BBB Accredited Business since

Goodwin College

Phone: (800) 889-3282 Fax: (860) 291-8285 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Riverside Dr, East Hartford, CT 06118 http://www.goodwin.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Goodwin College offers higher education services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Goodwin College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Goodwin College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Goodwin College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 08/01/1968 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Noonan, Vice President Enrollment Mr. Mark E. Scheinberg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Noonan, Vice President Enrollment
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Educational Consultants Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
Connecticut Educational Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1 Riverside Dr

    East Hartford, CT 06118 (860) 528-4111 (800) 889-3282

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put in a request for my official transcript from Goodwin College on December 5, 2014. I owed the college close to $4000 and was told that in order for my transcript to be released, I would need to pay off the balance due. I paid the balance due in full on December 2, 2014. I submitted a request for the official transcript from Goodwin College on December 5, 2014 and according to the receipt, was told that it would take 10 business days to process. As of January 5, 2014, I still had not received the transcript, or any type of correspondece from Goodwin College. On January 6, 2014, I spoke with who I was told was the Supervisor in the Business Department named****** She said that the office showed that I still had a balance due, and that she would need to do further research to make sure that my account was in good standing. She said that the request was denied, however I had to call to find out that this was the case. She said that she would get back to me the following day with some information. I stressed to her that I was enrolling in a new school and that this was pertinent information that I needed to start my new semester. I offered to fax over the receipt from the Collection Agency showing that my account was paid in full and she provided me with her fax number. I also faxed over the receipt showing that I put in the request on December 5, 2014. I contacted Goodwin's business department January 7, 2015 and was given a complete run around. First I was told that there was no one by that name, and then the person that I spoke with said that she was new and didn't have an extension for*****. I was transferred to someone's voicemail who was on vacation and wouldn't be returning to the office for a week. I then spoke with someone else who said that I could fax over the information that I sent to ***** and they would review it and get back to me. This seems like a ridiculous amount of time to have to wait for a transcript. I paid an amount that in my opinion was completely incorrect, but didn't have the paperwork proving that the debt was invalid since the last I was enrolled in this school was in 2007. I was relieved to have paid the debt and am owed my transcript.

Desired Settlement: I need my official transcript sent to me immediately and I want the $10 fee waived based on the inconvenience and lack of follow-up.

Business Response: Hello,

Here is a summary of activity concerning this complainant:
  • Complainant has been paying down a balance of over $4,000 to an external collector since 2010.
  • Complainant submitted an online request on December 5th for an official transcript.  Our office let her know that she would need to satisfy her debt to receive an official transcript.
  • On the day of complainant's request our records showed a balance of $1,213.08
  • It appears that complainant paid her balance with credit collection agency but did not follow up with us at Goodwin College.  
  • We did not receive a payment from credit agency until 01/07/15.  After that was applied complainant still had a balance due to Goodwin College of $500. 
  • Complainant still had a balance on her account yet the college decided to release the transcript based on verbal confirmation from the collection agency.
  • The transcript request was sent to the Registrar's Office on 01/07/15 and on 01/09/15 the official transcript was mailed to the address that complainant provided on her request.  
       The college considers this matter closed.
     
    

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because:

1) No one from this college contacted me in regards to my original request for my official transcript. I had to call and I gave them time, about a month to respond and then had to call to find out what happened with my request.

2) It's not my job to follow-up with the school to make sure my debt was paid when I was given a receipt from the collection agency that they use with a receipt showing debt was PAID IN FULL.

3) It's also not my problem that they didn't receive payment from their own collection agency until 1/7 when collection agency received payment in full from myself December 5, 2014.

4) I faxed proof of payment as well as proof of the original request for an official transcript on 1/5/2014 to the Manager of the Business Department. She never called me back until I sent an email threatening to write a letter to the President and the BBB if no one responded to me.

5) There is no balance due on my account, Account was paid in full. College is lying when they state that I have a balance due of $500 when I've clearly proven by verbal confirmation from THEIR OWN COLLECTION AGENCY and signed document showing my balance is paid in full. They've done no favors for me whatsoever, my account is paid in full.

6) I've been paying this debt since 2010 because 3 years after I stopped attending the school, they decided to file a lawsuit stating that I had this large balance due, which was completely false. My parents paid thousands of dollars in money that they claimd I owed in 2007. When I received paperwork showing that I owed money a year after, I wanted to speak with the employee that assisted us and told us that balance due was paid in full. College stated that employee "miscalculated" the amount due and no longer worked there. The fact that employee possibly could have been fired only supports my claim that debt was invalid.

7) Original request for my offical transcript was sent December 5, 2014 and College is lying when they state request was sent 1/7. It was extremely difficult to get something so simple resolved, especially since the college has the money that they claim I owe. I work for a very large insurance company and I will make sure to warn all of my clients to never attend this school. They are very deceitful and I would never want anyone to go through what I went through while attending this school. School is extremely unprofessional along with employees in their handling of students.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

The complainant desired to receive a transcript of her academic work at Goodwin College.  This transcript has been sent to her.  In the event she hasn’t received the transcript, another transcript is being sent to her via priority mail to her address on record.

Goodwin College considers this matter closed.

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Without notification and contrary to a verbal agreement made with the business office, the accounting department turned over an outstanding balance to a collection agency. The only notification of this action was made to me by letter from ***** *******, dated August 8, 2014. The letter included my most recent payment of $100.00 which she claimed that they could not accept because the account had been placed with collections. Upon receipt, on August 11, I contacted *** ******* by telephone to inquire. She could not provide any written notice nor much documentation regarding the matter. She stated that her department was short of resources. She stated she would talk with her supervisor about this matter. I confirmed my email address with her and she stated she would respond to me. To date I have not received an email response nor any other communication from her or her office.

Desired Settlement: It would much easier to resolve this issue with the business office under our agreement, which to my knowledge has not changed. I find it less than prudent and somewhat ruthless for this institution to resort to such strong arm tactics and I am offended by the action. I left this institution because of academic practices I felt to be contrary to an institution of higher learning. Prior to this, I was under the impression that at least the business office offered some sense of integrity.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.  Below, please find a summary of the transaction in question:

Original amount due from complainant  was $2,950.  Complainant has had this balance since 12/19/11.  Since this date, complainant has made the following payments:

01/26/12      $1010

08/07/12      $500

04/29/13      $100

06/03/13      $100

07/09/13      $100

07/30/13      $100

10/02/13      $100

he complainant's account to a collections agency on 07/21/14 - more than 9 months without any payment.  On 08/12/14 we spoke to the complainant and told him based on system parameters (not having received a payment within 210 days) we sent the account to an agency.  

The complainant successfully completed the course for which he registered.  The college holds that this balance is due and payable.  

Consumer Response: While I appreciate the fact that Goodwin College had the decency to respond, I find it offending that they could not have the courtesy to address the very nature of my initial complaint. Further, I find it offending that Goodwin College does not have the courtesy to acknowledge the whole of what I paid them in earnest during the two year period of my attendance. The balance due, which I calculate at slightly less than that cited, as there seems to be some missing payments, is a mere fraction of the overall $12000.00 that I spent, not by loan or some other means, but by cash for three courses plus fees, books and supplies, all of which were completed successfully. My efforts have been to seek a resolution. My system failed in that I lapsed on making payments. I recognized that and made an attempt at rectifying the situation. I do not have the luxury of system parameters to configure, my finances are done by hand, by a single individual that has been accounting for the tuition of not only myself, but of two children as well attending ***** and ********** ********* *******. However I had an agreement that I would pay "what I could, when I could", and that agreement has precedent. In consideration that Goodwin College no longer wishes to honor our agreement, I have, and would be willing to offer in good faith the sum of $500.00 in settlement of this matter once and for all without prejudice.

Business Response:

Goodwin College accepts *** ****** settlement offer with the following caveats:

Payment of $500 will be made, in one payment, no later than close of business of October 4, 2014.

Payment will be made via certified funds 

In turn, Goodwin College will immediately notify the collection agency of this agreement.  We will instruct the agency to place a 30-day hold on *** ****** account pending payment.  Once payment is satisfied, the collection agency will report same to the national credit bureaus.  

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ****

5/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Goodwin College front loads loan agreements. My issue with Goodwin College is for a balance that I have of $1300. I was awarded loans to cover the cost of school, but Goodwin College will not accept this money as payment because I did not attend the next semester. The College states that both semesters are in a package loan plan.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking that my balance be erased, either by paying from the loan agreement or for payments that I have already made.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/04/19) */ Goodwin College follows the US Department of Education's regulations when administering aid from the Title IV programs. All students are made aware of these regulations when they initially enroll into the college. Mr. ****** met with a representative from the college's Business Office on March 26, 2013, where these regulations were reviewed with him again. Goodwin College stands by its decision and considers this case closed.

4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Goodwin College does not clearly state that it is a junior college that takes more then 4 yrs to complete!They mislead the students and collect a lot of money and half their students do not realize that they MIGHT come out of 4 yrs with an associates degree. I think its sad that they can not be up front and state the truth. Its not easy to transfer credits and you always lose something in that transfer.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for my daughter to be given an option to move forward and acquire what she set out to do. She has obtained a lot of outstanding loans and is being told after 3.5 yrs she still has 3 yrs to go and has taken the allotted credits per semester so not sure why it takes 6 yrs to teach for an associates degree except that they are milking the loans from unsuspecting kids!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/04/17) */ This complaint was filed by Ms. ******'s mother. The VP for Academics at Goodwin invited both ladies to meet with her and discuss their concerns. This meeting took place on April 2, 2013 at Goodwin College. During this meeting, Ms. ****** was given every opportunity to illustrate how she was being disserved. Her academic schedule was discussed at length as well as her future with the college. During this meeting, the VP of Academics answered every concern and Ms. ****** and her mother accepted the outcome. They agreed that they would rescind the complaint to the Better Business Bureau as the college was doing all that it said it would do. Since this meeting, Ms. ****** has met with her Academic Advisor and agreed that she will remain a student at Goodwin College and will pursue a degree in Nursing or a bachelor's degree in Health Science. The College considers this incident closed. Consumer Response /* (2110, 12, 2013/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.)

1/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues