BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lincoln Technical Institute offers education for career and vocational students.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lincoln Technical Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lincoln Technical Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 21, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 07/12/1994 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sharon A. Gemelli, Regional Dir of Administr Mr. Shaun E. McAlmont, President Mr. Cesar Ribeiro, Vice President, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon A. Gemelli, Regional Dir of Administr
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)


Additional Locations

  • 109 Sanford St

    Hamden, CT 06514 (203) 287-7300

  • 200 John Downey Dr

    New Britain, CT 06051 (800) 336-6384 (860) 225-8641

  • 8 Progress Dr

    Shelton, CT 06484 (203) 929-0592

  • 85 Sigourney St

    Hartford, CT 06105 (800) 762-4337

  • 97 Newberry Rd

    East Windsor, CT 06088 (800) 243-4242

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 336-6384(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a LPN student and Lincoln Technical Institute in Hamden, CT. I failed a class by one point so I had to repeat the class again. There is no student support from faculty or staff. The students supports each other. You can't even use a copy machine the place let alone a printer. The tuition..$34,000. I failed the same class twice by one point. and they kicked me out of school and kept my money. I paid in full. No refund. Not allowed to transfer to another school.nothing. I even offered to pay for the class out of my own pocket and they said no. They told me I should give up. I told them they did not know me very well. Terrible school. They take your money and give you nothing in return. They try to blame you as the student when they only teach you to test you. The faculty turnover is high. Always having new staff. The staff seems very unhappy as well.

Desired Settlement: Want some of my money back. Paid over $17,000 in cash to them the rest in loans and no diploma. Want some money back.

Business Response:

January 29, 2014

BBB RESPONSE VIA EMAIL / ID# *******

 

Dear Ms. ******* *****: 

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and giving us the opportunity to respond.

Ms. ******* indicates we terminated her after failing a course twice by only one point. 

Ms. ******* enrolled in the Nursing program at the Hamden Connecticut campus on February 2012, with a start date of June 11, 2012.   In all matters pertaining to student education, we are guided by a detailed set of rules and regulations.  On an institutional level, these rules and regulations are detailed in our School Catalog and Catalog Addendum.  Page 35 of the School Catalog under sub heading “Repeat Failures” is the following: “Students who fail the same course twice will be terminated except in the case of verifiable extenuating circumstances. In such cases, a student may be granted permission by the Education Department to enroll in the course for a third time if the circumstances are thoroughly documented”.  Ms. ******* acknowledged these rules when she signed her enrollment agreement. 

In accord with the policy on repeat failures, ******** ******* was withdrawn following her failure of the same course twice – specifically PN132 CT - Nursing V.  

On two separate occasions Ms. ******* received and signed student advisory’s regarding her poor grades each with a recommendation for her to seek additional help.  On a third occasion she received an advisory for student conduct because Ms. ******* got up during an exam and left the classroom with her cell phone without notifying her teacher.    Ms. ******* never made arrangements for extra help.

Ms. ******* petitioned for a third opportunity.  Based on an extensive review of the student’s academic file in conjunction with discussions with the Program Manager and the Evening Program Supervisor it was determined that Ms. *******’s failure of the Nursing V course on two back-to-back occasions was not a function of ‘extenuating circumstances’ such as a death of family, prolonged illness or incapacitating automobile accident but rather the type of strictly academic-related factors underlying the rules regulating repeat course failures.  

Ms. *******’s petition notes state that “I loved being in nursing school full time.  It was my job.  I would go to school and come home and study some more. I loved it.” Despite her own admission of the strength and value of the school and it’s Nursing Program, when Ms. ******* was informed that the reasons cited in her petition were insufficient to justify an exception to the repeat course failure she became irate and abusive –cursing not only Mr. Feldman, but the Program Director, the Evening Nursing Supervisor, her teachers and the school itself.   Ms. ******* took the further step of hand-delivering a note addressed to me, telling me to “** ****’ myself and beyond of that posting hateful comments on the school’s Facebook page. 

In response to Ms. *******’s refund request, we cite Lincoln’s well established refund policy, which Ms. ******* has previously reviewed and acknowledged:

As per the Enrollment Agreement (see below) and also published in the School Catalog (pages 26-27) which states:

 If a student officially or unofficially withdraws or is terminated before the completion of 100% of the total program, the following tuition charges will apply based on the percentage of total

Percentage of  Total Program Completion
through the Date of Determination

Percentage of  Total Program -
Tuition Charged

First Week

5%

Week Two-10%

10%

10.01%- 25%

25%

25.01%-50%

50%

50.01% to 75%

75%

75.01% to 100%

100%

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In sum we are confident Ms. ******* understood all processes and procedures, as evidenced by her signed and dated enrollment agreements, student advisory forms and orientation sign-off forms.  We are also confident that the published policy and procedure was followed precisely and that ******** ******* was withdrawn in accordance with the above stated academic and refund policies.

Thank you.

 

**** *******

Executive Director

Lincoln Technical Institute, Hamden Campus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Lincoln Tech does nothing to help their students if they need help. I asked for help and never got a response.  Just like I need to make an appointment to see my test. 

 
Once you have paid, they could care less about you.  I offered to pay for the class again and they said no.  This a money maker for them.  if 31 students enroll and 9 only graduate.  That speak volume on their behalf.  
 
As far as me getting mad at them and swearing, yes I did.  I was told by the Director of Nursing that I should consider something else.  I did not swear at staff.  Mr. Feldman was not in the meeting with me and the Director of Nursing.  I paid $34,00.00 to Lincoln Tech. I have ever right to be upset.   I have no certificate but debt from them.
 
Check their Facebook page.  I put a review. I gave them one star because even that is too much.  I know I will never see my money but I will not be the last student they screw over.
 
 

Sincerely,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i started going to Lincoln Technical Institute 1hrs drive for computer and network support recently the college change our classes of remote user for a course of costumer service that's was never listed on my school credits they fired our teacher for lieing in class and making stuff up they started giving grades for drawing and i got a bad grade because i don't know hot to draw good and its an IT class not art class i was being harass by 2 of the IT teacher because i always found out they make stuff out just to impress the other students now i cant graduate wasted a whole year and money for nothing also they sold us the course saying that it was all HAND ON and at the end they said it was computer simulator. they are other students in the same process as mine. i wasted 30 dolars of gas every day to go to a school full of lie they also said the course was only 1 year and they been adding stuff and playing with the course

Desired Settlement: i just want my money back and the money i spend daily for gas

Business Response:

Mr. ****** began in the Computer & Network Technician Program in January of 2013.  He withdrew from the program in July of 2013.  Since his withdrawal the Director of Education at Lincoln Technical Institute has been in contact with Mr. ****** several times to discuss the possibility of re-entry and completion of the program.  Prior to receipt of this complaint on 1/27/14 Mr. ****** was tentatively scheduled to resume classes in February of 2014.

Upon receipt of this complaint, the school reached out to Mr. ****** and confirmed that he is still interested in resuming classes in February of 2014.  Lincoln Technical Institute will be meeting with Mr. ****** and continue to work with towards his goal of completing the Computer & Network Support Technician Program.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: per their contract you can time out but before you do an attendance advisory will be done i only missed 1 hour in 3 months and they dismissed me 1 week before finals and at this point nothing i said (even with proof )was relevant they are playing with people and they are not honoring their contract nor the rules in their handbook

Desired Settlement: i would like a refund to attend another school my record now is damaged because of them they filed financial aide and made me pay out of pocket every month because per them financial aide dose not cover everything.. now im stuck and no other school can take me because i have an account open which they have not closed. so i can purse further education with a better accredited school or even community collage

Business Response: There is no student (past or present) by the name of ***** ***** at the Lincoln Cuilinary Institute/Lincoln Technical Institute, Hartford CT.

Business Response:

Date: December 5, 2013

Response to Better Business Bureau complaint from ***** *****

***** *****, started the nursing program June 10, 2013.   She indicates that a student can “timeout” prior to receiving an attendance advisory.  Every student receives a copy of the handbook with the allowable absence time for each semester.  We have several unsigned attendance advisories for Ms. *****, for the reasons either she wasn’t present at the time the advisory was to be given, or her refusal to sign.   

Student attendance hours are closely monitored in order to meet the state mandated requirements for completing 750 classroom hours during the length of the program. Students who are not present for all 750 hours of instruction are not eligible to graduate.  

The program is designed with a total of 35 extra hours of class time spread out over all four semesters. To meet the state requirements, 8 hours of classroom absence are the maximum students can use during the first semester, and 9 hours per semester are allowable thereafter.  

***** exceeded the allowable classroom absence hours for the module on Wednesday November 20.  As of November 20 ***** had accumulated 10 hours of absence for the course (a total of 18.5% of the schedule hours between September 9 and November 20).

I met with ***** on November 25th  and we reviewed the period schedule and all documented absences at that time.  Although ***** disagrees with this information, she has indeed exceeded the maximum allotted timeframe.

Ms. *****, is welcome to contact me for further explanation should she have any questions. 

Respectfully submitted,

********* ****** **** **** ******* *****

Nursing Program Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: i never once refused to sign anything i was never informed i have absolutely nothing indicating otherwise. the only papers i do have are the ones they told me to sign when i retook my course. i have called the office i have left numerous  voice mails and no one is calling me back even corporate office is not responding. the only one that is responding is BBB. i have all the dates and times and whom i spoke to i have had no resolution or attempts on their behalves. i stated to the dean that i have proof of the class being canceled and she asked if i showed MRS BAKER and i stated MRS BAKER was not trying to hear a thing. i felt outcast treated unequal as well as if this corporation is not trying to make the attempts to help but to sink people such as myself from bettering themselves. i would like for the company to acknowledge their fault see my evidence and not just shun me out as they have. i have all my call logs from my phone carrier which can sere as evidence for the times and dates i have called and no return call from anyone. 

Sincerely,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently enrolled at this school and everything I was promised before signing up hasn't been offered to me. Me and my classmates were promised an extended amount of time on hands on work at the beginning of this course, but now its ten months later and we are just starting hands on work and none of the hardware were working on doesn't work. As it pertains to our A+ certification test, it was never mentioned that it was mandatory to pass this A+ certification test as a requirement of graduation. This was told to us two months ago. Two of my classmates have already taken the test and they failed because we had to rush through the A+ section of our classes. I dont feel confident to take that test because two of the best students in the class failed the test and if we fail the test we have to pay to retake it and most of us dont have the money to take the test again. The first two months of this course we didn't even have an instructor. When we were finally assigned an instructor everything was rushed. My class is on the verge of failing this entire course because this school didn't do its job in preparing us in a future for this field. I almost failed one of my courses because they didn't approve my appeal for absences due to medical reasons which I had authorized doctors notes for, which were faxed to the school. I feel cheated.

Desired Settlement: I want my tuition refunded

Business Response:

RE:          Complaint *******

 

Student:              ****** ** ******

                               * ******** ******

                               ********* ** *****

 

Lincoln Technical Institute has met with *** ****** regarding his grievances.  We have offered several remedies to him to address his concerns and will continue to work with him to rectify this situation.

 

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me via e-mail or by phone.

 

Best Regards,

 

 

**** *****

Director of Education

Lincoln Technical and Culinary Institute

85 Sigourney Street

Hartford, CT  06105

Phone: ###-###-#### ext, 46895

Fax: ###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that this college didn't offer anything that was said to me or my class when we signed up.We were promised hands on training and we had none. Supposedly we are supposed to start it now but it's too late for some of us. I was pressured to take my A + certification to get an internship that I needed to graduate. We have 5 weeks left so I rushed and took it and failed. On top we were only given one voucher to take both parts of the test. I feel we didn't properly learn the material from the instructor we had when we started. The first two months of school we had no instructor. Then when we were given an instructor he didn't know how to feed us the material. As a class we kept complaining and after they switched us to the other instructor there the one we complained about was gone. Plus the course was supposed to be a year program accelerated. But because we didn't have instructor in the beginning and the fact the one we did get didn't know how to teach the material we always were behind. So we rushed through everything. Now my whole class may be on the verge of failing. Two of us failed the certification test and can't afford to take it again. While the rest feel they are not ready to take it. We talked to the director of education about it and he sent us all emails explaining what he was trying to do for us but this was 2 to 3 weeks ago and I feel he is just stalling until our year is over. It's affecting the other class as well 4 of them already left and their class just started.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my money back so I could actually go to a program where they actually let us learn on how to fix and troubleshoot computers by actually doing it. Which is what we were promised when we came to the school.

Business Response:

RE:          Complaint *******

 

Student:              ******* ***********

                                ** ******* ***

                               ******* ** *****

 

 

Lincoln Technical Institute has met with *** *********** regarding his grievances.  We have offered several remedies to him to address his concerns and will continue to work with him to rectify this situation.

 

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me via e-mail or by phone.

 

Best Regards,

 

**** *****

Director of Education

Lincoln Technical and Culinary Institute

** ********* ******

Hartford, CT  06105

Phone: ***** ******** **** *****

Fax: ***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/25/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
7/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1