BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Post University Inc. offers on campus and online higher education plus accelerated degree programs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Post University, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Post University, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 37 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 22
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 37

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Post University, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 18, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1890 Business incorporated: 10/14/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Tom Samph, President/CEO Mr. Scott Allen, CFO & VP of Finance Ms. Allison Levin, Esq., Legal & Compliance Associate
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Allison Levin, Esq., Legal & Compliance Associate
Principal: Dr. Tom Samph, President/CEO
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
Online Education Institute of Post University Post University Online

Additional Locations

  • 800 Country Club Rd

    Waterbury, CT 06708 (203) 596-4500 (800) 345-2562

  • PO Box 2540

    Waterbury, CT 06723

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 345-2562(Phone)
  • (203) 596-4602 (Fax)
  • (203) 596-4691 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I originally signed up at Post University in 2014, I spoke with ******* ******* to start with. She was my contact point to let me know what Post University was about, as well as the type of courses I could take to get my degree. I was excited, as they had my program, as well as other things I wanted in a school. ******* asked if I wanted to talk to a financial advisor, so I could talk about financial aid, and how much I would owe out of pocket. I said yes, and I was transferred over to ******** ****. After talking with ********, I was told that I would owe no more than 200 dollars of out of pocket expenses, and I was ok with that. I wouldn’t have to pay it until later, when financial aid ran out. I was transferred back over to *******. I had gone over the course catalog, to figure out which classes I would take, and ******* signed me up for my first two classes. I was signed up for two classes in module six, and I was then told to take one class in module one, and one class in module two, and my financial aid would cover all the expenses. My financial aid only covered four classes within four modules. I figured they wouldn’t deceive me about that information, so I proceeded with my schooling. I finished my four classes, and was going to take module three off, when I received an email from my academic advisor ***** ********. The email asked me to contact him back, so I could sign up for my module three class. As I had discussed with *****, and ******** previously, I wouldn’t be taking a module three class, as I had already used up all the financial aid I had been allotted. At this point in time, I no longer had ******** **** as a financial advisor. I had gotten an email stating that ***** ***** would be my new financial advisor. ***** advised me to contact *****, and so I did. After talking to *****, and then talking to ***** again, we were all in agreement that taking another class was out of the question, as financial aid had already covered all the classes it was going to cover. I was only permitted to take four classes, and I had taken four classes. I did ask both ***** and ***** repeatedly, if not taking a class for the current module would affect my financial aid in any way. They both continuously told me no, it would not affect financial aid, and that I would be fine. At the end of the phone call between the three of us, we all agreed that I should not take the module three class, as my financial aid would not cover it. I was ok with that, and planned to take my next class in module four. Not too long later, I received an email from a woman named ******* ******, stating that I owed Post University 3421 dollars, and that I needed to contact my advisor. I was thoroughly confused, and I called *****. ***** was unable to answer my questions, and advised me to call *****, which I did. I talked to ***** for a few moments, explained what was going on, and he promised to get back to me. Which he did, a little over an hour later. What he explained to me, left me dumfounded. Because I had not taken a class in module three, I was unable to use financial aid for that part of my tuition cost. I then proceeded to ask *****, why he hadn’t explained that to me when I had asked him earlier. He said that if I had taken the time to read my financial aid award letter, I would have understood what was going on. And I get that, I do. But as I continuously asked my counselors about my financial aid, and if I would be affected, I was told no, by ********, by *****, by *****. I attempted to ask ***** again why he hadn’t explained this to me. He replied by scolding me. I asked him the question the third time, at which point the scolding turned into outright yelling. I did not appreciate this, and I don’t know who would. These two counselors were given to me, so I had someone to talk to and trust while I attended Post University. These two people misled me about my financial aid status. And the person who would have known what was going on, ******** ****, was transferred out of my school career with no explanation. After asking ***** why he had given me the wrong information again, and his continued shouts, I told him I was done speaking to him, and that I would like to talk to ***** ******** again. ***** said fine, and transferred me over. I was on hold for ten minutes, before I just hung up the phone, and called ***** myself. He answered on the first ring, letting me know that ***** hadn’t actually transferred me. I then asked ***** about the information ***** had given me, and ***** just didn’t know about it. He had no knowledge of my financial aid. This man, was in charge of guiding my school career, and in charge of giving me information on my financial aid, and he didn’t have knowledge of it. For months, I had been given the wrong information by four separate people. And when I tried to question it, I was met with someone who chose to yell at me, or someone who didn’t know what was going on. I was given information about a petition for the school. And I could petition the costs and cause, to try to get it straightened out. I was being charged 3400 dollars, because I had been given the wrong information time and time again. ***** advised me to fill out this petition, as he was sure it would be overturned, because of the errors and misinformation that was given to me by my counselors. The petition was reviewed Monday march 2nd. A few days after that, I called ***** to see if there was any word on the petition. He told me no. He hadn't received any information, but he knew it had been reviewed. He also told me that I should have received an email stating what was going on, but I never got that email. I got another email however, from someone else, saying I needed to set up a payment plan to post university, as my balance was past due. I called that number immediately, and told them I was waiting to hear back about my petition. To which I got the reply, “your petition was denied.” I was being given the wrong information again by my counselor. It is at this point in time where I decided to no longer attend Post University. I have had counselors that misled me, were wrong in giving information, were rude when on the phone. I asked to switch financial aid advisers from ***** to someone new, and was told it would be a huge hassle and that I should try to just work it out. I understand and accept the 200 dollar fee. I agree with that and I accept that. But the 3400 hundred dollar fee is absolutely outrageous. That fee would never have been incurred if I had had financial advisers that could give me the correct information It’s not fair to me as a student to be expected to pay for my financial advisers mistakes. And the petition I filled out was nothing more than a time waster, as it is judged by people at the school who listen to their advisers over the students. I am not an ATM machine for the school to take out money whenever they like. And I would like this ridiculous fee to be dropped from my account. I will pay the 205 dollars. I do not want to pay the 3400 dollars, for doing nothing more wrong than listening to the advisers given to me by the university.

Desired Settlement: The desired out come for this, would be to only have to pay the 205 dollars owed, as opposed to the 3400 dollars they claim is owed.

Business Response: After careful review and consideration of your complaint, we
have concluded that we are unable to refund you the money at this time. You
registered and enrolled with an Admissions Counselor for 2 classes in Module 6,
and then spoke with an Academic Success Counselor and Tuition Planner about
your financial aid. The Academic Success Counselor and Tuition Planner you
worked with informed you that in order for your financial aid to cover the cost
of your education you would only be able to enroll in 1 class per module. After
you were provided this information, you remained in 2 classes for Module 6. You
became over-enrolled when you did not drop a class from Module 6 and enrolled
in another class for Module 1. As stated by your Tuition Planner and Academic
Counselor, you had to be enrolled in one class per module.

 In May 2015, a Tuition Planner reached out to you multiple
times through e-mail, first explaining your award letter and second addressing
additional cost incurred and how to cover that amount through a Parent Plus
Loan.  Both times, you did not respond to your Tuition Planner.

 Although you are currently withdrawn from the University,
there are still actions you may take in order to rectify your situation. If you
would like to get in contact with a Tuition Planner or the Financial Aid Office
at this time we would be happy to assist you in figuring out a repayment plan
for your outstanding balance.


3/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied to Post back in April 2014 and was accepted into my program of choice, I was set and ready to go, but then a lot went on in my life and I called a week in advance to drop my online courses because I felt I would not be able to handle them with everything else that was going on. The guy I was talking to understood and encouraged me to stay enrolled in the classes till at least the first few days of it so I can see if I can handle it on top of everything else, I asked and was guaranteed I would not be charged anything so long as I cancelled in the first week. Well now end of febuary 2015 I get an email stating I have an outstanding balance. Obviously this took me off guard it being almost a year later from when this all happened especially after being told I would not be charged for anything. The charge turned out to be from not unenrolling in the alloted time. I emailed back and explained how I was told I would not be charged, she told me I needed proof of being told this. But I had no proof stating this since 1. I was guaranteed I would not be charged and 2. It's been almost a year. Even though I had never received a bill or notification prior to this of pending charges they threatened negative credit being reported and my account being turned over to a collection agency or possible legal action. After 3 emails back and forth she stopped replying so 2 days later I called her and after a VERY unprofessional phone call I ended up paying the $304.50 because I didn't want this to interfere with my credit score. I don't understand why I was lied to and manipulated by a transfer advisor, some one I should have been able to trust. I also don't understand why it took almost a year to be addressed. I'm disappointed that a university would conduct business as such when the purpose is to promote education for a better life.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a full refund of 304.50 on the basis that I was lied to. I would like them to be honest to potential students instead of lying to them to get a few extra bucks.

Business Response: ******, we have investigated your claim and have carefully reviewed the facts. At this time Post University will be unable to provide you with a refund.

On May 7, 2014, the institutional representative you spoke with noted in our CRM system that you did withdraw from class. The class started on April 28th, and there is no indication of prior conversations regarding your attempt to withdraw. Based on Post University’s refund policy you do not meet the requirements for a complete refund.  If you can provide additional evidence regarding conversations between you and the institutional representative you spoke with, please submit this to the University and we would be happy to look into the claim further.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Well I'm glad everyone made their commission off me. This is ridiculous why would I have stayed enrolled if I was going to be charged? I was lied to but since they work off commission it makes sense as to why the guy I talked to would tell me that. From other complInts on here you guys obviously do this a lot.  Thanks for ruining the college experience for me and stealing money from prospective students.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response: ******,  at Post University we would never want to ruin yours or anyone’s college experience. We dounderstand your frustration, but we had to base the amount of your refund on the University Refund Policy. If you have any documentation showing that you spoke with someone previously to starting your course, we will be able to work with you in finding a solution. I also want to personally assure you that at Post we do not pay any of our employee's commission for enrolling students into the University. We only enroll students solely based off of their credentials, applications and ability to thrive in a post-secondary education.  I urge you to reach out to your Admissions Counselor or Tuition Planner if you have any questions or can provide more documentation.

 

 

2/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2011, my son was accepted to Post University in ********** **. Due to the cost of the school, I suggested that he go to a community college and he refused. He proceeded with the application process and unfortunately-I had to complete the financial aid application based on my information. I am a single mother-STRUGGLING daily to keep a roof over my head and was not prepared at all to contribute to a college education. So he applied for and was granted very limited financial assistance, he had to apply for student loans which unfortunately still did not cover the total cost of tuition either. The financial aid department at Post, contacted me about a Parent Plus Loan. I was very very reluctant in applying for the Parent Plus Loan-because I was already in the midst of filing bankruptcy and trying to clear up my debts. I was contacted by **** ***** on 01/04/2011. She explained the loan to me and ASSURED ME THAT #1-ONCE MY SON COMPLETED SCHOOL-THE LOANS COULD BE TRANSFERRED TO HIS NAME AND HE COULD TAKE OWNERSHIP AND #2 THERE WOULD BE NO PAYMENT DUE UNTIL 6 MONTHS AFTER HE COMPLETED HIS DEGREE. I questioned it over and over again and explained that I did not have the means to be stuck with these loans and she assured me over and over again that I would not be responsible. Thinking I would be helping him initially, I agreed but still with the clear understanding that the loans could be transferred to him. On 12/9/2011, I spoke with ****** ****** at the school, and she too advised me of the same information that **** had advised me of initially. So I checked my credit report and noticed the 2 parent plus loans are on my record, after further research and checking the***** system, I learned that although repayment of the loans is deferred until November 2015, the loans have accrued interest since they were disbursed in 2011. I contacted the agency servicing the loans and was told that #1-there is no "in school status" for parent plus loans-meaning payments are due immediately after the funds are disbursed, #2-there is no such thing as transferring loans to noone elses name-the social security number at the time of application will be the person totally responsible until paid in full, #3-although the payments are deferred, I am responsible for all interest accrued on a "daily" basis. The total interest so far is $4,158.09, the principal is $15,200.00 and the total payoff as of today is $19, 358.00...that is way more than any debt I have incurred for myself in the last 25 years. I was TOTALLY misled by everything that was told to me by the financial aid department at Post.

Desired Settlement: After reviewing the documents, I have noticed that the address that was supplied to the agency for the loan IS NOT the address that I put on the applications that I submitted. I have NEVER resided in ********, ** and that is the address that was used because that is where my son was living with his friends. I dont feel I should be responsible for any portion of these loans since being told that they could be transferred to him for responsibility. I further feel that the people involved should be held accountable for providing false information for the benefit of the school. My son was a valuable asset to the football team and they used that to do all they could to get him there and keep him there. I feel they should pay off these loans directly themselves. I am not expecting a refund to me-but direct payment to ******* servicing to bring the balances to zero.

Business Response:

After a careful review of our files, we did not find any evidence that this parent was provided with incorrect information about her PLUS loan.  In addition, the master promissory note she signed accepting the loan included details on its terms and conditions.  Her lender also would have provided her with loan statements and payment instructions. If she changed her mind once the loan was issued in 2011, we could have worked with her to cancel the loan at that time.  However, given that several years have passed, there is not much we can do.  We trust this explanation fully resolves this complaint.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: of course since I was giving misinformation by ********* and ****** ******, it would not be documented in my sons file.  I had made it very clear to them that I did not want to sign the loan and they made it appear that there was no other option for him.  The school is saying that had I notfified them that I wanted to cancel the loan in 2011-then they could of assisted me in doing so?!  But does that mean my son would of been forced to leave the school or would they at that time have done the dependency override to allow him to file as independent.  Its funny, because after I signed the first 2 semesters and declined all after that-they approved the override for him.  It makes no sense that if I were already in debt with a student loan, that I would of signed for a plus loan for more than my student loan balance.  Furthermore, the only reason why it is years later is because I was led to believe that once he FINISHED school, the payments would be due and could be transferred to him.  Regardless of what the paperwork said, they verbally led me to believe that there were additional options not on paper.  I am usually very very thorough in getting things in writing, but because of the pressure I felt-I overlooked that request at the time.  I will just pursue with speaking with legal counsel regarding this issue. 

Sincerely,

******* ******

11/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied to post in August for the B.A in pshucology program not only did they ask for high school transcripts from 7 years ago I had to pay OUTTA pocket for books needless to say I follow the directions any way knowing the school district in my state would no longer have my transcripts I requested them however they were never received and now I am being told I am financially responbility for classes when I clearly asked to be with Drew from classes because I couldnt afford them with financial aid

Desired Settlement: I ask that they process my financial aid without my high transcripts

Business Response: After reviewing this student's file, it's clear that she understood that she needed to submit her transcripts in order to be eligible for financial aid.  We had number follow up communications with her about the need to submit her transcripts, and she indicated that she had contacted her high school. The student participated in her courses for several weeks before she indicated that she was having difficulty obtaining her transcripts.  Since the student participated in the classes in which she was enrolled, she is responsible for the tuition charges.  If she would like to submit a petition and provide additional information on why the tuition charges should be removed from her account, she is welcome to do so.  We trust this information fully resolves this complaint.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:neither my student advisor followed up with the high school district when I filled out the form for him to request them 

Sincerely,
******** ******
  

Business Response:

In each of our communications, we made it clear that it was the student’s responsibility to have an official copy of her transcripts sent to Post University.  We also took the added step of contacting her school district on her behalf.  The District indicated that it would take 4-8 weeks for the request to be processed, and we instructed the student to follow up with the local Board of Education to ensure the transcripts were sent to the University.  Without a copy of her transcripts, we were not able to disburse any financial aid.  Since the student participated in her courses past the ADD/DROP date, she is responsible for the tuition charges per university policy.  If she would like to submit a petition with additional documentation as to why these charges should be removed, she is welcome to do so.

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I receive financial aid to help pay for my education, and one of my loans say that I have a bachelor degree from post university. I call ****** ****** to have this corrected but it has not and without a job I can not pay for my education. It has been two months and only received two phone calls from *** ******, my last contact with her I was told that my case was out of her signing limit and she was passing it on to her manager.

Desired Settlement: Fix my financial aid.

Business Response: We have contacted the appropriate government agency on this student's behalf to have the necessary information corrected.  The government agency has not yet provided a timeline for making of the change, which must be done manually by someone in their offices.  We continue to follow up with both the student and the agency, and sincerely hope the issue will be resolved shortly.  

8/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to talk to them about a $14,000 + dollar debt that they said I owed and I did not take all the classes they said I did. When I called to speake to ******** ****** she told me that I was irresponisble and that I should be reasonable and take responsiblity. She hung up on me 3 seperate times. She also told me that she was marking my account as refusing to pay when I was trying to talk to her to figure out how to do this. I ask to speake to her supervisor about the matter since we were getting nowhere and she was treating me horribly. She told that he was out of town and it would do no good to talk with him and that she was marking my account as refusing to pay and sending it to the credit bureau. I told her multiple times I was not refusing but trying to talk to her about the matter. She refused to give me her supervisors phone number.

Desired Settlement: After being bullied and her refusing to work with me with my limitations I would like to see that the account balance is zeroed because of her bullying of myself and that ******** ****** loses her job. If she is talking to me like this and I was trying to work something out how is she speaking to everyone else. This is the kind of stuff that has people commiting suicide. I also want this taken off my credit statement if she has placed it on there already.

Business Response:

This student enrolled in and received grades for five classes over a two-module period, and is responsible for the charges associated with these courses.  The student also enrolled and participated in two additional classes past the ADD/DROP period in a third module, and enrolled in but did not participate in two more classes the following module.  According to university policy, she should be responsible for the charges associated with all classes in which she was enrolled past the ADD/DROP period – a total of nine courses.  However, we will remove the charges for the four courses in which she did not earn grades as a courtesy.  We ask that the student get back in contact our Office of Student Finance to make a payment arrangement to cover the balance due on the five courses in which she earned grades.  It’s also important to note that we have tried on a number of occasions to work with this student to establish a reasonable payment plan to cover the balance due, and we will continue to work with her in a professional and respectful manner and ask that she do the same.  We trust this explanation fully resolves this complaint.  

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 Date Sent: 11/25/2014 12:00:00 AM

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

post university would like me to pay a remaining balance which I have told them I am willing to do but they refuse to provide me with the ability to make online payments. When I log into my account online it says that I have a $0 balance. They told me I have to give them my account # to be able to pull money from or I have to send them a check which I do not have. I have ask multiple times for them to allow me to pay online and they keep telling me no.

Desired Settlement / Outcome

Desired Settlement:
Desired Outcome:
I would like them now since they have refused to allow me to pay my debt to write off the $7875 that they have refused to allow me to pay online as I have requested to do more than once. I have been told by ****** ******* that he is going to turn my account over to collections but that is his title *********** *********** **** ****.

 

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response: Although we understand that this student would like to make payments through her online student account, the ability to pay online is provided to currently enrolled students only.  Since this student is not currently enrolled, she no longer has access to an online student account.  As we have explained to her, she is welcome to make payments on her account by credit card, check or money order.  We have held off on sending her account to an outside collections agency as we prefer to try and resolve account issues directly with students whenever possible.  We encourage the student to follow up with our student accounts office as quickly as possible to make arrangements to pay her outstanding balance.

7/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint because I was not given all the information I should have been given, I was hurried to fill stuff out and felt like I was rushed by ***** *******. She told me fill out paperwork so we can get you in asap for the June 23rd class and if you don't want that we can always change it to August later. So I did and put on my registration form I want to start August because June was way too soon and I needed time to do some research. Then when I found out she started me June 23rd I wasn't to happy. She said I was with the orientation class which I was fine with only because I thought it was a free class like other schools give and if I didn't do the work it wouldn't matter it was free. Then I found out that the orientation class was a paid class after I was already enrolled and did one little work assignment thing on the blackboard to check it out. ***** told me it would take 3 and a half years to get my bachelor's degree and I showed her the site****************************************************where I saw it would take 18 months. That's why I chose this school and that is false advertisement to future students. Then I saw it would take a lot of money that I don't have to pursue this so I decided I wanted out. ***** says there would be $150 fee for dropping class. I should not have to pay because I was not given all the information and I am a new student that doesn't know the ropes. After going threw this mess I'm not sure if I will ever want to deal with another college again and that's very disappointing. I've called like 3 different people and they never want to answer their phones and they don't want to answer my emails back either. I've been waiting for ***** ******* email back for like a week now. There's some major miscommunication going on with that school as well. Then ***** ***** says for first week its only 150 and after that its 1710. ***** never told me if I didn't pay by a certain time it would cost more. I am hugely disappointed with this school and frustrated.

Desired Settlement: I would like for all fees to be waived matter what they may be for and to let me out of this horrible school please. I told ***** I would pay the 150 but only because her supervisor is taking to long to give her answer back about waiving it and I can't wait anymore. But if I end up paying any kind of money then I would like a refund back please.

Business Response: This student enrolled in, and was correctly charged for, the course in question.  However, based on her apparent misunderstanding of the nature of the orientation course, we will remove the charges from her account as a one-time courtesy.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in Post University (ONLINE) so long ago that I don't even remember when it was. It was more than a year and a half ago, for sure. I was put into a class which I explored but did not participate in. I determined that I did not like the set-up of the online environment and that it would not be conducive to my learning style. I opted to withdraw and return to the University of *******. Upon withdrawal I was told by my enrollment advisor that there was "usually" a withdrawal fee of $300, but that she would waive it since I had not participated in class or submitted any assignments and I had been there such a short time. Just recently I began getting collections calls and e-mails from a Ms. ***** ******** (v*****************) regarding my "unpaid debt" of $300. First of all, this is the first contact I have had with them since I enrolled which, like I said, was over a year and a half ago AT LEAST. If I had a debt I would think that someone would have contacted me to let me know long before this. I received no bills in the mail at any time, no acknowledgement of my withdrawal outside of my phone conversation with my enrollment advisor, nothing. I did not pull this understanding of the fee being waived out of thin air and I don't appreciate basically being called a liar because THEIR STAFF did not document the contact appropriately.

Desired Settlement: I want the $300 fee to be waived and I want their repeated email and telephone harrassment to cease completely. I want to hear nothing from them except to say, "the fee has been appropriately waived AS WAS DISCUSSED PREVIOUSLY, have a nice day." I will not pay what I do not owe.

Business Response: This student was charged the fees in accordance with our clearly stated university policy on dropping classes.  However, as a one-time courtesy we have removed the charges from her account.  We trust this fully resolves this issue.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

***** *************

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in the graduation program at Post University, I have been in this program for the past three years and I now that I am at the point of getting ready for graduation I have a mentor that had been assigned to me that provides me with incorrect information with my assignments resulting in unsatisfactory grades. There is little to no information on how to complete this assignment or what these mentors are looking for and yet they grade and give there critical comments. Now there are trying to prevent me from graduation by claiming I did not respond to an e mail from the Dean and have been in violation of some "civility code" all I tried to do was get the help I needed from the incompetent instructors at this university. The feedback received from the mentor was very vague and unsatisfactory and I feel I should not be penalized for it.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement I want is for my dispute to be reviewed and my grades changed immediately. I also want to be graduating on May 10th and I do not want this school to prevent me from finally graduating.

Business Response:

We have been working closely with this student to address her concerns, while also adhering to the University’s policies and procedures. Unfortunately, until recently this student has repeatedly violated our civility code, despite a number of requests from the University Provost and other members of our faculty and staff to change her behavior. She also has not met the graduation standards for the MBA program. Thus, she will not be able to graduate in May.  We have asked the student to submit a formal appeal by May 15th explaining how she will meet the standards required for graduation from the MBA program and why she should be granted special dispensation to retake her capstone course.  Until the appeal has been filed, and the student has demonstrated her commitment to abiding by the University’s Civility Code, there is not much more we can do. We trust this explanation fully resolves this complaint.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an inquiry to apply to this school to get the proper papers for to enroll, the paper work was not processed in time for me to enter the class, nor to purchase a book, on contact with the professor, who informed me that the class was already in process and the testing was in the second to third stage, at that point she recognized that there was some problem with blackboard where information and students work was been lost, so at that point I informed the professor that perhaps when there is some solution I would become fully enrolled, so the professor let me know that in the future blackboard should get better, also on the blog there was a post that work was being done to correct blackboard, and in the future this problem should be resolved, other students lost their work also, but the professor did apologize for the trouble. So I deceided to wait and enroll at another time, because blackboard was new to me. I never took the course there fore I have no grade which they insist that I failed a course I didn't take.Thank You******* *********

Desired Settlement: I would like settlement of this situation to have it resolved, and enroll in another school, the continued misinformation trying to collect a debt which is not owed,this is not a school where They Hold true to their word. This situation was a major problem that upset not only myself also other students who was on my email looking for the class, and their work. The professor was apologizing for this situation, and hoped that in the near future there would be resolution and blackboard would run

Business Response:

We regret that this student is unhappy, but she did not provide any specific documentation in her petition to warrant the removal of the charges from her account.  In reviewing her account, the only record we have of her experiencing difficulty submitting an assignment was in the last couple of weeks of the course; we have no evidence that she requested an incomplete or extension.  The paperwork to which she refers was to be provided by her, and thus any delay was on her part.  We also have no record of her ordering her book through the online bookstore, and we can’t be responsible for delays that may have resulted from an order placed with an outside vendor.  In accordance with university policy, she is responsible for the charges for the course she took in 2011.  We trust this information fully resolves this complaint.

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was informed by the advisor that in order for me to be accepted by this school, I'll have to take a class that is non-creditable and that I won't be charged due to the fact I would have to be accepted. I took the class. Once I finished the class I was told that I had to type a paper on why I should be accepted into the school which I did provide. I was told at this point that I was accepted but I honestly didn't like and wasn't comfortable with the online classes and how the curriculum was arranged. I was told I had to be in school with them for a year before I receive financial aid and also that I won't qualify due to his many classes I would be taking. I informed the teacher and school that I will not be attending and that I might attend next semester. I get a call from a really rude person from their collection department in the school and she said I would have to pay this money because my instructor signed me up for these classes so I'll be charged for them. I never authorized anyone to sign me up in any class. I'm really upset that I'm being charged $3,150 for a class that I was told was free due to getting accepted into the school. I got accepted after the class was complete & I sent the letter on why I should be accepted. I have proof of this.

Desired Settlement: I want this amount to be dismissed due to not signing up for classes, not attending, and also being told that b the 1st & only class I took fir a non creditable class because I would have to be accepted into the school and not to ever be contacted by this online school ever again.

Business Response:

The “free” course to which the student refers is a non-credit online orientation course that all new students are encouraged to complete.  She is correct in stating that there was no charge for the orientation course.  However, this student was enrolled in two credit-bearing courses.  She completed the first course in which she was enrolled (******), and received a grade and academic 3 credits.  Thus, she is responsible for the charges in the amount of $1575.   This student also was registered for a second 3-credit course (******) in the next module, and was billed accordingly.  Although we did not receive a withdrawal request per University policy, we see that she did not participate in the second course.  As a courtesy, we will remove the charges in the amount of $1575 for this second course only.  As a result, the student is now responsible for an outstanding balance of $1575 for her first course. We trust this explanation fully resolves this complaint.  

2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I NEVER attended this college. The advisors chose to take it upon them selfs to place me in classes. I never recieved any information about this. Now I am receiving messages that I have been placed in collections. I wouldn't even know how to pay for something that I never used. I have been calling for two weeks trying to speak to someone and have yet to receive help. I advise that you stay far far away from this place.

Desired Settlement: I want this removed from my credit and removed from post university. I have all of the emails stating that they messed up and that I wouldn't be charged.

Business Response:

Within the first week of this student’s enrollment at the University, she contacted her ********** Counselor and asked to move her enrollment from one *** to the next ***.  Her request was granted and she signed a “New ******* **** Agreement” indicating that the $150 drop fee usually charged when a student drops a class would be waived as long as she took the same class in the next ***.  When she did not take the course in the next *** per the agreement, she was charged the $150 drop fee.  On January 17, 2014, our Office of ******* ******* contacted her about the need to cover the $150 in charges.  On January 21, 2014, she paid the $150 fee by credit card.  Since the charges have been paid and her account balance is $0, we are not sure what else she would like us to do at this point.  As explained to her on January 20, 2014 by someone in our ******** ******** office, she is welcome to file a petition that provides additional documentation as to why the charge should be refunded.  We trust that this explanation fully resolves this complaint.

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took 2 classes last '***'. These classes have what they call discussion boards. It's basically busy work, requiring you to post and comment on other people's posts 5-7 times per week, and not on the same day. This is ridiculous! These classes do not provide a learning environment, they are a waste of time and are extremely over priced! ($1650 per class!!!!!) Do not expect to get any sort of tuition refund as well, they have you call in to drop the classes, while you can register for them online. I am extremely unhappy with the dealings I've had with Post University and I would not recommend this college to any student!!

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for both ****, *** 2 that wasn't worth completing and I do not want to be charged for *** 3.

Business Response:

The discussion board component of our classes is a critical part of the learning experience, which was explained to the student when she enrolled.  Information on the discussion board requirements also is explained in the Getting Started Guide, in the new student orientation program that she was asked to complete, and in her course syllabi.  Despite the fact that the student chose to stop participating in her *** 2 classes, she is still responsible for the tuition costs.  In addition, she didn’t ask to drop her *** 3 classes until well past the ADD/DROP period.  Per University policy, which is clearly explained in the University Catalog, students are responsible for tuition costs if they drop classes past the ADD/DROP period.  This student is welcome to file a petition if she would like to provide additional documentation as to why she should not be responsible for the charges.  We trust this explanation fully resolves this complaint.  

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never received service from and school, university or college I have ever been to. when it came to letting me know what I needed in order to enroll in the school, all the information I received was not fully correct. I was told many things from that financial aid would cover my one class, the one class that they told me I could enroll in to see if my financial aid would process. after calling to see if I could drop the class I was told that I would have to pay full cost for the class even though financial aid was supposed to cover everything, my admissions counselor continued to manipulate me into keeping the class after I told her I wanted to unroll from the school period. Nevertheless the problems kept going after been hung up on 8 times before then for trying to unroll, I was transferred countless times before I got someone respectful with the right information to help me unroll. what I really don't understand is why I was able to enroll after the dead line and the reason I needed to drop the class was because I didn't have the right technology for the class. IN A NUTSHELL , this school is a scam and they just want your money. horrible customer service and I don't plan on paying this school any money for this expensive school.

Desired Settlement: I Do not want to pay for the one class I signed up for. I enrolled 3 days to late for the semester any way and I don't not have the right tools and software to complete the course. I was also told that financial aid would cover my class, and it didn't and when trying to get information on how to unroll i was hung up on. when i told them i was going to report them to the BBB, i was hung up on. they don't deserve any dime i have!

Business Response:

This student signed his intent to enroll form and received his welcome letter prior to the start of the course.  Both these documents included information on the University’s ADD/DROP policy.  He also logged into his class prior to the end of the ADD/DROP period using the username and password provided in the welcome letter.  In addition, he had a conversation with his admissions counselor indicating that he was going to go to ******** *** to order the needed software; and he had a conversation with his tuition planner about his ***** and high school transcripts, so it’s clear to us that he had the information he needed to move forward.  Although we sent him a financial aid award letter, he did not sign and return it as required.  It’s also important to note that we received several phone calls from someone other than the student who yelled at our staff to the point where a supervisor was called in for assistance. Given ******* ******* regulations (*****), we were unable to provide any information about the student to this other caller.  However, we did explain the University’s ADD/DROP policy.  This student’s request to drop the class came 5 days (3 business days) after the ADDP/DROP period had ended.  Thus, the student is responsible for the charges.  He is welcome to file a petition providing additional documentation as to why these charges should be dropped.  Instructions for filing a petition can be found in the University catalog and on the website. We trust this detailed explanation fully resolves this matter.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Post University in 2011 for one class and I passed with a B. I am now enrolling into another school so I needed my transcript from Post. Upon receiving that transcript, I was made aware that there were six classes on my transcript instead of the one I was aware of. The other five classes had F's. I did not know about these classes but since they are on my transcript, I am unable to attend college with financial aid because I do not meet the satisfactory requirements. I have contacted Post University on more than one occasion and I was told that normally I would be able to appeal those grades but that's only up to 90 days from the end of the semester in question. Being that I was just made aware of the situation almost three years later, it's too late to appeal. I have to be in school and school starts in a week so these grades are preventing me from going this semester.

Desired Settlement: I need Post University to take those 5 classes off of my transcript so that I will meet the academic requirements for my school and if my financial aid amount was affected, I need that to be fixed as well.

Business Response:

After reviewing our records, we have confirmed that this student enrolled and participated multiple times in each of the six classes that appear on her University transcript. Thus, her University transcript reflects her performance during the time she was enrolled at Post University.  In addition, this student was notified back in 2011 that she was put on probation and then dismissed for failing to meet satisfactory progress standards.  She is welcome to file an appeal, but given the length of time that has passed and the fact that she not only enrolled in, but repeatedly participated in her courses, it is unlikely that her petition would be approved at this time.  We trust this response fully resolves this complaint.

1/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in Post University on 08/2012 and since then I have had nothing but problems that were seem to be resolved but actually were not. When I enrolled they asked for my transcript in which I requested for it to be sent to them 3 times, all the while post allowed me to enroll in school and take the classes. I took like 2-3 Mods of classes to later find out that they did not receive my transcript and I was never contacted about it until April, when I tried to register for classes again only to find out that I had a balance that I was not even aware of, when I questioned my academic advisor at the time she reffered to speak to ****** from financial aid office, he then told me that the balance was for the previous mods that I had taken because my financial aid had not been submitted and technically I was paying out of pocket because my transcript was not received, at the time of the incidident post had my transcript and I was told by ****** that the balance would be taken care of and I was allowed to continue as a student. Every month since then I checked my balance and has been at zeoro until 11/18/13 when all of a sudden I was getting a refund and all of a sudden there appears a balance of $3150 charging me for the first or second MOD that was suppose to be taken care of back in April of 2013. I check the blanace 2 weeks later and saw that it went down to $1950.00 so I made a payment of $1579 which supposedly left a balance of $350 and so now I checked the balance again and it shows a credit of $2,000 and change when I tried to get my transcript I was told that I had an over due balance of $1,500 and when asked why the balances keep changing I could not get a straight answer.

Desired Settlement: I don't care about getting a refund, I just want the balance to be cleared. I should not have a balance.

Business Response:

This student does not currently have a balance due Post University.  It’s important to note that a student’s enrollment status and the time at which financial aid is disbursed both have an impact on a student’s account balance.  This student’s account balance fluctuated based on her enrollment status and eligibility for aid, in accordance with federal regulations and University policy.   A member of our Office of Student Finance has left this student a voicemail to let her know that he is happy to answer any additional questions she may have about her account.  We trust this fully resolves this complaint.

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently contacted by student accounts and informed that I have over a 3,000 dollar balance for module 1 because fund were returned to my lender. This was almost 3 weeks after it was done. The problem with this is that the assistant director of student accounts ******** **** was suppose to take my file to **** specialist and have it reviewed. To my understanding this was completed because a total of 611.00 was subsequently released to me as being owed to me from module one because ******** informed me that I met my period of enrollment. The fact that I owe this balance, is not the problem. If I owe the balance, I owe the balance, the problem starts when the school has failed to respond to my numerous emails and won't set up a payment plan when this error is not my fault. If ******** would have known what she was doing and took my file to a **** specialist and they did their job, I wouldn't owe this balance. My major complaint is the fact that they are not giving me a reasonable payment plan that I can afford and my only option is to let them take my entire next disbursement check that I need to purchase my books and other essential things to continue my enrollment at Post. This is completely an unfair business practice because two people dropped the ball and didn't do their research before releasing the funds and advising. If ******** **** would have known what she was doing and the **** Specialist properly viewed my account, I wouldn't have this balance and I would've remained in classes. Unfortunately I was under the incorrect impression and thus this is no fault of my own I should be allowed to set up a payment plan, get a response from the 10 plus people I have emailed. I just want a resolution so I don't have to forfeit my entire disbursement because post universities staff FAILED to properly advised. I have emailed ******** ****'s supervisor to no avail, after I was informed that ******** **** didn't have a supervisor. I have emailed the director of financial aid to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I want a reasonable payment plan that I can afford instead of my entire next disbursement being held. All I want is a payment plan so that I can purchase my books and a new computer for school.

Business Response: The disbursement of federal financial aid funds must adhere to federal regulations.  We have been working closely with this student to explain the rules we must follow in accordance with federal Title IV regulations. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: this doesn't resolve the issue that it was.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response:  We don't quite understand why this student has "rejected" our response to her initial complaint.  According to our records, this issue has been fully resolved.  The student is enrolled in her courses, is receiving her aid, and has thanked us for our assistance.  

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was never informed of the billing polacies and never received statements. For over three months never received any call back from the financial advisor that I was assigned to. No one else in the whole university could help me. I still haven't heard from her. Now they want to hold me financially responsible for the two classes that I dropped this semester only because I believe this school is running a scam on collecting money fraudulently from student loans that I have to repay. I was never instructed on polacies and prociedures including my obligations.I reached out to several counslers when I was having problems in these two classes and never heard back for a week of me constantly calling. Therefore I was forced to drop the class, because no one could assist me in a timely fashion.They gave me the run around ever since I was enrolled. I am a straight A student and a military student. I waited to this point before pulling out because I had faith that they would do the right thing. Unless they are collecting your money, they take no intrest in you. They falsly advertised. Lied about my graduation date and never sent me paperwork to declare my concentration. They said that they would give me military credit on my transcript but they did not. They charged me full price even after I signed a contract for the half price military fee, and I had to wait two more months for them to straighten this out and give me a refund, after I had to refax the documents that they lost. Even is this situation no one called me to inform me of anything. I had to constantly call them for my money. These telemarketers sell you a good game and then when they hook you in-they leave you out to dry. They even made me take the classes that are nontransferable first so I basically waisted my time and money there. No one cared about helping me to get the best deal on federal aid or showed any concern on helping me achieve success in my field of study.

Desired Settlement: I will dispute my financial obligation in the dropping of these courses because the university is to blame, when they set me up to fail. Stop billing me.

Business Response: According to our records, our finance department reached out to this student 14 times between August 10 and September 18.  We encourage her to submit a petition in accordance with University policy if she would like us to further review the charges to her account. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: What they're saying is not true I called the finance department I spoke to ****** ****** voicemail I make calls to my counselor left voicemail I spoke to the original admissions person left a voicemail and he said he couldn't help me ****** ****** was the only one and they never return my calls and when I did finally get in touch with them right before I filed a complaint they still didn't give me over in itemized letter explaining the charges that they took from my account. I have emails to verify these communications with no responses that I could send to you
For proof
Sincerely,

******** *********

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Post University to attend online courses for a degree in counseling. I worked with an advisor, **** *********, to get financial aid and sign up for a light class load consisting of entry courses due to the unstable situation with my health. August 24th I received a voicemail from **** ********* stating I was ready to begin classes. He did not notify me of a required book for class, or the fact that financial aid was not complete.On the first day that classes began (Monday August 26) I contacted **** ********* regarding withdrawing from class as well as what options I would have given that I'd just found out my wife was laid off. I also informed the Professor that there were problems and that I would not be able to afford going to school. At that time I was busy with handling a court case for disability (in October), my wife's high school class re-union, as well as handling a prescription for a very expensive alternative therapy (**********). I did not receive a reply to either voicemail or e-mails sent to **** ********* or any other faculty or staff members.On September 3rd I received an e-mail from **** ********* stating that I'd been dropped from all classes and that an advisor would get in touch with me. That same day an advisor called me to let me know that I would be required to pay $150.00 for each class dropped or I could credit the money to the next term but I would have to file paperwork that day as apparently it was the final day to file that paperwork. Given the loss of my wife's job as well as my health and disability issues I could not guarantee that I would be able to resume courses next term.I spoke with *******, another person assigned to me, and she said she would see what she could do given that I was rushed into class and the lack of financial resources. I attempted to contact student services at the school but the e-mail was automatically rejected so I contacted every person on the faculty list that listed their e-mail address. Ms. **** contacted me and let me know that the decision would have to be made by a committee that meets every other Thursday. I filed voicemails, e-mails, and all information regarding my case.It is now October 1st and I have just now received a response by mail stating that my request was denied. It states "Student is responsible for following add/drop policy and is responsible for administrative drop fee." The letter provides information to re-submit a petition but only by fax.In short Post University has committed fraud, does not assist student's (disability or not) in beginning classes rather than throwing them in with a complete lack of information. I will not pay money for services that were not rendered and furthermore will most definitely not be returning to Post University given how they handle their students. I have not violated any of the schools policies, and there is no mention of a $150.00 fee in any documentation found on the Post University website or document to which my signature is on.Furthermore Post University Code of Conduct Policy states that; "To outline the University's policy regarding the expectations for the conduct and treatment of those affiliated with the University including but not limited to Students, Faculty, Staff, outside vendors and other affiliates. It is the expectation that all persons and organizations directly or indirectly affiliated with the University treat each other with respect and dignity. The University is committed to promoting an environment that is supportive of each individual's right to work and/or study in an environment that is free from any form of harassment, intimidation, bullying or other unacceptable behavior."Post University's lack of communication has lead to the current situation, even after multiple attempts at contacting admissions, student advisor, or any other department has failed. I am not held responsible for a fee that was not, and is not stated in any documentation. Finally I have been treated poorly, and without any respect or dignity in resolving such a simple problem.

Desired Settlement: Given the amount of time and paperwork involved in a mistake by Post University as well as the lack of respect or dignity from staff or faculty members I request financial re-imbursement. I leave it to the school to decide exactly in what form (ie, gift-card, book, or other). I've attempted to be as polite as possible however I did notify them that if the problem was not resolved I would be contacting the Better Business Bureau.

Business Response: This student's petition was brought to the CFO's office for appeal.  After reviewing the student's file, the CFO has reversed the initial petition decision.  As a result, the withdrawal fees will be removed from this student's account.  We trust this action fully resolves the issue.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

9/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This University claims that I owe an outstanding balance of $1,575for modules I did not go through in 2012. I repeatedly told them I waslooking for a job online, not going to school. I'm not able to pay.I have a mental disability and live on a fixed income. I do not needthe stress of going through this. I can't pay and I think that this is causing undue stress in my life. I take anti-anxiety medicine and getirritated at these letters from Post University demanding I pay forclasses I didn't go through. I would like for the letters to stopbeing sent to me

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for this to be over and done with. No letters fromPost University ever again. No phone calls from collections departments or anything negative in my credit report.

Business Response: This student spoke with his Student Success Coach on July 25, 2013.  At that time and and in accordance with stated University policy , he was asked to submit a petition with any pertinent documentation requesting that the charges be removed from his account.  We have not yet received a petition from this student.  As soon as we do, we will review and respond to it promptly.  The petition form can be found at ***********************************************.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made complaints about the confusion on coursework. I have disability papers on file that I did not receive any correspondence on . I am currently in a course where i could not see my initial grades until today and they are 59's because the discussion rubric changed -- in only my second course in this program. I followed the rubric the way it is directed according to official rubric on file within the course - I did what was required for 100% grade on rubic listed on the courses page I just started. However, it has been explained to me that it does not matter and the grade of 59 for excellent work done over 5 different days - taking hours and hours of time - would result in f's -- and was told it had nothing to do with my actual work- this is not ethical and I don't know how a Ethics class can stand by and allow this to happen to the majority of students in 1 class.I have taken steps to resolve issues and I am ignored because everyone stands behind Post but no one is an advocate for the student. I should not be charged for this class and it is only the second week. I was told they will charge me the full amount for the entire course which is over $1500.00 However, if I am charged.. I will surely express my distrust in Post university. I was mistreated by adviser ******* ****. He accused me of fighting with my prior professor, which I never did and he was argumentative. He never gave me information on how to contact disability dept and he told me to withdrawal from my prior class without being my advocate or helping me. Grades should reflect integrity and I was not granted the disability claim from my case manager at **** ***** ******* ******... that I be called to get proper guidance on coursework due. I believe 100% that the school wants to confuse students and get money even if they withdrawal because of improper treatment. Product_Or_Service: courses at an online school

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the money refunded for the 2 courses I took and I think it should go back to financial aid. They are charging the government money too. I will struggle to pay back for the courses because it will take me longer to get my degree.

Business Response: After a careful review of this student's complaint, we have determined that the Discussion Board requirements were clearly defined and communicated with all students in this course, and that the professor highlighted the changes in her communication with students.  Although the student acknowledges that she accessed those materials, she did not fully follow the guidelines and thus did not receive full credit for the assignment in the first week of class.  In addition, each professor has office hours where students can seek additional guidance if they have questions about any course requirements.  Since the student did not withdraw from the course before the stated ADD/DROP period, she is responsible for the tuition.  She is welcome to file a petition and provide supporting documentation if she would like us to take another look at her records.

9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke to a counselor with Post University when I was thinking of going back to take courses. This man told me to go ahead and fill out financial aid papers and start the process. After I was finally told I would be accepted he told me to go ahead and sign up for a course that every student has to take and there were no strings attached. He told me if I decided not to do the course or after doing some of the lessons I decided it wasn't for me, I could just drop the course with no recourse or cost. I ended up dropping the course on the very first day. A bit later I received a call saying I owe $150.00 for dropping the course even though this guy told me I would not be charged for dropping the course as long as I did this before the first week was up, which I did. I sent a petition to this school asking them to drop this and they have sent me a letter denying my petition stating that I owe the amount due.This school should not be BBB accredited. They lie to potential students to draw them in and then charge them "administrative fees" for dropping courses they tell you that you can drop without charge. Their practice of lying to potential students is unprofessional and should be illegal. They prey on newly graduated high school students and single mothers who can only go to college with financial aid assistance and have very little funds to support them. I am now going to be financially struggling worse than I already was because I have to find a way to come up with this money to pay the liar college for courses I didn't take and "administrative fees" that I wasn't even told about. I hope they choke on the money they're taking from my family and I pray that the BBB will let other unsuspecting people know about this college and their deceiving practices before they get sucked in too. I think the BBB should check out others complaints about this college on other online boards as well. I wish I would've found these boards before I trusted this lying bunch of money grubbers.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for them to drop this bill they have for me and start being upfront about these "administrative fees". Tell these potential students (online and on the phone) that they will be charged for this up front and make it known well instead of hiding it and then lying to potential students. They need to hold these counslors responsible for their lies and stop putting it off on the potential students and they need to stop telling these counslors to lie to reel them in with promising things.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/06/06) */ We reviewed this student's file and confirmed that she was sent the appropriate information about when she needed to drop the course in order to avoid being charged any fees. This information also is posted on our website and in the university catalog. Since the student did not drop the course by the specified deadline, she was charged a $150 fee per university policy. We hope this explanation fully resolves this issue. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) What information in "my file" was used to determine that I was sent the appropriate information on when to drop a course by in order to avoid being charged? I almost exclusively spoke on the phone to the couselor and at no time did he tell me this information until after I did as he instructed and started the first course. He told me to start the course and I could drop at any time with no charge just to see if it was a fit for me. Then after I did this he tells me that now that I did one of the assignments like he told me too he tells me I'm obligated to pay for fees, etc. if I drop the course, which of course I did drop it because I do not like this colleges sneaky sale tatics and lies and I do not want my name associated with this corrupt practice college. That's my point. I was told none of this upfront, it was all after the fact and I did not use the website as I said I spoke directly to a person on the phone. I also received no university catalog either. As I stated, I was told I would be charged nothing for starting the course and seeing if it was a fit. The very day I did start the course I dropped it and that was within the drop class guidelines as I stated before. So, now I have two issues. The fact I wasn't told upfront by the person on the phone that if I started an assignment I would be charged and now the college saying that I didn't drop the class in time so I'm being charged for that. I dropped the class the very day it started so I don't know how they can say I didn't do it in time when I was told I had a week to drop before being charged and as I stated I was told nothing about if I did an assignment I would be charged. Lies, on top of lies from this college.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Post university falsely advertises by getting people to enrol in there school by offering individuals bettemployment opportunities. Well I have since graduate with my bachelors degree and still work at my crummy job. Post also does offer job opportunities to there own students. I have made several attempts at applying for job opportunities and I am not being given a fair chance. They are not a fair employment opportunity company nor do they uphold their promises of better career opportunities.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) A job at the school or better job opportunity.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/25) */ Although we very much appreciate this person's interest in working at Post and would like to be able to offer a position to each person who applies, that's not possible. Unfortunately, the positions for which she applied had already been filled or she did not have enough relevant experience to meet the job requirements. We also can appreciate this person's frustration with a tough economy and challenging job market, and encourage her to continue to tap in to our many career services resources to support her search for an even better job opportunity than the one she currently has. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Post university discriminates against people and does not give people a fair opportunity!!!

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 26th I placed a forum post on the class website explaining I was having problems with the online site for submitting desks. First purpose of this was to get help from the Teacher, second was to see if any other students where having issues.On March 27th I recieved an email from the teacher telling me not post issues like that in the "questions" forum. She never addressed the technical issues and just said I didn't submit the assingned tasks/On April 28th I emailed the teacher again letting her know I was missing grades on course work I was 100% positive I submitted. Her reply was again stating I didn't do the work, again avoiding the technical issues not directing me where to go for help.On April 28th I emailed my Academic Adivsor for help with the above issues, he never emailed me back.In the begining of of may I received my failling grade for the course. Even though 90% of my course work was graded at A's and B's I still failed the course.On May 3rd I emailed my Academic Advisor again and recieved no replyOn May 7th I emailed the Senior Academic Adivsor asking the Schools policy on how to file a formal compliant. I received an out of office reply with no return date stating to email my Academic Adivsor.I now owe the Navy 750.00 dollars for the course and my GPA has been severly affected.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) there are several options I would like to proposeFirst, let me re-submit the missing course work and have it graded and applied to my over all grade through a different teacher of course.Second, the course to be removed from my academic record and Post to not bill the Navy for the courseThird, a full refund of the 750.00 I now have to pay for the course.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/20) */ Our Advising team has been in contact with this student and requested that he submit an appeal, per university policy. The student is in the process of submitting the requested documentation, and we expect a full resolution of the appeals process shortly. If this student has any questions or concerns about the appeals process, we recommend that he get in touch with his contact in the Advising office for further assistance. We trust this response fully resolves this issue for the BBB.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The admissions office did not provide an accurate financial statement of costs associated with enrolling in their online program.They allowed my 18yr old daughter to enroll in the program without knowing how much she would be paying. They gave her vague generalities regarding student loans and grant opportunities but did not provide accurate hard numbers. Nor was there any kind of written/signed legal contract of enrollment.Upon finding this out, I advised my daughter to withdraw from the program until accurate costs could be reviewed.This enrollment practice seems illegal to me. How can a business sell someone something without disclosing the cost?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am disputing $150 charge.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/08) */ We would be happy to work with this student directly to address any concerns regarding her enrollment status and student account. Under federal FERPA regulations, we cannot discuss her situation with anyone but her without her written permission. We encourage this student to get in contact with us at 800.345.2562, so we can provide assistance.

4/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing Error I attended Post University from August 2010 and August 2012. I received a second Bachelor's Degree in Accounting. I financed my education through student loans. Before my last module ended, I contacted my Financial Advisor to make sure that everything was in order and was informed that because I was graduating I would not be receiving my full award for the academic year. I asked for futher explanation and the amount I would owe, which I was given. I applied for and received a private loan to cover the final amount, which was approximately $900. I again contacted my Financial Advisor to ensure that I would not owe any additional money and he confirmed this via email. Last week, I went to Post University to get details on walking in the May graduation and was told that I owe $5,663. They explained that my last loan did not disburse and that since I graduated they could no longer get the funds. In reviewing my records, it appears that a loan that I had received in 2011 did not disburse and Post University did not do anything about it until January 2013. I understand that I owe the money, but instead of it being included in my student loans, government or private, I now have to enter into a payment plan with the University to pay this off. I currently have no job and cannot afford to make any payments as of yet.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the University to give me a payment plan that would allow me to payment $20 per month since I have no job. I will pay more if I have it, but for now I can only afford $20 per month. I also want this agreement in writing so that the university cannot go back on their word.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/04/19) */ We have spoken with this student, reviewed her account, and resolved the issue in its entirety. The student indicated she was completely satisfied with the outcome. We trust this fully resolves this issue. Consumer Response /* (2110, 10, 2013/04/22) */ I received a response from Post University on 4/16/2013 regarding my complaint. They contacted my government loan provided and was able to get my loan from 2011 fully disbursed. They completely resolved this issue on 4/20/2013 when I received an updated financial statement indicating that I currently have a zero balance with the University.

3/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues