BBB Accredited Business since

Sidetex Company, Inc.

Phone: (203) 239-3399 Fax: (203) 239-9850 View Additional Phone Numbers 89 State St, North Haven, CT 06473 http://www.sidetex.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sidetex Co., Inc. offers siding: Everlast polymeric siding, Generations insulated siding, Kaycan vinyl siding, roofing, replacement windows, fiberglass and steel entry doors. They also are a complete kitchen and bath design, installation and remodeling company. Sidetex serves Southern CT and the Shoreline.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sidetex Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sidetex Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sidetex Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 1978 Business started: 01/03/1952 Business started locally: 01/03/1952 Business incorporated 04/03/1978 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Knapp, President Mr. David Knapp, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Knapp, President
Business Category

Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Installation Windows Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Basement - Finishing Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Siding Contractors (NAICS: 238170)


Additional Locations

  • 89 State St

    North Haven, CT 06473 (203) 640-0114 (203) 239-3399

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves the sales representative. He doesn't communicate consistently with either the contractors or homeowners. The contractors didn't know what size the job was and a dumpster was not ordered and that delayed our start. We were told that recessed lighting would probably not have to be moved, but the installer said it was necessary. Then, the electrician moved all our lighting and we were nonchallantly given an excess bill for this work. The bill had to be negotiated. We did not receive communication about the countertop install, as one length was severely pitched. We were told by the designer that it was because our floor was uneven attention. The installer had to make adjustments after we brought it to SideTex. When the contractors put in the sink and counters, he was supposed to give the plumber the faucet, and never left it for him. We had to wait about two weeks until we had a full running sink after the counter was in. In fact, the sales representative told us we were lucky that he gave us a running faucet, as he was going to make us wait until December 26, when our dishwasher came. He didn't order enough tile, or enough flooring, so only part of the job could be done until the shortage arrived. We told him that there were gaps and holes left on the job and it was never fixed. Also, parts were misordered and/or ordered in excess which increased our job cost. He is lax and doesn't really care once he gets his money. There is no "check off list", and even now, 2 weeks after the last visit, we have sticking drawers in many areas. I wouldn't recommend SideTex for remodeling a kitchen unless you have one of the Sidetex owners take care of the job.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a third party review the job. This can be another representative from Sidetex to comment on our complaints, give us resolution.

Business Response:

 

We were having server problems for sometime until recently.

I was not aware of any complaints from the LascarI, but will contact them and do everything in my power to resolve any outstanding issues.

I will be happy to personally meet with the Lascari's upon my return to CT mid April.

Again, thank you for for bringing this to our attention.

By the way, please make sure any future BBB email communication is sent t* *****************

Paul Knapp

President

Sidetex

 

 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Georgia Lascari

Joseph Lascari