BBB Accredited Business since

Croce's Transmission Specialist, LLC

Phone: (203) 845-8899 Fax: (203) 845-8849 301 Main Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Croce's Transmission Specialists LLC performs repairs and maintenance on automatic and standard vehicles including, transmission, check engine light diagnostics, clutch, differential, transaxle and complete drive train work on both domestic and foreign vehicles. Free road tests and estimates. Nationwide written warranty. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Croce's Transmission Specialist, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Croce's Transmission Specialist, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Croce's Transmission Specialist, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2002 Business started: 09/01/1999 in CT Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated 07/08/1999 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Maryann Croce, Member/Bookkeeper Mr. Anthony Croce, Member/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Maryann Croce, Member/Bookkeeper
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Appointments available on line. Earlier Drop off and Pick up. Call for details, or visit our website
Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards, Debit, Cash, Checks
Products & Services

36 years experience. Family owned & operated. Nationwide written warranty. Check engine light diagnositc. Car care & maintenance awareness events.

Additional Locations

  • 301 Main Ave

    Norwalk, CT 06851 (203) 845-8899


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my transmission replaced on my 2001 Volvo c70 . After the first round, I drove the car and it was still banging and shifting into gear hard, I called **** and asked that I bring the car back in. When I did, he determined that it was a faulty valve body, so he called the shop and the supposedly sent him a new one. **** proceeded to replace it again for the 2nd time and mentioned to me that he was having a hard time with the part. He even called Volvo to see if they could help with the pressure gaging for it to work correctly. Again he called me and said the car was fixed. I picked up the car and AGAIN it was doing the same thing. I brought it back in again for the 3rd time and he kept stressing that it was the pressure gates. This went on for 2 more times. When I picked the car up he sent me a gift card to a restaurant and apologized for my troubles. Throughout all of this, I had to rent a car 5 times. I drove the car for awhile and all of a sudden it would not go, I called again and had the car towed into his shop and he said it was the transmission. He would not correct the transmission. I took the car to Volvo to have a dialogistic test done, and they determined that the valve body was shot, the lines to the transmission were modified, they mentioned that the work was done in someone's back yard and not up to industry standards. Cooler lines were modified and not up to industry standards. The 30,000 miles that were driven it was never right. My questions is how can a warranty be up when it was never fixed correctly in the first place? Product_Or_Service: Transmission Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the cost to fix the transmission and all of the car rentals in the amount of $4,653.36 dollars.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/17) */ In January of 09 the customer had a rebuilt transmission done by Croce's not a replacement. Here is a link to help clarify the differences. . The rebuild came with a 12 month / 12,000 mile warranty. The customer contacted Croce's in October of 09 with vehicle concerns. After Croce's diagnosis, the vehicle's valve body was repaired and the vehicle was road tested by Croce's (under warranty). The customer was given back the vehicle. I explained to the customer of a known and verified issue in the industry with these transmission valve bodies that may occur. Sometimes a repair is needed or a replacement may be needed. There are (TSB) Technician Service Bulletins on this subject and many parts suppliers are aware of this issue. About 3 weeks later in November of 09 the customer contacted Croce's. The customer was upset and still had concerns so Croce's then verified the concern and replaced the valve body (under warranty). The reason for contacting Volvo was so Croce's could take the vehicle to Volvo for a PCM/TCM reprograming which can only be done at Volvo. When a Volvo valve body is replaced it has to be reprogramed. There is normally is an additional charge by the dealer but Croce's covered the reprograming out of (goodwill). The reprograming was done at Volvo and the quality of the rebuild was never in question. Croce's also sent the customer a restaurant gift card out of (goodwill) to address their frustration and personal upset. The customer did come back to Croce's another time on a general repair issue, unrelated to the transmission concern and the vehicle was road tested after the repair and working properly. In May of 2012 the customer had the Volvo towed back to Croce's and was very upset. Croce's diagnosed the vehicle issue. The transmission pump had worn out and the transmission had stopped working. The rebuild was done 3 years and 4 months earlier and the vehicle had over 30,000 miles on it since the original transmission rebuild. The vehicle was out of warranty. I understood the customer's frustration with the Volvo needing another repair but believe the frustration was misdirected. Referring back to the TSB matter, there is a known issue with these transmissions and it has nothing to do with the quality of the repair. Again out of (goodwill), Croce's offered the customer the labor at (no charge) to install a remanufactured transmission (part charge only) with an 18 month / 18,000 mile warranty. The customer left the vehicle at Croce's for a week and then decided to tow it out. The customer was very upset even after I explained in detail all of the above again. Croce's not only warrantied the rebuild. Out of (goodwill) we addressed the reprograming, reached out to the customer to address the frustration with the vehicle issues and the current needed repair. I understand that many are overwhelmed at the thought of a major repair and I explain the process in detail to better educate our customers and community. Croce's is a high tech facility that keeps current with continual training and updates so our customers can be assured of the correct repairs. Transmission work has become very specialized over the years and because of this some local general repair shops and some local dealerships send their transmission work to Croce's. They know the quality of our work and want to best service their customers. If you need more information please let me know.