BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Post University Inc. offers on campus and online higher education plus accelerated degree programs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Post University, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Post University, Inc. include:

  • 34 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Post University, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 19
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 34

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 18, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1890 Business incorporated: 10/14/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Tom Samph, President/CEO Mr. Scott Allen, CFO & VP of Finance Ms. Kelly Statmore, Director of Communications
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Tom Samph, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Statmore, Director of Communications
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
Online Education Institute of Post University Post University Online

Additional Locations

  • 800 Country Club Rd

    Waterbury, CT 06708 (203) 596-4500 (800) 345-2562

  • PO Box 2540

    Waterbury, CT 06723

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 345-2562(Phone)
  • (203) 596-4602 (Fax)
  • (203) 596-4691 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to talk to them about a $14,000 + dollar debt that they said I owed and I did not take all the classes they said I did. When I called to speake to ******** ****** she told me that I was irresponisble and that I should be reasonable and take responsiblity. She hung up on me 3 seperate times. She also told me that she was marking my account as refusing to pay when I was trying to talk to her to figure out how to do this. I ask to speake to her supervisor about the matter since we were getting nowhere and she was treating me horribly. She told that he was out of town and it would do no good to talk with him and that she was marking my account as refusing to pay and sending it to the credit bureau. I told her multiple times I was not refusing but trying to talk to her about the matter. She refused to give me her supervisors phone number.

Desired Settlement: After being bullied and her refusing to work with me with my limitations I would like to see that the account balance is zeroed because of her bullying of myself and that ******** ****** loses her job. If she is talking to me like this and I was trying to work something out how is she speaking to everyone else. This is the kind of stuff that has people commiting suicide. I also want this taken off my credit statement if she has placed it on there already.

Business Response:

This student enrolled in and received grades for five classes over a two-module period, and is responsible for the charges associated with these courses.  The student also enrolled and participated in two additional classes past the ADD/DROP period in a third module, and enrolled in but did not participate in two more classes the following module.  According to university policy, she should be responsible for the charges associated with all classes in which she was enrolled past the ADD/DROP period – a total of nine courses.  However, we will remove the charges for the four courses in which she did not earn grades as a courtesy.  We ask that the student get back in contact our Office of Student Finance to make a payment arrangement to cover the balance due on the five courses in which she earned grades.  It’s also important to note that we have tried on a number of occasions to work with this student to establish a reasonable payment plan to cover the balance due, and we will continue to work with her in a professional and respectful manner and ask that she do the same.  We trust this explanation fully resolves this complaint.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint because I was not given all the information I should have been given, I was hurried to fill stuff out and felt like I was rushed by ***** *******. She told me fill out paperwork so we can get you in asap for the June 23rd class and if you don't want that we can always change it to August later. So I did and put on my registration form I want to start August because June was way too soon and I needed time to do some research. Then when I found out she started me June 23rd I wasn't to happy. She said I was with the orientation class which I was fine with only because I thought it was a free class like other schools give and if I didn't do the work it wouldn't matter it was free. Then I found out that the orientation class was a paid class after I was already enrolled and did one little work assignment thing on the blackboard to check it out. ***** told me it would take 3 and a half years to get my bachelor's degree and I showed her the site****************************************************where I saw it would take 18 months. That's why I chose this school and that is false advertisement to future students. Then I saw it would take a lot of money that I don't have to pursue this so I decided I wanted out. ***** says there would be $150 fee for dropping class. I should not have to pay because I was not given all the information and I am a new student that doesn't know the ropes. After going threw this mess I'm not sure if I will ever want to deal with another college again and that's very disappointing. I've called like 3 different people and they never want to answer their phones and they don't want to answer my emails back either. I've been waiting for ***** ******* email back for like a week now. There's some major miscommunication going on with that school as well. Then ***** ***** says for first week its only 150 and after that its 1710. ***** never told me if I didn't pay by a certain time it would cost more. I am hugely disappointed with this school and frustrated.

Desired Settlement: I would like for all fees to be waived matter what they may be for and to let me out of this horrible school please. I told ***** I would pay the 150 but only because her supervisor is taking to long to give her answer back about waiving it and I can't wait anymore. But if I end up paying any kind of money then I would like a refund back please.

Business Response: This student enrolled in, and was correctly charged for, the course in question.  However, based on her apparent misunderstanding of the nature of the orientation course, we will remove the charges from her account as a one-time courtesy.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in Post University (ONLINE) so long ago that I don't even remember when it was. It was more than a year and a half ago, for sure. I was put into a class which I explored but did not participate in. I determined that I did not like the set-up of the online environment and that it would not be conducive to my learning style. I opted to withdraw and return to the University of *******. Upon withdrawal I was told by my enrollment advisor that there was "usually" a withdrawal fee of $300, but that she would waive it since I had not participated in class or submitted any assignments and I had been there such a short time. Just recently I began getting collections calls and e-mails from a Ms. ***** ******** (v*****************) regarding my "unpaid debt" of $300. First of all, this is the first contact I have had with them since I enrolled which, like I said, was over a year and a half ago AT LEAST. If I had a debt I would think that someone would have contacted me to let me know long before this. I received no bills in the mail at any time, no acknowledgement of my withdrawal outside of my phone conversation with my enrollment advisor, nothing. I did not pull this understanding of the fee being waived out of thin air and I don't appreciate basically being called a liar because THEIR STAFF did not document the contact appropriately.

Desired Settlement: I want the $300 fee to be waived and I want their repeated email and telephone harrassment to cease completely. I want to hear nothing from them except to say, "the fee has been appropriately waived AS WAS DISCUSSED PREVIOUSLY, have a nice day." I will not pay what I do not owe.

Business Response: This student was charged the fees in accordance with our clearly stated university policy on dropping classes.  However, as a one-time courtesy we have removed the charges from her account.  We trust this fully resolves this issue.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

***** *************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in the graduation program at Post University, I have been in this program for the past three years and I now that I am at the point of getting ready for graduation I have a mentor that had been assigned to me that provides me with incorrect information with my assignments resulting in unsatisfactory grades. There is little to no information on how to complete this assignment or what these mentors are looking for and yet they grade and give there critical comments. Now there are trying to prevent me from graduation by claiming I did not respond to an e mail from the Dean and have been in violation of some "civility code" all I tried to do was get the help I needed from the incompetent instructors at this university. The feedback received from the mentor was very vague and unsatisfactory and I feel I should not be penalized for it.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement I want is for my dispute to be reviewed and my grades changed immediately. I also want to be graduating on May 10th and I do not want this school to prevent me from finally graduating.

Business Response:

We have been working closely with this student to address her concerns, while also adhering to the University’s policies and procedures. Unfortunately, until recently this student has repeatedly violated our civility code, despite a number of requests from the University Provost and other members of our faculty and staff to change her behavior. She also has not met the graduation standards for the MBA program. Thus, she will not be able to graduate in May.  We have asked the student to submit a formal appeal by May 15th explaining how she will meet the standards required for graduation from the MBA program and why she should be granted special dispensation to retake her capstone course.  Until the appeal has been filed, and the student has demonstrated her commitment to abiding by the University’s Civility Code, there is not much more we can do. We trust this explanation fully resolves this complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an inquiry to apply to this school to get the proper papers for to enroll, the paper work was not processed in time for me to enter the class, nor to purchase a book, on contact with the professor, who informed me that the class was already in process and the testing was in the second to third stage, at that point she recognized that there was some problem with blackboard where information and students work was been lost, so at that point I informed the professor that perhaps when there is some solution I would become fully enrolled, so the professor let me know that in the future blackboard should get better, also on the blog there was a post that work was being done to correct blackboard, and in the future this problem should be resolved, other students lost their work also, but the professor did apologize for the trouble. So I deceided to wait and enroll at another time, because blackboard was new to me. I never took the course there fore I have no grade which they insist that I failed a course I didn't take.Thank You******* *********

Desired Settlement: I would like settlement of this situation to have it resolved, and enroll in another school, the continued misinformation trying to collect a debt which is not owed,this is not a school where They Hold true to their word. This situation was a major problem that upset not only myself also other students who was on my email looking for the class, and their work. The professor was apologizing for this situation, and hoped that in the near future there would be resolution and blackboard would run

Business Response:

We regret that this student is unhappy, but she did not provide any specific documentation in her petition to warrant the removal of the charges from her account.  In reviewing her account, the only record we have of her experiencing difficulty submitting an assignment was in the last couple of weeks of the course; we have no evidence that she requested an incomplete or extension.  The paperwork to which she refers was to be provided by her, and thus any delay was on her part.  We also have no record of her ordering her book through the online bookstore, and we can’t be responsible for delays that may have resulted from an order placed with an outside vendor.  In accordance with university policy, she is responsible for the charges for the course she took in 2011.  We trust this information fully resolves this complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in Post University on 08/2012 and since then I have had nothing but problems that were seem to be resolved but actually were not. When I enrolled they asked for my transcript in which I requested for it to be sent to them 3 times, all the while post allowed me to enroll in school and take the classes. I took like 2-3 Mods of classes to later find out that they did not receive my transcript and I was never contacted about it until April, when I tried to register for classes again only to find out that I had a balance that I was not even aware of, when I questioned my academic advisor at the time she reffered to speak to ****** from financial aid office, he then told me that the balance was for the previous mods that I had taken because my financial aid had not been submitted and technically I was paying out of pocket because my transcript was not received, at the time of the incidident post had my transcript and I was told by ****** that the balance would be taken care of and I was allowed to continue as a student. Every month since then I checked my balance and has been at zeoro until 11/18/13 when all of a sudden I was getting a refund and all of a sudden there appears a balance of $3150 charging me for the first or second MOD that was suppose to be taken care of back in April of 2013. I check the blanace 2 weeks later and saw that it went down to $1950.00 so I made a payment of $1579 which supposedly left a balance of $350 and so now I checked the balance again and it shows a credit of $2,000 and change when I tried to get my transcript I was told that I had an over due balance of $1,500 and when asked why the balances keep changing I could not get a straight answer.

Desired Settlement: I don't care about getting a refund, I just want the balance to be cleared. I should not have a balance.

Business Response:

This student does not currently have a balance due Post University.  It’s important to note that a student’s enrollment status and the time at which financial aid is disbursed both have an impact on a student’s account balance.  This student’s account balance fluctuated based on her enrollment status and eligibility for aid, in accordance with federal regulations and University policy.   A member of our Office of Student Finance has left this student a voicemail to let her know that he is happy to answer any additional questions she may have about her account.  We trust this fully resolves this complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently contacted by student accounts and informed that I have over a 3,000 dollar balance for module 1 because fund were returned to my lender. This was almost 3 weeks after it was done. The problem with this is that the assistant director of student accounts ******** **** was suppose to take my file to **** specialist and have it reviewed. To my understanding this was completed because a total of 611.00 was subsequently released to me as being owed to me from module one because ******** informed me that I met my period of enrollment. The fact that I owe this balance, is not the problem. If I owe the balance, I owe the balance, the problem starts when the school has failed to respond to my numerous emails and won't set up a payment plan when this error is not my fault. If ******** would have known what she was doing and took my file to a **** specialist and they did their job, I wouldn't owe this balance. My major complaint is the fact that they are not giving me a reasonable payment plan that I can afford and my only option is to let them take my entire next disbursement check that I need to purchase my books and other essential things to continue my enrollment at Post. This is completely an unfair business practice because two people dropped the ball and didn't do their research before releasing the funds and advising. If ******** **** would have known what she was doing and the **** Specialist properly viewed my account, I wouldn't have this balance and I would've remained in classes. Unfortunately I was under the incorrect impression and thus this is no fault of my own I should be allowed to set up a payment plan, get a response from the 10 plus people I have emailed. I just want a resolution so I don't have to forfeit my entire disbursement because post universities staff FAILED to properly advised. I have emailed ******** ****'s supervisor to no avail, after I was informed that ******** **** didn't have a supervisor. I have emailed the director of financial aid to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I want a reasonable payment plan that I can afford instead of my entire next disbursement being held. All I want is a payment plan so that I can purchase my books and a new computer for school.

Business Response: The disbursement of federal financial aid funds must adhere to federal regulations.  We have been working closely with this student to explain the rules we must follow in accordance with federal Title IV regulations. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: this doesn't resolve the issue that it was.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response:  We don't quite understand why this student has "rejected" our response to her initial complaint.  According to our records, this issue has been fully resolved.  The student is enrolled in her courses, is receiving her aid, and has thanked us for our assistance.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was never informed of the billing polacies and never received statements. For over three months never received any call back from the financial advisor that I was assigned to. No one else in the whole university could help me. I still haven't heard from her. Now they want to hold me financially responsible for the two classes that I dropped this semester only because I believe this school is running a scam on collecting money fraudulently from student loans that I have to repay. I was never instructed on polacies and prociedures including my obligations.I reached out to several counslers when I was having problems in these two classes and never heard back for a week of me constantly calling. Therefore I was forced to drop the class, because no one could assist me in a timely fashion.They gave me the run around ever since I was enrolled. I am a straight A student and a military student. I waited to this point before pulling out because I had faith that they would do the right thing. Unless they are collecting your money, they take no intrest in you. They falsly advertised. Lied about my graduation date and never sent me paperwork to declare my concentration. They said that they would give me military credit on my transcript but they did not. They charged me full price even after I signed a contract for the half price military fee, and I had to wait two more months for them to straighten this out and give me a refund, after I had to refax the documents that they lost. Even is this situation no one called me to inform me of anything. I had to constantly call them for my money. These telemarketers sell you a good game and then when they hook you in-they leave you out to dry. They even made me take the classes that are nontransferable first so I basically waisted my time and money there. No one cared about helping me to get the best deal on federal aid or showed any concern on helping me achieve success in my field of study.

Desired Settlement: I will dispute my financial obligation in the dropping of these courses because the university is to blame, when they set me up to fail. Stop billing me.

Business Response: According to our records, our finance department reached out to this student 14 times between August 10 and September 18.  We encourage her to submit a petition in accordance with University policy if she would like us to further review the charges to her account. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: What they're saying is not true I called the finance department I spoke to ****** ****** voicemail I make calls to my counselor left voicemail I spoke to the original admissions person left a voicemail and he said he couldn't help me ****** ****** was the only one and they never return my calls and when I did finally get in touch with them right before I filed a complaint they still didn't give me over in itemized letter explaining the charges that they took from my account. I have emails to verify these communications with no responses that I could send to you
For proof
Sincerely,

******** *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Post University to attend online courses for a degree in counseling. I worked with an advisor, **** *********, to get financial aid and sign up for a light class load consisting of entry courses due to the unstable situation with my health. August 24th I received a voicemail from **** ********* stating I was ready to begin classes. He did not notify me of a required book for class, or the fact that financial aid was not complete.On the first day that classes began (Monday August 26) I contacted **** ********* regarding withdrawing from class as well as what options I would have given that I'd just found out my wife was laid off. I also informed the Professor that there were problems and that I would not be able to afford going to school. At that time I was busy with handling a court case for disability (in October), my wife's high school class re-union, as well as handling a prescription for a very expensive alternative therapy (**********). I did not receive a reply to either voicemail or e-mails sent to **** ********* or any other faculty or staff members.On September 3rd I received an e-mail from **** ********* stating that I'd been dropped from all classes and that an advisor would get in touch with me. That same day an advisor called me to let me know that I would be required to pay $150.00 for each class dropped or I could credit the money to the next term but I would have to file paperwork that day as apparently it was the final day to file that paperwork. Given the loss of my wife's job as well as my health and disability issues I could not guarantee that I would be able to resume courses next term.I spoke with *******, another person assigned to me, and she said she would see what she could do given that I was rushed into class and the lack of financial resources. I attempted to contact student services at the school but the e-mail was automatically rejected so I contacted every person on the faculty list that listed their e-mail address. Ms. **** contacted me and let me know that the decision would have to be made by a committee that meets every other Thursday. I filed voicemails, e-mails, and all information regarding my case.It is now October 1st and I have just now received a response by mail stating that my request was denied. It states "Student is responsible for following add/drop policy and is responsible for administrative drop fee." The letter provides information to re-submit a petition but only by fax.In short Post University has committed fraud, does not assist student's (disability or not) in beginning classes rather than throwing them in with a complete lack of information. I will not pay money for services that were not rendered and furthermore will most definitely not be returning to Post University given how they handle their students. I have not violated any of the schools policies, and there is no mention of a $150.00 fee in any documentation found on the Post University website or document to which my signature is on.Furthermore Post University Code of Conduct Policy states that; "To outline the University's policy regarding the expectations for the conduct and treatment of those affiliated with the University including but not limited to Students, Faculty, Staff, outside vendors and other affiliates. It is the expectation that all persons and organizations directly or indirectly affiliated with the University treat each other with respect and dignity. The University is committed to promoting an environment that is supportive of each individual's right to work and/or study in an environment that is free from any form of harassment, intimidation, bullying or other unacceptable behavior."Post University's lack of communication has lead to the current situation, even after multiple attempts at contacting admissions, student advisor, or any other department has failed. I am not held responsible for a fee that was not, and is not stated in any documentation. Finally I have been treated poorly, and without any respect or dignity in resolving such a simple problem.

Desired Settlement: Given the amount of time and paperwork involved in a mistake by Post University as well as the lack of respect or dignity from staff or faculty members I request financial re-imbursement. I leave it to the school to decide exactly in what form (ie, gift-card, book, or other). I've attempted to be as polite as possible however I did notify them that if the problem was not resolved I would be contacting the Better Business Bureau.

Business Response: This student's petition was brought to the CFO's office for appeal.  After reviewing the student's file, the CFO has reversed the initial petition decision.  As a result, the withdrawal fees will be removed from this student's account.  We trust this action fully resolves the issue.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This University claims that I owe an outstanding balance of $1,575for modules I did not go through in 2012. I repeatedly told them I waslooking for a job online, not going to school. I'm not able to pay.I have a mental disability and live on a fixed income. I do not needthe stress of going through this. I can't pay and I think that this is causing undue stress in my life. I take anti-anxiety medicine and getirritated at these letters from Post University demanding I pay forclasses I didn't go through. I would like for the letters to stopbeing sent to me

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for this to be over and done with. No letters fromPost University ever again. No phone calls from collections departments or anything negative in my credit report.

Business Response: This student spoke with his Student Success Coach on July 25, 2013.  At that time and and in accordance with stated University policy , he was asked to submit a petition with any pertinent documentation requesting that the charges be removed from his account.  We have not yet received a petition from this student.  As soon as we do, we will review and respond to it promptly.  The petition form can be found at ***********************************************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made complaints about the confusion on coursework. I have disability papers on file that I did not receive any correspondence on . I am currently in a course where i could not see my initial grades until today and they are 59's because the discussion rubric changed -- in only my second course in this program. I followed the rubric the way it is directed according to official rubric on file within the course - I did what was required for 100% grade on rubic listed on the courses page I just started. However, it has been explained to me that it does not matter and the grade of 59 for excellent work done over 5 different days - taking hours and hours of time - would result in f's -- and was told it had nothing to do with my actual work- this is not ethical and I don't know how a Ethics class can stand by and allow this to happen to the majority of students in 1 class.I have taken steps to resolve issues and I am ignored because everyone stands behind Post but no one is an advocate for the student. I should not be charged for this class and it is only the second week. I was told they will charge me the full amount for the entire course which is over $1500.00 However, if I am charged.. I will surely express my distrust in Post university. I was mistreated by adviser ******* ****. He accused me of fighting with my prior professor, which I never did and he was argumentative. He never gave me information on how to contact disability dept and he told me to withdrawal from my prior class without being my advocate or helping me. Grades should reflect integrity and I was not granted the disability claim from my case manager at **** ***** ******* ******... that I be called to get proper guidance on coursework due. I believe 100% that the school wants to confuse students and get money even if they withdrawal because of improper treatment. Product_Or_Service: courses at an online school

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the money refunded for the 2 courses I took and I think it should go back to financial aid. They are charging the government money too. I will struggle to pay back for the courses because it will take me longer to get my degree.

Business Response: After a careful review of this student's complaint, we have determined that the Discussion Board requirements were clearly defined and communicated with all students in this course, and that the professor highlighted the changes in her communication with students.  Although the student acknowledges that she accessed those materials, she did not fully follow the guidelines and thus did not receive full credit for the assignment in the first week of class.  In addition, each professor has office hours where students can seek additional guidance if they have questions about any course requirements.  Since the student did not withdraw from the course before the stated ADD/DROP period, she is responsible for the tuition.  She is welcome to file a petition and provide supporting documentation if she would like us to take another look at her records.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke to a counselor with Post University when I was thinking of going back to take courses. This man told me to go ahead and fill out financial aid papers and start the process. After I was finally told I would be accepted he told me to go ahead and sign up for a course that every student has to take and there were no strings attached. He told me if I decided not to do the course or after doing some of the lessons I decided it wasn't for me, I could just drop the course with no recourse or cost. I ended up dropping the course on the very first day. A bit later I received a call saying I owe $150.00 for dropping the course even though this guy told me I would not be charged for dropping the course as long as I did this before the first week was up, which I did. I sent a petition to this school asking them to drop this and they have sent me a letter denying my petition stating that I owe the amount due.This school should not be BBB accredited. They lie to potential students to draw them in and then charge them "administrative fees" for dropping courses they tell you that you can drop without charge. Their practice of lying to potential students is unprofessional and should be illegal. They prey on newly graduated high school students and single mothers who can only go to college with financial aid assistance and have very little funds to support them. I am now going to be financially struggling worse than I already was because I have to find a way to come up with this money to pay the liar college for courses I didn't take and "administrative fees" that I wasn't even told about. I hope they choke on the money they're taking from my family and I pray that the BBB will let other unsuspecting people know about this college and their deceiving practices before they get sucked in too. I think the BBB should check out others complaints about this college on other online boards as well. I wish I would've found these boards before I trusted this lying bunch of money grubbers.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for them to drop this bill they have for me and start being upfront about these "administrative fees". Tell these potential students (online and on the phone) that they will be charged for this up front and make it known well instead of hiding it and then lying to potential students. They need to hold these counslors responsible for their lies and stop putting it off on the potential students and they need to stop telling these counslors to lie to reel them in with promising things.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/06/06) */ We reviewed this student's file and confirmed that she was sent the appropriate information about when she needed to drop the course in order to avoid being charged any fees. This information also is posted on our website and in the university catalog. Since the student did not drop the course by the specified deadline, she was charged a $150 fee per university policy. We hope this explanation fully resolves this issue. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) What information in "my file" was used to determine that I was sent the appropriate information on when to drop a course by in order to avoid being charged? I almost exclusively spoke on the phone to the couselor and at no time did he tell me this information until after I did as he instructed and started the first course. He told me to start the course and I could drop at any time with no charge just to see if it was a fit for me. Then after I did this he tells me that now that I did one of the assignments like he told me too he tells me I'm obligated to pay for fees, etc. if I drop the course, which of course I did drop it because I do not like this colleges sneaky sale tatics and lies and I do not want my name associated with this corrupt practice college. That's my point. I was told none of this upfront, it was all after the fact and I did not use the website as I said I spoke directly to a person on the phone. I also received no university catalog either. As I stated, I was told I would be charged nothing for starting the course and seeing if it was a fit. The very day I did start the course I dropped it and that was within the drop class guidelines as I stated before. So, now I have two issues. The fact I wasn't told upfront by the person on the phone that if I started an assignment I would be charged and now the college saying that I didn't drop the class in time so I'm being charged for that. I dropped the class the very day it started so I don't know how they can say I didn't do it in time when I was told I had a week to drop before being charged and as I stated I was told nothing about if I did an assignment I would be charged. Lies, on top of lies from this college.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Post university falsely advertises by getting people to enrol in there school by offering individuals bettemployment opportunities. Well I have since graduate with my bachelors degree and still work at my crummy job. Post also does offer job opportunities to there own students. I have made several attempts at applying for job opportunities and I am not being given a fair chance. They are not a fair employment opportunity company nor do they uphold their promises of better career opportunities.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) A job at the school or better job opportunity.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/25) */ Although we very much appreciate this person's interest in working at Post and would like to be able to offer a position to each person who applies, that's not possible. Unfortunately, the positions for which she applied had already been filled or she did not have enough relevant experience to meet the job requirements. We also can appreciate this person's frustration with a tough economy and challenging job market, and encourage her to continue to tap in to our many career services resources to support her search for an even better job opportunity than the one she currently has. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Post university discriminates against people and does not give people a fair opportunity!!!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 26th I placed a forum post on the class website explaining I was having problems with the online site for submitting desks. First purpose of this was to get help from the Teacher, second was to see if any other students where having issues.On March 27th I recieved an email from the teacher telling me not post issues like that in the "questions" forum. She never addressed the technical issues and just said I didn't submit the assingned tasks/On April 28th I emailed the teacher again letting her know I was missing grades on course work I was 100% positive I submitted. Her reply was again stating I didn't do the work, again avoiding the technical issues not directing me where to go for help.On April 28th I emailed my Academic Adivsor for help with the above issues, he never emailed me back.In the begining of of may I received my failling grade for the course. Even though 90% of my course work was graded at A's and B's I still failed the course.On May 3rd I emailed my Academic Advisor again and recieved no replyOn May 7th I emailed the Senior Academic Adivsor asking the Schools policy on how to file a formal compliant. I received an out of office reply with no return date stating to email my Academic Adivsor.I now owe the Navy 750.00 dollars for the course and my GPA has been severly affected.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) there are several options I would like to proposeFirst, let me re-submit the missing course work and have it graded and applied to my over all grade through a different teacher of course.Second, the course to be removed from my academic record and Post to not bill the Navy for the courseThird, a full refund of the 750.00 I now have to pay for the course.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/20) */ Our Advising team has been in contact with this student and requested that he submit an appeal, per university policy. The student is in the process of submitting the requested documentation, and we expect a full resolution of the appeals process shortly. If this student has any questions or concerns about the appeals process, we recommend that he get in touch with his contact in the Advising office for further assistance. We trust this response fully resolves this issue for the BBB.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The admissions office did not provide an accurate financial statement of costs associated with enrolling in their online program.They allowed my 18yr old daughter to enroll in the program without knowing how much she would be paying. They gave her vague generalities regarding student loans and grant opportunities but did not provide accurate hard numbers. Nor was there any kind of written/signed legal contract of enrollment.Upon finding this out, I advised my daughter to withdraw from the program until accurate costs could be reviewed.This enrollment practice seems illegal to me. How can a business sell someone something without disclosing the cost?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am disputing $150 charge.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/08) */ We would be happy to work with this student directly to address any concerns regarding her enrollment status and student account. Under federal FERPA regulations, we cannot discuss her situation with anyone but her without her written permission. We encourage this student to get in contact with us at 800.345.2562, so we can provide assistance.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing Error I attended Post University from August 2010 and August 2012. I received a second Bachelor's Degree in Accounting. I financed my education through student loans. Before my last module ended, I contacted my Financial Advisor to make sure that everything was in order and was informed that because I was graduating I would not be receiving my full award for the academic year. I asked for futher explanation and the amount I would owe, which I was given. I applied for and received a private loan to cover the final amount, which was approximately $900. I again contacted my Financial Advisor to ensure that I would not owe any additional money and he confirmed this via email. Last week, I went to Post University to get details on walking in the May graduation and was told that I owe $5,663. They explained that my last loan did not disburse and that since I graduated they could no longer get the funds. In reviewing my records, it appears that a loan that I had received in 2011 did not disburse and Post University did not do anything about it until January 2013. I understand that I owe the money, but instead of it being included in my student loans, government or private, I now have to enter into a payment plan with the University to pay this off. I currently have no job and cannot afford to make any payments as of yet.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the University to give me a payment plan that would allow me to payment $20 per month since I have no job. I will pay more if I have it, but for now I can only afford $20 per month. I also want this agreement in writing so that the university cannot go back on their word.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/04/19) */ We have spoken with this student, reviewed her account, and resolved the issue in its entirety. The student indicated she was completely satisfied with the outcome. We trust this fully resolves this issue. Consumer Response /* (2110, 10, 2013/04/22) */ I received a response from Post University on 4/16/2013 regarding my complaint. They contacted my government loan provided and was able to get my loan from 2011 fully disbursed. They completely resolved this issue on 4/20/2013 when I received an updated financial statement indicating that I currently have a zero balance with the University.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

3/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2012 Delivery Issues
1