BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

My Pet Chicken LLC

Phone: (888) 460-1529 Fax: (877) 577-7262 483 Monroe Turnpike #322, Monroe, CT 06468 http://www.mypetchicken.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

My Pet Chicken, LLC offers baby chicks, chicken coops, accessories, books and free "how to" information, plus gifts and rooster decor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Pet Chicken LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Pet Chicken LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on My Pet Chicken LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 13, 2010 Business started: 06/30/2005 in CT Business started locally: 06/30/2005 Business incorporated: 02/22/2008 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Derek Sasaki, President Ms. Traci Torres, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Sasaki, President
Business Category

Poultry Equipment & Supplies Farm Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 483 Monroe Turnpike #322

    Monroe, CT 06468

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of their customer service reps was very rude and as a customer, I find that unacceptable. She was rude to the point that I will not be purchasing from them again and will advise others in the market to go elsewhere. I placed an order for chick feed & a coop, within half a day I contacted them via email to see about canceling a part of my order. They got back to me the next day and said that they canceled it and there was just the cancellation fee to contend with. After learning of that fee, I got back w/in the hr to stop the cancel. There apparently was a mix up since they needed my payment again because someone had canceled to whole thing not just part. No problem, I called got everything sorted out with my order and payment. I then got an email later in the day to let me know that my whole order was back on its way and I just had the cancellation fee & if I had any questions to contact them. Well I had wanted to know about the fee, so called and said "I just wanted to ask about that cancellation fee". The woman I spoke with was very short with me because her immediate response was, "No I'm sticking firm with that it's just $5". I completely get that it's just $5 but it was a simple question since everything on my part was done very quickly.

Desired Settlement: It's just $5 but I want it to be made very aware that they have rude people that work for them, where customer service is not important to them. As a business customer service should be very important. Yes they process things very quickly which is great but their customer service and interpersonal skills are lacking.

Business Response: We're sorry if *** ******* felt our customer service representative was rude. We were working quickly fulfill *** ******* request to cancel and then re-activate her order without incurring fees above the $5 cancellation fee that *** ******* agreed to (see attached). As our policy states, we charge a $5 cancellation fee if the coop hasn't left the warehouse. (see attached email.)

 
We feel this complaint is frivolous and ask that it be stricken from our record. We not only met our policy, but went above to pull the labelled coop from the *** truck pickup to prevent a return shipping fee. Again, we're very sorry that *** ******* misinterpreted our representative as rude. 
 
Best regards,
*****

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an educator in a school with limited funding and decided to take our chances with mypetchicken.com for our annual order of fertilized chicken eggs for a change since they advertized to be friendly to educators. We did recieve our order on time, 30 minutes before dismissal and holiday mind you but recieved. Now I have experience with hatching chickens in my classroom and have had increasing success doing so until I noticed the products were not responding, I called numerous times and was on hold for 20+ minutes on my cell phone during my lunch hour and ancillary, but yet never recieved a live person. I finally decided to leave a message to let them know that these eggs...yeah NO activity in any of the 48 sent! The website quaranteed at least 15 of the 48 to hatch, and now our Kindergarten class is out a $107.28 and NO chicks. When a live person finally contacted me I let them know of the situation and they were very clear to say they could do no more than give us 50% OFF our next order but that we would still have to pay shipping (now the website clearly says FREE SHIPPING to educators). She also instructed me to keep the eggs in the incubator till Day 26, which I did and on Day 26 I sent them an email with the picture of the Day 26 inactive DUD eggs, but have recieved no response from them. Product_Or_Service: 2/25/13 Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All we ask is for at least some sort of refund of half or at least send us another order even if its half. These are not unreasonable and the whole point is to give our students a memorable experience, which mypetchicken has taken away from them.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/05) */ We initiated a reshipment of fertilized hatching eggs to Mr ******. The process was in the works before she filed the complaint, but it took us a few days to work out the logistics.

9/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues