BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Porter and Chester Institute offers vocational training for electronics / computers, drafting / design, CADD, administrative / word processing, automotive, HVACR and medical assisting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Porter and Chester Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Porter and Chester Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Porter and Chester Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 08, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 01/13/1969 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Vanessa Richmond Mr. James Bologa, COO Mr. Jim Mathis, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Vanessa Richmond
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
The Porter and Chester Institute Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 138 Weymouth Rd

    Enfield, CT 06082 (860) 741-2561

  • 221 W Main St

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 315-1060

  • 30 Waterchase Dr

    Rocky Hill, CT 06067 (860) 529-2519 (860) 768-1461

  • 320 Sylvan Lake Rd

    Watertown, CT 06779 (860) 274-9294

  • 670 Lordship Blvd

    Stratford, CT 06615 (203) 375-4463 (800) 870-6789 (860) 209-9225

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (860) 768-1461(Phone)
  • (413) 593-6439 (Fax)
  • (508) 366-1303 (Fax)
  • (860) 563-2595 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I graduated from Porter and Chester in Stratford CT in April of 2014. While I was in school I had payments automatically taken out of my checking account on the 10th of every month. On Aug. 4th 2014 I called to see for financial reasons if I could change my payment date to the 20th of each month. I was told that as long as I returned the paperwork within a day they could make the change for this month. The paperwork was faxed the next morning, and I received an email to contact **** ****** because he had a question about some info I provided on the form. *** ****** told me that it would be taken care of and my payment would be taken out on the 20th. On Aug 11th the payment was taken out of my account after I was told it wasn't going to be taken out until the 20th. I called *** ****** on the 12th to try to find out what happened and he told me he checked with the financial dept. and it should have been all set to be taken out of my account on the 20th and he didn't know why it was taken out on the wrong date. On Aug.13th I placed 3 calls to *** ****** at various times. He returned the first call, but I could not take the call because I was working, and the two other times I tried calling all I got was his voicemail, which I left a message both times, but I have not received a return phone call.

Desired Settlement: Due to Porter and Chester taking the payment earlier than they were supposed to, and to no fault of my own, I have three overdraft charges on my account because they took the payment out too soon, I want to be reimbursed a total of $111.00 for the overcharges.

Business Response:

If the student sends us a copy of the bank statement documenting the charges in question, we will be happy to reimburse any fees which were caused by PCI actions.  Please send the copy of the bank statement to:

******* ********, VP, Regulatory Affairs and Compliance, Porter and Chester institute, ** ********** ****** ***** ***** **  *****

 

1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service