BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Restaurant Supply, LLC offers all major brands of restaurant equipment and supplies, from commercial refrigeration and restaurant ranges to the hot dog roller grills and conveyor toasters; from the bun pan racks, pizza peels, and bussing tubs down to the food pans, serving bowls and spatulas. If you need quality commercial equipment, kitchen tools or supplies for your foodservice operation, you will find that we carry it or can help you get it, from the biggest and most trusted names in the foodservice industry and at the best prices.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Restaurant Supply, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Restaurant Supply, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 2011 Business started: 02/04/1999 in CT Business started locally: 02/04/1999 Business incorporated: 02/04/1999 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Michele Girard, General Manager Mr. Joseph Sullo, Owner Mr. Michael Sullo, Internet Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michele Girard, General Manager
Business Category

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies Ovens - Industrial Cooking Utensils Kitchen Accessories Ranges & Ovens - Supplies & Parts Refrigerators & Freezers - Supplies & Parts Internet Shopping Ice Making Equipment & Machines Service Establishment Equipment and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423850)

Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard, Visa, Discover, American Express, Debit, Cash, Checks
Alternate Business Names
Classic Restaurant Supply, LLC Restaurantsupply.net

Additional Locations

  • 312 Murphy Rd

    Hartford, CT 06114 (860) 246-1111 (888) 396-7536 (855) 838-1010

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 838-1010(Phone)
  • (888) 396-7536(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on Oct 29, 2013 to discuss the condition of the ******** Ice Machine, Item #**** ****, serial number ************** purchased from Ice Machines Plus http://www.icemachinesplus.com/ on September 19, 2013 and delivered Sept 25, 2013 in the amount of $1,700.The ******** Ice Machine we purchased was delivered with damages to the rear, door and seal.The back and side of the ice machine has several dents and there is also a problem with the front door. The door is not even, when you open the door the top of the door opens first and then the bottom opens. When the door is open, it sags and seems weak, the insulation panel bends and the seal around the door falls out easily allowing air to enter the ice machine resulting in the machine not to properly function. We contacted the recommended repair company Day&Nite, and they agree that this machine has a few problems.We were originally impressed by the advertised product and we were looking forward to its use in our office.In my opinion, this product was not properly described and we feel a malfunctioned, poorly manufactured product was delivered to our office.

Desired Settlement: We would like for the company to pick up the Ice Machine and refund our money.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Per out terms and conditions the customer needs to inspect the item before they sign the shipping paperwork. If the BOL ( shipping paperwork ) is signed they are taking full liability for the item. There are just so many things that can happen after the item is received that we can't just take the machine back or exchange. Also, the item was signed for and nothing noted any damage. The customer will have to file a claim with the shipper. If the customer needs any assistance with doing the claim they can give customer service a call and we will assist... ###-###-#### If the customer can call or send picture we will see if we can get them a new door or any part that can be replaced! Please can call *******..###-###-#### Thanks, ******* *****

Sent on: 11/20/2013 10:07:13 AM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

When the ice machine was delivered, the delivery person didn't give us the option of opening the machine to look at it. He only wanted to know where he was going to drop it off, get the formed signed that it had been delivered and leave.

We filed a complaint with pictures attached to the shipper on November 1, 2013.

When we received the ice machine we placed it in a safe area until we where we were able to get a plumber to install the machine. It was not until the plumber came and took it out of the box and started unwrapping the machine from the packaging that we saw the damage. However, it was not only the damage of the machine that got our attention, but the door to the front of the machine opened at the top first then the bottom would open....almost as if the door would bend.The seal was loose and came off. And the top part of the inside of the door is not solid, but a loose plastic piece that is easy to push in.

We would like to return this defected machine and be reimburse.

Thank You
***** ******


Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: Website Complaint Response

*****, I am sorry that your having to deal with this. Due to the the length of time you had the machine we can't take the whole machine back. We take pictures of the machines before they leave and it was in perfect shape when it was shipped. If you would like to see if the shipper will reconsider you can try that. If you would like I can try and get you a door at no cost to you. Let me know if you would like to me do that or you will need to deal with the shipping company. Thanks, ******* ***** IceMachinesPlus.com ###-###-####

Sent on: 12/6/2013 1:55:06 PM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Hello *******,

We are still disputing the charge. We would like the door to see if that will solve some of the problems, but it will not solve the damage to the back of the machine.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

*****, We are unable to take back your machine. If you would like I can get you a new door. Please let me know what you would like to do! Thanks, ******* ***** IceMachinesPlus.com

Sent on: 12/16/2013 10:08:28 AM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

We would like the new door to see if this will solve some problems. We will still be disputting the charge.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

*****, Please take a picture of the machine door and send to **********************! They need to see the picture before they send out the door! Thanks, ******* *****

Sent on: 12/20/2013 2:24:07 PM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I will not be back into the office until dec 30, 2013. I will take the picture then and send it to you.
Sincerely,

***** ******

Consumer Response: Dear BBB,

I responded to the request from ******* ***** on Dec 20th, I told him that I was Out Of the Office until Dec 30th. On Dec 30th I emailed him the pictures he requested of the ice machine door.


Here is the email:

I am responding to your request for the pictures of the ice machine door. It is hard to see the problems, but I will explain:

photo 1: top of the inside door, the top part pushes in very easily.

photo 2: the white seal on the inside of the door is very loose and comes out.

photo 3: when you pull open the front door the top opens first and then the bottom follows.


Below is the request from ******* to send me the pictures of the door:

Website Complaint Response:

*****, Please take a picture of the machine door and send to **********************! They need to see the picture before they send out the door! Thanks, ******* *****

Sent on: 12/20/2013 2:24:07 PM



I am waiting on a response from ******* as of now.

Thank you
*****


Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

*****, The replacement door is ordered and when I receive the door I am personally going to send it out right away! If this does not work I would still try to work with the shipping company.

Sent on: 1/13/2014 11:41:51 AM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This sounds good to me. I thought we should keep this complaint open until all matters are resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When i purchased the product i was informed that the product was new. 3 days later the paint started coming off the Dough Mixer. The next day the machine wasn't working the way it was suppose to. The gears were faster then the speed it was suppose to be working on. When i called the Classic Restaurant Supply they informed me of calling the Warranty company. I called the Manufacturing company and when they came they told me that the machine should not be having those kind of problems if its new. He also wrote a list of whats wrong with the Mixer and informed us that he cant fix anything. That day i called the classic restaurant Supply and i told them that i would like my full refund back since the product is falls advertised under being new. The product is old and was used and repainted. The customer service employee of Classic Restaurant S told me that we cant get our money back, they started being rude when i told them that the manufacturer said that they cant fix it and it should not be having these kind of problems if they sold me new machine. They didn't wasn't to spend any more time talking to me they told me that they will talk to the owner and then i can call him back. About 3 Hrs later when i called to talk to the owner, he was very rude, didn't let me have one word and he told me i cant return the product that's it!

Desired Settlement: I would only want my money back from this company. I would not be able to trust them in the future nor their products. They have honorable customer service skills and don't try to work with their customers. I want my full refund and never to purchase anything from them again.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

BBB We called the manufacture and they sent out a tech to look at the mixer. The mixer was new and never used. *** ( manufacture ) sent out a tech to see what was wrong with the mixer. The tech made an appointment 10/25/2013 and the customer never showed up! The tech drove 2 hours to fix the mixer and the customer will not respond now! I have tried to call the customer three times and they will not pick up or call back. We help our customers out but when they don't want to be helped it is very hard. If you have any further questions I will be glad to help out! You can reach me by email or phone. ** ***** ** ********************** and the phone number is ###-###-#### Thanks, ******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We orderd and received an ice machine.On delivery the packaging looked fine so my employee signed for it. It wasn't until we opened it that we discovered the machine inside had been damaged. I called the company the next day and was told it was a shipping issue and had to take it up with the shipper which we did and was told by the shipper they were not responsible and I should contact the people we bought it from. I have contacted them and they have refused to help us or replace the machine. Product_Or_Service: ice machine Order_Number: MooXXXX-XX-XX Account_Number: customer # XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@******************** August 30, 2013 BBB Case Number: XXXXXXX Unfortunately, we are not able to refund **** *******. Per our terms and conditions (please see attached) that are clearly stated on our website and included with the confirmation of sale email, we cannot be held responsible for the product once the end user signs the BOL (delivery receipt) from the shipper. When the customer has signed the BOL, they assume ownership of the unit. Only the owner can file freight claims. If the customer signs free & clear without note of any damages they are stating the item is being received in good condition. The shipping company is required to wait up to 20 minutes while a customer inspects the merchandise, so they may have the option to refuse or note any damages. This customer did sign for as in good condition and accepted the unit, assumed ownership at that point, therefore the claim can only be submitted by them. This was explained to the customer and we did assist the customer with their original freight claim. The customer, aware of our policy & procedures then purchased a second machine from us and filed their claim with the freight carrier. If their claim was denied on the first machine, we are more than willing to assist them in refilling the claim. All units are photographed prior to the shipper picking up from our facilities to ensure they do not come damaged from us. We are 100% willing to continue working with them to try and help them properly file the claim and collect the freight claim money from the shipper. TERMS AND CONDITIONS: Receiving Customer Responsibilities IMPORTANT: Before signing the Receipt of Delivery or the Bill of Lading from the freight carrier, the customer or the person receiving the freight shipment on their behalf, must fully inspect the shipment. IceMachinesPlus will not be held responsible for orders that are not fully inspected and have been signed for as "received in acceptable condition". Therefore, the customer is required to have someone present to meet the freight carrier and fully inspect the items of the shipment for errors or damages. As the recipient, the customer may take the time required to uncrate or remove packaging to inspect the product while the freight carrier is still present. If you wait to unpack and inspect your shipment until after you have signed for the shipment and the driver has left, you will be responsible for any and all damages whether in plain sight or concealed. Unpack all items and carefully inspect for damages. Check equipment exteriors for dents, dings or punctures. Check external piping, tubing, etc. for possible cracks, cuts, or other damage. Inform the freight driver of any damages found before they leave. This must be noted on the Receipt of Delivery or Bill of Lading. Please contact IceMachinesPlus immediately at XXX-XXX-XXXX to let us know about the damages. Have your order number available so that we can better assist you. All damages must be reported to IceMachinesPlus within 2 business days of receipt of your shipment. If you as the customer, or your representative receiving the shipment, signs the Receipt of Delivery or Bill of Lading without noting any damages or other errors, you are stating that you have received your order in acceptable condition. Once signed for, there is no reimbursement of purchase or shipping costs due to item(s) being damaged. You will not be able to file a freight claim with the freight carrier company. Upon signing that the shipment has arrived in acceptable condition, the item(s) belong to you. Damages If any item(s) are damaged, note the damage on the delivery receipt or bill of lading while the freight driver is still there. Be specific when noting damage. Include damage on the outside of the packaging as well as damage on the actual item(s). Take photos of any damage that has occurred as you will need to submit a claim to the freight carrier company and they will likely conduct an inspection. Do not throw away any packaging materials, damaged or not. Please contact IceMachinesPlus as well at XXX-XXX-XXXX. If damage is only "cosmetic" or only minor repairs are necessary, we may be able to assist with ordering replacement parts if possible. If damage is significant and the entire item needs replacing, you can submit a new order with us while you wait for your freight claim to be resolved. Have your order number available so that we may assist you if we can. Concealed Damage If an item is damaged, but its outside packaging is not damaged, this is considered concealed damage. If the freight driver has already left, the freight carrier will have no evidence that the item was damaged while in transit with them. In this case, you must keep all of the original packaging and request an inspection from the freight carrier company. Concealed damage must be reported to the freight carrier immediately upon discovery and will also require a written statement to the freight carrier. Please contact IceMachinesPlus as well at XXX-XXX-XXXX, so that we may assist if we can. If the item is non-functional due to damage in transit and needs replacing, you can submit a new order with us while you wait for your freight claim to be resolved. Regards, ******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2013 Delivery Issues
12/15/2011 Delivery Issues
1