BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

This Business is not BBB accredited

Cox Communications

Additional Locations

Phone: (401) 383-2876 Fax: (401) 615-1581 View Additional Phone Numbers 170 Utopia Rd, Manchester, CT 06042 http://www.cox.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Cox Communications offers digital cable, high speed internet, Cox digital telephone services and wireless cell phone service.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cox Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 48 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 26
Total Closed Complaints 48

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 29, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 02/09/1996 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Hickey, Quality/Customer Service Supervisor Ms. Diva Almeida, Administrative Assistant Ms. Kelley Peters, Process Improvement Leader Mr. John Wolfe, VP, Public Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Hickey, Quality/Customer Service Supervisor
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers Computers - Cable & Installation Internet Services Telephone Equipment & Systems Service & Repair Television & Radio Broadcast Schools


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 Lake Hearn Dr NE

    Atlanta, GA 30319 (404) 843-5000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    170 Utopia Rd

    Manchester, CT 06042 (860) 512-2253 (800) 955-9515 (860) 512-5000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    683 E Main St

    Meriden, CT 06450 (203) 439-4269 (860) 436-4269 (401) 383-2315

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (401) 383-2000(Phone)
  • (401) 615-1710(Phone)
  • (800) 955-9515(Phone)
  • (860) 512-2253(Phone)
  • (860) 512-5000(Phone)
  • (860) 432-5009 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 year price protection??? Despite being a 30+ year customer of Cox, every 6-12 months I get a bill indicating my rates have gone up. Most recently, my monthly price went from $221.83 to $287.99 for their 'Cox Bundle' of cable, internet, and phone. This leads to the inevitable call to Cox 'customer service' (sic) where we go back and forth on services and discounts until we inevitably arrive at a price not much different from where I started. I've often asked why as a 'valued 30 year customer' they just don't offer me their best available rate so we can avoid this unpleasant exchange. Anyways, on Tuesday March 4th, my call didn't resolve anything. According to the rep, the best they could do for the same services was $247.99 per month. Given an increasing feeling that my business would be appreciated more elsewhere, I decided that I would leave Cox and go to **** or ****** **. I asked the rep what I needed to do to cancel service, and amongst other things she said that it would only be a $24 charge for early termination. Not understanding what she meant by this, she explained that I had agreed to a "2 year price protection contract" 12 months ago. When I asked how my rates could go up 30% year over year 12 months into a 24 month price protection program, she uttered some inane explanation about rates being protected but not discounts. Frankly, this is exactly why cable companies in general and Cox in particualr have such poor reputations with their customers. Perhaps somewhere in the small print (??) she may be right, but isn't price protection price protection to the average consumer? To add insult to injury, they want to hit me with an early cancellation fee? That is outrageous!!

Desired Settlement: ideally, I could retain my existing services at my existing price; if not, the early termination fee should be waived upon cancellation.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Cox Communications is responding to the complaint filed in your office on 3/18/2014 with case #*******.  This situation has been addressed and below is the agreed upon resolution.

Our customer’s Price Lock Guarantee (PLG) which protects the retail rates for service with Cox from rate actions for a period of 24 months will remain in place.  The individual product discounts that had a term of 12 months that expired in March have been replaced with a Bundle discount that will remain in place until 2/12/2015.  This coincides with the remaining term of the PLG. 

We apologize for the frustration our customer felt in dealing with this issue and hope that this resolution is satisfactory with them.

Sincerely,

 

Executive Customer Resolution Specialist

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertisement of services, bundles, deals and offers. My complaint is about the way the services, bundles and offers are being presented with Cox. I strongly believe that these "Offers" and "Bundles" are falsely advertised and fall within the line of fraud. I signed up for a silver package which included, cable, phone and internet a few months ago, I can't remember when but it has only been a few months. The offer I took was for $99 and as it was explained to me the only way I could keep it at this rate was if I had agreed to a 2 yr term, which was fine, I agreed to it because it was reasonable. In the last 3 months i've noticed that there was an increase and I went from paying $127 per month to about $145 a month. I called them today 3/14/14 because I seen the new charges and again they were higher than I was told they would be so, I called to figure out what was going on and the representative I spoke with explained that when I first got the bundle, the price was lower because I was at a certain dollar amount discount and that discount decreased which is why I am now paying more and that in October I will see another increase in my bill of $20 which means I will be paying more that $160 for cable when I had only agreed to pay a little over $100 with taxes included. These increases were never explained to me or else I would have never agreed to a 2 yr term knowing that my rate was going to increase every few months. Not only will my cable bill increase by $20 in October but it will increase a few months after that until that 2 yr agreement is up which isn't untl late 2015! I believe this is fraud and a scam on Cox behalf to trick people into getting into these contracts and than having them pay more throughout time. I was told in order for me to cancel the term which I am thinking of, I would have to pay a $170 cancellation fee. Why should I have to pay a fee to cancel something I didn't agree to? I currently live in *********** ** and there arent any other cable services that provide service in the area other than sattelite dishes and I am unable to install a sattelite dish in my apartment complex. I am infuriated by this. They should not be allowed to do this and than to trap people into a 2 yr contract?! That's insane! This means I will be paying more than $200 for cable by the time this 2 yr agreement is up when I could be paying less with the bundles that are out and will continue to come out yet, I can't change my package because I am bound to this agreement. This isn't right and as a ********** resident who's been a Cox customer for a couple of years now, I am truly disappointed about this.

Desired Settlement: I believe I should be credited the additional amount I have paid and have to pay due to there negligence in not explaining the package correctly and false advertising or my bill should remain at what I agreed to when I signed up for this bundle which was $127 per month. If this cannot be met, than the least they can do is not charge me the cancellation fee to cancel this 2 yr agreement package. I am a single mother and cannot afford anymore bills let alone afford for my bills to continue to rise

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Cox Communications is responding to the complaint filed with your office on March 14, 2014 assigned the ID of *******.

After multiple attempts by both phone and email we have not been able to make contact with this customer to address their unique situation.  We do believe that there are suitable resolution options available to offer the customer. However, prior to proceeding with this matter we wish to review and discuss all options available with the customer.  We have assigned this matter to a specialist who will work with the customer and clarify any miscommunication that may have taken place.  We look forward to concluding this matter with mutually acceptable results.

 

 

Sincerely,

Cox Executive Customer Resolution Team

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cox sells you a bundle package for your cable tv, internet & telephone. These packages have always included a price lock as long as you've signed up for a 1 year or 2 year package and it locks you in. There is a penalty if you want out. Now they're saying they can increase the price on these bundles because they broke them up into two catagories: Promotional bundle to save you money or Price Lock which will lock in the price. The problem is that they did not disclose this to the consumer (ME) when I renewed my bundle in November, 2013. They also do not send you this contract so you have no way of knowing this. Now, they have raised the price $21.00 a month and I can't get out of my contract until November, 2014. Isn't this considered a bait and switch?

Desired Settlement: I just wish for them to honor the price I was locked in to.

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

Cox Communications responds to BBB Case# *******.

Upon receipt of BBB's information, Cox Communications Customer Relations team  reached out to our customer on 2.27.14 to review their discount package  . Our Customer Relations supervisor reviewed all options and  what had been discussed  on the monitored call when the customer's sale had been processed in November of 2013. The customer was offered a new package to which the customer accepted and the option of adding a Price Lock Gurantee.

This matter has been addressed and our customer has a contact number if any further concerns. We appreciate our customer's patronage.

Thank you,

The Customer Experience  Team

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi,I requested to put my account in SEASONAL mode (as per suggestion by customer service representative of Cox Communication)from October 10th-Nov 15th as I was traveling internationally .I was advised that it will service as usual by Nov 15th 2013. However, my internet was not functional for 3 days and finally Cox sent out an Engineer to fix the problem. The Engineer realized that root cause of no service was that Cox Tech team forgot to put my account back into active mode and he changed my modem instead but assured me that as its not my fault, I wouldn't be charged for it.However, this is the 2nd month that I am getting charged and Cox Customer Team is not ready to accept the error at their end.I am very frustrated and want BBB to help me.Warm Regards,******

Desired Settlement: I would like the charges for the modem taken off immediately and I be given the service credit for all the time and agony I have gone through.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Cox communications is responding to the complaint filed with your office on January 10, 2014 with the complaint # *******.

Because of the misunderstanding which caused the customer’s modem to be swapped out unnecessarily Cox has placed a refund on the account to cover the charges for the modem in addition to the credit which was applied to the for the prorated services when the customer returned from seasonal status.  We extend our apologies for the circumstances which led to this complaint being filed. 

Sincerely,

Cox Executive Customer Resolution Team

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We lost power/cable/phone on 11/28. We called Cox, automated reply said they are addressing. When they said it was all set, we called again to say we still had no phone.We were told to call back after an hour. We called a 3rd time, were told this is thanksgiving, they are short handed, would come Friday 4-5 pm. I clarified my cell phone reception was very poor (almost nil in my home) and to please come regardless, that the call would probably not work, but I would be here. They never came. I called 20 minutes after the window, they said they had no record of a problem, later amended to they called and I didn't answer so they cancelled. He told me to unplug all phones for 10 minutes (live chat assistance) then said he would be back shortly. I took that time to rehook the phones, came back, he disconnected and I cannot get through via chat or email. He said he cannot get me service until 12/1. I have record of all of this.

Desired Settlement: I 1. want my phone connected and 2. I want pro-rated billing for all the time I had no service.

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

Cox Communications reponds to BBB Case # *******.  

First and foremost, Cox Communications apologizes for this customer's overall experience. Our Customer Relations's team reviewed the customer's account history and found that we were able to reschedule an earlier appointment and fix the service issue. Also, we have provided the due credit for the time without service, along with a $25.00 overall good relations credit. 

The information provided by our customer helps us get in front of these types of issues so they do not happen again and to coach where necessary.  In addition, one of our Supervisors upon receipt of the complaint  called  our customer and acknowleded the customer's e-mail to the BBB.  We advised our customer that we would provide credit and left a contact  number in the event additional assistance maybe needed.

We appreciate our customer's patronage and once again apologize for the overall experience.

Sincerely,

The Customer Experience team

 

     

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, I must add that having had similar difficulties with the Cox technical assistance in the past, I believe this will be the last time I find any resolution satisfactory.  The difference in their customer service and professionalism has changed drastically since we first opened our account with them.

Sincerely,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told to renegotiate plan over phone Sept 21,2013. Did so. Bill sent Oct 21, 2013 did not reflect negotiated plan. Had extra charges. Called to straighten out - initially told that charges would be changed, but that no written bill would be sent to verify changes (***). Talked to supervisor (*******) who indicated that she was asking for resubmission of corrected bill. filled out a negative survey. Contacted by Cox (****) who indicated that they would not send me a new bill reflecting Sept 17 agreement and insisted that I had to take it on faith and pay bill without any written verification of plan. I indicated that this was unacceptable, and although I was a very longtime customer, I felt that this treatment was very unfair. As I am a senior, I will also contact the Attorney General's office about this also. I will probably terminate service with Cox as soon as I can locate another service. I feel that this was a bait and switch tactic as the charges they sent were over $30 more a month than agreed to. I do not ant to pay this bill without seeing, in writing, what I am being billed for. Cox refuses to send me bill reflecting the Sept 17 conversation. The bill they sent on October 17th is incorrect (or intentionally switched) and they refuse to send a corrected bill before requiring my payment.

Desired Settlement: Can the BBB cannot do anything to make Cox comply with better business practices. I have no issue paying my bill (as negotiated) as I have always done for many, many years. I just want to see what I am paying for in writing, before I do so. I don't think that is unreasonable.If the BBB can not help, I am going to contact the CT Attorney General's office as I understand they have a department to go after companies trying to take advantage of elderly persons.

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

Cox Communications responds to BBB Complaint #*******.

First and Foremost, Cox Communications apologizes to our customer for any miscommunication that had been experienced. Our agents could have provided our customer with a detailed ledger. This ledger breaks down the account pricing and services from the past few months and recent account activity. Upon receipt of your information, we contacted our customer back and explained what could have been requested to assist in this request. Therefore, our agent who spoke with our customer mailed out the ledger and provided their direct contact information in the event our customer may need further assistance. 

For reference, the account discounts expired and the services went to regular rate. Our subscriber called and renewed into a bundle offer which is now currently providing a $30.00 discount off the customer's service for the next 12 months.

We appreciate our customer's patronage and the information provided. This helps us get in front of this type of information so we can coach our agents accordingly.

The Customer Experience Team

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have not received any ledger, or any other documentation indicating my corrected charges (if indeed they have been corrected).

Further, I was an IT professional before I went into teaching (now retired). I am well aware of electronic billing systems. I find Cox's position extremely unconvincing,  The first person I contacted at Cox (***) was able to see my account information.  The supervisor (*******) could see my account information.  The follow up representative from Cox (****) could see my acoount information.  I cannot believe that a few clicks of the keyboard could not produce an image of my bill which could be emailed it to me.  I believe they are exerting more effort at obscuring my billing information than it would take to send me a email of my corrected bill.

My plan negotiation with Cox was Sept 17th.  The bill was dated Oct 11, almost a month later.  I received it the 17th (approximately).  I contacted them Oct 21, and it is now the 30th with absolutely no documentation.  A simple email of my correct billing information could (would) resolve this, but no documentation has been received.

At this point i feel that I am being taken advantage of.  I believe that the BBB is getting a snow job from Cox also.

Is the BBB aware of any CT gvt. branch that deals with the regulation of the type of services that Cox provides.  I feel that as a senior and as a consumer, I may possibly be the victum of fradulent activity.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Cox Communications responds to the customers rejection.

One of our Customer Relations Specialists reached out to our subscriber today  to assist further and work with our customer. We were able to review the bill and the difference between the ledger that was mailed versus a bill re- print which would not reflect the newest updates as the ledger would. We apologized that the customer did not receive this ledger as of yet and provided one months service credit. 

 In addition, our Customer Relations Specialist provided their direct contact information so when the next bill cycle prints out from our main office which will have all the updated discount and package information, our customer will then see  the new updates that are being requested. In the meantime, our customer should receive the ledger and our  customer has a direct contact for further assistance in the matter.

The Customer Experience Team

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initiated contact with Cox regarding a past due balance. Immediately paid approx. 1/3 due, post dated a check (agreed upon) for one week. Cox immediately took the funds (and charged us a service fee) rather than waiting until the agreed upon date. Two customer service reps. read notes stating that it did say the check was post dated. When I spoke with a supervisor asking that the transaction be reversed or a check be sent overnight to me, I was told that was illegal. Also, there are no longer any notes stating that the check was post dated. The supervisor named ******* doesn't know why the csr's told me that's what the notes said to appease me. Cox is willing to lose a ten year customer rather than make things right.

Desired Settlement: I want the funds in my account immediately or a check overnight. The agreed upon amount can be taken out on the date it was agreed to. I also want a credit for my bank fees and the inconvenience this has caused.

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

Cox Communications responds to the complaint that was submitted on 10/28/2013 8:32:53 by one of our subscribers and was assigned your ID of *******.   

One of our supervisors spoke with our customer to assist in the best way possible. The customer agreed to leave the payment on their account, and then fax  this supervisor the information  needed from the customer's bank so that we can provide a refund for the fees that had been incurred. In addition, we advised our customer that coaching information would be sent to the agents team leader who had worked with our customer on 10.25.13.

We appreciate our customer's patronage and apologize for this overall experience.

The Cox Customer Experience Team

 

  

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Although Cox did agree to pay the fees, I spent two days on the phone with supervisors telling me it was their error and nothing they could do about it.  I needed the withdrawn funds back in my account the same day or was willing to accept a check send via overnight service.  Cox refused.  One supervisor told me he did not know the corporate phone number and it was on me to prove that I incurred over $100 in fees due to Cox error and then it would be reviewed as to whether or not Cox would reimburse me.  Along with calling, I was emailing the customer serivce online team.   It took 6 emails (3 begging for a contact name and number) to get finally get someone to finally contact me and when she did, it was not at on my cell phone as requested.  The Cox team was extremely rude and unwilling to help until I said that I would take further action.  The response from Cox makes gives the impression that the company willingly resolved the issue immediately.

Sincerely,

***** ********

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

Cox Communications  responds to our customer's rejection for ID#*******

Our finance agent had worked with the account holder on October 29, 2013. It was agreed upon that instead of the customer contacting the bank to reverse their check payment, the account holder would keep the payment posted to their Cox account. In the rejection information provided today, our customer refers to conversations with various agents - requesting the check payment be reversed immediately.  However, check payments are not just reversed as Cox Communications requires a letter faxed over from the bank.  A check would then go out to the customer for a complete refund. Our customer refused on several occasions to have the bank fax us a letter – which had that been done, this would have been resolved immediately.  

We also received notification from the bank on October 30,2013 that the payment was not authorized and the bank in turn returned the funds back to the customer.  Cox Finance also  processed the refund check on 10/31/13 for the fees  the customer incurred. The customer should be receiving this check, in the amount of $105.00, within a week.   

It is the position of Cox Communications that we have properly addressed all issues relative to this matter.    

Thank you, The Customer Experience Team

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I did not refuse to have my bank fax a letter.  I said that I did not have time to go to the bank and explain the situation for the bank to provide a letter.

I was also told that even if my bank sent a letter the process would take a minimum of two weeks.  I did not pay via check, the amount was wired out of my account, therefore, Cox had

my banking information and should have been able to wire the funds into the account.  Cox held $140.00 hostage until my bank took action, and I have to wait for the additional $105.00 payment for

fees that was due to their error.  Not one person that I spoke with in the Cox organization cared.  The company lacks customer service.


Sincerely,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited a Cox location and ordered service through them. They said my price was locked for two years, they raised teh price in six months. I order service from Cox about six months ago. I switched our cable and internet service from my wife, ***** *******, to myself, ******* ********. My account number is ****************. I visited a Cox service center in ******* ***********, which is a town over from where I live. When I ordered the service they told me my price was locked in for two years. They gave no indication that they were providing me a discount price for six months and then my price would increase at that time. I started to receive monthly bills of $124.87 until this last month when the price increased to $161.45. When I called and inquired I learned for the first time that I was on a discount rate for six months and that my price lock was for the regular price before the discount. I called Cox and their service provider tried to sell me more service at a higher price, before they offered me a $10 rebate on my bill, which I accepted. The only reason I accepted was because I have no other option for TV or internet in my neighborhood. I felt that was I was lied to and manipulated to agree to a change of service at a reduced price that was suddenly taken away at six motnhs.

Desired Settlement: I would like the "discounted" rate I was promised, though I find that incredibly unlikely. Instead, what I really want is for people to know the deceptive business practices of this corrupt, monopolistic business.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Cox Communications responds to BBB Complaint# ******* that was received on 10.25.13.

Our Customer Relations team reached out to our subscriber to advise our customer that the manager of the retail location he was waited on was able to add an additional discount to the customers account to attain the rate our customer was looking to attain which was $124.72 . We advised our customer since the new discount that was added is only good  for the duration of one year and not the 18 months, after the one year the manager will ensure the remaining months will be discounted either by manually crediting the customer's account or providing another discount that maybe available at that time. Our customer's account has been documented in detail.

 We appreciate our customer's patronage and the information provided so that we can get in front of these types of issues and coach accordingly. The customer was satisfied.

Thank you,

The Customer Experience Team      

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by my sales representative in June 2013 who stated my service was up for renewal. I received a fax with a new contract and signed. Taking for granted she knew this was the case My error was not checking back at that point. But when my bill arrived it was $25 higher than before. I contacted her and she stated that FCC charges had went up and whether you were under contract or not, your bill would go up. At that point I started really looking at my bill. Firstly I found that they moved the FCC fees around from being apart of your monthly bill, (which made higher than contract amount) then they changed it and listed them in the tax and fees category. I also found my prior contract which was a 3 year contract not expiring until 8/2014, so I should have not been up for renewal in the first place. So I contacted the sales person again, we exchanged a few emails in which I felt like she was just trying to get me to go away saying, you will get a free month with the new contract so your all set. Finally I get the next bill now it is over $100 higher than before. I call my original sales person on a few occasions never getting a return phone call. So I called the general number, connected with a nice person who explained that yes I was correct my account was a mess, I should not have been up for renewal(she could see the 3 year signed contract on file) and she would contact the sales lady's manager and he would get back to me to straighten out. That was on a Friday on Monday I received a faxed contract requesting me to sign, so they could fix my account. I called the manager left a message, stating I did not understand why I would have to sign another contract when my original was good until 8/2014. No return call. On Wednesday I receive an email from the sales person again, saying they are submitting it through their system unsigned to get my pricing back to term. Not sure what that meant. I called again today the manager, and no return phone call. Account_Number: ****************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to see better customer service. there is no excuse for not returning phone calls. I understand people make mistakes that is not so much the issue. I am still not sure if they have returned my account to the original contract amount, because no one has bothered to contact me.

Business Response: First and foremost Cox Communications apologizes for your experience. The information you provided is very important to us so we can get in front of these types of issues so they do not happen again.

We asked a supervisor in Business Services to reach out to you and our team has just been advised that you had been contacted, your contract and bill  reviewed and  that a credit was  posted to your account. In addition, that you were satisfied with the assistance.

We appreciate your patronage and once again are very sorry for your experience and to please know this is not the norm.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/7/13 I was cancelling account with cox but called and kept the account going on 9/7/13 but I go to the cox web page and the money owed in my name is for this months amount and the amount owed if I of cancelled on 9/7/13 Product_Or_Service: cox tv essential Account_Number: XXX XXXX XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: The amount owed should only state this months bill please resolve with cox

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/10) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to Case# XXXXXXXX After a detailed review of our customer's account, we find that this customer had spoken to one of our agents and reconnected their service. In addition, the agent provided available discounts when processing the reconnect order for the customer to attain a monthly rate of $66.93. The customer's balance was higher on 9.8.13 statement because the customer closed their account. A remaining balance from the request to close the account was $24.22. This amount carried over to the reconnect bill because the customer reconnected services within a matter of a few days. This new bill generated from the request to reconnect which would have new statement bill dates plus that balance carry-over as mentioned. The amount of that reconnect bill was $96.67. When our customer called back to review the bill a credit of $19.00 had been provided which brought the bill balance to currently $72.44. Since the customer reconnected and for overall good relations we added the additional credit of $5.51 to bring the bill balance to $66.93. The 9.8.13 bill statement had already been mailed out so our subscriber will just need to remit $66.93 versus $96.67 as it will state. This we believe satisfies the customer's matter. Best regards, The Customer Relations team

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cox was supposed to install a new wire from my house to the ground (outdoors) box. This was completed, however the old wire has not been removed. I sent this complaint around August 10, 2013: I am beyond furious at this point that I was supposed to have a wire installed connecting a cable box to the house , however it has not been done yet . It was supposed to be done 2 to 3 weeks after June 28th when you had a supervisor check the connection, however it still has yet to have been installed 2 to 3 weeks after the original 2 to 3 week window. On top of that my internet service has been sub par averaging three bars out of 5, and since that wire has been sitting on my grass for 6 weeks the grass below the wire is now dirt Brown and ruined which will cost anywhere between 50 to 100 dollars to repair on its own. On top of that I still yet to have been contacted by your staff informing me of any updates regarding having this wire put into the ground. Your lack of customer service has been nothing short of upsetting so far. I already have started to look into having ************ take over as my cable service and if I do not hear from someone from your company in 3 days I will have no choice but to have a lawyer look into terminating my contract and seek damages suffered to my property as well. Please feel free to contact me anytime to discuss this matter as I would like to have it resolved as soon as possible are very important to me. Have a great night' ***** I found out on the second call to Cox Communications since my complaint was filed (August 24) the wire was replaced July15 underground; however the above ground wire was never replaced. So the wire has now been on my lawn during the two hottest months of summer and cause significant damage to my lawn; as well as been a major pain in the neck when it comes to mowing my lawn. I am tired of being told service has been scheduled by Cox, to fix my lawn and remove the wire as nothing has yet to have been done to make the situation better. Which is why I turn to the BBB for help.

Desired Settlement: For starters, I need my lawn fixed ASAP and the wire removed from my property (as much as I think I can do this myself, I'm not comfortable handling equipment I don't know what repercussions may occur) Second, unless Cox is willing to offer some sort of a discount on services in exchange for the grief and stress and time wasted handling this issue, I want to cancel services with the company. I feel like Cox Communications treats me like a number; and their lack of customer service as well as lack of professionalism in giving me the run around to addressing the issue is completely unacceptable. I am not willing to pay a dime to cancel the services, however would have no problem paying more money to a different cable company who would make me feel like my business is important.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/06) */ Dear BBB, Cox Communications responds to the complaint #XXXXXXXX. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies to our customer for the inconveniences this situation has created. Unfortunately we experienced a break in communication between the two divisions of the company which handle drop replacement/repair and any maintenance work needed as a result. The impact to our customer is regrettable and we will do what we can to avoid such issues in the future. Since receiving the complaint from the BBB, contact with the customer has been attempted and Cox Communications has had the temporary drop removed. We are currently coordinating with our customer for a maintenance team to make the necessary repairs to the property. A part of the resolution desired by our customer was for a discount to services. Though we cannot provide an ongoing discount for the services provided we will provide a one time courtesy credit to the account. We do value our customers and are making efforts to improve each customer experience. Should our customer require any follow up in this particular matter they have been provided direct contact information for our Customer Experience Team and is welcome to contact us at any time. Sincerely, Consumer Response /* (2110, 7, 2013/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) *********** currently doesn't offer services in my area...so I have no choice but to stick with this company until they do so.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Started services May,14,2013 I was told price lock guarantee for 24 months at $57.00 and some change then on August, 01, 2013 I decided to add cable I was told that I will only have to pay $117.00 but when I get my bill it is $167.00 and some change this is not what I was told when I first got the service that my bill will not go up for ANY REASON at all. BUT my bill is getting higher each month. They told me they charged me $50 something dollars for 13 days of service from August,01-13 of 2013. Product_Or_Service: Cox. Cable/phone/internet Account_Number: XXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Take my bill back down to my price lock guarantee for 24months that I was told/given when I got the services. $167 and some change should be going back down too $117 and some change. Thank You*.******

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/09/08) */ Consumer indicated they have heard from the company and the company resolved their complaint

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to disclose important information that affects billing on multiple occasions. I have had multiple issues with this company. I had all 3 services (tv, home phone, and Internet) bundled when I started with the company. The term for this bundle was one year, my typical bill during that time was about $175. When the year was up I received a bill for $94, because of the vast difference I called the company to see if this was a mistake. I was informed on the first call that this bill reflected my new price now that I was out of the bundle. Confused by the statement I asked again, so next month I won't have a higher bill, which was again confirmed that the $94 shown was going to be my monthly rate going forward. Sure enough, when the next month came around I had a bill for $194, turns out there was a $100 credit on the previous bill that I was never informed about. The company made me feel like it was my fault for being misinformed. Most recently I cancelled the home phone service as the primary phone used by myself and my husband is our cell phones, keeping the Internet and also down grading our tv option to have less channels. This started with our March 2013 bill through our May 2013 bill. These bills have been consistently $108, and our June bill was reflecting a balance of $116. After reviewing the bill I noticed a charge under the Internet section for "modem rental". Since starting our service with Cox we have had the same modem and this is the first time we have been charged. According to the first representative I spoke with we have been with them for 15 months. I spoke with a supervisor who informed me for the first time that when I disconnected the phone I should have been told to return the modem because it worked for both phone and Internet, I also should have been told I would need to purchase a new modem or pay the rental fee of $6.99. According to *****, the supervisor, they did not appropriately charge me between March and May, so I should be thankful because I saved the $6.99 for those few months. I am DISGUSTED with this company, the number of times I have been misinformed and have had it affect my billing (which I try to budget for with an anticipated amount each month) is UNACCEPTABLE. Furthermore for the company to constantly make me feel like I did something wrong or feel wrong about being upset for once again being told incorrect information is just terrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be credited the $6.99 shown on my June 2013 bill and given an adequate the opportunity to return the device and obtain the proper modem for Internet service.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/17) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB Case# XXXXXXXX Our Customer's bundle discount expired and the bill had gone up the first time our customer had contacted us and evidently been given incorrect information on that first call. Later, our customer was then placed into another offer ( promotion ) and had requested to remove telephone service- thus the new $6.99 fee regarding the modem rental as mentioned in the customer's complaint. Also, our customer refers to a credit of $100.00 which had posted to the account and was unaware. This credit was part of the customers previous promotion offer in that our customer would receive $100.00 bundle benefit when the original promotion would end- thus why the bill was credited once the offer ended. Unfortunately, when our customer made the change to their service the agent did not advise our customer properly about the monthly fee. The agent should have advised the customer of the rental fee and we have since coached to the issue. Since our customer was not advised of the $6.99 monthly fee, we made the decision to credit the price difference for the 12 month duration. A flat credit in the amount of $83.88 has been posted to our customer's account to correct this issue. We are very sorry for the customer's experience. The information provided has helped us get in front of this type of issue so it does not happen again. If our customer has any further questions regarding this matter our team would be glad to review the account with them. The customer' s monthly bill is $115.67 which includes the tax. Our team can be reached at ************** M-F 8:30-5:00 Sat.10:30-7. We appreciate our customer's patronage and again are sorry for the experience and to please know this is not the norm. Thank you, The Customer Relations team Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/07/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) I would still like to know what to do about this modem. I was told that I would need to get a different modem that's for Internet only if I did not want the rental fee. Where can I get this modem, because I don't want to pay a rental fee if all I need to do is change the modem. Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/08/16) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to last question for case#XXXXXXXX. As of 8.10.13 the customer has returned the modem. There is nothing else that is needed to be done /or returned. The account is closed. Thank you, The Customer Relations team

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Been a customer for a very long time for my home - I added a business line to my home in February 2013 - found out in June that my business line was tapped into my home line after a few phone calls for technical service. I waited 5 days for them to drop a business line. finally after 8 techs and 5 days i get a business line put in. Nothing offered to me for compensation of paying a business line that was running off my home line. Then, all downloads speeds drop several times to 3 to 9 mbps, ridiculous, again more tech calls. no solution. radomnly drops speed when it wants. Basically told to live with it. - awesome, considering I'm a preferred customer. Then business account bill sent to wrong address, called three times to change address...guess what, doesn't happen, they turn off business phone & internet. Call them and they want 800.00 upfront...are you seriously...told them to send bill to accounts payable for 4th time...finally accounts payable recieved bill...guess what...company paid them. after all this I decide to go with another provider for phone, internet & cable (satellite) unfortunately, my location is horrible so cancel my phone and internet with cox, kept my cable. had all 4 premium channels and asked them to drop ******************...they drop ****************. Here I am at 1:21 am on a Friday evening and I call tech...the tech tells me for some strange reason he can't turn my ***** on like I had asked to begin with so all weekend I will be sitting with a premium channel i did not want and not have the one I wanted...HELLOOOOO!! COX COMMUNICATIONS - Obviously there is no communication, drop the communication's part of your name, it's a joke and oh forgot to mention, everytime I call, I am on the phone with them for approximately 1 to 1.5 hours.

Desired Settlement: Make good on your mistakes...try communicating!!!!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/07) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to Case #XXXXXXXX. First and foremost on behalf of Cox Communications our apology for the experiences described in the customer's correspondence. We appreciate the input so that we may review the accounts in order to coach and educate our agents. After our review we did find that a processing issue had occured when the agent was trying to make the change over to a different movie channel for the customers residential account. With respect to calling into our technical support team for the technical issues as mentioned we did see each agent worked accordingly in processing a trouble ticket until completion. Please know that this is certainly not the norm and this feedback is very important to us so that we may get in front of these types of issues so they do not happen again. For overall good relations our Customer Relations team posted a one month credit to our customer's home account which equated to $149.52 Once again, Cox Communications appreciates our customers input and please understand that this is certainly not the norm. Thank you, The Customer Relations team

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/23/13, I signed up with Cox Communications for tv and internet via a sales representative in the *******************. I was given an order form, that I had to sign and provide my social security number on, and told that I would be contacted the next day with my install date and time. The representative was *****. My Cox residential order form was for Cox advanced tv, (cox tv starter/expanded/ variety pak/sports & info pak/6 months free HBO/Starz/free installation, a free HD receiver and remote/preferred high speed internet/DVR service at 9.99 a month/1 additional outlet/an HD receiver at 8.50 month. The package was $89.99 a month. Several days went by, and we never heard from *****. I called both the national # and the local office to inquire about ***** and make sure he was a legitimate employee. It took several hours, but I did get a phone call back stating that ***** did in fact work for Cox. ***** A from ***************************** was one of the individuals who let me know that ***** did in fact work for Cox, and she tried to enter my order once I read her my form. This started on 5/29. We spoke several times, and she told me that she needed to work with her supervisor to get the discounts to work so I would get the correct pricing. Finally, after days of waiting, she called me and left me a very detailed voice mail about how she got everything figured out, and that I would be charged $165 a month. This new version of what I signed up for cost twice as much, added a phone line, and was charging me for HBO. ***** told me that she would be off until Tuesday, 6/4, if I had any questions. If not, I could call back and speak to anyone set up installation. Today I got a phone call from some random employee, asking if I was ready to set up installation. When I asked to speak with a supervisor, I was placed on hold for over 10 minutes and hung up. I called the local #, and was not allowed to speak with a supervisor, after asking several times. Product_Or_Service: tv/internet

Desired Settlement: I would like Cox to honor the agreement that was signed by their sales representative. **** at the CT call center told me that ***** was a contract employee, and that Cox could not be responsible for ***** giving me the wrong information. **** would not allow me to speak with a supervisor, or give me any information regarding the contract employees and who they work for. If Cox could not honor what was promised me, I should have been told last week, not a week later.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/10) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB case#XXXXXXXX. After a detailed review of this potential customer's information we have asked our sales management team to contact this customer. That team will call the customer within 48hours to review and go over original sales form when she spoke with the agent at the store. Thank you, **** Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) No one has reached out to me from the company. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/19) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to the most recent update. One of our supervisors made several attempts to reach our potential customer.We had been advised the customers messaging would not allow that team leader to leave a message. The supervisor of that sales team provided their contact information so that the potential customer could call directly. The contact number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. In addition, our Customer Relations team will update that team leader to attempt to leave a message and we will advise that the party now has their direct contact information. Thank you, The Customer Relations team Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/07/01) */ This issue has not been resolved. I was called on 6/21 by ********* from Cox, who apologized for not reaching me sooner because she was traveling. She asked me to send her a copy of the form I was given at ******* and I was told they would honor whatever I was given in writing. I emailed her a copy of the form on 6/21, and have waited over a week to hear back from her. I have not heard back from her yet. I am not satisfied with their attempts to resolve this issue because they have made no attempts to do so. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/07/23) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to the additional information provided for Case# XXXXXXXX. We spoke with the team leader assisting this potential customer who acknowledged that they placed a call about a week ago because she received the information (***-**** Form) and had not been unable to make contact. This supervisor will be placing another call to this customer today to get this potential customer set up for service. The team leader will provide her direct contactnumber in order to work accordingly with our potential customer to get this issues resolved. Thank you, The Customer Relations team Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2013/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On June 21st, I emailed the team leader a copy of the form I was given at *******. She called me the following week and left me a voice mail. I returned her call the next day, leaving her a voice mail, and did not hear back from her until July 23. She called and said that she just got a notice that I hadn't set up service yet and asked if I still wanted to. This entire situation has been the worst experience I have ever gone through with a company. I let her know that at this point I was completely disgusted with how she has handled this situation, and that I did not want her or anyone from Cox to contact me again. I was able to negotiate my contract with ***, and they have given us a better rate that Cox, and I did not have to go through 3 months of headaches. Cox needs to know that ********* did an awful job attempting to rectify the situation. She was very pleasant on the phone, but completely dropped the ball, numerous times, in trying to contact me. She took what had already been a horrible experience with Cox, and made it worse. I can not say that I am happy with the proposed resolution because I was never actually given one, but I don't want to hear from Cox about this situation again. I will never do business with them after this.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales rep lied on the phone about cost of service and installation. I was told that I would receive a special price because of my loyalty. I was told if I signed a 24 month commitment I would receive for the same internet I currently had (24MPS Upload) and would have the following two services added, "Advanced TV" package including an HDTV receiver and phone service with unlimited local and long distance. For the low price of $89.99 per month. I asked the sales rep several times if that was the final price for the whole package and I wanted to make sure that the installer would be able to bring an outlet next to my TV on the First Floor. All 3 people I talked to in the 45 min sales process told me that $89.99 was the final price and the installer was a professional and could do it.After waiting around for 4 hours today the installer finally got there, he told me that he could not run a cable to the TV, he said they were no longer allowed to snake the walls. What is that all about? What kind of professional can't run a cable from the basement to the first floor. He said I would need to have an electrician come and run the cable. Not going to pay for that. So I figured if the sales person could not be truthful about that I should call and make sure the price was truthful too. So I called and they told me that it would be 137.99 a month for the services. Needless to say I canceled the install, what a waste of my time, almost an hour on the phone just to purchase the service only to be lied to and than 4 hours waiting around for an installer that couldn't even do anything. Oh and one more thing, I wanted to make sure that they wouldn't touch any of my networking gear, I am an IT guy and have a pretty decent network at my house. So I am very particular about which modem I use and what routers and switches I use. The installer told me I could not keep any of my equipment and he would have to replace it. I know Cox has this all recorded, all of the sales people I talked to should be fired. Product_Or_Service: Cable Bundle Order_Number: XXXXXXXX Account_Number: XXX XXXX XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I just want the cable installed professionally for free as advertised and I want the package for 89.99 a month like promised. If thats not possible, I think cox should seriously reconsider their sales practices. Having been a sales person for over 10 years, I am disgusted by how I was lied too and mislead.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/24) */ Dear BBB, Cox Communications is responding to the complaint received by your office BBB case #XXXXXXXX on 7.24.13. In an effort to appropriately resolve the customer's concerns the issue was forwarded to our one of our team leaders in sales who covers the area in which the consumer resides. One of our lead agents (******) was able to reach the consumer today 7.24.13 to discuss the circumstances of the entire situation. The proper relay of information is a key component of how Cox communications does business. When this piece breaks down it is a matter we take very seriously and want to rectify all with the customer and explain the correct information and see what we can do to rectify to satisfy the customer the best we can. We apologize for this issue in what our customer indicated had taken place with vendor agents with respect to the package pricing. Once the vendor reviews each monitored call our vendor will coach their agents appropriately. Also, Cox does not wall fish. The agent offered a resolution with our customer a choice of credit to the account monthly or a flat credit to the account. The offer was denied because of the experience. The lead agent then provided their contact information in the event our customer changes their mind. Cox Communications is committed to providing a quality customer experience with every interaction. We do regret this experience. Our agent is available if our customer changes their mind. Sincerely, Cox Customer Relations Specialists Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/07/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Although Cox did offer the price of the service initially promised, providing a professional installation was still not possible. Unfortunately the technicians are no longer able to run cables inside a home to the TV required. I am not interested in hiring a low voltage electrical contractor to do the work for me. Or take the time myself. Cox responded appropriately. I am grateful for their quick communication and an offer to resolve the problem.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have recently switched to another TV service. I wrote two letters to Cox Communications and also sent an email requesting information on how to stop the bills and service. I have been completely ignored and kept receiving bills until a collection service called who finally put us in touch with customer service who hopefully stopped the service charges. I still owe them $143.16. My complaint is that no where on their correspondence does it indicate a way to stop service and when you ask for help you are totally ignored.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I will be paying the amount they say I owe but I would like a refund because I tried to stop this service two months ago.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/25) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB case # XXXXXXXX. First and foremost, Cox Communications apologizes for your experience. The letter you had sent to us was received on May 15,2013 to our Correspondence area. The Correspondence agent found that a disconnect order had already been processed as of June 18,2013. The agent assumed the matter was all set but failed to adjust the stop bill date. We have since sent coaching to their team leader. The agent should have stopped the billing from the correspondence timeframe. The bill balance for the two month period was $186.68. The agent who stopped your bill prorated the bill to $143.16. We have since removed this amount and the customer owes us nothing. Since our customer mailed in a payment in the meantime we will refund this payment. We have spoken to our former customer and provided a direct contact number in the event further assistance might be needed.Our refund team has been notifed as well. Thank you, The Customer Relations team

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled Service; Returned Equipment; Paid remaining account balance at time of service cancellation; confirmed cancellation with customer service representative; ***** Communication Proceeded to direct withdrawal from my account for monthly services Product_Or_Service: Cable TV/Internet Service Account_Number: XXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXX

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/20) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB Case # XXXXXXXX. First and foremost, Cox Communications apologizes for our former customer's experience. We reviewed the customer's account and found that the agent who processed the order for the disconnection of services did not shut down the last Easy Pay(automatic bill payment) thus causing the error with the last bill payment being processed automatically. A refund has been processed by our finance team in the amount of $107.80 when originally notified. The agent who had processed the order, their team leader has been notified and coaching has taken place. In addition, we have asked the finance area to expedite the refund. Again, we are very sorry for our customer's experience. Please know this is certainly not the norm and the information provided has helped us get in front of this type of issue so it does happen again. The Customer Relations team Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/06/24) */ Thank you for your timely response. I appreciate the follow up. Will anticipate expedited full refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cox shut down my service which I pay $183.00 per month for without notifying me they were doing upgrades. I want to be reimbursed for the time lost do to their upgrades. All customer s in the **************** area lost cable on 4/17. We should all be reimbursed for the loss of service since we pay for it and we didn't get any notification they were performing this action. When I called I got hassled about the reimbursement and the tech said he couldn't reimburse me; then after I hung up, they shut their phone off so you couldn't call... so I called the operator and she said she couldn't get through either because they shut their phones down. She said she has had several calls from customers who were upset about this. This is not right and bad service. Product_Or_Service: cfable tv

Desired Settlement: I want all the customer affected by this shut down to be reimbursed for the time they lost service,we pay for this it's not free..we have a right to have uninterupped service and to be notified when they do this stuff. They shouldn't be allowed to just shut you off with telling you!!!!!~

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/18) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX. We reviewed the node work done in the area in the morning hours of 4.17.13. The work we did at that time was a repair upgrade in order to maintain service in that area. We always will provide credit for customers affected who notify us. Our records indicate that our customer was given credit on 4.17.13. We apologize for the interruption of service and any inconvenience, although our plant maintenance team must work to keep the service at its best and repairs and upgrades are necessary. With that being said, notification cannot always be provided. The plant maintenance team tries to work in the early morning time frame when viewer ship is not high. We appreciate our customers patronage, The Customer Relations team Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I aske for all customers affected be given a refund, not just me..cox stated if the customer called in they would give a refund..thats wrong ..all customers should be given a refund regardless of weather they called in or not.We all pay our bills for service and this affected all customers in my area, not just me.Cox is trying to save money by not refunded all the customers affected and thats wrong!!!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Services do not consistently work; often requires scheduling personal time for a technician to temporarily resolve issue. Adjusting bill, due to services not working also requires many phone calls and waiting on hold.

Desired Settlement: A credit for 2 months of services not consistently working and Cox Communications should be reevaluated as many family & friends have had similar problems.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/04/11) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB case # XXXXXXXX We reviewed this customer's claim and found that in March one of our technical support agents was advised that over a few months this customer was having to reboot one of their receiver. In addition, recently having an issue with their ****** router and needed trouble shooting assistance. The following day, our customer contacted us again our agent advised our customer to change out the receiver- that was done. For overall good relations and because we actually credit by account documentation (days called us) and scheduled service calls we made the decision to provide two month's worth of service. We do ask that the customer please call if this happens again to schedule a technician to review all at the home. The two month's worth of service credit will be posted as of April 12,2013. We believe this addresses the customer's concerns and appreciate their patronage. Thankyou, The Customer Relations team

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alarmed at the rapid increase of my monthly TV service, I called Cox Communication on 3/19/13 to see what I could do to lower my bill. This is when I found out that in fact, for about 15 months (since December 2011), Cox Communications has bumped up the number of my TV receivers and remotes from 2 to 4 on paper! I only have 2 TVs, so there was really no need for 4 boxes. When Cox's rep realized this, he offered to give me a "generous" credit of $100 when in fact the surcharge is really worth $203.70. Their explanation is that I noticed the mistake too late and did not report it, which makes it my mistake as well. They cover themselves with a note on one of the last pages in their statement saying : "If you have any questions regarding your bill or disagree with any portion of your bill, immediately contact Cox with your concerns. You must contact us no later than 60 days from the bill's due date..." Does this sentence give them the right to keep the money that is not rightfully theirs, even if demonstrated that they are wrong? No note says that if more time has passed, they will not reimburse the overcharges resulting from their mistakes.How could they not know that I only had 2 boxes? Don't they keep an inventory of their boxes? I am sure this mistake was done on purpose just to extort more money for nothing and I am outraged!!! Isn't it interesting that they never err on the part of the customer, but always in their favor, which tells me something: this was no mistake!Please help! I would like to get back the rest of the money I overpaid for their "honest mistake". Do I have any recourse in this matter?Thank you in advance for your help. Product_Or_Service: TV service Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed $103.70 or the rest of the overcharge if my calculation is not correct.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/21) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX After a detailed review of this customer's account we would credit the difference for this type of issue as we could see that the customer would have had only two receivers at the time, showing a processing error. We will provide the credit difference and coach our agent this customer dealt with regarding understanding how that type of issue is handled. We appreciate this customer's input so that we can get in front of these types of behaviors so they do not happen again. We appreciate this customer's patronage. The credit of $103.70 will be posted as of 3.21.13 Thank you, The Customer Relations team

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Mar 5, 2013, my cable went out at about 12:30am. I called Cox Comm. to find out when my service was going to be fixed. I waited about 15 minutes on hold, only to find out that it was a scheduled maintenance outage. I asked about notifications prior to scheduled outages and was told that Cox no longer does that because it generates too many calls. When I asked about getting a credit for the service that I did not recieve, I was told that he could not handle that and I would have to call back during normal business hours. I assume that making another call is going to be more frustrating than the first and that Cox hopes I don't so they save a few pennies. This happened about 4 months ago and I was told that I would get a credit on my bill for the outage. It never happened. This is a poor way to treat a customer who faithfully paid his monthly bill for 17 years every time, on time. I will be dropping Cox Cable TV as soon as I possibly can with no regrets. Product_Or_Service: Cox cable service

Desired Settlement: Credit for the outage for this time and the time before, about 4 months ago. Payment for the aggravation caused by poor service.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/06) */ Dear BBB: Cox Communications responds to BBB Case#: XXXXXXXX We have reviewed our customer's account in detail and find that our customer did contact us on 3.5.13 and had been advised of the planned outage due to maintenance work in his area. On 3.6.13 our customer called us once again and had been given the credit for being without service. This credit amounted to $4.03 (prorated). Upon receipt of your information, we provided an additional days credit in the amount of $4.03 for the time the customer indicated he had called and did not receive a credit. We apologize that this was not provided at that time of his call and should never been a problem, our team will look into this to provide any necessary coaching to the agent this customer had spoken with . With regard for additional credit for the customer inconvenience, Cox provides credit for time without service. Please know, Cox occasionally has to do maintenance work between those hours in order to maintain the network. We appreciate our customer's patronage and have provided the additional credit. Thank you, The Customer Relations team

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/10/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/20/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1