BBB Accredited Business since

My Pet Chicken LLC

Phone: (888) 460-1529 Fax: (877) 577-7262 483 Monroe Turnpike #322, Monroe, CT 06468 http://www.mypetchicken.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

My Pet Chicken, LLC offers baby chicks, chicken coops, accessories, books and free "how to" information, plus gifts and rooster decor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Pet Chicken LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Pet Chicken LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on My Pet Chicken LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2010 Business started: 06/30/2005 in CT Business started locally: 06/30/2005 Business incorporated 02/22/2008 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Derek Sasaki, President Ms. Traci Torres, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Sasaki, President
Business Category

Poultry Equipment & Supplies Farm Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 483 Monroe Turnpike #322

    Monroe, CT 06468

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been ordering chicks from them for a number of years. In the past there have been no issues and, since they are live chicks, I understand some losses occur. This time, however, nearly the entire flock died within one day, 4 over night and an additional six the next day. I called for assistance and was basically subjected to an interrogation that was less about what actually happened and more about finding a way to blame it on me and avoid responsibility. I was interrupted constantly, the rep changed the meaning of my words to create a narrative that diverged from what happened, did not listen to the steps I had taken and refused to escalate the call. The birds were in a small enclosure that was free of drafts with a heating system. I had started the heater several days prior to ensure it maintained the proper temperature. After the reps repeated refusal to allow me to speak with a manager, she informed me one would call me back later that day. No manager did. The rep did call back that afternoon to inform me that they were not going to honor any warranty or do anything to remedy the situation and that no manager would be contacting me. I thought it odd that the manager refused, she informed me that the manager was calling other people but had deemed me as not worthy of her time. The disdain they hold their customers in, by actively look to place blame on the customers without actually listening to the situation and managers who pick and choose who they want to deal with, is palpable.

Desired Settlement: A replacement of the chicks and an apology/explanation from the manager as to why she could not be bothered to call.

Business Response:

Hello,
This letter constitutes our official response to **** ****** complaint regarding the loss of his chicks he ordered from My Pet Chicken. 
Our first contact with *** ***** was a voice mail message on April 16, advising us that his chicks had arrived safely the previous day, but he awoke to find six or seven of them had passed, and requesting that we return his call to help determine the cause of the loss.
As background, My Pet Chicken does guarantee the arrival of healthy baby chicks. Customers must select a box saying that they understand the following, before they are able to complete any purchase: 
We guarantee healthy, live chicks and started pullets. We will offer a refund, replacement, or give credit toward any bird that you properly cared-for but died within 48 hours of arrival, provided you notify My Pet Chicken of any losses, by email or phone, within 48 hours of arrival. 
Clicking on the "properly cared-for" link brings up a page with detailed chick care instructions:

That same day, one of our customer service representatives, an expert in chicken care, returned *** *****'s call. He reported that 9 chicks had now passed. Our representative inquired about the chick's housing environment, food, water and handling to help her determine the possible cause of death, and to help prevent any further losses. *** ***** replied that the chicks were kept outdoors, in an enclosed coop, with a heat source that we categorically deem inadequate for the circumstances in which they were housed (details available upon request). 

Our representative explained the importance of controlling temperature in the chicks' "brooder" area (approximately 95 degrees during the first days life), and that maintaining this temperature in a non heat-controlled environment, where outdoor temps fluctuate from day to night, is nearly impossible. She advised moving the remaining chicks to a more controlled environment to allow them to warm up. *** ***** did not like that idea, and asked to be connected to a manager. Since the manager was not available at that time, our representative explained that she would call back once she was able to speak with the manager about his case.

After an internal discussion with the manager, it was decided that since we deemed the chicks improperly cared for, per our guarantees, My Pet Chicken would not take financial responsibility for the loss of life. Our customer service representative called *** ***** back on April 17th to communicate this. She explained the details of our guarantee, and that the manager would be available to call him back the next day to go over any questions he had. She asked when would be a convenient time to reach him, and *** ***** interrupted, said he was going to dispute the charge with his credit card company and report us to the Better Business Bureau, and hung up the phone.
In summary, it was our opinion that *** ***** did not properly care for his chicks, and therefore he does not quality for a refund, per the terms of our guarantee. He was unwilling to take the advice of our chicken care expert and bring the chicks to a warmer location. My Pet Chicken's refund policy was established to protect customers on those rare occasions when chicks are properly cared for but perish anyway--and to provide yet another opportunity to educate folks on proper care. It was not establish to protect customers who refuse to provide adequate care.

Thank you for your attention in this matter, 

***** ******* 
Director of Operations 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The number of factual errors in your response are too many to list.  Some are distortions, some are outright blatant fabrications.  The dismissive tone of the letter is also indicative of the tone of the rep during the calls I made and what was said.  The chicks were kept in an environment where the temperature was maintained, I tested it for several days in advance.  The "expert" continually interrupted me, ignored what I had to say, and changed what I did say for the purposes of avoiding responsibility.  She also told me that a manager could not be bothered to call me back as she had more important things to do and would not be available to me.  I asked to speak to a manager repeatedly, the "expert" told me no, she could not be bothered. For this ***** person to change the story to make it sound like a manager was going to call is simply not true - as is so much of what she claims in her response.  They don't even have the timeline correct and, as I've said before, her narrative ranges from garbled to outright made up.  
That I refused the advice or to listen to the expert is also untrue, just another made up story so they can avoid liability.  Again, it's a case of them ignoring what was actually said and done, twisting words and looking for ways to blame others.  Case in point, I never refused to move the chicks, and when she called back they were in our kitchen and I was inspecting the survivors while the rep was on the phone with, describing to her what was going on.  *****, however, would rather lie so she can bury the fact that the rep told me repeatedly that the manager was too busy to call me back as she had made her decision and wasn't interested in discussing it any further - I suspect it was probably ***** and she is now trying to cover her refusal by shifting blame to me - the preferred tactic of this company.
The bottom line, the chicks were kept in a small, airtight enclosure with no drafts under an ****** chick brooder that was set so they came in contact with warmer.  There is no reason so many of the chicks should have died under those conditions.

Sincerely,

**** *****

Business Response:

We are sorry that *** ***** is unsatisfied. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer care. The customer service representative who spoke with *** *****'s experienced their interactions very differently than the way *** ***** characterizes them. We stand by our our policies and guarantees. 

Sincerely,
*****
Director of Operations

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reply wasn't a response to the specific charges or the blatant fictions I outlined.  Additional research concerning other people who have had issues with My Pet Chicken show a distinct pattern of avoiding responsibility and being less than honest when issues occur. There is no effort to provide competent customer service as is evidenced by incorrect timelines, misrepresentations and outright lies on the part of *****.  Not surprising for a company that, it turns out, is not an actual breeder, as they present themselves, but actually a broker who resells from multiple, undisclosed sources.

Sincerely,

**** *****

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of their customer service reps was very rude and as a customer, I find that unacceptable. She was rude to the point that I will not be purchasing from them again and will advise others in the market to go elsewhere. I placed an order for chick feed & a coop, within half a day I contacted them via email to see about canceling a part of my order. They got back to me the next day and said that they canceled it and there was just the cancellation fee to contend with. After learning of that fee, I got back w/in the hr to stop the cancel. There apparently was a mix up since they needed my payment again because someone had canceled to whole thing not just part. No problem, I called got everything sorted out with my order and payment. I then got an email later in the day to let me know that my whole order was back on its way and I just had the cancellation fee & if I had any questions to contact them. Well I had wanted to know about the fee, so called and said "I just wanted to ask about that cancellation fee". The woman I spoke with was very short with me because her immediate response was, "No I'm sticking firm with that it's just $5". I completely get that it's just $5 but it was a simple question since everything on my part was done very quickly.

Desired Settlement: It's just $5 but I want it to be made very aware that they have rude people that work for them, where customer service is not important to them. As a business customer service should be very important. Yes they process things very quickly which is great but their customer service and interpersonal skills are lacking.

Business Response: We're sorry if *** ******* felt our customer service representative was rude. We were working quickly fulfill *** ******* request to cancel and then re-activate her order without incurring fees above the $5 cancellation fee that *** ******* agreed to (see attached). As our policy states, we charge a $5 cancellation fee if the coop hasn't left the warehouse. (see attached email.)

 
We feel this complaint is frivolous and ask that it be stricken from our record. We not only met our policy, but went above to pull the labelled coop from the *** truck pickup to prevent a return shipping fee. Again, we're very sorry that *** ******* misinterpreted our representative as rude. 
 
Best regards,
*****

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an educator in a school with limited funding and decided to take our chances with mypetchicken.com for our annual order of fertilized chicken eggs for a change since they advertized to be friendly to educators. We did recieve our order on time, 30 minutes before dismissal and holiday mind you but recieved. Now I have experience with hatching chickens in my classroom and have had increasing success doing so until I noticed the products were not responding, I called numerous times and was on hold for 20+ minutes on my cell phone during my lunch hour and ancillary, but yet never recieved a live person. I finally decided to leave a message to let them know that these eggs...yeah NO activity in any of the 48 sent! The website quaranteed at least 15 of the 48 to hatch, and now our Kindergarten class is out a $107.28 and NO chicks. When a live person finally contacted me I let them know of the situation and they were very clear to say they could do no more than give us 50% OFF our next order but that we would still have to pay shipping (now the website clearly says FREE SHIPPING to educators). She also instructed me to keep the eggs in the incubator till Day 26, which I did and on Day 26 I sent them an email with the picture of the Day 26 inactive DUD eggs, but have recieved no response from them. Product_Or_Service: 2/25/13 Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All we ask is for at least some sort of refund of half or at least send us another order even if its half. These are not unreasonable and the whole point is to give our students a memorable experience, which mypetchicken has taken away from them.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/05) */ We initiated a reshipment of fertilized hatching eggs to Mr ******. The process was in the works before she filed the complaint, but it took us a few days to work out the logistics.