does not give a discount and actually charges the veteran more than the normal rate.  They can easily explain this on their website when offering them to veterans.  They should display ******* as a guaranteed 5% discount and the ******* as a general rate code instead of a discount code.  Anything else is misleading and simply giving an explanation on why this happens is not enough.

Sincerely,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OFFERING THE LOWEST COMPANION TRAVEL Fly for less this summer, get exclusive airline tickets, plus a gift certificate for two tickets, with one low price. My husband (26 yrs retired veteran) and I was enthused that (company name) had a promotion advertising once you became a member, you would receive a travel voucher offering two tickets for one low price. After calling the 24 hr. reservation number I was quoted a price for two tickets over $1000 with taxes. I did some research and found 2 lower priced tickets with taxes for under $800.00. We found this promotion to be more of a marketing tool for their companies than offering consumers the lowest companion tickets as stated. I have contacted both companies however to no avail, or solution. Enclosed is a copy of the travel voucher, that I cannot use, it is out of my budget range.

Desired Settlement: I know their is significant lower discounted tickets available especially at large group rates. Please lets be fair in our advertising, and remember ethics, and ask our selves: DO we really VALUE our customers, and their trust and confidence? Their has to be lower discounted prices available, then what they offered. If not, the travel prices I found would save the company some money, and keep us happy as well. Please lets be fair! Please offer us 2 economical, lower airline tickets.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent notification of Mrs. Booker’s complaint.  We have been in touch with Mrs. Booker on multiple occasions.  As has been explained to her, we advertise the Companion Certificate as “Two Tickets…One Low Price.” Generally, our members report significant savings when booking travel through this special offer.

We fully researched Mrs. Booker’s claims and we were informed by our partner that Mrs. Booker was offered flights that were available in inventory, but she declined. The total cost she was quoted was $802.00, not over $1000.00. The price she found online was just under $800.00, but that was the cost for 1 ticket. Doing a true comparison, Mrs. Booker would have to book 2 tickets at $800 and her actual cost would be $1600.00. There is a significant savings when flights are booked with our partner.

The desired settlement that Mrs. Booker seeks is “2 economical, lower airline tickets.”  This has already been offered to her by our partner.  We recognize the savings as substantial and the offer of “two tickets…one low price” is accurate.  The voucher that Mrs. Booker has is valid for travel through 6/15/15, we encourage her to use it.

Business Response:

We are sorry that Mrs. Booker cannot make use of the Discounted Companion Air Fare Certificate provided to her.  To cancel her membership and obtain a refund for the membership fees paid we request that she return the membership materials: VetRewards Card, Member Benefits Directory, and the Discounted Companion Air Certificate number: **************.  They can be sent to:  Veterans Advantage Membership Service, P. O. Box 4143, Greenwich, CT  06830.  Once received, a refund will be issued.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10073989

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Cheryl Booker

 
I wll try to use the voucher one more time, before giving  it back. I know Veteran Advantage really strive to advertise according to their word. I will give them a call. 
 
 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to this service for 1 Year, I called to un-subscibe on december 28,2012 and requested no renewal, I was informed that a few days earlier I was being charged for the upcoming year.My member ID# is LYNXXXXXXXXI asked that I not be charged for this year and was told it was too late and nothing could be done.IU just recently became aware that I had recourse to file a complaint otherwise I would have done it immediately. Product_Or_Service: Vet rewards card Account_Number: LYNXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund for this years dues, I have never used or benefited from this service and I worried they will continue to charge me annually.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */ Thank you for bringing Mr. *****'s concerns to our attention. We have reviewed Mr. *****'s record and found that when he joined Veterans Advantage on December 29, 2011 his account was entered into our automatic renewal program. He joined for himself and also for Ms. **** Downs. Veterans Advantage is a benefit program for veterans and their families that partners with companies that wish to acknowledge those who have served with special offers and discounts on their goods and service. As a convenience to our members, Veterans Advantage is a continuous service program. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places: 1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment 2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website 3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member 4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member with the membership kit A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request from Mr. ***** to opt out of this program. This is why his membership account had been renewed. Renewal kits for Mr. ***** and Ms. Downs were mailed on 12/18/12 and the renewal fee was charged on 12/29/12. Our recording of the conversation indicates that Mr. ***** contacted Veterans Advantage on 1/2/13 (not 12/28/12). As was explained to him by our representative, Jason Ball, refunds cannot be processed for the time the membership is active. At this time Mr. *****'s account was removed from continuous service so that no further charges would be processed. The accounts for Mr. ***** and Ms. Downs remain current and active. Both of them have had full use of the card, partner discounts and benefits package associated with membership. Both accounts will remain current through 12-29-13. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHEN I WAS CHARGED ON 12/29/12 A SATURDAY, AND I CALLED ON THE 2ND BUSINESS DAY 1/2 2013, THEY COULD NOT REVERSE THE CHARGE FOR THIS YEAR. THEY ADMIT I PROTESTED THE CHARGE. THEY CAN CHARGE ME FOR THE USE OF THE CARD FOR 3 DAYS AND REFUND ME THE REST. I DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR LOGIC. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/08) */ We are sorry to hear that Mr. ***** does not want to continue with the Veterans Advantage program and have requested a refund in the amount of $89.92 on his behalf. A refund check will mail to his adress on file in the next 2 weeks. Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Let this letter confirm that I called this day to obtain a copy of the charge against my credit card by Veterans Advantage. I was told that by the terms of their agreement with me that they were not required to provide me with a copy of the charge they made. Whether I agreed to that term in fine print at the beginning of our relationship is now irrelevant. I needed to opt out of your questionable agreement, and talked to a fast talking script reader, not a customer service representative. I needed a receipt, which was not provided. The charge against my account was made on March 7, 2013. To receive any relief, I as told you required my fililng out forms, anything to delay and distract me from continuing on my quest to cancel and perhaps let another auto-renew date, without notice, go by. NO further charges against my credit card are authorized, and I will notify the credit card company. I persisted, and finally received confirmation that I have effectively terminated our relationship this day. The confirmation for cancellation is XXXXXXEB. I requested an email back confirming this action, but that request was declined. Altogether my experience with Veterans Advantage convinced me that they are in fact disregarding business ethics and declining to use reasonable business practices, such as failing to provide email contacts for customer complaints, receipts, confirmation of charges against credit cards and the like.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Copy of receipt and cancellation of auto-renewed billing ASAP.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/03) */ Thank you for bringing Mrs. ******'s concerns to our attention. Our records indicate that Mr. ********* ****** joined our program (for himself and his wife) through our partner United Airlines' website on 3-8-12. At that time, the account was entered into continuous subscription service. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places: 1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment 2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website 3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member 4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request from either Mr. or Mrs. ****** to do so. On 4/23/13, Mrs. ****** contacted our customer service call center to cancel the account. The account was cancelled at her request. Our VP of Marketing, ****** ******, followed up with Mr. ****** directly and issued a refund of the $89.92 renewal fee charged on 3-8-13. Mrs. ****** said that this was "acceptable" to her. An email confirmation was sent. Coverage provided by our Over $50,000 MEDEVAC policy and $5,000 AD&D Policy for Mr. and Mrs. ****** was cancelled effective 3-8-13.We consider this matter to be fully resolved. Veterans Advantage is extremely responsive to our customers. Our customer service call center is available Monday- Friday, 9 am- 9 pm ET, and on Saturdays 11 am- 4 pm ET. In addition, an email contact form is available off of our home page: https://www.veteransadvantage.com/cms/contact

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Veterans Advantage put my memberbership on automatic renewal. Charged me for a 3 year membership on renewal that I did not request or given warning to. When I called, they said I signed up for the renewal, which I did not. I requested them to cancel this serve and give me a full refund. Customer service representative ************* said they couldnt do it as it was not policy to do over the phone. What is this a tactic to take a veterans money?? Retailers can easlily refund money back onto credit cards. Veterans Advantage had no problem taking the money without my authorization. Said ****** had to mail me a request form first then I had to mail back before they could cancel/refund. What a way to help your veterans!! I am requesting a full refund from Veterans Advantage. Account_Number: STAXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund of the $149.86 charge and $19.80 charge.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/03) */ Thank you for bringing **** ******'s concerns to our attention. Our records indicate that **** ******'s account was renewed through our continuous service program which she expressly agreed to upon enrollment. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places: 1. The Temporary Member Card issued immediately upon completion of enrollment 2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website 3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member 4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request to do so. The charges made were not for a three year membership as **** ****** states. They were for a one year renewal of accounts for **** ****** and the 3 supplemental card holders she named on her account: ******* ******, ********** ****** and ******* ******* ******, II. On March 3, 2013 a $19.80 charge was made to cover processing for the 4 member packets - $4.95 each. Membership materials were mailed for each person on 3/8/13. Then on April 2nd the annual fee of $149.86 ($59.95 for the primary card and $29.97 for each supplemental card) was charged. On 4/11/13 **** ****** contacted our customer service call center to cancel her accounts. Due to the $50,000 ******* coverage and $5,000 AD & D insurance policies which are in place for each of our members, we ask that cancellation and refund requests be made in writing and include a forfeiture of coverage. This request was made of **** ****** and she agreed. The form was mailed to the address on file and we have heard nothing again until this BBB complaint. We have issued a refund to **** ****** for the charge of $19.80 and for the charge of $149.86; she and her family members have been removed from coverage under our group insurance policy. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Veterans Advantage, Inc has placed unexplained and unauthorized charges on my credit card. Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The following charges were placed on my credit card: 29 Apr 2013 VETERANS ADVANTAGE XXX-XXX-XXXX DC $149.8627 Mar 2013 VETADVANTAGEXXXXXXXXXX XXX-XXXXXXX DC$19.8030 Apr 2012 VETERANS ADVANTAGE XXX-XXX-XXXX DC $149.8629 Mar 2012 VETADVANTAGEXXXXXXXXXX XXX-XXXXXXX DC$19.80I am seeking to have the 29 Mar 2012 ($19.80), the 27 Mar 2013 ($19.80), and the 29 Apr 2013 ($149.86) charges refunded because they were not authorized.

Business Response: *onsumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/05/01) */ Before I contacted BBB I had quit my membership in Veterans Advantage. They mailed me a form, which I have not completed, which would only refund me back a portion of the funds I feel they unfairly took from me. Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/05/03) */ Thank you for bringing Mr. ****** concerns to our attention. The charges made to Mr. ****** account were not unexplained nor were they unauthorized. Our records indicate that Mr. ****** joined our program on X-XX-XX through our partner********s website. ****** joined for himself and three family members ****** chose to add to his account: **************** and ******** ******. The accounts were then renewed through our continuous service program which ****** expressly agreed to upon enrollment. We inform members of our renewal policy several times and in several places: 1. The Temporary Member *ard issued immediately upon completion of enrollment 2. The Program's Terms of Service, which appear on our member Website 3. In the Welcome Letter sent by USPS to each member 4. In the printed Benefits Directory sent to each new member A member may also choose to opt-out of continuous service at any time. We have no record of a request to do so. On X-XX-XX a $19.80 charge was made to cover processing for the 4 member packets - $4.95 each. Membership materials were mailed for each person on 3-8-13. Then on X-XX-XX the annual fee of $149.86 ($59.95 for the primary card and $29.97 for each supplemental card) was charged. On X-XX-XX Mr. ****** contacted our customer service call center to cancel his accounts. Due to the $50,000 MEDEVA* coverage and $5,000 AD & D insurance policies which are in place for each of our members, we ask that cancellation and refund requests be made in writing and include a forfeiture of coverage. This request was made of Mr. ****** and ****** agreed. The form was mailed to the address on file and was never returned. We have issued a refund to Mr. ****** for the charge of $19.80 and for the charge of $149.86; ****** and his family members have been removed from coverage under our group insurance policy. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The advantage of membership are the alleged discounts however when you shop around you quickly find you can do better elsewhere. No email contact. This organization deliberately fails to provide an email contact thus you are left to deal with their trlemarketing team. Their product of discounts on goods and services are sub standard in the industry and when I call to point out the obvious problems and better deals I encounter they tell me that is the way it is. The service is flawed and the promise is exaggerated and I just closed out my membership rather than face the automatic renewal. I have talked with a few other vets who have had similar problems and all have resigned their membership.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a letter from the leadership of this organization telling me their reaction to the concerns of their customer. I did not get any such courtesy when speaking with their telemarketing staff.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/19) */ Thank you for bringing Mr. ******'s concerns to our attention. Our CEO and Founder,****** ****** called Mr. ****** and spoke with him on Saturday, April 6th. Mr. ******'s concern was that ****** did not receive competitive rates as a Veterans Advantage member compared to rates offered to the public on a car rental in Baltimore, MD. Mr. ****** said ****** would provide details of the rental so that Veterans Advantage could further investigate the situation. Veterans Advantage provides real discounts that are used by our members every day. One impartial review of our program is provided by ************* an Army Commanding Officer and blogger who saved $783 on his consumer purchases over the past year. Here is the link to his blog: *********************************************************************************************************** Although Veterans Advantage provides substantial discounts from national partners, it is not necessary to use the discounts to benefit from the program. Veterans Advantage includes $50,000 of Emergency Medical Travel Insurance free with membership; $5,000 of Accidental Death & Dismemberment insurance is also included. A free comprehensive financial analysis package is also available. The value of these free services with membership totals over $800. Mr. ****** further explained that the Veterans Advantage call center is a customer service vehicle and not a telemarketing effort. Mr. ****** reviewed the recording of Mr. ******'s call on April 3rd and found that ********* the Veterans Advantage representative acted with professionalism and courtesy and cancelled Mr. ******'s membership as requested. Consumer Response /* (2110, 7, 2013/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated ******/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up for 7 day trial through United Airlines. Then United would not allow any discount so I requested cancellation and refund. Signed up for 7 day trial through United Airlines. Then United would not allow any discount so I requested cancellation and refund. Instead they rolled the 7 day trial over to a full year membership and charged my credit card a second unauthorized time for a full year membership. I was told they had to mail me a special cancellation form to my home address. And, advised me upon recipt to enter a special cancellation code number XXXXXJB. The special form has never come. I've called twice more and was told the same thing. I trust was the membership cancelled and both charges refunder to my credit card.

Desired Settlement: 2 unauthorized charges.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/03/19) */ Thank you for bringing Mr************ concerns to our attention. Our records show that Mr. ******** joined our program as a 30-day trial member on 9/17/12. We do not have a 7-day trial offer. Mr. ******** also added a family member to his account. A $9.90 fee ($4.95 per person) was charged on 9/17/12 to cover the processing fee for membership cards and materials. This charge is clearly explained on the enrollment pages and is in no way unauthorized. Mr. ******** joined by clicking a page on the website of our partner United Airlines and this page also indicated a 30-day trial. United offers a 5% discount for Veterans Advantage members. We have no communication from Mr. ******** to indicate that ****** had a problem accessing our benefit with United. When the trial period for his memberships ended on 10/17/12, we had received no word from Mr. ******** to discontinue his trial memberships, therefore, the annual fee for the two memberships was charged to his credit card. Neither the processing fees nor the annual fees charged to Mr************ credit card were unauthorized. The billing process for the trial membership is clearly explained on the enrollment pages as well as in the materials that were emailed to Mr. ******** at *****@med-evac.us and in the materials that were mailed to him at 424 Down Pine Drive, Seffner, FL XXXXX. Mr. ******** did contact our customer service call center on 2/20/2013, four months after his trial memberships had converted to one year memberships, to request cancellation. Jason, our representative, explained that we would send a form in the mail to him that ****** should complete and return with his active membership cards for cancellation and refund. This form was sent, to the mailing address on file which was verified over the phone, on 2/21/13. To date we have not received the completed form nor have we received the active membership cards back from Mr. ********. As it is clear that Mr. ******** wants to cancel his membership, I have requested a refund check be sent to him in the amount of $89.92. ****** should receive this check in the next 10 days. We consider this matter to be fully resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/21/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service