BBB Accredited Business since

South Beach, Inc.

Phone: (860) 953-0038 Fax: (860) 953-0085 View Additional Phone Numbers 12 Cody St, West Hartford, CT 06110

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


South Beach, Inc. offers tanning, swimwear and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Beach, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Beach, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Beach, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2004 Business started: 11/18/2002 Business started locally: 11/18/2002 Business incorporated 11/18/2002 in CT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Donna Grossman, President Ms. Ashley Backman, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Grossman, President
Business Category

Swimwear & Accessories Clothing - Retail Online Retailer

Alternate Business Names
South Beach Swimsuits

Additional Locations

  • 12 Cody St

    West Hartford, CT 06110 (877) 623-7946 (860) 953-0038


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before ordering over $400 worth of products from this company, I called to explain I would be travelling and unable to return any unwanted items with in the 30 return for full refund window. I spoke to one of their representatives who told me that they would make an exception and refund ,e after the 30 days. Based on this info- I placed the order, Upon returning from my trip- I mailed back the unwanted items and again called the company to confirm pour previous verbal agreement that they would refund me. I then received an email from the company stating that they received my returns and I was refunded. Those funds were never credited to my account- and when I called again, I was told that they have "no record of this conversation and there is nothing they can do. " This is unacceptable. Not my problem if a representative of the company did not log our calls. Ashley - who would not provide her last name and who claims she runs the business- said that they will do nothing to rectify the situation and that it is not possible that I was told I could return items for a refund after 30 days bc she is the only one who can authorize that, I again explained I was told this on 2 separate occasions and she essentially said I was either lying or confused. Furthermore- had I been told that I would only be getting store credit, I would not have given South Beach my business in the first place as I knew I would not be able to send in returns within 30 days due to travel. If I wasn't told that they would refund when I called a 2nd time before shipping the returns, I would have kept the items. Happy to provide the email I was sent stating I had been refunded.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for $371.93 as I was told I would be and as their formal business correspondence via email sent to me on March 16th 2015 stated they had done.

Business Response:
Just wanted to let you know, I check was issued in the amount of $371.93 today.   
I believe ****** is very pleased.   I will forward you her email.


Donna G*******
South Beach Inc
South Beach Swimsuits
Swimwear Rack
Whimsical Umbrella
** **** ******

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a bathing suit to from South beach swimsuits. This company is stating that i ruined a swim suit which i never even wore. They are assuming all responsibility on the consumer instead of a mistake that could have been on their end. They are in not way trying to resolve this matter. The only thing that they will do is send it back to me but even that i have to send them a 10.00 postage. There policy states that i had 48 hours to call stating something was wrong with the bathing suit, couple problems i looked at it new that it wasn't true to size put in back in a box to ship back. Also i did not recieve the package until after 48 hours due to my work schedule. Order_Number: #XXXXXXXXXXX Account_Number: #XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund for the price of which i paid for this bathing suit.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/18) */ Customer purchased two items; one full price, one final sale. Both items were returned. The full price item was received back dirty and damaged. There seems to be oil of some sort (I assume suntan oil) on the top and black spots up around the arm area. Vicky, Customer Service, spoke to customer on June 12, 2013 at 3:58 p.m.est and resolved this issued. A store credit in the amount of $106.50 has been issued to this customer for both the final sale item as well as the damaged item. A credit isin the amount of $106.50 is in the customers account and she can access this credit when she logs into her account. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I don't accept this offer because I had explained that I did not use the bathing suit never put it on. And for the non refundable sale item I sent an email stating that the picture showed the top not the bottom and I noticed this in my invoice right after I ordered it. I contacted them via email and they asked if they could have the invoice number so they coul stop the shipment I emailed them right back. 28 hours later I got an email saying my order has been shipped without a reply back from them about the bottoms. When I asked them about it when they called me telling me I ruined a bathing suit they said well some times we just don't have time to catch things like that. As for the store credit why would I want store credit for a company who holds no value to their customers. I have no want to support a business that treats their customers the way that they have treated me. I rather take my money elsewhere. Say I ordered something else from them ship it back because it wasn't true to size and they do this again? It's not worth my time. So I would like a full refund. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/03) */ A full refund in the amount of $106.50 has been applied to customer's Visa