BBB Accredited Business since

K & J Tree Removal

Additional Locations

Phone: (203) 248-8733 Fax: (203) 909-6506 View Additional Phone Numbers 2485 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT 06518 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kjtreeremoval.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

K & J Landscaping LLC offers commercial and residential landscaping services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K & J Tree Removal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for K & J Tree Removal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on K & J Tree Removal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2004 Business incorporated 06/21/2006 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Environmental Protection, Dept. of
79 Elm Street, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.ct.gov/dep/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 424-3000
dep.webmaster@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kyle D. Delucia, Owner Ms. Jenn Feiman, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle D. Delucia, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service - Transplant Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)


Additional Locations

  • 2485 Whitney Ave

    Hamden, CT 06518 (203) 248-8733

  • 3 Price Ave

    Norwalk, CT 06854 (203) 722-7316

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company completed removal of 3 pine trees at my home on 2/23 and 2/25/16. During removal, a sizeable branch fell onto my home, causing damage to my chimney cap, roof shingles, siding, outside air condenser unit, and irrigation system back flow preventer. In addition, company trucks broke multiple in ground sprinkler heads, and destroyed a section of my lawn. The tree work was completed on Feb. 25th 2016. As of today, I am still awaiting replacement of my chimney cap, back flow preventer, sprinkler heads, and lawn repair. I have photographs to support all my claims, as well as essentially all correspondence with the company captured via email. More than four months later enough is enough, and continued delays and other excuses are no longer viable.

Desired Settlement: The backflow preventer was replaced once by K&J's chosen plumber/irrigation contractor. However the new unit cracked due to freezing and thawing, because the unit was not properly drained of water when it was replaced. I want my chimney cap replaced, back flow preventer replaced again, and once my sprinkler system is activated I want the relevant broken sprinkler heads replaced.

Business Response:

K&J staff has been in contact with the customer and has advised that the replacement of the back flow valve and the chimney cap are pending schedule dates from the contractors. It is our understanding that the lawn repair work has already been completed, however, if the customer has additional concerns related to the lawn, K&J will review the concerns with the customer and address them accordingly. 

 

Staff will continue to work with the customer to remedy the pending concerns as quickly as possible to ensure a resolution that meets the customer's satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Complain** ********

I am rejecting this response because:  As previously stated, the damage was sustained to my home on 2/23/16.  I am without a chimney cap since that date.  How is it acceptable to respond that they are still waiting on a schedule date to replace it?  It has been 5 months!  The backflow was thought to be fixed months ago, but I notified the company there is a problem with the newly installed backflow on June 20th.  how is it acceptable more than a month later to still be trying to schedule someone to come out and install a new one?  The company is clearly trying to stall.  they've waited to the end of their 14 day grace period to respond to my claim, simply to say that they've been in touch with me and are trying to schedule someone to come complete these fixes?  This is a stall tactic. the only truthful part I can find is that, yes, we have had correspondence.  However, the last date of correspondence with the company was July 8.  I need these items fixed immediately.  I have documented evidence of the dates upon which I notified the company the chimney cap was damaged as well as the damage to the newly installed backflow, and can provide upon request.  Please do not allow another 14 days for the company to provide another evasive email response.  REAL action is required.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response: As of the date of this response, the chimney cap and the backflow device are both replaced. The customer has elected to have his irrigation contractor make repairs to impacted sprinkler heads and will forward the bill for this service upon completion.To that end, it is our understanding that the issue will be resolved and closed upon completion of the sprinkler head repair.

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: called the company to get an estimate to clear my back yard. The estimator came 3 times to ensure that we were getting a fair price. Estimator wrote up an agreement and agreed on a price of 3400 cash or 3615.90 if paid by check so if we paid cash we would not pay taxes, and we both signed the agreement form. the work was scheduled and the crew came and decided that the job could not be done. that day the estimator and the owner **** came by and after walking the property where the work was to be done. he told me that it would cost at least $6000.....almost twice as much. the crew also caused heavy damage to my driveway which **** said he would take care of if regardless if we accepted the new price. i have called and have not heard anything back it has been over a month and no word back. this is a SCAM the company has a designated estimator and when the less than pleasant crew comes by and and says they cant and don't want to do the job the owner comes by and tries to charge you double.

Desired Settlement: repair driveway damage caused by your trucks. and be more truthful to your potential customers, this is a scam you don't send an estimator out, who's only job is to estimate jobs then come by and try to charge double. that's SCAM and you should be investigated for it. bait and switch.

Business Response:

On May 19, 2015, K&J provided a proposal to the customer for land clearing work based upon current existing conditions. On June 2nd when the crew attempted to begin the project, the brush and trees showed signs of substantial additional growth and were in full bloom, thus increasing the labor and materials required to complete the project. In response to these concerns, the owner of the company arranged a meeting with the customer to review the project the afternoon of June 2nd.  At this time the customer was advised that due to the growth of the brush and trees, completion of the project in the spring/summer months would cost more than originally quoted. K&J suggested that the homeowner wait until the winter time when the leaves have fallen from the trees as the original price can be honored at that time. The customer also requested repair of the driveway as a depression was caused by an outrigger on one of the trucks. This repair was completed as agreed the week of July 6, 2015.

Consumer Response:



Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 As a company that deals daily in tree and brush they should of been well aware that plants grow in the spring.  Maybe adding a disclaimer of some sort.  during the 14 days that passed during the time of the agreement and time of the company arriving you mean to tell me that my yard grew so much that it warranted an 83% increase in price from $3400 to $6000.  i can understand an additional 10-15%.  not 83%.  and as for my driveway while you did repair the main damage.  you missed the other depressions your truck had left and the 1 foot by 6 foot holes from the tires and i understand that your agreement says your not responsible for that type of damage.  since the agreement was never honored i would like my property back to where it was before you arrived.   and if you would of called to schedule i would of shown it to you..   please call me if you are going to come repair the rest of the driveway and grass area that was ruined.  

Sincerely,

******* ******

Business Response:

Although K&J specializes in tree removal and pruning work, unfortunately it is difficult to determine exactly how much brush will grow in an area in any period of time. K&J acted as quickly as possible to work with the property owners to answer questions and clarify concerns regarding the scope of work and offered possible resolution by way of completing the project in the fall or winter months.

K&J can arrange to complete additional repairs that may be required, however we ask that the customer provide a bit more detail with regard to the lawn repairs requested so we may follow up accordingly.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: K&J does not honor its contract. On 04/13/15, we had Rick G***** come to our home and give us a written estimate. In the estimate it read: *Cut wood to firewood length *Remove chips & debris *Grind stump $200 additional First, the crew came hours later than told over the phone. When they put down the braces for the bucket truck, they made a huge dent in our driveway's blacktop. They did NOT cut the wood to fireplace length. The extra long logs were left on top of the very stump we were going to have removed and not stacked off to the side. They left wheelbarrow upon wheelbarrow of debris behind. When we showed them the contract, the crew said they were leaving and that they were tired. We tried to call the manager who came out to give us the quote. He was unable to be reached. Meanwhile, we took photos of their work. Second, we called the office - repeatedly. Each time we were told we could not speak with Rick. The receptionist told us the job was done. We explained that we wished to speak with Rick because we wanted him to honor the contract. The subcontractor who was to grind the stump came and told us there was no way he would grind the stump for $200. We showed him the contract. He told us to take up with K&J. After getting nowhere, we emailed Rick with the photographs. We told him we wanted him to make it right by doing what was written in the contract. Rick emailed us that he would have the stump ground for $200 with his newly purchased machine. At that time we were happy thinking that Rick was going to make things right. When we called the office to schedule the stump grinding, the receptionist refused to schedule the appointment. She told us we had to sign a NEW contract. We told her that the first contract was not upheld. She said that the line about stump grinding was crossed out on their end. We informed her that it was NOT crossed out on our copy and we would be glad to it to show her. Again, we were not permitted to speak with Rick nor has Rick called us despite us leaving messages requesting that he call. We explained that we were trying to be fair and giving them every opportunity to fix their errors. She was not helpful in assisting us in coming to a resolution for this situation.

Desired Settlement: It has been months. We moved the logs, split wood, stacked wood, and removed piles and piles of debris. We want them to grind the stump for free and remove the debris that work will cause BEFORE September 15, 2015.

Business Response:

K&J requested a separate agreement be signed for stump grinding as the customer originally intended to hire a subcontractor K&J used previously and as such, the original agreement indicated that stump grinding was crossed off as an addendum to the original agreement. In an effort to protect both the customer and K&J as contractor, a separate agreement would outline the exact scope of work to be conducted. We apologize for any inconvenience this request caused the customer. In good faith, K&J agrees to complete the stump grinding at no extra cost. Typically, the stump grinding agreement does not include any debris removal, rather the stumps are ground and debris is raked back into the hole. Again, in good faith, K&J will remove debris related to the stump grinding per the customer's request.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ****

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: K&J Tree Removal took down a tree in my yard, in April 2015, and in doing so, damaged my vinyl fence. I took pictures of the damage and sent them to K&J. They said they would fix the damages. I have sent numerous emails asking when the fence will be fixed, and who will be fixing it (I want to be sure it's someone reputable), and have still not been given a reasonable response as to when it will be fixed. It has been two months, and I feel like I'm still getting the runaround.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my own estimate and be issued a refund for the damages, as I have paid K&J Tree Removal in full.

Business Response: K&J has been in contact with the customer regarding the fence repairs and intends to complete the necessary repairs which include replacement of damaged pickets and one cap. ***** *****, LLC has been secured to complete this work, we simply await a start date from the vendor.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

K&J has been telling me for two months that the fence will be fixed, though they wouldn't give me the name of the company that will fix it, or when it will be fixed.  I would like a specific date and I would like the fence company to contact me immediately so that we can settle this.

Sincerely,

****** *********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: If someone was at my place of residence to fix the fence, they did not make their presence known to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Date Sent: 7/15/2015 5:40:22 PM
 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: If someone was at my place of residence to fix the fence, they did not make their presence known to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********


Sincerely,

****** *********

Business Response:

As of the close of business on Wednesday, July 15, 2015, this matter has been resolved as follows:

The additional fence picket was replaced;

The battery for the solar light was replaced as were the remaining batteries which were replaced as a measure of good faith.

The homeowner was present on Wednesday and spoke with staff regarding the repairs completed.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had contracted to have three trees removed. Contract clearly stated all "wood, chips and debris" was to be removed, to stay "toward perimeter" of property, and to "use mats" on the lawn. They left extensive debris (wood, chips, sawdust piles and bark) about our property which we had to clean up. They drove over the leeching fields, and did so without matts. The employees were also noted to be throwing large branches into our woods rather than taking wood away. I had to verbally instruct them to stop, as our woods is highly visible from all parts of the back of our home. We asked retrieve them to retrieve the wood they had thrown in there, but they never did. (I have photos and videos) Finally, they took three days to remove LARGE trees from our lawn, dragged LARGE trees across our property from front to back and side to side of our backyard, resulting in damage to the lawn and property. The sawdust piles and bark left on our property was extensive, and left for us to clean up. We requested they compensate us by reducing the price, but they refused to do so. We do not believe we got the stated service we paid for, and feel that the contract was not honored. We have permanent damage done to our lawn from the dragging of large trees which created multiple trenches and destruction of grass. We purchased top soil and attempted to fill in the trenches ourselves but it will never be the same after their inexcusable work performance. We have had many trees taken down in the past. Never have dealt with such a sloppy company. Their answer to us is to offer us their landscaping services to repair the lawn. We have had enough of their poor quality work. That offer is unreasonable since we already spent money and hours repairing things ourselves.

Desired Settlement: I don't even want to pay these people but will pay for the cost of taking the trees down. We asked them to reduce the agreed upon price by 300.00. We really want them to take 500.00 off for not honoring the contract, for doing very little to try to provide decent customer service and for our time cleaning up their mess. So,we want 500.00 off of the agreed price of 2600.00 plus tax. We will pay 2100.00, which is more than they really deserve.

Business Response: K&J was hired by the customer to complete tree removal on the property. Work commenced on Tuesday, May 19, 2015. Customer was contacted at the end of the business day and was advised that the tree work would be completed the morning of Thursday, May 20th with a separate wood pick up to follow. The crew indeed completed the tree work on Thursday, May 20th and K&J sent a log truck to pick up the wood on Friday, May 21st and again the morning of Saturday, May 22nd. K&J agreed to remove debris left behind along the wood line in addition to removing the logs. Upon completion of this phase of the project, K&J office staff contacted the customer to arrange for additional clean up and lawn repairs even though the contract stipulates that "any lawn or driveway indentations caused by trucks or equipment will not be the responsibility of K&J Landscaping, LLC". The customer voluntarily took action to clean the debris without providing K&J with the opportunity to send staff to remedy the issue. Multiple telephone conversations and messages were exchanged between the customer and K&J office staff to discuss owner concerns and reach resolution. When the customer requested a reduction in price, K&J again offered the customer an opportunity to complete clean up and repairs as is standard practice in the unusual event that damage is sustained to the property. The customer again requested a reduction, and staff asked the customer to provide an estimate from a landscaper of his choice to remedy the issue in an effort to place a fair and equitable dollar amount on the repairs. Customer did not want to hire another vendor to do the repairs, indicating he would complete the repairs himself. As customer states pictures are available, K&J would like to review said documentation in an effort to conclude this matter and receive payment in a total amount to be mutually agreed upon by both parties.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1. We (my wife and I both) recall the events/circumstances differently than K&J.

2. Their response does not address the true substance of our complaint; The contract we signed with K &J clearly stated they would use mats on our lawn, that they would stick to the perimeter of the property, and remove all wood and debris. That is what we paid for when contracting with them.

They did not use mats, per their contract with us, when driving over the center of our lawn, they did not stay along the perimeter, per their contact with us. (This, while they had their truck in reverse, wheels bearing down into the center of our lawn,  attached to a rope which was tied to another one of our trees (not intended to be taken down or damaged) being used as a fulcrum to yank down the intended tree. They discarded, (and never removed) some wood into the woods of our property until my wife asked them to stop, rather than taking it away, per their contract with us

3. No offer was made to us that indicated K&J would address the mess, or repair our property. On Saturday, May 23rd when *** spoke with my wife, she told her we were upset and currently in our yard cleaning up the mess. *** said that “landscaping services were available,” implying that there would be additional costs to repair.


The details as we recall:

The job was started on Tuesday, May 19th. On Saturday, May 23rd, *** called our house approximately 3 pm. Up to this point there were multiple conversations between K &J but they were strictly about getting the large trees off of our lawn in a timely manner, which was accomplished and finished Saturday morning; five days after the first and largest tree was dropped on our lawn. My wife returned her call. After a brief discussion on how dissatisfied we were with how this job went, and the mess and damage to our property, *** asked what they "could do. My wife asked "what are you offering?" *** had no answer. At no time during that call or prior to this time, did *** offer to send somebody out to clean up our yard. My wife explained that we were (at that moment) outside cleaning up the mess they had left; that we were pretty upset with the condition of our property. No offer for clean-up was made other than “landscaping services were available” and something about them not being responsible for damage. It was never presented as something they would do as part of the job. It was presented as an additional expense option if we wanted it. Otherwise, why not just say we will send someone out at XXXX time to clean up?

 My wife told *** she wanted to discuss further with me, what action we wanted taken. *** and my wife agreed to speak again on Tuesday, after the holiday weekend. On Tuesday we did not hear from K&J. We ended up speaking on Wednesday, May 27th. At that time, after discussions with my wife, I requested from Jen, a 300.00 reduction in the price as compensation for the work that we had to do to repair and/or prevent any additional damage to our lawn (which, by the way, 300.00 would never pay for the extent of repairs or clean up needed). *** said she needed to speak with **** about our request to lower the amount due. Again, she offered their landscaping "options". This was not a "free of charge" offer or in any way conveyed that they wanted to make this right for us. At no point did anyone from their business came out to investigate our property or the claims of our dissatisfaction. I wish they had. I believe any self-respecting business would have been appalled to see what was there.

With respect to K&J's comments about not giving K&J them the opportunity to clean the property before doing it ourselves: At no point in the multiple conversations with ***, up to Tuesday May 27th were we given any indication, offered or informed someone would be out to clean up the yard. It had been over a week of multiple complaints and phone calls with them regarding the condition of our lawn, through and after the work was “done.” We did what we thought was right for our property on Saturday, as soon as the large wood was removed. It was only then that we realized the full extent of the damage and mess left behind.
In addition we invest good money into the care of our lawn. We were anxious to halt any additional damage. Up to this point K&J didn't appear too concerned about the passing of time or any damage to our property. It was unrealistic of them to offer for us to get additional estimates for landscaping, or wait for their landscaping offer to come through. We no longer trusted this business to do any job right.

K n J's response to the BBB speaks only to what they tried to do after the fact, and frankly it was not presented in a way that gave us any confidence that they intended to make things right with us. We believe the real issue is that they made a contract with us that they did not keep. We believe this job was poorly planned (first by taking down the largest tree on the property, obstructing their ability to get to the smaller trees without driving across the center of our property, and second by poor planning for the timely removal of LARGE tree trunks and debris strewn about our property.)

We are not in the habit of contacting the Better Business Bureau, nor did we have unrealistic expectations that our lawn to be pristine after the work, but we have had many trees taken down in the past and THIS job warranted such action to the BBB. We believe this company misrepresented through false contracting with us, the job they were going to do, and their capabilities to do so professionally. Compounding the problem was the business owner’s total hands off approach to us, leaving the dirty work of talking to us over the course of two weeks, to ***.

I am attaching photos, but they really do not do it justice. We have a full acre. This was no small mess. The large bark, debris and piles of sawdust was extensive and embedded into and across the property covering a strip 6-8 feet wide and aprox. 30 feet long on one side, and all the way across the full back yard (about 100 feet). The pictures represent a very small portion of the mess. The trees were dragged across and up the full length of our property when removed on Friday and Saturday (only compounding the damage done to the lawn by allowing the trees to lay on the property for several days). 

Against our better judgement, but because we realize there was an expense to them to do this job, we have paid them 2300.00 (plus tax) at this point. As we later discovered, our wood was hauled approximately 10 houses away and given to a local resident, so there were no dumping fees (for all we know the resident may have paid K&J for our wood). There was NO clean up once the large branches were removed. “Removal of wood and debris”, as noted in the contract, meant just that…to us.

We maintain that K&J has been more than adequately compensated for the job done. 


Sincerely,

*** ******

Business Response: K&J has received the customer's payment with reduction in cost and accepted said payment as payment in full as of Monday, June 8, 2015.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** ******

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with K&J Tree Removal to cut down many trees from my property and dispose of the wood and debris. The work was completed on 10/14/2014 to my satisfaction except for a section of curbing on the driveway which was destroyed by the Bobcat when removing the logs. I called "Jen" on 10/14 to give my credit card information for payment and told her about the damage. She said she would hire a paving company to repair it. On 10/23/2014 I called to get the status and was told she was waiting for the paving company to get back to her. On 10/30/2014 I called again and was given a repair date of 11/5 (weather permitting). The weather was good on 11/5 but no one called or showed. Time is running out; the paving companies close soon for the winte

Desired Settlement: I expect K&J to complete their promise to repair my driveway before the winter.

Business Response:

The customer hired K&J to complete tree removal work in September 2014. Upon completion of the work, we were notified of damage to curbing. K&J intends to repair the damaged curbing and indicated to the customer that we would attempt to schedule the work for the week of November 3rd. Unfortunately due to the rain and high winds on November 1st, our crews were working on emergency tree removal the earlier part of the week. As it is raining today (November 6th), we are also unable to address the the curbing replacement today. K&J intended to contact the customer before the end of the week to discuss rescheduling. We received notification of this concern prior to making contact with the homeowner.

K&J will replace the curbing as agreed promptly when weather conditions permit. At this time, it is likely that the repair will be completed early during the week of November 10th. The customer will receive a phone call regarding scheduling and completion of the work.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 
My concerns are:
 
1. I was told the work would be completed on 11/5; but did not receive any notification that it was changed.
2. I was told a private paving contractor would do the work, so how does emergency tree removal fit into this picture?

Sincerely,

******* *****

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2014 I had some work done by this company on my patio and sidewalk by having some pavers placed for a new sidewalk and patio. They company stated that they would fix my lawn that was torn up. The lawn was not fixed to to the way the grass was before. They also stated that between the pavers I would not get any weeds due to the sand that that they put in it. I have been getting weeds all over my patio and sidewalk. They stated they would come out and kill the weeds and place more sand down. They have yet to do that and I have given them plenty of chances to come out. They will not work with me nor give me any answers about when they will show up. I would like them to come out and fix the job that they never finsihed in the first place by adding more sand between the pavers and getting rid of the weeds.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come out and fix the job that they never finished in the first place adding more sand between the pavers and getting rid of the weeds.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

The customer hired K&J Landscaping for patio and walkway installation work which was completed in April 2014.  The customer contacted our office on August 11, 2014 regarding concerns with the weeds between the pavers and the need for additional stone dust.  She was advised at the time that the office would contact her prior to sending someone out to review her concerns. On August 21st, the customer was advised that an appointment will be scheduled either the afternoon of Friday, August 22nd or Saturday August 23rd. 

On August 22nd, office staff spoke with the customer three times as follows:

At approximately 8AM the customer was advised that scheduling was pending;

Mid-morning the customer was again advised that she would be provided with an appointment time as soon as possible, most likely by the end of the day or by no later than Monday morning;

At approximately 1:45PM, the customer was provided with an appointment time of Saturday, August 23, 2014 at 10:30AM.  This conversation was conducted by phone and the customer verbally agreed to accept the appointment as scheduled.

The customer also received a call from another staff member at 2:45PM in response to a message left by the customer.

Staff will continue to work with the customer to ensure satisfaction with work completed.

Sincerely,

K&J Landscaping, LLC

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired K&J Landscaping to remove 16 trees from our property. They cut the trees down on Monday, 4/7 & Tuesday, 4/8/14. They demanded a check when the tree-cutting was complete & we complied. They promised us they would be back on Friday to remove the trees that are laying all over my lawn & they have not returned. I have made multiple calls to them & they claim "you are at the top of the list". It is now 9 days later, they have our money & they can't be bothered to complete the job. This is not good customer service.

Desired Settlement: Remove the trees & pile of brush they said they would cart away & repair my lawn where the trucks damaged it when they drove on it during the rainstorm on 4/8.

Business Response:

Hi, *******,

We received a complaint last week. #********. It has been resolved and the customer is happy. The wood was taken away and the yard has been cleaned up to their satisfaction. We are looking for this complaint to be noted as resolved on your website and the BBB files. Let me know if there is anything else needed by K & J Landscaping to make that happen.

Thank you in advance.

*** ******

Operations Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. They made up for it with this quick response.

Sincerely,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on K & J Tree Removal
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart