BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides the publication and sale of self-improvement newsletters, books and related information and products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bottom Line meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bottom Line include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 63 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

63 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 14
Delivery Issues 15
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 29
Total Closed Complaints 63

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bottom Line
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 1995 Business started: 04/10/1972 Business started locally: 04/10/1972 Business incorporated 07/05/1994 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Marjory Abrams, Executive Vice President Ms. Michelle Cohen, Director of Circulation and Fulfillment Ms. Rita Kneller, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marjory Abrams, Executive Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Rita Kneller, Vice President
Business Category

Publishers - Book Book Publishers (NAICS: 511130)

Method(s) of Payment
check, credit card
Alternate Business Names
Board Room Inc. Bottom Line Publications Bottom Line/HEALTH BOTTOM LINE/Personal

Additional Locations

  • 3 Landmark Sq Ste 201

    Stamford, CT 06901 (203) 973-5900 (800) 678-5835

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a book in 2015 health breakthroughs. I paid for the book. In 2016 I was sent another updated book same title.I did not order this book. I called customer service who cancelled auto reorder and promised to send a return postage label for return of the book. I have not received the postage return label and keep receiving bills for 43.95. I have written two letters explaining that I will not pay for a book I did not order. My request for return postage to mail the book back are ignored. They just send another bill. My call to customer service today resulted in them hanging up. A recall was not answered.

Desired Settlement: I just wish to return a book I did not order. I don't feel I should pay to return the book. Stop billing me for something I did not order.

Business Response: The outstanding charge on this account has been removed and the account has been marked "book returned".  All is clear with no balance do.  No future book will be received without a new order.  If the book is still held, there is not need for additional action on the part of the buyer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

4/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 90-year-old mother has received products for purchase with the suggestion they are "free" trials, subscriptions, etc.; however, these products must be returned to avoid the charges or the continuation of a subscription. She does not drive and relies on a care-giver. Upon visiting from out-of-state, we have found one book called The 30 day diabetes cure. We can only assume she's trying to cure my 92-year-old father who is in a wheelchair and has 'borderline' diabetes. Whatever the case, she is unable to return this book and she does not have any means to pay for this book. We have no idea if there are any other outstanding items. She has opened the box. We have no invoice thus no ID number, but I'm sure that will come along from the company soon. This company makes it extremely difficult for anyone to return an item, or to contact them. Imagine a 90-year-old surfing through their website. It's ridiculous. I spent a half-n-hour trying to find my way around. I feel this is taking advantage of the elderly. The elderly do not use the web like the younger generations and this company know this.

Desired Settlement: We want Bottomline to take our parents off their mailing list immediately. We do not want the book and she is unable to return it. We personally do not live in the area so I am not going out of my way to fly back to her house to return this. The caretakers are not allowed stop do this type of work, nor would we want them to waste the time medicaid pays for the caretaker to do real healthcare work for my parents. Bottomline is welcome to pay for that hourly help if they want this book(s?) returned. If there are any other products or orders out there, stop the orders and cancel the purchase of those books. We cannot hunt through her closets to find them. Please stop sending any products to them. Please cease and desist from ever contacting, or harassing our parents again.

Consumer Response:

I have no idea to whom Bottomline has addressed the products to my parents.

Here are the possibilities:

 

** ****** ** *** *** ****** ** *****

 

other names:

****** ****** ***** ********** ****** ********

 

Please let me know if you require additional info.

**** ******

 

Business Response:

There are 3 different accounts with Bottom Line Books for ** ****** which I will have cancelled  One account has a balance due of $39.92 which I will have cancelled.  These accounts will be marked to be removed from any and all future promotion.

There is also an expired account for Bottom Line Personal.  I will make sure that account is also marked to be removed from any and all future promotion.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will, however, continue to monitor their mail to ensure there are no more products or promotions sent to them. In addition, I have asked the post office to immediately return anything that should come to their address before including the item in their daily mail.

Sincerely,

**** ******

4/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3-1-16 I received two books from Boardroom Inc (Bottom Line Publications). One book was a hard cover "Bottom Line Year Book 2016" and the second book was a soft cover book "Secret 67 Special Reports". Included with the books was a bill for $39.92. Both of these books were unsolicited.

Desired Settlement: Since these books were unsolicited, I am considering them gifts. Any future books sent to me are also unsolicited, and they will also be considered gifts. I want no further communication from this company, and no further bills. I am also sending a certified letter to the company explaining this.

Business Response: Our record shows an order was placed in ***** ****** name and address for Bottom Line Yearbook 2016 on February 18, 2016 and the book along with the free premium mailed February 23, 2016.  If needed a copy of the order received can be sent to him.  The order cards are preprinted so it is possible an order was sent in by someone other than ***** ****.  A return label will be sent for him to return the book.  The premium is his to keep if he wishes.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This is out and out fraud. Yes, I'd like to see any bogus records this business has that I ordered these books.  I love the part where they say "someone else might have ordered this for ******.  Yes, and I'll bet the "someone else" was Bottom Line Books.  Imagine if "someone else" walked into ***** and ordered a freezer for me.  Then ***** delivers it and expects me to pay for it.   You can't order something for someone else that costs money. How about I order a freezer full of frozen meat and have it delivered to Bottom Line Books, will they pay for it?


What this is all about is sending unsuspecting people a book, then billing them for it in the hope that they'll be confused and pay for it.  Things like this happen to my elderly parents all the time. That is the type of people they are targeting with this fraudulent scheme. This is legal? They should be ashamed of themselves.  

Tell Bottom Line Books that as I stated earlier, this was unsolicited and as such it was a gift. I have also notified them of my position via certified mail.  I have already spent $8.00 for two certified letters to them, and too much time on this ridiculous fraud scheme.  No way I'm going to spend more time shipping them their ridiculous book back. If they want their book back, they can come to my house and get it. 


Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response: This charge will be removed and the account closed. However, I will get a copy of the order we received and send this to ** *****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I received a letter from **** ******* ******** from Bottom Line Inc.  She sent the order card that she says placed the order.  It is exactly what I thought.  This company has no voice recording of me ordering these books, nor do they have my signature ordering these books.  All they have is a pre-printed card with my name and address on it.  The letter states, “Since the order was preaddressed, it is possible someone other than yourself sent the order”.  As I stated in a previous response to the BBB, sorry, it doesn’t work that way. My name on a card is not an order for a book that costs money. 

They also enclosed a return label so that I could send the book back. As I stated in my previous response to the BBB, and in two certified letters to Bottom Line Books, since these books were unsolicited, I am considering them gifts.  Any future books they send me are also unsolicited, and those books will also be considered gifts.

Once Bottom Line acknowledges through the BBB, or to me in writing, that I don’t have to return the books, I will consider this issue closed. 

All this is about is trying to get unsuspecting people to pay for something they didn’t order.  Bottom Line Books and Rita Kneller E******* should be ashamed of themselves.

I have also opened a complaint with the State of California, Office of the Attorney General, and with Joel Grover, an investigative reporter with ******* in Los Angeles.

 Sincerely,

***** ****

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly tried to opt-out of their email newsletters including clicking the link to opt-out in the email in different web browsers at different times and by calling customer service. I am still getting the emails from the company. I want to opt-out of ALL of their email subscriptions.

Desired Settlement: Removal of email address from all correspondence from this company as well as deletion of any personal information.

Business Response:

** ****** *mail address has been removed from our email system.  He will receive no more emails beginning tomorrow 3/10/16.

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly cancelled with Bottom Line Books and I have been receiving books from them in the mail stating they are free...then followed up with a bill demanding payment. Their website allows emails to be sent to them, which I have done to unsubscribe to them, but to no avail. Last year, I also called and spoke to a representative who said I would no longer be receiving anything from them. I should not have to send unwanted packages back to them or argue about billing. I should not have to spend time returning packages that I never ordered or authorized. Their website prevents me from even looking up my account and cancelling it, and it is almost impossible to reach someone during business hours over the phone. This company is designed to lock you in perpetual purchasing with threats of credit reporting if you don't pay. I want to be removed from their mailing list and have all future mailings from them stopped.

Desired Settlement: I want to be free of all future contact from bottom line. I do not want another product from them.

Business Response:

I have had this account cancelled and removed from all promotion.  ** ****** sent a credit card payment for Bottom Line Yearbook 2016.  I have also requested he be refunded for this charge.  All books send are for a 30 day trial.  Customer Service is available on our web site.  I am sorry ** ****** was unable to reach customer service to look up his account.  Customer Service is always available by telephone.

The package was sent because he was enrolled in a continuity program which I have cancelled.

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being invoiced for a renewal I didn't request. No option on-line or on the invoice to cancel the subscription. I don't want this going to collections, I'm getting ready to move. I wish I'd looked here first. I would have never done business with such a disreputable company.

Desired Settlement: Stop billing me for something I didn't request.

Business Response: This subscription to Bottom Line Personal was entered as a "continuous service" subscription".    Since the date of the order is 12/16/15, the invoice has not yet been sent.  The order will be cancelled and the continuous service also cancelled.  There in no danger of anything going to collections.  If Mr. ****** chooses to renew his subscription, he can do it at a date closer to his 3/15/16 expiration.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please note: I DID in fact receive an invoice dated: 12/23/16 with a due date of 01/22/16. I would be more the happy to provide anyone with a copy.
I did not and would not knowingly request a continuous subscription. Came with the invoice I didn't receive. See attached.
The reference # billed for is ******* 24 issues of BOTTOM LINE / PERSONAL  $39.00
I will not ever be renewing my subscription.

Sincerely,
******* ******

12/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a box of books I did not order and was billed for these books.

Desired Settlement: If they are going to send books that are not ordered, why should I have to go to the Post Office and return them? I should not have to go out of my way, re-package, and send back the books. This is ridiculous.

Business Response: In order to respond to this complaint, I must have the address of **** *********** so I an identify this account.  Please provide this address.

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** **** **** sent me a book and I paid for it. I never ordered the book, but paid for it anyhow. A few months after I paid for it I received a bill for the same book that I never ordered it in the first place. They are threatening to send the bill to collections even though I paid for it. For years this company as sent unwanted books, and I paid for them. However, I want them to stop sending me fake bills, or send unsolicited books.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to stop contacting me all together. I don't want any books, I am not paying another $48 for a book I already paid for, that I never ordered in the first place. I am 93 years old and this is stressful, I just want to be left alone before the stress causes me a stroke and they should be held accountable for the stress they cause on MANY elderly.

Business Response: The charge for ****** **** ******** **** has been cancelled and Ms ********* account has been marked to be removed from any and all promotion.  She has been a long and valued book buyer.  I wish her well.

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unsolicited book was sent. I returned it the next day with a label I downloaded from their website. Two weeks later I received a bill for said book. All the time I have spent dealing with this issue, plus the fear that my credit will be ruined has been a nightmare. Do NOT BUY from this company!I simply want them to stop sending me bills and junk mail. Product_Or_Service: Book entitiled "Health Breakthrough 2015 Account_Number: 574697660

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I simply want them to stop sending me bill and junk mail. TAKE ME OFF YOUR LIST!

Business Response: When Ms. ******** purchased Health Breakthroughs 2014 6/24/14, the order card said she would have future opportunities to review future printings of Health Breakthroughs.  A mailing was sent to her 01/16/15 announcing the book was in production.  There was a request to be notified if the book was not wanted.  The 2015 edition was mailed 03/03/15 and was returned to Bottom Line Books 04/01/15.  The charge has been removed.  Sorry if the invoice crossed in the mail with the returned book.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: 10572840

I am rejecting this response because:

Sending a "request to be notified" regarding unsolicited materials is an obvious marketing ploy to foist off unwanted products. This technique has been used in the past and has been called what it really is...a scam, intended to wring money from the poor consumer who only wants to be left alone to live her life in peace. The Consumer Protection Agency should be notified of your devious and unwarranted attempt to play on the guilt of the consumer, who pays the bill you send, despite not ordering the product.

I would tell you that you should be ashamed of yourselves, but knowing you now as I do, I fear that emotional response from me would be unwarranted.

Sincerely,

********* ******** 

Business Response: I am sorry Ms ******** is unhappy about a continuity program.  We are not in the business of scamming anyone.  Her account has been marked so that no future promotion will be sent to her.  If she wishes, we can send a copy of an original order card that specifies the program.  Beyond that she is not being billed for anything.  Only 1 invoice was sent before the charge was cancelled and that crossed in the mail with the return.  I cannot do anymore on this account.

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For a company specializing in providing advice, Bottom Line's accounts receivable department needs to take note of their own recommendations for service and retaining customers. Bottom Line, FA, returned my payment to my bank THREE times (Jan/Feb/Mar 2015), then sent form letter cancelling subscription with snotty language accusing me of not paying my bill. I sent a certified letter to the FA address where I sent payment including my identifier subscription, spoke with ***** at ************** who was zero help, although polite, who said he'd "tell ******* to watch for third payment." Finally, I received a computer generated, non-personal, subscription discontinued notice with the remark, "Despite our reminders, you have not sent payment." That is obviously untrue as proved by the copies of my bank statement I included with my certified letter showing payment and the returned deposit to my bank account. FRUSTRATING dealing with Bottom Line. Not worth my time or money dealing with those Bottom Line Personal accounts receivable people in Florida. Perhaps their parent company should take notice.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation why my three payments were returned and why I received zero response to my certified letter requesting an explanation.

Business Response: I have contacted Ms **** for information on the bank checks that she sent.  I think there may be a problem with the bank checks and will look into this. I am having the account marked paid so service will continue. 

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Bottom line year book 2014 Last year,I did not like the book at all, but paid for it anyway, so now they automatically sent me 2015 - So I sent it back unopened, 'Return To Sender' now they are billing me for the damn book that I do not have, it's a terrible book. They did not apparently recorded as a "return to sender". This is the account information.I don't want to pay them eternally for books I return and DO NOT WANT! Apparently this can go on indefinitely...very scary.I talked to customer service and she said I owe it irregardless,I need some help. Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Resolution of taking me off their mailing list and why was my return not recorded? Or they think they could just force me to pay irregardless.

Business Response:

The book in question has been returned and the charge removed. 

The 2015 Yearbook was sent as he purchased the 2014 Yearbook and the order card stated he would have the opportunity to review the next.  When Ms ****** did not respond to a 01/09/15 mailing that the book was in production, the new book was sent 02/19/15.  The account is now inactive.

4/13/2015 Delivery Issues
4/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My subscription to ****** **** ********, a semimonthly periodical, expired today, March 15, 2015. When the company sent me a renewal invoice in January 2015, I returned it with a note stating that I did not wish to renew my subscription. I was surprised to receive another renewal invoice in February. I returned this second invoice to the company with "DO NO RENEW" written in large red letters across the invoice. Unfortunately, my requests were totally ignored. Not only did I receive the first renewal copy of ****** **** ******** in yesterday's mail, but the company also sent me a book that I did not order! I do not want the periodical or the book, but after reading numerous complaints about this company on the BBB website, am very concerned that they will endlessly harass me to pay for this unordered and unwanted merchandise.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to receive any more copies of ****** **** ********. I do not want to be charged for the ****** **** ******** renewal or the unordered book. After this complaint is settled, I will be glad to write "RETURN TO SENDER" on the unordered package and drop it at the post office. In the future, I don't want to receive anything that I have not ordered!

Business Response: This account was cancelled on 01/21/15.  The last copy sent was the 03/15/15/issue of ****** **** ********.  there are no other invoices being sent for this renewal.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the business response addresses only half of the problem.  I also want their assurance that they will not charge me for the unordered and unwanted book that they sent me and their promise that they will not send me any more unordered merchandise.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: Although it was the responsibility of Ms. ***** to respond to ****** **** ***** that she did not wan to receive Health Breakthroughs 2015, I will have the charge cancelled and her account to ****** **** ***** cancelled as well.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 12/22/2014 I mailed this company a check for 22.90 for a new subscription for their magazine ****** **** ******.I received one or two mailings then I started getting notices that I had not paid for the subscription.I immediately mailed them a letter with copies of the front back of mycheck.I keep getting notices that they are going to stop sending me the magazine and a form to renew my subscription.My subscription was for 12 issues.This company did not respond to the letter that I sent to them.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund .and I don't want any further dealings with this company because they are a complete ripoff and an apology would be nice.

Business Response: The order for this subscription to****** **** ****** was entered 11/19/2014.  The subscription was entered for 8 issues and began with the Jan. 2015 issue.  Payment of $22.90 was received 12/26/2015.   The invoice was automatically generated 30 days after the subscription entry.  It crossed in the mail with the payment.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

** ***** this companys  data is not completely correct.but if I am going to continue  receiving mu subscription I will accept their explanation. but I do not ever receive any of their promotional literature wanting me to renew my subscription.EVER .BECAUSE I BELIEVE THIS COMPANY IS COMPLETE RIPOFF

SINCERELY

 

* * *****THANKS A LOT BBB 

3/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company keeps sending unordered books, then demanding payment for them. We have returned the books un-opened, (via Registered Mail), and a Registered letter asking them to stop sending these books and to remove us from their mailing lists. They have refused to do so, and continue harassing us with their merchandise.

Desired Settlement: To never be contacted in any way, shape, or form by this company, its affiliates or its collection agency

Business Response:

*** ******** ordered ordered "****** ************* ****" on 02/13/2013 and "****** **** ******** ****" on 06/26/2013.  Both of these programs were continuity programs where the original order stated there would be future opportunities to review future editions of each book.  Notification was sent in each case 2 months prior to a new book being sent for review.  As long as there is no request not to send a new edition is sent.

At this date there is no balance due from the account of *** ********* and both continuity programs have been cancelled.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
We returned all books in the manner dictated by the company and asked them to cancel all future mailings. They ignored our request, kept sending material and tried to bill us for them even after we paid for shipping back. We DO NOT want any further dealings with this company, no "Automatic" shipments or any other contact in any form. Sincerely,

*** *********

3/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** **** ************ preys on elderly citizens like my mother. They use unethical methods of soliciting sales of their products, such as sending books that my mother didn't order. If opened by mistake, she is responsible for the costs. She has been upset by this and does not want to receive anything from them. I have told them at least 3 times to take her name off their list, but they continue to send their literature. This needs to stop.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)****** **** ************ needs to take my mother off their list permanently.

Business Response: There is an account for ***** ****** which was marked to receive no future promotion on 01/26/2015.  There have been no books sent to ** ****** since 11/2013 and there is no outstanding balance due.  The account for ***** ****** is inactive.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: please see the attached file. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

***** ******

2/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *************** sends books that I did not order, and then sends an invoice for the book. I have called the customer service number to complain before, but the invoices continue to be mailed.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for Please remove me from all mailing lists.

Business Response: I have sent an email to ***** ***** as I am unable to locate her account at the address listed.  If I do not get an email response, I will phone her.

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They send me books I did not order and the mailman helps me when I don't want them....I tell him I don't want them, he says I can refuse them and send them back and that is what I do..but they keep sending me invoices saying I owe them money...I have tried calling but no one answers the phone numbers ###-###-#### or ###-###-####..I did not order these books and can't stop them from sending them...this company is a scam please stop them.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They are sending books that are not ordered and they have no customer service line to call to stop the books from being sent..they are harassing and bullying me and I feel threatened.

Business Response: Outstanding charges have been removed from ***** ***'s account as books have been returned.  I will have continuity programs cancelled from this long time book buyer's account.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** * ***

12/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My grandfather received a book in the mail from this company. He did not order it. I am the one who pays the bills for him, I am the one that takes him to the post office to mail his bills. I would have seen an order for this and asked what it was before mailing it. He's 83, he has a limited income. This company has a history of sending materials to people and saying "oh just send it back if you don't want it." There are multiple complaints on various websites about this company's advertising practices of sending unwanted and unsolicited books to people who didn't order them in the first place. How about not sending it to begin with?

Desired Settlement: First, take my grandfather ******* ***** off your mailing list. Second, do not charge him for the book. Pay for the *** (not ****) shipping to verify a return of this unwanted book to your company, you can email me the label or have *** deliver the label to our door step. I want a tracking number to make sure it was signed for. You should NOT be sending unsolicited materials to people who did not request them! Not every elderly person has a granddaughter like me to make sure they aren't being taken advantage of.

Business Response: I have sent an email to ****** ****** requesting the name and address of her grandfather.  The complaint is concerning a book sent to him.  Therefore, I cannot respond without knowing the name and address of the gentleman even though I do see books ordered from the address listed for Ms ******.  I need this verified,

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received the "********** ******** 2015 which I didn't order and didn't want. I sent it back unopened. The tracking shows it arrived at ****** **** ***** 11/17/14. 11/25/14 I received a bill for 48.94. 11/26/14 I send ****** **** ***** an email stating that with tracking I knew they had received the book back and that my account needed to be credited and that I needed to be notified. Now 12/3/14 I haven't heard from them and the charge still stands on my account. I tried twice to send another e-mail. The first time the website claimed the session had timed out when I hit the submit button. The second time I tried I added a couple of sentences explaining I had just tried to send an e-mail and it showed the session had timed out. This time it stated I had exceeded the number of characters allowed even though there still was space in the window. I tried calling but was informed it was after hours. It may be just as well that happened as I believe I wouldn't have gotten any satisfaction from a phone call either. Product_Or_Service: ********** ******** 2015 Order_Number* *** Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a full refund and my account closed, no more books ever! The program code is *** not **** as this site is trying to make it.

Business Response: The ******** has been returned and the charge removed.  The account has been marked "inactive".  No new books will be sent without a new order. The 2015 ****** **** ******** was sent based on a previous order.  Notification had been sent 09/06/13 concerning the 2015 book.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** *******

12/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** **** sent me a book I did not order. On the shipping box was labeled "Free Gift Enclosed". I did not want, or order this book. ********* state law says I do not have to return a product sent that was not ordered, and a person may dispose of the product in any matter chosen. I have now received a bill for this book, which also stated "Thank You for sharing your interest in ......." I have never shared interest in receiving this book. I will not spend my money on return shipping for a product I do not want or ordered. I have sent a complaint today November 23rd, 2014 to the ********* State Attorney's Office regarding this matter. I will contact the credit agencies with a complaint against ****** **** Publications (Boardroom Inc.) in the event they turn this matter over to a collections service.

Desired Settlement: I do not want Boardroom Inc., DBA ****** **** ***** to send me anything unless I have ordered it from them, which I will never do again. I want my account closed and no more bills for books I have not ordered sent to me again. If this unpaid bill for a product they me sent me I did not ask for or want is sent to collections by Boardroom Inc., I will contact an attorney and will file consumer fraud reports with all applicable agencies.

Business Response:

When Ms ******** purchased the ****** **** ******** **** on 10/31/13, the order card said she would have the opportunity to review future *********. On 09/05/14 a mailing was made to notify that the 2015 ****** **** ******** was in production.  There was a request to return a preaddressed card if there were changes or if the new book was not wanted.  Since no word was received, the 2015 ****** **** ******** was mailed on 10/24/14..

I will mail a return label to ******* ******** to return her copy of ****** **** ******** 2015.

 

**** *******

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I did not request the book that ****** **** Books sent me, nor have I ever signed up for any "subscription" with ****** **** Books. I do not have to return a card or letter to say I want out of a "subscription" that ****** **** Books themselves enrolled me in without my consent. A lack of a response is certainly not a consent, but rather very much the opposite. I will not return an unordered book that had labeled on the outside of the shipping box "Gift Enclosed". I owe ****** **** Books nothing, not even the effort required to attach a return shipping label. I have contacted the Office of ********* State Attorney General on this issue. I will await their response, and will forward to them all correspondences gained from this complaint brought to the Connecticut BBB about Boardroom Inc. DBA ****** **** Books, or any other interaction with their company or collection agency acting on their behalf.

******* ******** 

Business Response: I have requested a copy of the original order card for ****** ************* 2013 ordered 02/13/13 that Ms. ******** placed.  Since this order is from 2013, it will take time to retrieve from storage.  I will send the copy as soon as it becomes available.   This is being done to show ****** **** Books has properly handled this complaint.  The order copy will be sent to E****** ********.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Thank you for retrieving this document. I am anxious to read it. In addition to sending me a copy, please also send a copy to this site (BBB).

BBB, I understand a complaint will be closed after 7 days of no response, and considered resolved. Please allow this complaint to remain open until this document is received by your site, if it takes longer than that. Unfortunately I do not believe a resolution will be made using your service. Regardless, I do appreciate the efforts put forth, and for allowing consumers this forum to settle disputes with businesses. I ask that the complaint remain open in the event I have concerns about the document received by you.

Sincerely,

******* ******** 

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Elderly parents harassed with 'bills' demanding payment. NO merchandise was ever ordered or received by parents. Similar issues w/company in 2011 Acct: ********* ******** ******* ***** ****** **** ********* ** ***** Payment Amount: $49.94 Book Title: ********* ***** ****** ******** Billing Manager

Desired Settlement: Parents do not owe billed amount. Book never requested by parents. We request that Bottom Line Books cease and desist requests for payment.

Business Response: An order was received for this book, "********* *****", on 5/5/14. The book shipped 5/8/14.  On 7/17/14 payment of $30.30 was received leaving a balance due of $19.64.  I will have the additional charge removed from the account and have this account marked for "No future promotion of books".

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I'd like to also request that my mother's and father's names and address not be shared to Bottom Line Books subsidiaries.


Sincerely,

****** ******

7/29/2014 Delivery Issues
7/29/2014 Delivery Issues
6/2/2014 Delivery Issues
5/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A number of years ago I(unfortunately)responded to a mailing by the Bottom Line Books company, allowing them to send me a book. Since then I have received numerous unauthorized books from the company with a later demand for payment. In the past I have responded to their demands for payment, but I am now attempting to get them to stop sending me the yearly books and then demanding payment. They do not provide a phone number or web address, but only a PO box number, so I have been unable to speak with anyone from the company directly. I contacted them by mail to indicate that the material they sent was unsolicited and that I will not pay for it. The government's policy regarding unsolicited material indicates that I am under no obligation to either reimburse them for their material or to return it to them. I asked them to take me off of their mailing list, as I do not want to have to deal with their company's harassment in the future. I did not receive a reply from them, but instead received on 4/23/14 a notice indicating that they are going to "take more serious measures" with me in order to force me to pay the $48.94 bill for the book that I did not order. I am sending them a certified letter again stating that I will not pay for unsolicited material from their company and I believe that it is time for me to register a complaint against their company, since I have come to the knowledge that this is their way of doing business. I realize that there have been numerous complaints against this company for exactly this issue, and I believe that measures should be taken to halt this disruptive practice.Thank you.***** ** *****, M.D. Product_Or_Service: Bottom Line Books Yearbook 2014

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would request that the Bottom Line Books company send me a letter of apology indicating that I have been relieved of any obligation they are claiming regarding my receiving the unsolicited material that was sent. In addition, the Founder and CEO of the company, Mr. ****** ********, should be charged with mail fraud, as he is using the US Postal Service in order to illegally bilk US citizens into believing that they are obligated to pay for mat

Business Response: This charge will be cancelled and the account ill be marked for no future books to be sent.  I will write and tell his that sll has been handled as requested.

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bottom Line Books is billing me for a book I never ordered or received. I have recently moved so it is possible if they sent the item to me it never reached me. It still does not excuse them from sendi g me an item I did not order did not receive and then trying to bill me for it. I want it to STOP immediately! I am not in good health and am about to have another surgery and do not need to worry about or deal with things like this. It is fraud! And the next thing to blackmail a d steali Product_Or_Service: None Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want the bills to stop and I want an apology. I also want there to be no damage to my credit. Thank you for your time and efforts. I could not get the courser to go back and correct the spelling above please excuse the mistakes.

Business Response: I have had the charge for any open balance on this account removed.  I also requested the account for ***** ***** be removed from any and all future promotion as the address for the account is not longer valid.

2/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned "Big Black Book" and talked to customer service and I am still receiving "Delinquency Notices"!! I received a "Big Black Book" from Bottom Line Books Publishers. I returned the Big Black Book in December 2013 because I decided it was not worth the money ($49.94). Yet, I kept receiving billing notices. On 13 January 2014 at 5:50pm I called "Bottom Line Books" and informed the person that I had indeed returned the book and that I no longer had the book. I was told the he was going to remove the bill from my customer account. However, yesterday I received a "Delinquency Notice" from Bottom Line Books! I previously received a different book from this company I had not ordered! It took several phone calls and emails to get this rectified! I have come to find out that a lot of other people have the same problems with this company. Go to "*************.com" ****** ****** ********** ******* ***** ******** ****** ********* **** **** ******* ********* ********* ********** ************* *** ******* ***** ******* ***** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** **** ** * **** *** * **** **** *** ***** ***** ** ****** ** ****** **** ** ** ******* *** ****** **** ******* ****** ****** ******* ***** ****** ************ ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ****** **** ******* ********** ******* ***** ********* **** ******* ******* ***** ******* ****** ******** ****** **** ****** **** ******* *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ********* ******* *** * **** **** *********** **** ***** ** ****** ** ******* ******* *** ******* **** ******* **** ******* ******* **** * ******** *********** ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ********* ********* ***** *** ******* **** ******* ********** ********** **** *********** ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ****** ******************* ******************** ***** *** ****** **** ******* ******** ******* **** * ******** *********** ****** **** ***** *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ************ ****** **** ***** ************ *** ******* **** ******* *********** ******* **** *********** ****** **** ************ *** ******* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ***** ***** ****** *** ****** **** ***** **** *** **** ** ***** ** ***** ** **** ********* **** ******* ** ****** ********** *** ****** ******** ******* ***** ***** ****** ********* **** *** ****** ******* *** ** **** ***** ** ****** **** ***** ****** **** ********** ******* ** ****** ******** ** * ****** ****** ** *** ** *** ********* *********** ******* ********* There are many, many more similar complaints like mine!

Desired Settlement: Stop sending me "Delinquency Notices" for a book that was already returned to Bottom Line Books in December 2013. And Take my name, address, phone number, email PERMANENTLY OFF THE MAILING LIST! ****** *********

Business Response:

The charge for Big Black Book has been removed from this account.  Sorry invoices have continued. No balance is due on either account on file for ****** *********.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me:

 

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

The charge for Big Black Book has been removed from this account.  Sorry invoices have continued. No balance is due on either account on file for ****** *********.

 



Sincerely,

****** *********

2/6/2014 Delivery Issues
1/24/2014 Delivery Issues
1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bottom Line Books or Boardroom inc. as they call them selves sent me an unsolited health book and I did not order or request. I sent the book back to them at their processing center in *** ****** **** certified and they are still billing for the books. Here is the letter I sent to them at Boardroom inc.Bottom Line BooksBoardroom Inc.*** ******* **** *** ************* ** **********To whom this may concern.My wife and I request you company to cease and desist and stop any and all mailings to our home at **** ********* ***** *** ******* ** ***** and remove our names and adress from any and all current and future subscriber list.Thank you,***** *** ******* *********** ********* ***** *** ******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like them to not send me anymore mailing at all period. And take me off on their subscriber list and my wife ******* included.

Business Response: The returned book has not been received yet but we are canceling the charge and marking the account for the return.  The account has been marked to remove any and all future promotion.  Unfortunately, we cannot stop anything that may already be "in the pipe line".

1/23/2014 Delivery Issues
12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/19/2013 Delivery Issues
12/19/2013 Delivery Issues
12/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made repeated requests for this company to remove my contact information from their database, and to stop sending their junk mail to my address. I don't know who sold these horrible people my address, but they need to stop all mailings to my address immediately. No one likes to be harrassed, and I will NEVER buy anything from them. From the information I have read about them, when people do buy things, they are continuously billed, even after full payment has been made to the company.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want one last letter from this company apologizing for the harrassment, and verifying that I will receive no further communications from them or any of their partners or subsidiaries.

Business Response: I am unable to find a record of ***** ******* in our data base at the address listed above.  However, I will have her name and address added to be eliminated from any and all promotion.  Pleae be aware , we cannot stop anything thqt may already be in progress.  We can only eliminate from future selections.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a bill for a book that I did not order. I received a package a couple weeks ago from Bottom Line Books that I did not open and marked as 'refused delivery' and put back in the mail. Now I have a bill from that company. Account_Number: ACcount # *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) No further contact of any kind from Bottom Line Books.

Business Response:

On 09/06/13 notification was sent to ***** ******** that the 2014 BLYB was being prepared .  If the book was not wanted,

there was a requewt for a post card to be returned.  When no word was received the new books was sent 10/25/13.  The account will be marked that the books has been sent back and the charge will be cancelled. 

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a solicitation for the Bottom Line Yearbook - 2014. I wrote a very clear and emphatic message on the return slip that I did not want it and that I wanted them to stop further solicitation as they are relentless in their mailings. I received the book anyway despite my clear request to the contrary. I did not open it. I marked it "Return - Refused". Now I get a bill/invoice for the book. This practice is deplorable. Of course they never offer a customer service number to call on their mailings to deal with the matter in a simple way. I have returned the invoice with these details. I now wait to see if the harassment continues. Product_Or_Service: Bottom Line Yearbook 2014

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to stop billing me for a service that I clearly refused.

Business Response: Sorry this book was sent when not wanted.  The book was returned for credit 11/21/13 . There is no balance due.  There should be no other invoices sent.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Discovered Bottom Line Personal gift delivered to same name but different address in CA, but no such address had ever been provided to Bottom Line. Customer Service representative, *****, stated that the U.S. Post Office made the change. Since it was not initiated by the customer, I inquired how that was possible. She stated that the Post Office made a mistake. I then asked how that was possible since an address change initiated by a customer would be done directly with Bottom Line, not with the Post Office. She repeated that the Post Office did it. I then asked her when the change was made, and she revealed it was changed at the time of the renewal of the gift subscription. Clearly, the U.S. Post office doesn't unilaterally make a change of this type. Moreover, the fact that it coincided with the gift renewal is equally revealing. I direct you to an interview with Founder & Chairman, ****** ******* at http://www.bottomlinepublications.com********************************************************************** and note the values expressed in this interview would not include behavior such as making up an answer to a customer versus acknowledging either an error or potential redirection of a subscription (fraud) that will be looked into. As a result of the poor customer service behavior ***** exhibited, I will reconsider future renewals of the several gifts I give annually. Very truly yours, ****** ********

Desired Settlement: My only settlement would be to know that 1) the ********** values are incorporated into the culture of the company, 2)customer service training is a very high priority that includes these same values, and 3) service representatives are held accountable to upholding these values in all interactions with outside parties and customers.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** *******, VP
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********@boardroom.com
Postal address changes are regularly received by the post office. I cannot tell whether the address change is proper or whether it is to be ahnges again. I will contact Ms ******** for moe information.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The field for a response was left blank--i.e., there was no response.

Sincerely,

****** ********





























Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me if it occurs.  To date, I've received no contact. 

Sincerely,

****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Bottom Line
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart