This business is not BBB accredited.

Connecticut Shirt Man Inc

Phone: (860) 216-5496 Fax: (860) 461-7977 View Additional Phone Numbers 70 Tolland St, East Hartford, CT 06108 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers screen printing, embroidery, uniforms, clothing and t-shirts. Services include sublimation, heat applied graphics, assembly, packaging and fulfillment options (on-line marketing, warehousing and shipping).

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Connecticut Shirt Man Inc include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Connecticut Shirt Man Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 04/05/1991 in CT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gary C. DeCavage, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary C. DeCavage, President
Business Category

Screen Printing T-Shirts Uniforms Clothing - Retail Fulfillment Services Packaging Service Parcel Post Assembly Service Promotional Products - Wearable Internet Marketing Services Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Wholesale & Manufacturers Embroidery Image & Graphics Printing

Alternate Business Names
Promo Marketing

Additional Locations


    70 Tolland St

    East Hartford, CT 06108 (860) 216-5496 (203) 592-7304


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered some uniforms via phone since the website was not working correctly. I was guaranteed delivery prior to the first day of school for my child. The order was placed either on 30 July 2016 or 1 August 2016. I asked for a confirmation email for the order and was told they cannot do that. I was told the invoice will be included in the delivery. The first day of school is today: 30 August. I was promised it will be delivered by the 20th of August. 10 days later still no delivery. I began calling and leaving voicemails inquiring about the order status. I left my name, my child's name and also my phone number to return the call. I've sent emails as well and to date there has been no responses. In calling today all mailboxes are full and cannot take anymore message. I don't understand why there has been no responses knowing the importance of uniforms for school . I am now looking at other vendors for this solution and no longer want the order since there has been no responses to my inquiry and no delivery of services. I had to notify the school and the dean of the fact that my child did not have a uniform using this particular vendor and having the order in on time.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a full refund for services that I've paid for and did not receive, especially with a guarantee and additional monies paid for shipping.

11/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a $78.06 order made on 729 15 for two polo shirts for school and one fleece they said would be delivered in two weeks it is now 1015 I have left 12 messages called 23 times talk to people for times who haven't returned my calls and I'm getting nowhere with this bad business

Desired Settlement: I absolutely desire a complete refund for $78.06

11/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order a month ago and I have yet to receive the products. I've called numerous times and no one ever answers the phone. I have left messages and still no response. There are problems every year I have to order uniform vests for my son. There is no customer service whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the products I have ordered within the next week.

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered school uniforms for my child on August 1, more than 3 weeks before the start of school. There was no indication on the website that I was ordering the clothes too late to receive them before the start of school. Within a day or two I received an email confirmation of my order, but it still did not indicate how long it would take to receive the shirts. My payment was processed and I never heard anything else. A week before school started I began to worry that I wouldn't receive them in time so I tried to call the company. My first attempt was met with an automated recording that they were not receiving calls. I tried several more times before it finally rang. It was an automated recording and I could not reach an actual person. All the voice mail boxes were full so I could not leave a message. I tried sending an email but never heard a response. I finally went down to the store a couple of days later because I honestly thought it had shut down. I was greeted by an employee who just started yelling at me from the first interaction. She kept changing the time frame of when my order would be ready . When I asked what I was supposed to do about next week when school starts, she said it wasn't her problem and I should have ordered sooner. I asked to speak to a manager and a different employee came over, who was not a manager. He told he couldn't check the status of my order, nor could he tell me how long it would take. It told me I was allowed to buy one shirt, so without having any other choice, I bought one shirt even though I already ordered 7. It has now been 5 weeks, and I still have nor received my order, still can't get a hold of anyone on the phone, and have since emailed the owner again but have yet to receive a response. I have never dealt with a business that literally had no customer service before in my life.

Desired Settlement: I need the school shirts that I bought. The payment has been processed, I just want what I paid for.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Connecticut Shirt Man Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)