BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aiello Home Services offers full service plumbing, heating, central air conditioning, electrical repairs and installation services, and home heating oil deliveries.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aiello Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Aiello Home Services include:

  • 30 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Aiello Home Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 30

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 28, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1931 Business started locally: 11/01/1931 Business incorporated: 12/27/1994 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Jezouit, President Mr. Stephen Birch, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Jezouit, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Wells - Pumps Sales & Service Water Wells - Inspection Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Quality Service Oils - Fuel Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Boilers - Sales & Service Heating Equipment Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Electricians Carbon Monoxide Detecting Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Aiello Plumbing & Heating Charter Oak Oil Company, Inc First Service Petroleum

Additional Locations

  • 600 Old County Cir

    Windsor Locks, CT 06096 (888) 861-8859 (860) 264-1160 (860) 264-1171 (860) 264-1186 (860) 264-1188 (860) 264-1166 (860) 264-1172 (860) 264-1158 (860) 264-1183 (860) 264-1176 (860) 264-1159 (860) 264-1168 (860) 292-2600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (860) 264-1158(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1159(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1160(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1166(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1168(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1171(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1172(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1176(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1183(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1186(Phone)
  • (860) 264-1188(Phone)
  • (888) 861-8859(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My basic complaint is that I have been very overcharged to repair my furnace. On January 29, 2013 Aiello put in a brand new furnace for $7,513.00. Last week on April 17, 2014 the furnace was not working and I called Aiello for a service call. They told me that I did not have any warranty coverage because I had passed the one year period of coverage. They charged me an initial fee of $69.00 to see why the furnace wasn't working. I needed a starter switch, a small plastic part that I was charged a total of $443.40. I feel that I was taken advantage of because I did not have a choice but to have the part replaced but I was very overcharged to say the least. The service tech asked his supervisor for an adjustment because I had just paid over $7000. for a new furnace last year and they gave me a 10% discount off the price of the April 17th service call. The $443.40 is the final charge for the part and replacing the part. Honestly, I have to pay these prices for each little piece that may break, I do not have any recourse? I felt a reasonable price for this part would have been less than $100. Please look into this matter because I would truly appreciate your input on this situation. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: I feel very overcharged for a replacement part of a starter switch at a total of $443.40 on a furnace that was 15 mo. old, original cost $7,513.00. Ideally Aiello would cover the replacement part and I would be refunded $443.40. I would pay the $69.00 service fee for having them come to my house but I feel they should refund the rest because they should sell products that have a better quality and last longer than 15 months on the most expensive piece of equipment in your home.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Delays with **** resulted in delay of comments and responses: 5/7/14 1:44 PM - spoke with ***** re: BBB filing- per GFC will offer 1/2 off to accommodate price concern. She seemed satisfied with results. noted account. Giveback in amount of $221.70 per ******* ******** 5/8/14 2:58 PM ISSUED CR/CC **** $221.70 AS PER Giveback / GFC 5/9/14 3:53 PM REC'D FROM **** - INQUIRY - TO CHARGE ON 4/17/14 $443.40 DISPUTE NOTES AS COPIED; The Card Member does not recognize the Charge. Please provide support and itemization. In addition, if the Charge relates to shipped goods, please include Proof of Delivery." 5/9/14 4:16 PM CALLED **** - SPKE W/ CSR - ***** - advised her that customer was issued partial credit $221.70 on 5/8/14. credit not showing yet takes 48 to 72 hrs. 5/16/14 3:14 PM called **** CSR / - FOLLOW UP ON CASE) SPKE W/ ***** - CONFIRMED ALL DOCUMENTS WERE RECEIVED AND CASE WAS CLOSED IN OUR FAVOR. NO OTHER FOLLOW UP NEEDED. **** Customer is satisfied with outcome
6/25/2014 2:40:01 PM

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Aiello Home Service one time and paid my bill in full on the first visit. I was talked into a service plan by the repair techinician who also said you can cancel it anytime you want too. I gave the technician by bank account number and ever since then I was billed $8.75 a month for at least a year now. Recently I hearf failure and lost my job because I am unable to work due to my current illness that was in April. I called Aiello home service in April of 2014 and spoke to *******. I told ******* of my predicament and asked her to stop my electronic payments of $8.75 which I had never used. She said she could only stop it my mail or email. She gave me her enail address which I had saved in my browser. Today, June 19, 2014 I was checking my bank statements for the past two montrhs and found that Aiello Home Service Company had taken out $8.75 both on May 19.2014 and June 19. 2014 for a total of $17.50. ******* seemed like she could care less and said there were other employees who worked there and maybe it was one of them. She gave me her email address and told me to resend the email which I did. As I was entering her email address into my email form her emailed popped up with the same email address except for the capitalized letter of her first and last name. I am requesting that all electronic payments on the service plan stop and I am requesting a full refund of $17.50. Sincerely, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: Stop all electronics payments for the service plan of $8.75 and a full rfefund of $17.50.

Business Response: This has been resolved, for some reason this customers email was caught in our spam filter. We have spoken to customer today 6-19-2014 and a credit for cancelled plan has been issued.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Aiello in October to repair a propane gas furnancein my home. I actually had 2 gas furnances, one for the 1st floor and one for the main living area on the first floor.The 2nd floor unit had recently been repaired by another servie provider and was working well.The unit servicing the first floor was not working and it was suggested that I replace it at a cost of approzimately $4000.I decided to accept Aiella's pro[osal to replace both furnances for %7508 after paying them$313 for a servie call which did nothinbg but provide a lead for the sales person.Aiella replace both my furnances in early November but left many quality issues and to date I have had tjem back to my premises 5 times to fix theings that were done imporerlyand again today I am without heat ofrom my first floor furnane.I had a incorrectly installed thermostat that was blowing fuswes in the 2nd flor fuernance, had openings in the fron of the first floor furnane that was blowing heat out thriough the fron of the unit, had poor connections between the furnance and the duct work which requirred a connection to be mde/repaird and also needed an open section of duct wpork for the 2nd floor furnance to be closed.Heat supposed to be going into the ducts to heat the living space was instead blowing on the walls in the basement furnance rooom.Also when the furnances were originally installed, there was a wiring proplem wjich prevented the second floor unit from running which the installer attributed to a wireing problem from the factory of the equipment manufacturing.

Desired Settlement: I would not recommend this provider to anyone else and want my complaint to be listed on your site reference.I may request qa monetary resolution if the problem persists in order to have a qualified HVAC expert to fix properly.

Business Response:

Mr. *****,

As of this writing, all of your concerns  have been resolved, thank you for allowing us to serve you.

Customer Concern 1: Customer claims he paid a $313 service fee for what he calls just a lead for the sale person.  Aiello Sales Representative actually gave him back $350 towards the service call in a discount of the Installation.

Customer Concern 2; improperly installed thermostat. Thermostat was installed correctly. Technicians found that the thermostat wire at the thermostat had a bare spot in it and we had to strip it back farther in the wall to correct.  We also at that time sealed around the line set access holes to prevent air from blowing out.

Customer Concern 3: duct work connections. Aiello did had to go back again for blown fuses, at that time we found a part of the duct work had in fact pulled away. It was a missed at the time of install and Technician did reconnect and fix.  Looked for reason why fuse keeps blowing, Technician checked all wires found what he thought might be a pinched wire from factory.  Second Technician went back and we decided that it has to be a bad thermostat wire in the wall.  Aiello sent licensed electrician there at no charge he ran a new wire and relocated thermostat and everything is working fine. No further calls since.  Ultimately there was a bad existing wire in the wall that was shorting out periodically.

 

Aiello has responded and taken care of all concerns of customer

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aiello service providers came to my home and provided me with an estimate to repair a broken heating pipe and purging of the heating system. I signed off on the estimate with the knowledge that the price of the estimate may change after the actual completion of the work. Also, the estimate did not include an itemized costs receipt for the $680.96 I was charged. I was shocked when the repair took an hour and involved replacement of 8 inches of copper pipe and the purging of the system. When I called Aiello and tried to ask for an itemized receipt for this $680.96 cost. I was informed that they did not provide this type of information and that I paid for a service not a repair job. In looking up the track record of Aiello, I found that this is a common complaint.

Desired Settlement: A reasonable price for the work completed which included an hour of labor and 8 inches of copper pipe.

Business Response:

**** *****

 

On January 9th we were invited to **** *****’s home because she had no heat on his lower level.   She called in at 7:50 a.m. and was told we would have a tech to her between 10 & 2.  We arrived to the job at just past noon on the same day.  Though the customer said it only took an hour and was a quick fix, it actually took two techs and was just over 1 ½ hours to complete. 

 

Also, the price was quoted up front before the work was started.  The customer approved the work and then we proceeded until we got her heat working.  When we quote work, it is inclusive of parts and labor. 

 

The customer tried to reverse the charges with ****, but after reviewing the case, **** declined.  They believed that we had done everything contracted for and she approved the price ahead of time. 

 

We her at Aiello work very hard to please our customers because we know how fast word travels.  However, with approximately 15,000 customers served every year we know that we can’t please everyone.  Some people will never be satisfied.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aiello came out to *** **** ******, purged 3 radiators (cast iron) charge 341.62 per radiator the total charge was $382.38.Mr. ***** is disputing the bill, he believes that he should not be charge this amount for 15 minutes.

Desired Settlement: Mr. ***** wants to know if this is an accurate bill if not he would appreciate an adjustment to the finale cost.* ** ******** ***** ****** ****** *** ***** *** ******** ****** ****** * ******** ** *** **** ** ******** ****** *** ***** *********If you have any questions please contact Mr. ***** or me at ###-###-####

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

In regards to the consumers concern for work performed on November 25, 2013.

This customer called Aiello Home Services for a “no heat situation” on November 25, 2013 at 10:45am  Aiello was able to dispatch a technician to this customers home and have our service truck to arrive the same day at 3:06pm. The technician diagnostic found some radiators needed to be purged quoted an exact price, the customer agreed and the work was performed. Aiello Home Services quotes all of its work up front and in writing; we get authorization in writing before we do any work in the consumer’s home. Aiello Home Services uses a straight forward pricing policy, this insures the homeowner of knowing the exact cost before the work is done, this gives the homeowner to opportunity to reject the quote before any work is done. This customer accepted the price, the work was done and it was paid for by the customer. It is only now after the customer had the work done, is warm is he concerned with the price and is using the system to get a cheaper price. I am not clear as to why the customer did not decline the quote and shop the price at the time of the “no heat” situation.

 

GPS units are installed in all Aiello Service vehicles, Global positioning satellite data will show that Mr. *****s statement of time Aiello Home Services invested into his "no heat" service call is false. Aiello Home Services will provide documented reporting if required.

 

Aiello provided premium service for this customer, and responded and resolved this customer’s emergency in just over 4 hours. Aiello technician quoted a fair price for Aiello to diagnose and perform the work required; Aiello did the work and left the customer with a heating system in working order again

 

Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/28/2013, Aiello Home Services tuned up my furnace. The service man only changed parts and could not adjust the furnace temperature, co2, efficiency,stack temperature....So, the service man said that he is going to ask his supervisor to send a knowledge people to my house. Next day, they send a man to my house . He only took the record and do nothing. I called Mr. ******* (supervisor) several times asked him send person to my house to finish the job. But Mr. ******* didn't want to pick up my phone and didn't want to send people to my house to solve the problem and complete the tune up job. He only did half of the tune up job. He didn't do all the adjustment, he didn't gave me the final report sheet for sign. In the middle of the tune up he just went away. Now, my furnace can not start automatically after their tuned up. I wrote a letter to the owner Mr. ******* asked his help. Mr. ******* just ignored me. Please help me by asking Mr. ******* to send a knowledge person to my house to adjust my furnace and solve the furnace can not start automatically problem. I had contract with them from 11/14/2012 to 11/5/2013. I paid $14.09/mon. I have paid $169.08 Usually,for tune up furnace will cost $149. Please ask Mr. ******* to return me $20. They told me if they send people to my house, They will charge me $69 only for send people to my house. I think adjustment for furnace and fixing furnace can not start automatically problem are all belong to their tune up job. (Because every thing happened just right after their 10/28 services.) They just treat me un-reasonable. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: Please ask Mr. ******* to send a knowledge technician to my house (without any charge) to adjust my furnace and to solve my furnace can not start automatically problem. Please tell him that this is his responsibility. Because my furnace is running very smoothly until his company's tuned up. And please ask them to return me $20 for overpayment.Thank you very much for your help.Sincerely, ******* ****

Consumer Response:

From: ******* ****
Sent: Monday, November 25, 2013 6:25 PM
To: *********************
Subject: Could you call Aiello owner Mr. ******* (###-###-####) to send a technician to my house tomorrow?

 

My Id is *******. I file the complain on 11/21. I wonder weather that you can call Aiello to send a technician to fix my furnace without charge tomorrow. Because after Aiello people came to my house on 10/28 to tune up the furnace, my furnace could not automatically start for 4 times in the first week after their tuned up. I think this is their responsibility to fix that free.

Although right now it is not happen. I do not know whether it is going to happen again. I am going to ****** from 11/27 to 12/1. I worry that it happen at the period that I am not home. Then, there is no body home to push the emergency button to make furnace start again. And the house is going to freezing. May be it going to freeze the pipe.

I call Mr. ******* today and leave a message asking for his returning call. But he did not call me back.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response: As Aiello Home Services has stated to Ms. **** already, Aiello will repsond to this service call. If there is an issue unrelated to the tune up, there will be a charge. If there is a problem that is due to the tune up, Aiello will provide the repair at no charge. Ms. **** understood this and declined previously to have Aiello Home Services come out to look at her system. Aiello will send a technician out on the 27th of November to look at her system at no charge to determine what the problem is.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Aiello send a technician (*****) to my house to check and adjust the furnace combustion results today (11/27). After he done the work, he prints out the work report and have me sign it. I satisfy the work that ***** has done today


Sincerely,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Aiello to service 2 AC units. The first unit had a breaker problem and it was repaired.The second unit, I showed the Tech. person that the condensation pump was not pumping water from the reserve. Their was water on the floor. The Tech. person said a new pump was needed and that the new pump would take care of the water and get it outdoors. He replaced the pump and after a couple of days the same problem re-occured.I called Aiello and they sent out another Tech. person. He said the new pump was working but that the plastic tubing that caries the water out from the pump was pluged and that was the reason the water was going nowhere other than on my floor. He said, it needed cleaning and he did so with a general cleaner. He was not sure that I needed a new pump to begin with. The old pump was working, the problem was the tubing and not a new pump.The first Tech. person only wanted to sell me a new item, nothing more.I feel I was sold something I did not need.I called *****, the customer sevice person, left a message and he never called me back. Now I am contacting you for your help.I never signed a paper for the work to be done, he did tell me the cost of replacing the pump and the next thing I know, he brings me a bill.He never really checked the pump. At the end, he did the work and I paid him becasue I felt he knew something about repairing AC units. Not reall!I do not have the old pump. Product_Or_Service: Condensation pump for AC

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund.

Business Response: I have left a message for Mr. ****, trying to resolve his concern and as I am about to leave work for a week, my wish is to keep both BBB and Mr. **** informed of the progress of his concern. The Week Mr. **** left a voice message for me, I was out that week and my voice mail stated this information. This was the only reason he did not get a return call, upon returning to work, I followed up and returned his call and left a message. Mr. **** was quoted the dollar amount of the work, as he states. But, contrary to his statement; I have an authorization signature from him for work to be performed. I am willing to work with the customer, but a full refund is an unreasonable solution. I am willing to split the cost of the service call as the customer has the benefit of a new condensation pump in his home.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.)
I am out of town this week. Returning today.
I am not accepting his offer.The only reason I have a new pump is because his tech person misdiagnosed the problem. My pump was running but the water was coming out of the housing of the pump. He said I needed a new pump and that would care of the problem.
He replace the pump and after a few days I returned to check on it, only to find the same problem. The pump was on and the water coming out.
I called Aiello and a new tech person was sent. He said the tubing needed to be clean, he did so and the pump started to move the water out.
He said in a wink and nod, he could not tell for certain but the actual problem was dirty tubing.

Yes, I have a new pump, but it was not needed.
I can call Aiello on Monday to discuss but I do not need a refund on the serice fee. I want a refund on the cost/installation of the pump! It was not needed!
The service call fee justified.

Business Response: Aiello will refund the pump fee, and only charge the service call fee.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was asking that the total charges for the pump be refunded. I will pay for the service charge.
Aiello would refund the cost of the pump and the installation as well
Again, if that is what Aiello is stating , we have an agreement anything else we have no deal.

Consumer Response:

This issuse has not been resolved.

As I stated on my last message,

I am willing to pay for the service call but I expect a full refund for the cost of the pump and full refund for the installation.

I did not need the pump( according to the second tech. person that corrected the problem and if I did not needteh pump, I should not have to pay for installation of something I did not need.

Full refund.

***** ****

Business Response:

Aiello has agreed to a full refund

Thank you

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two and a half years ago I hired Aiello Home Services to install central air conditioning in my home. Everything is fine except that the kitchen/den areas are not as cool as they should be. I have tried to work out this concern with Aiello but they do not return my calls or offer any solutions. *** ** was out to look at the problem in October 2012 and has not contacted me since despite numerous calls to him. Also, the manager ***** has not called back either.On Monday April 25,2013 I had the unit serviced for the summer. The technician told me that I have to replace the air filter located in the attic because I didn't order one before hand for him to replace. I was never advised to do this. I am a 60 year old woman who would not find it easy to go into the attic by ladder to replace the filter.After these two experiences I have serious concerns about this company and the service they provide to their customers. Your help would be appreciated.Thank You ***** ********** Product_Or_Service: ****** Air Conditioner

Desired Settlement: Problem ResolvedFilter replaced with no service charge.

Business Response: Spoke to ***** **********, she stated this July the room was not bad at all, This being the hottest in July It is much better and cooler than ever. Customer feels it may not be worth the expense or trouble to run additional duct down to that room - ******* *****

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** is suppose to review all the notes on the matter and get back to me. Aiello is suppose to look at the situation to see if corrections are needed. Also, ***** was to look into the technician's comment about there being a small leak. I am waiting to hear back from *****.
Yes, after the unit was serviced this year the down staires was cooler.
Thank You
*****

Business Response: I am still working on follow up appointment with



Complaint Case #: ********
Consumer: ***** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aiello charged me $409.27 for a burner ignitor part which can be purchased online for $29.00. I called Aiello Home Services the evening of 3/12/2013 after coming home to a cold house. My furnace was blowing cold air and I could not diagnosis the problem. ***, a friendly repair man, arrived at my home at approximately 8:25pm to fix the problem. He spent about 10 minutes in my furnace room and he explained that my hot water burner ignitor was not functioning. He said he believed he had a replacement part in truck but he needed to check. He returned a few minutes later with the part. He then printed out an estimate for me which included the Emergency Trip Charge of $129.00 and the ignitor part of $409.27. The total was $572.45. I signed the estimate. He then took another 5-10 minutes to install the part and he left. Upon his departure I looked up the ignitor part online to discover that it can be purchased on numerous websites for $29.00. I'm all for a company making a profit on their parts and services - but this markup seems excessive and unscrupulous. They are taking advantage of homeowners because they know we have limited alternatives when needing emergency home repairs.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a credit for a portion of the excessive ignitor part charge.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2013/07/30) */ I have Spoken to Mr. Molinsky Brad over the phone, We spoke of the pricing and the night emergancy serve. the end result was Aiello offering and issueing a credit of 200.00. This was acceptable to the customer. This will be issued as a company check. Stephen Birch

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Replacing hot water heater took 5 visits due to repeated errors. Also, they installed a new Central AC which is now only 2yrs old but has problems. They verbally expressed (during installation) that this AC unit would be reliable and last for a long time without hassle, but it's less than 2 years old and we've now had to pay for two separate Aiello service calls to repair it. When asked why this unit would have these kinds of problems so soon, the General Manager (*****) offered no explanation, but promised to look into it and call me back. He never did. And now the unit needs to be repaired again. We relied upon their verbal assurances and their violations constitute a violation of promissory estoppel.

Desired Settlement: For repairs that are so beyond the norm for a unit such as this, and for refilling refrigerant that should not have been required for several more years, we've already paid approx. $250. I would like this refunded in addition to any fees they charge us for this new repair (which must be done after hours).

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1