BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

This Business is not BBB accredited

Connecticut Shirt Man Inc

Phone: (860) 216-5496 Fax: (860) 461-7977 View Additional Phone Numbers 70 Tolland St, East Hartford, CT 06108 http://www.ctshirtman.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers screen printing, embroidery, uniforms, clothing and t-shirts. Services include sublimation, heat applied graphics, assembly, packaging and fulfillment options (on-line marketing, warehousing and shipping).

BBB Accreditation

On 1/23/2014 the business's accreditation from BBB was revoked.

The revocation was due to violation of BBB Accreditation Standards:

6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:

  1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
  2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
    • is professional,
    • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
    • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
    • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Connecticut Shirt Man Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 02, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated: 04/05/1991 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary C. DeCavage, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary C. DeCavage, President
Business Category

Screen Printing T-Shirts Uniforms Clothing - Retail Fulfillment Services Packaging Service Parcel Post Assembly Service Promotional Products - Wearable Internet Marketing Services Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Wholesale & Manufacturers Embroidery Image & Graphics Printing

Alternate Business Names
Promo Marketing

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    70 Tolland St

    East Hartford, CT 06108 (860) 216-5496 (203) 592-7304

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 592-7304(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.onlinegearstore.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern:My name is ******** *******, and I have a child that attends **** ******* ************ ****** School in ********* **. I am writing to you because it has been over two months now that I have been patiently awaiting a refund of a double charge for uniforms that I ordered for my daughter to return to school. I have contacted this retail store multiple times in regards to a refund and the Manager **** said on 4 different occasions that he was going to put in my paperwork for my refund from an online purchase. I was contacted by someone else with the company on Monday September 16, 2013 around 12:30pm she specifically told me that she was going to process my refund and I still have not received it as yet. This over charge occurred on two separate occasions one order was done on July 31,2013 and the second charge was on August 05,2013. I asked them why do they think that I would want to order the same exact items on two separate occasions and told them that I only picked up one order that they called me to inform me was ready for pickup. The customer service at this retail store is really poor, the manager is never around for me to speak to in order to address my issues and when I leave a message for him he never returns my phone calls. I am tired of this constant calling and leaving messages to get a phone call or to find out what is going on with my refund. I am more than happy to speak to anyone about this issue, my number that I can be reached at is ###-###-####. I feel that they are not treating me fairly and they do not show me respect. Because of this I will speak to whoever I need to in order to get this thing resolved.Yours Truly,******** *******

Desired Settlement: I need my money back they charged my $114.00 two times for items that I only ordered once. They are trying to say that I went back into my online account and reordered the same uniforms but they have no idea if I picked them up. I informed them that I was only informed that one order was ready for pick up and I only found out about the second charge when I looked at my bank statement.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This vendor does not respond to service related issues This vendor is the supplier of at least two **** area schools. I have called them, several times to determine what the status is of our order which was placed on August 26th and not once have we received a return phone call. Often times their voice mail box is full or the phone just rings and rings. ******* *****, the Assistant principal at *** told me they had to call the owner at home to find out about delivery issues for the 2013 - 2014 School Year as they could not get through to them either. It has been nearly three weeks and our full order has not arrived. This is the second year in a row that there have been delivery and service issues with this company. Most parents that I have spoken to would rather not have any thing to do with them. Not to mention that the **** administrative team seems to be frustrated with them as well. It appears that this company cannot handle the volume of work that **** provides them, nor are they capable of handling customer issues and or complaints in any fashion what so ever. I have even left messages for the owner to contact me and he never has. Overall experience with Connecticut Shirt Man, POOR, POOR, POOR!

Desired Settlement: I want the Connecticut Shirt Man to either withdraw service from the **** schools due to their inability to adequately service customer needs over the last two years or invest in shoring up their customer service department. Further I want them to return their phones calls within ONE business day and to implement sound inventory management and projection management utilities so that shirts that they should have on the shelf are there and readily available for parents to purchase. As a former Supply Chain Management consultant, this is not rocket science and if you are going to be a vendor of our schools, you need to be a best in class vendor!

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1