This business is not BBB accredited.

Branford Hall Career Institute

Additional Locations

Phone: (203) 488-2525 Fax: (203) 488-5233 1 Summit Pl, Branford, CT 06405 http://www.BranfordHall.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Branford Hall Career Institute offers specialized career training in high demand career fields in Allied Health, Information Technology, and general business.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Branford Hall Career Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Branford Hall Career Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1978 Business started: 05/01/1964 Business started locally: 05/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Higher Education, Dept. of
61 Woodland St, Hartford CT 06105
Phone Number: (860) 947-1801

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Joe Chadwick, Regional VP Mr. Rodney Amadori, School Director, Windsor Location Ms. Patricia Martin, Regional Vice-President Mr. Mitch Soriano, School Director, Southington Location
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Chadwick, Regional VP
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Other Technical and Trade Schools (NAICS: 611519)

Alternate Business Names
Premier Education Group, L.P.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Summit Pl

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 488-2525

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    35 N Main St

    Southington, CT 06489 (860) 276-0600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    995 Day Hill Rd

    Windsor, CT 06095 (860) 683-4900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when I was accepted into Branford hall career institute I was told that my FAFSA was granted and they gave me a papers to sign,stating what the FAFSA is going to cover and how much I have to pay a month for what the FAFSA didn't cover. three weeks into school the financial aid advisor call me into her office to tell me that there is something wrong with my FAFSA and I need certain information to fix the problem, I gave her the information. a day later she told everything is ok your find, a week later she call me back into her office to tell me my FAFSA is not granted, and that I'm going have to pay for the time I was at the school and for the books I use. which got me confuse because I was told and I sign paper stating I was granted for FAFSA. If I knew that in beginning before I started classes that I was not eligible for FAFSA then I would have not started the classes. Then the financial advisor continue to say you can applied for a loan we will give you 3 days to do that but then after 3 days we will have to pull you out of class, she then gave me a web site to applied for a loan at (****** *** ).I was denied which result into me leaving the school. When I called in to withdraw from the program the director of the school wanted to speak to me to see if there was anything we can figure out so I can continue. when I went to the meeting I told him that there's no way I can continue and pay out of pocket and he said ok then my mother ask him what's the estimate of what we will have to pay he said 1,300 because we are not charging you for the books because we understand this a ware mistake. few weeks later I got letter in the mail that I need to pay 2,018.18 then two weeks later another letter came saying I need to pay 3,345.79. I do not have that amount to pay I cannot pay for a mistake that was not my mistake. I shouldn't have to pay when I was told a false information.

Desired Settlement: I would like this the be resolve in the right way.

Business Response:

Date: 06/04/2014

 

Re:  BBB Complaint for ***** ********

ID# ********

 

We have reviewed the complaint for ***** ********.  In reconstructing the events and based on internal documentation, we feel the student was aware of her financial situation.

Based on her citizenship status, Ms. ******** was ineligible to receive Federal Financial Aid.  The school assisted Ms. ******** in exploring other loan options to enable her to remain in school as a paralegal student.  There is documentation of meetings and phone calls that show the history of contacts, as well as the solutions that were proposed.

While we feel that we did everything possible to assist the student, we are also sympathetic to her situation.  As an organization, we have maintained an excellent customer service record.  With this in mind, we have adjusted her account to a zero balance.  This includes a credit for the books and supplies that were issued to her.  In addition, we have decided that the student is entitled to a refund of $99.20.  A check has been requested and will be mailed to Ms. ********.  We feel the settlement is extremely fair and in the best interest of the student.

 

Sincerely,

 

******* ********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was not aware that I was not able to get financial aid if I was aware I would have not pursue to go to Branford hall or any other school because I am not financially stable to pay for the full tuition on my own.  Based on my citizenship status I am permitted to go to school and work, so I presumed that I able to get financial aid, When I apply for Branford hall on that same day I had a meeting with the financial advisor I gave her all my document that was need to fill out the financial paper I told her, I was not a citizen in America and with that I gave her all my document that was needed for non-citizen. Then once we fill out the financial aid documents, I was told and I was shown a paper that stated “congratulations! We have completed our review of your application for financial aid. We are delighted to inform you that you have been awarded the following aid for the 2013-14 award years.”  After the financial aid advisor show me this paper I had no reason to think otherwise that I was not eligible for financial aid so I started classes. Now if that paper had stated, you are not eligible for financial aid I would have not started class because I cannot pay the full tuition. Yes Branford hall did assisted me with options to continue classes at their school and I am grateful for that but it still didn’t change the fact that a mistake had occur and now I’m paying for that mistake . Yes I did received a check from Branford hall on Saturday June 7, 2014, the check is still sealed and I have not open or nor I use the money.

Sincerely,

***** ********

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service