BBB Accredited Business since

Phone: (877) 810-4116 Fax: (203) 930-3620 View Additional Phone Numbers 71 Commerce Dr, Brookfield, CT 06804

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description offers the online retail sale of railings, metal components, and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 14, 2008 Business started: 06/01/2002 Business started locally: 06/01/2002 Business incorporated 05/01/2010 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gavriel Lavi, President Mr. Ihab Barrawi, Vice President Ms. Linda Gurreri, Accounting/Credit Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ihab Barrawi, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Gavriel Lavi, President
Business Category

Railings Tube Fittings Architects Supplies Closet Systems & Accessories Drapery & Curtain Fixtures Hardware - Retail Internet Shopping Aluminum Products Hardware - Builders Metals - Base Poles Rails & Accessories Rods - Threaded Tubing - Metal Bar - Fixtures Flanges Glass Rods & Tubing Pipe Pipe Fittings Ornamental and Architectural Metal Work Manufacturing (NAICS: 332323)

Alternate Business Names
Lido Designs Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 71 Commerce Dr

    Brookfield, CT 06804 (877) 810-4116 (877) 259-5436 (203) 941-5110


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with ***** ********* who was no help at all. Spoke with her manager, who I couldn't understand what he said his name was. They are very unprofessional and the business is very shady. We order cables on 08/27/14, the due date on the order form said 08/28/14. We did not receive the package until 09/09/14. We had to purchase the items from another company to get the job done. Now is wanting to charge us a 20% restocking fee for something that we did not use or even take out of the box. It is robbery in my option. They did not carry out their end of the deal.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the full price we paid of 804.60 without the a 20% restocking fee

Business Response: Customer placed an order online on Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 8:24 PM EST
and selected Ground Shipping service.

We shipped the order via *** tracking# ****************** on
09/02/2014 4:01 P.M. and *** delivered to the customer on Tuesday
09/09/2014 at 6:01 P.M

The customer called our office multiple times asking when the package
will be delivered. Per *** website, delivery was schedule on Sept 9th.
The customer was aware of 9/9/2014 delivery and there were no issues
communicated to us at that time.

The customer called on 9/11/2014 asking for a full refund because the
package arrived on 9/10/2014.

Customer is claiming she received her order on September 10th but the
tracking # ****************** on *** website clearly shows the package
was delivered on-time on Sept 9th at 6PM. Customer stated she wants to
return the order because she purchased similar items from her local
hardware store.

We issued a Return Authorization Number to the customer and emailed
her the return instructions.  Customer is refusing to pay the 20%
restocking fee. Per our company policy and our website terms and
conditions the 20% restocking fee will not be waived. We will issue a
credit to the customer once we receive the returned items into our
warehouse. The credit amount is $643.68.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a $705 order with BuyRailings including 15 cable rail assemblies on 21 July 2014. On 29 July I received the order in one small box and opened the package on the evening of 30 July for installation. I could not locate the ************* SS fittings, a small but important component of each cable rail assembly. I searched the small box, the two pieces of crumped up paper used as packaging material, and the entire area in which the package was opened because I really wanted to complete my project. The box only contained a bundle of the wire portion of the cable assemblies and two small ****** bags filled with the remainder of the installation components.On the morning of July 31 I contacted BuyRailings and discussed the missing components with employee **** *** said that they have never had a case where all the ************* fittings were missing. He could believe 1 was missing, but not all of them. *** checked shipping and inventory and told me that I must have received the fittings and I must have lost them. I did not believe this was the case, but was willing to check again. I drove home and examined the entire area and could not locate a 3x5 ****** bag with the missing fittings. *** and I spoke again by phone and I asked if new fittings could be sent. He replied that their company does not sell them individually, only as part of cable assemblies. He had checked with feeney, the manufacturer of the components, and told me that one of my local stores, **** ******, also sells their products and perhaps they could help me. He also told me that if I returned the order I would be subject to a 20% restocking fee of approximately $140. Needing to complete my project, I drove to **** ****** and purchased everything I needed from stock. They did not sell individual ************* fittings either, so I had to purchase complete cable assemblies to complete my project. I was able to inspect all the components prior to purchase to make sure the order was complete. They have a generous return policy with no restocking fee. The price was lower. Items were instantly available from stock with no shipping fee. Additionally, the feeney assemblies I received from **** ****** were different than the feeney assemblies from BuyRailings. The BuyRailings assemblies were bare coils of wires with frayed ends in a box with two ****** bags of parts they appeared to have pulled from bulk stock. In contrast, the assemblies from **** ****** came in a labeled sealed bag containing the cable and another internal sealed bag with the 4 necessary installation components: two washers, a ************ fitting, and a nut. The generous use of heat sealed bags makes it impossible for the fittings to become lost from the cable assemblies. When installing the assemblies I also discovered that the cut end of each cable was somehow welded or melted together, making it much easier to insert through wood posts than the frayed ends provided by BuyRailings. At this point I had an unneeded set of cable rail assemblies from BuyRailings that had arrived missing some small yet crucial pieces for installation. I phoned BuyRailings again to ask for assistance with an RMA number and discussed with employee *******. I explained that I was a repeat cus***er who had spent $1500 in the past year, that I was missing a few components worth maybe $50, and that I was astounded that BuyRailings wasnt working to resolve the problem. ******* was sympathetic and tried to resolve the problem. She called me back and explained that she had arranged with shipping to send me 15 ************s from their bulk stock, but needed to check with her manager first. I think his name may have been ***. This was an acceptable solution to me because I had not opened any of the **** ****** components and could easily have returned them. ******* called me back and explained that her manager would not send me the ************s missing from my order. She provided me with an RMA number to return my defective order and said that it would be subject to a 20% restocking fee. Today, August 1, I returned the entire order to BuyRailings. The package contained all of the cable rail assemblies and additional hardware items in new condition. Obviously the ************s I never received from BuyRailings were not included. The components were shipped back in the original box with all of the original packing using ***** ******, the original shipping method. I am vehemently opposed to paying a $140 restocking fee to return a defective order to a company that refused to correct problems with the order. I also believe that any company that provides such poor cus***er service to a repeat cus***er should not be accredited by the Better Business Bureau. BuyRailings could easily have fixed the problems with my order or allowed return of the products in new condition without a restocking fee.

Desired Settlement: A complete refund and letter of apology would be barely acceptable.I intend to cancel the entire payment of $732.21 ($705.35+$26.86 shipping) using the **** dispute resolution if a reasonable resolution cannot be agreed upon. The $564.28 dictated on the RMA is unacceptable for return of a product that was not complete or useful when received.

Business Response:

Reply to Complaint # ********


We will issue a full refund to the customer.  We informed the cus***er of this via email on 8/6/2014.  Our reasons for not initially refunding a full refund are outlined below.


The customer placed an order for cable rail assembly and fittings on 7/21/14 and we shipped the items in one package to the customer on 7/22/14.  The cus***er reported to us that he did not receive the ************* Fittings, which are essential to the railing assembly.  Feeney, the manufacturer of these fittings does not allow us, BuyRailings, to sell the ************ separately from the cable.  Feeney does not sell them to us individually either.  This is because customers sometimes buy cheaper cable from a different source and then use the quality ****** fitting to complete the project.  When the customer contacted us to say he did not receive the fittings, we checked our stock and verified that the count reflected we had sent them.  Also, we have a quality control system in place that enforced a review of items picked before they are shipped.


Despite us verifying that our inventory reflected that we shipped the ************s with the cable, we contacted Feeney and asked if we could ship just the ************s alone to the cus***er.  We were told this was not authorized.  So, we found a retail store near the cus***er that is an authorized dealer and suggested he contact them.


The customer suggested that our packaging was inferior to the retail store he visited.  Since we are a warehousing distributor and not a retail store, we do not package for retail.  It is no way means that our products are inferior.

It is always our policy to give the customers the best service we can, including giving them the benefit of the doubt.  In this case, even though our records did show we shipped the product, we do not believe the customer is trying to financially gain by using an inferior cable with the ************, as other customers have done in the past.  Therefore, we will waive the restocking fee and issue a full refund once we receive the returned items.


8/8/14 Update by BuyRailings:  We received the returned items from the customer today (missing the 15 ************ pieces) and have issued the full refund.  We also witnessed that the box had been opened in more than one place and resealed with clear tape, which is not our tape.  The box appeared to have been broken during shipment and resealed by ***.  We contacted the customer today and confirmed with him that in fact the box had been resealed before he received it.  We therefore conclude that *** broke the box during shipment, the ************s fell out, and *** resealed and delivered the box.  The customer was in agreement.  We wish the customer had informed us of the box being broken and resealed from the beginning.



This explains why our system and our warehouse manager both indicate we sent the ************s but they were not received.  We have taken steps to insure that fittings are secured within the package and cannot fall out if the shipper damages the box.  



Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
BuyRailings examined the items I returned to them in the original box. They decided that the missing pieces could have fallen out and that ***** may have taped the box closed so it appeared sealed when it arrived at my house. They did refund all of my money when I threatened to dispute the charges through ****, but never apologized. My experience is that their behavior is far from the statement on their web site that "We work extremely hard to ensure that we meet and exceed our clients’ expectations in every possible way!"
So that BuyRailings can learn how to treat future customers, let me provide an example of what an apology might look like:
We apologize for not properly sealing your box closed to prevent portions of the order from falling out during shipment.
We apologize that we accused you of losing the parts rather than working to correct the order.
We apologize that we refused to ship you a few $ worth of parts needed to correct the order, rendering the entire $732 cable rail system useless.
We apologize that we treated you in an unsatisfactory manner even after realizing that you were a repeat customer who had spent about $1500 with us over the past year and that the parts required to correct the order were probably less than $50.
We apologize for not honoring the ****** warranty.
We apologize for telling you to go shopping for the missing pieces at your local hardware store.
We apologize for only offering an 80 percent refund even though the order was defective and all component received were returned.
We apologize that our behaviors did not live up to the promises on our web site: "At, our focus is to develop long-term relationships with our customers and clients. We work hard to serve you with integrity and high quality support."
We apologize that you received unsatisfactory treatment from two warehouse employees, their manager, and also the 'complaint consultant' because this implies a poor corporate culture rather than a bad experience with just one employee.
We apologize for issuing a response sounding more like a lawyerly rebuttal rather than admitting that we screwed up.
I would love to believe that has learned that they were at fault in many ways and that they were taking some steps to ensure that other customers would not be treated this way. However nothing in their handling of this order or the subsequent problems leads me to believe that anything will change. They screwed up my order. They screwed up fixing my order. They screwed up handling of this complaint.
I am now done with this complaint and done with this company.

Business Response: We provided the customer with a 100% refund.  We stand by the reasons for our actions which we outlined in our original response to this complaint.  Our pride in providing excellent customer service is evidenced by the countless satisfied customers we do business with on a daily basis. 

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for an order for three polished chrome closet rods online. The order was fulfilled a short time later. The package was left at a side door to my building, which is actually not my address. When I became aware that a box was sitting there, I immediately took it in and inspected it. Unfortunately, it appears the package was badly damaged in transit. The box was broken on its end, and two of the rods presumably went missing. The third rod remained, but the polished chrome finish was damaged. I contacted Lido Designs, and informed them about the problem. I was asked to take photos of the damage, and I forwarded them to the company. The lady I spoke with appeared to be confused and unsure how to proceed. I asked for a refund or replacement at that time. A number of weeks went by, and no communication was received from Lido. I re-contacted the company, and again informed them about the damage. I was promised a refund when the matter was investigated. A few weeks later I left to attend school for a semester abroad. When I returned, I noted the order had not yet been refunded. I contacted Lido, and was berated for waiting so long to file a complaint. I noted the fact that I had earlier contacted Lido, but they told me they had no record of any correspondence. Again I worked with Lido and requested a refund. A number of months went by, and again no refund was made. I again contacted Lido, and again went through the report process. This has gone on a number of times, and most recently I spoke with Supervisor ***. He indicated to me today that the company will not honor any refund, despite the fact that I never received 2/3 of my goods, or 100% of the goods in perfect condition. *** hung up the phone on me today, has failed to forward me to the company owner, and at this point appears to refuse to help me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the purchase price of $78.79. I will not stop until I am fully compensated for my purchase price, and I will take this matter to any level needed in order to see this refund through to completion. I feel this company has pushed me aside, given me terrible customer service, and has failed to uphold its end of the shipping and purchase contract. I am disgusted by my experiences with this company, and will share these views with anyone who is interested.

Business Response: Mr. ****** placed his order (SO#*******) on 1/9/2013.  He ordered 3 8FT polished chrome closet rods.  The products were shipped by us on 1/10/13 via the shipping method selected by the customer, which was USPS Priority Mail.  The shipping label reflected the shipping address Mr. ****** provided to us.  Mr. ****** should have received the package by 1/15/13 at the latest (order tracking confirmation is no longer available as so much time has passed since delivery).

Mr. ****** contacted customer service by phone in approximately August or September 2013 and demanded a refund claiming that the product was damaged during shipping in January.  Our customer service representative asked the customer to send us pictures of the damaged goods, and advised the customer that a supervisor would need to call him back as the time elapsed was beyond our 60-day return policy stated on our website.  The customer had agreed to these terms by manually checking an acceptance box on our website when he placed his order.  The supervisor called him back the same day and left him a voice mail message requesting a return call.

The customer did not call back until 12/4/13 (approximately 3 months later).  The customer stated that he had previously called us several times and submitted pictures of the damaged goods via email.  We again confirmed we have no record of phone calls or emails other than the call in August/September and the initial notification of his web order on 1/9/2013.  The customer stated that he would initiate a lawsuit against our business and that the law entitled him to a refund within 3 years.  We disagree with this statement.

If the customer had contacted us immediately upon receiving the damaged goods, we would have gladly provided him with replacement products or refunded his money.  Sometimes products are damaged in shipping by the carrier, and we work with our customers in these situations.  However, Mr. ****** took approximately 9 months to contact us, and then approximately 3 months to return our phone call and never submitted pictures of the damaged products.

Due to this series of events, we are not providing a refund or a replacement.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart