BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aiello Home Services offers full service plumbing, heating, central air conditioning, electrical repairs and installation services, and home heating oil deliveries.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aiello Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Aiello Home Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

101 Customer Reviews on Aiello Home Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 87
Neutral Experience 3
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 101

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1931 Business started locally: 11/01/1931 Business incorporated 12/27/1994 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Jezouit, President Mr. Stephen Birch, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Stephen Birch, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Jezouit, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Wells - Pumps Sales & Service Water Wells - Inspection Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Quality Service Oils - Fuel Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Boilers - Sales & Service Heating Equipment Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Electricians Carbon Monoxide Detecting Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Aiello Plumbing & Heating Charter Oak Oil Company, Inc First Service Petroleum

Additional Locations

  • 600 Old County Cir

    Windsor Locks, CT 06096 (888) 861-8859 (860) 264-1160 (860) 264-1171 (860) 264-1186 (860) 264-1188 (860) 264-1166 (860) 264-1172 (860) 264-1158 (860) 264-1183 (860) 264-1176 (860) 264-1159 (860) 264-1168 (860) 292-2600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2007/2008 Aiello installed 2 new furnaces & a/c units, added duct work and zoned my home (5 zones). The cost was $44,348. In March, one of the furnace units was not working and one of the remote wireless thermostats was also not working. A service call was initiated and the two aforementioned issues were articulated. A technician arrived and fixed the furnace and believed the remote was working. The remote was not fixed. The following day I called Aiello and scheduled an appointment for the next day to get the issue with the remote thermostat fixed. The morning of the service call, I called Aiello and spoke with Bill and let him know 1) I did not think I should have to pay for the service call since the issue was not originally fixed with the first dispatch and 2) that the heat was not working, again. Bill agreed to waive the service charge. Two technicians arrive to fix the remote thermostat. They are informed at that time the heat is not working. The two technicians - dispatched specifically for the remote thermostat - have in fact, never seen a remote wireless thermostat. They ask if we have the manuals (we do). They were here for over 2 hours and indicated 1) that the heat was fixed, 2) that we needed a new wireless thermostat and 3) that Aiello no longer supported that brand of wireless thermostat and they could not help us. If we wanted to, the technicians said we could go online and purchase the required wireless thermostat and could call Aiello back and they would come back out to install it. I cannot purchase this product from an accredited distributor/ wholesaler as I am not a licensed and/or registered HVAC person/company. The following week, I contacted Aiello and asked to speak with Bill (who had subsequently retired). I let the person who answered the call know that I wanted to speak with someone about my situation before I escalated it. I was transferred to the GM, Steve. I updated Steve on the situation, which included the fact that the heat did not work after having two separate calls and 'fixes' and that I did not understand why Aiello couldn’t get a remote wireless thermostat to replace what they previously installed. Steve agreed that he would locate a thermostat. I indicated my preference is for the replacement product to be a like product to what was installed. Based on my research, I provided Steve the name of a company that now makes the thermostat, Venstar, as Totaline, what was previously installed, is no longer manufactured. Steve was going to make a couple of phone calls to see who carried the product. After a couple of days and not hearing anything, I followed up with Steve. After my conversation with Steve, he said he was going to call a distributor in RI to see if they carried the product. Steve called me back later that afternoon to let me know that the distributor had probably closed for the evening and would call me the following day. That was April 7th. I have not heard anything since that date. We have not had heat in the living room, dining room and majority of the bedrooms since mid March.

Desired Settlement: 1) Get the correct wireless thermostat and set it up to 'communicate' with the furnace. 2) Identify the underlying issue with the furnace unit and provide a quote to fix it.

Business Response: Complaint ********* **** ******* has been resolved and customer has been provided the “special order” obsolete product through a different vender,  The product is installed and working properly, **** ******* had an overview of product and how to use it in conjunction with the complete system and is all set.  I was not able to add to this call for BBB resolution.

 

Stephen

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Aiello to come and repair my central A/C this spring when the compressor did not turn on. The house (and equipment) is 9 years old and was not installed by Aiello. They told me I was out of coolant and that they could put more in if I signed a waiver stating that it was not a guarantee that it would fix the problem. They proceeded to charge the unit with $766 worth of coolant only to tell me that it all leaked out. They went on to tell me that my only options were to replace the A/C or to look for the leak, which would be another $1200 - $1500 and would highly likely only confirm that the unit needed replacing. The technician kept using phrases like "I could do all the work to open that up, but I know what I would find..." and "You could fix that, but then it would likely only lead to another failure in the near future...". The tech then went on to test my furnace "for free" by testing for CO in the exhaust. With only that one reading he recommended a new furnace too. He, and the sales rep who followed up on the repair call, lobbied heavily to not even pursue the existing warranty coverage on the furnace (which was a parts only lifetime warranty to the heat exchanger which is the part that Aiello said was faulty and instead go with all new equipment. I was quoted over $9,000 for the job. I went on to bring in someone for a second opinion. Within 30 minutes the new technician diagnosed and repaired the coolant leak. They then charged the A/C unit with R22 coolant @ $40/lb (instead of the overpriced $75+/lb) for a total of $410 for the entire job. The new technician also was of the opinion that the furnace was not faulty and that the advice I was getting was questionable at best. I feel it is borderline fraudulent. I called Aiello and spoke with Stephen B**** (who I was told was the service manager) on Monday, June 22nd. He told me he would get back to me with more details and would discuss resolution on Tuesday, June 23rd. He has not called since and has not returned my numerous contacts since. I have put the charge on hold with my credit card company in order to try to resolve the issue. I feel that I am due a substantial portion of the amount spent due to the other problem resolution avenues that could have/should have been explored (such as testing for a significant leak with a less costly product such as nitrogen (which I didn't know was a possible process) or some other approach that would potentially be less costly. I believe that I was deliberately mislead in an attempt to sell me unneeded equipment in a disproportionate response to a fairly simple problem.

Desired Settlement: Since most of the "work" done by the technician was either lazy/sloppy and/or focused on replacement as opposed to repair, and the most expensive option to correct a potential coolant leak, I feel that most of the cost charged was out of order and should be refunded through my credit card company or directly to me.

Business Response:

Here at Aiello Home Services we always strive for the best option for the customer. This is the reason for multiple options presented

Options.

1. Charge system with no warranty.

2. Find leak.

2a. Heat exchanger inspection.

3. Offered customer a Service Partnership Agreement on described work, Declined the agreement at this time.

4. Replace system.

 

1 Year standard warranty on all parts and labor installed by Aiello Home Services without Service Partnership

2 Year Extended warranty on all parts and labor supplied by Aiello Home Services with Service Partnership Plan.

 

If Aiello at any time miss-diagnoses a job we always stand behind our work and will credit a portion of the service bill.

 

Aiello provide quality service to hundreds of customer a week and in no way tolerates any unethical practices, if this technician requires additional training Aiello Home Services will do just that to provide  continued quality services to our customers.

 

Aiello will see to it that this concern is resolved and a credit is issued. Thank you for the opportunity to serve.

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me if they in fact follow through with the refund.  This is similar to the narrative I got from the company when I did speak with them but was unable to reach them for resolution after the initial complaint. 

Sincerely,

**** ********

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a service call with Aiello, the service man showed up and the cost of him to come out was $69.00. I told him the pilot light wasn't staying lit. So he took off the front cover looked inside and told me it was the thermal coupler. He proceed to go out to the van and got the part came back into house . He started to write up the work order and then told me the thermal coupler was $250.00. I think that is price gouging when the thermal coupler is only a 5 or 10 dollar part. I don't mind paying for a service call but I think because it was a Sunday they are price gouging their parts. I paid the service call and asked him to leave and I feel I should be refunded! I would have had the service done if their price was reasonable for the part.

Desired Settlement: get my money back

Business Response: Aiello was able to provide Sunday service with a minimum trip charge that was explained to the customer in advance and agreed to by the customer over the phone. Once at the customers home, the technician determined the problem and quoted Aiello's price to change out, test and warranty the defective part for one year. As always Aiello gives our customers a choice to have work performed or not. This customer declined. Aiello incurs a cost to drive a fully stocked truck to a customers home with a fully licensed and background checked service technician. This is the trip charge fee that the customer agreed to in advance. There always can be a cheaper price found around the corner, however it is not just the part that is considered into the build of the price.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I don't dispute the service call price for coming to my house. I do feel that the price they wanted for the part was outrageous its a $12 to $15 dollar part. They wanted to charge me almost $300. I feel they are price gouging the part. I understand they need to make money but that is BS.

Sincerely,

******* ********

1/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Price gouging. I called to have a leaking pressure relief valve on my boiler to be checked. The repairs performed was to replace the expansion tank and the pressure relief valve. They also had to bleed the system. The repairs where completed in 2.5 hours with a total cost of $1062.87 with their 10% discount. Feel I was taking advantage of specially since I needed the repairs in the middle of winter. Current outside air temperature was in the "teens". Is there any limit these guys can charge for labor? The rate they charged works out to be around $350 per hour which should be illegal.

Desired Settlement: Reasonable charges for the labor performed.

Business Response:

On January 3rd, 2015 at 2:10 pm, the ******** called Aiello Home Services for pressure relief valve leaking services regarding his heating system, Aiello Scheduled an appointment for January 5th, 2016 between 7:00 am - 7:30 am, our licensed fully background checked HVAC  technician responded to the service call. Our technician performed the multi task  quoted tasks with the written authorization from **** *******

Upon completion of the Job the customer signed off that they were 100% satisfied with the repair services.

There were no concerns with the owners before the job was performed, the customer signed off and approved the repair and price in writing before the repairs was made. The customer then signed off that the job was completed for what the job was quoted and that they were 100% satisfied with what was done. I know no way of providing the services Aiello performed and better, each step of the way getting an acknowledgement along the way. Nothing is done without the customers approval.  This customer also did not contact Aiello before filing a concern with the BBB,  this should be common practice before the BBB registers a complaint. When our service manager was finally able to reach *** ****** they were able to come to a resolution. the customer again now states he is satisfied and promised to call the BBB and retract his complaint.


Aiello Home Services

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 100 gallons of heating oil ($255) that was delivered on 4/9/15 and the technician who pumped the oil into the tank from the outside of the house did not put the cap back on. My boiler stopped working. My husband called the Manager, Wilson, and told him about the missing cap and the amount of rain we had gotten. Wilson said that the rain should not have caused any damage and sent someone to replace the cap. We also scheduled an Aiello technician to look at the boiler on 5/15/15. The Aiello repair technician charged us $73.38, told us that that he could not repair our boiler and we needed to buy a new one. We finally saved up enough money to purchase a boiler. It was installed by Dynamic on 11/13/15, who told us that we have a lot of water mixed in with the oil in our oil tank and it's preventing our brand new boiler from starting. They said we need to contact Aiello to pump out the 100 gallons of damaged oil and put in brand new oil. We called Aiello and they are refusing to accept responsibility. They want to charge us for their negligence.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for them to remove the damaged oil and replace with 100 gallons of good oil. It is not our fault that the technician left the cap off. If they are unable to do this I would like them to refund $255 - Oil and $ 73.38 - service call and pump the bad oil out. I currently do not have heat in my house.

Business Response:



Left customer messages by phone, waiting for customer to respond. Aiello will offer to "stick" tank, that means to drop a measuring stick with water detecting paste in the tank to see how much water is in the tank... once it is determined that there is water in tank, Aiello will remove the water at no charge. However, due to fill pipe location and the lack of rain this summer and fall, is is very doubtful the customers missing cap contributed to any water in the tank... When and if water accumulates in an in the basement oil tank it is due to condensation by the temperature differences inside and outside the tank in the basement... the way to alleviate this is by keeping the tank full. which is not the case in this home.  thank you.

Stephen B****
General Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10958570

I am rejecting this response because I do not trust this company.  I will never do business with them again, nor do I want them to step foot on my property ever again.  They have a substantial amount of negative reviews online.  Their rating should be "zero".

Sincerely,

***** ******

12/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I were charged $827.19 for a 1hr 15min service call by an electrician. After complaining the company lowered the cost to $589.19. This included the cost of a dimmer switch. Breakdown of bill: $ 478.19 Diagnostic test (of switch) $ 193.22 Dimmer replacement $ 186.00 remove lamp shade of ceiling light (attached to dimmer switch) $ 49.00 travel I believe this company took advantage of my husband who was home during the visit. He is 84 and disabled. Last year my daughter, who lives in ********* County CT, had the same work done and was charged under $300. Aiello should not be recommended by BBB especially to the elderly!

Desired Settlement: Aiello should not be recommended by BBB especially to the elderly!

Business Response:

After the company received a customer concern call for this customer, I returned the call that same evening to the customer. I reviewed the call completely and found that they had a circuit that was tripping the breaker.

The licensed and fully background checked Aiello electrician and his apprentice spent their time diagnosing the problem. It was extensive diagnostic, thus the reason for the diagnostic charge. Once the trouble was found they explained it was a bad light fixture. The Aiello electrician then wrote up a written quote for the repair, the customer then authorized the repair in writing. Upon authorization the electrician then replaced a dimmer as requested by the homeowner.

A the electrician was preparing to leave the homeowners house Mr. **************, asked if they could also replace a porcelain pull chain lamp holder in the basement near the well pump. Again the electrician prepared a written quote, the homeowner again authorized the repair in writing and the electrician and his apprentice performed the repair. Once the repairs were completed, the homeowner signed off on the repair stating they were 100% happy with the repair and it was completed as quoted.

Again all charges were quoted in advance and authorized in writing by the homeowner before work began, in addition the electricians applied a 15% senior discount.

When I called Mrs. **************, she was concerned we took advantage of her disabled husband I assured her we would never do that.  I informed Mrs. ************** that we gave a 15% senior discount at the time of repair and to ease her concern about pricing I was going to issue her a good faith customer resolution credit. She was happy with the agreed amount Aiello was giving her back and I even explained to her where to take her old light fixture to get it repaired. Again she was very happy with the resolution we had come to over the phone.

It was then after we came to a resolution by phone Mrs. ************** , continued to pursue a  complaint with the Better Business Bureau (which she filed after cashing her good faith resolution check) I spoke with Mrs. ************** again and she seemed to be confused as to the work that had been done on 9/29/15.

It was not just a dimmer that our electrician replaced and we never charged her to remove a lamp shade. I again explained the repair work we did,  which I explained above in this response listed above. She then asked her husband while I was one the phone if we replaced a light in the basement and he replied yes she then told me to speak with her husband who I found to be very pleasant. And apologized to me about the whole situation. I respectfully request this complaint be removed as the concern was fully resolved during the first call.

Regards,

Sincerely Robert P. B*******

Electrical Manager

11/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 30. 2015, we contacted Aiello for service. There was an upstairs bathroom toilet that was clogged and needed to be plunged. Upon telephoning, we were told that there was a $49.00 service fee charge for the visit and that the total would be provided at our home by the service technician. The invoice list "snaked master toilet". The total amount of the bill paid was $237.21. Therefore, the fee for "snake master toilet" was $188.21. Really? That is iniquitous. Moreover, the fee is outrageous and scrupulous. Finally, it is a fleece of consumers and residents of the greater Hartford area of Connecticut.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to have a refund due to the exorbitant fee. The refund must be at least half of the total bill paid.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

On October 30, 2015 a representative from Aiello Home Services’ plumbing department was dispatched to ** ******* ***, **********, the home of ****** ******.  Mrs. ****** was quoted a $49.00 dispatch fee over the phone and was informed that there would be an additional charge given upfront for the work that needed to be done.  The quote was given before any work was performed and was accepted by said homeowner.  The task at hand was snaking the master bathroom toilet.  This task was performed successfully and the technician received payment at that time of the service.  Mrs. ****** chose to go directly to Better Business Bureau to file a complaint instead of calling Aiello Home Services management to discuss the price concern.  After being notified of the complaint, the Plumbing Service Manager has tried contacting Mrs. ****** as on the following dates:  11/2/15 @ 12:00 p.m. and 11/3/15 @ 12:15 p.m.  with no response. Upon finally reaching the customer Aiello Home Services and customer agreed on a discounted price although she had previously agreed to it. Customer is satisfied with our resolution and will notify BBB to that, and will also notify BBB that she filed a complaint before contacting us. Aiello did not even know she had a concern, if we had, we would have worked to resolve it amicably.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. I spoke with Frank, a representative from Aiello Home Services last week.  The Aiello representative and reached a compromise.

A few things I would like to note.  One, the complaint to BBB was made prior to speaking with Aiello.  However, it is my right as a consumer to do so.  Based my discussion with Frank, he would have liked me to contact Aiello prior to the complaint with BBB.  He believes that my actions were premature and he assured me that even without the BBB complaint Aiello would have still agreed to compromise the fee.  Lastly, a point of interest was the interaction with the Aiello representative, though we agreed the interaction was somewhat hostile.  The representative from Aiello was rude and arrogant.

However, the matter is resolved.  Aiello did issue a refund.

Sincerely,

Dr. ******

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08/19/15, our circuit breaker for the air conditioning unit tripped. We called Aiello that night to have them come and look at the unit because we purchased the unit from them about two years ago. The service technician came out the next afternoon. We were aware that there was a $69 fee for him to come out and look at it. He spent about two hours working on the unit, as well as being on the phone with manufacturer. It appeared as though he wasn't sure what the problem was for most of the two hours. I asked if there was some kind of warranty on the unit since they installed it and he said there was a guarantee for one year after installation, so that didn't apply to this situation. After some time looking at it, he came in and said it would be about $200 to fix the issue, which I agreed to. The receipt showed $69 for the tech to show up and $121 for the service diagnostic. The work done section of the invoice showed "Compressor tripping breaker. Started with hard start, 0 super heat. Per Goodman adjusted to 20 degree super heat. Removed hard start, running amps now at 5.2 amps." I'm not sure what that means, but it looks like he reduced the amount of power coming out of the unit that would cool the condo in an effort to reduce the chance of tripping the breaker again. I don't know if that's really a fix or a workaround. Anyways, the circuit breaker tripped about three more times last week, as well as three times yesterday alone (8/30). We called Aiello last night to tell them about the problem and that we are unsatisfied that we paid $200 and the problem wasn't fixed. We are getting another Company to come out today (8/31) to take a look at the unit and fix it for us.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of the $200 we paid to Aiello on 8/20/15 because the work done to our a/c unit did not correct the problem. We were uncomfortable with the fact that it seemed like the technician was never really aware of what the issue was and the fix really was just a workaround with the hope that it wouldn't happen again. Depending what we find out from the new Company coming out today (8/31), it may be something as simple as a filter change or cleaning is all that was needed and that would make this whole problem even worse. We are looking to be refunded since the service received did not correct the problem with the unit.

Business Response: Good morning, Technician followed proper diagnostic procedures with Manufacturer. For customer satisfaction Aiello Home Services has refunded service call fee to customer on September 18,2015. Customer should be satisfied, as all concerns have been met.

10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Aiello on Monday to install a new dishwasher. We scheduled for today. At that time, I was told the service call would be $69 and that we would be told the cost of the job when the service man arrived. He came this morning and told my husband the cost would be $506.18, but if we signed up for a monthly service plan the cost would be about $440. My husband texted me and I misunderstood - thinking that was the yearly cost of the service plan. When I got home tonight, I had a this huge bill. My husband admits he should have paid the $69 and sent the service man away. However, they get you so wound up in the special offer that you get confused and say yes. All that was required was the installation of the dishwasher. an electrical cord and a small fitting. The old dishwasher had been removed and hauled away by Lowe's. The area was prepped and clean and we had all of the parts, save those two. We were not given an itemized bill. It just says $506.18 less the discounts for the service contract. The installation took less that two hours. I am baffled by how all of that could add up to what they say on the bill is the "STANDARD RATE" for an installation. If it is "standard," the scheduler should have told me then - I never would have agreed to the appointment. We realize that we could have turned them away, but they are usury and put you up against a wall. Lowe's charges $169 to install a dishwasher - which I was stupid not to accept - I thought that was high! This is crazy. They are doing it to everyone - young, old, vets - it needs to be stopped! At least you need to be informed of an hourly rate up front and the cost of parts. The work is done well and professionally but the business is criminal! They have been expensive in the past - but those were emergency situations - a flood and no heat in the freezing winter at midnight - so we understood better the high cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like an itemized bill showing the labor rate, cost of the parts and an adjustment to the bill. Installing the dishwasher cost more than the machine!

Consumer Response: I write to inform you that my complaint, #********, has been resolved to my satisfaction.  After I filed the complaint, Frank, the plumbing manager at Aiello, tried several times to reach me on Friday, September 18 - but I was out of state.  I returned his call upon my return and he again reached out, but I was again out of state with no mobile service.  We finally connected today.  In a very pleasant conversation, he assured me that Aiello was a 100% satisfaction guaranteed company.  We went over my concerns about the excessive charges I felt I had incurred.  He explained, that when they got the complaint, they did not charge my account.  He asked what I thought was a fair price for the work completed.  I said that $250 would be fine - a bit more than Lowe's $169, but parts were supplied, so we believe it is a fair price.

In the future, we will continue to use Aiello because their work has been excellent - that was never part of the complaint.

It was also probably not fair of me to submit my complaint to you before hearing from Aiello.

Thank you for being there for consumers.  Please let me know if you have questions.

Best,

*** ******** *******

8/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Aiello come out to our house for a toilet leaking on the first floor. The plumber looked at the issue and quoted us 356.00 plus 49.00 just to show up at the house. The 356 was a flat rate but it involved pulling a double wax ring off the toilet and replacing it with another. Absolutely ridiculous that they charge that for a job less then a hour to do. There Invoice #: ******* we would like this reviewed and be credited what is FAIR.

2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aiello installed central AC and ductwork in our home less than one year ago. It has been repaired 4 times with a refrigerant leak, replacement of the control board, and replacement of the Thermal Expansion Valve twice, and replacement of all of the refrigerant. The service department has been very responsive and very pleasant to work.My problem is that Aiello installed a 2 ton unit without telling us when the signed contract was for a 3 ton unit. When I discovered the change during the installation I called the installation manager who told me if he put a 3 ton unit in our home that it would be in violation of **** regulations, he would get into trouble with ****, that the unit was guaranteed to keep the house 10 degrees lower than outside temperature, reassured me that it wouldn't have a problem doing so, and that a 3 ton unit would cycle too often. Additionally, the 2 ton unit that was originally installed was a less efficient model than I had contracted for (again I found the mistake) and they said it was a warehouse error and they changed it the next day. When I asked to be credited the difference in price, less than $80 was taken off the $13,000 contracted price.For the entire summer the system has only been able to cool our home 5-13 degrees lower than the outside temperature despite it running continuously, never cycling off, for more than 12 hours each day whenever the outside temperature goes above 80 degrees even after each repair. Our 1 year guarantee is running out. One of the Aiello service technicians even told me it should have been a 3 ton unit from the start.I have not heard from the install manager or my sales rep since my call 10 days ago and my detailed email 2 days ago and the technician notifying the install manager to call me during a previous repair.

Desired Settlement: I want Aiello to replace the 2 ton unit with the contracted 3 ton unit with an additional 1 year parts and labor warranty.

Business Response:

09/10/2014

*** ***,

I would like to take this time out to say thank you for your faith in Aiello Home Services to deliver a product that will keep your family cool and comfortable for many years to come. I am sure one of your deciding factors in the decision making process was one that Aiello would stand behind its installation. Both the homeowner and Aiello don’t ever want a situation to occur that involves multiple trips back to the home to dial in systems, fix warranty parts etc. However when items like this do happen this is where Aiello does shine and sticks with the installation, perseveres with the homeowner and stay the course until the situation is resolved. Although at times the frustration level must have been high for you and your wife I happy truly happy your recent nights have been cool and comfortable. Aiello has changed the terminology in our contracts to state “up to xx size” determined by the in-office engineering load calculations of your home. Aiello Home Services is required comply with the towns building department and all state and local codes which dictated the change of equipment size. Again, I want to also thank you for your patience while we dialed in your new HVAC system to work in the most efficient manner.

To ease any concern Aiello is extending your warranty for parts and labor until December 31, 2015

Sincerely,

******* *****

General Manager

Aiello Home Services

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ***

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My basic complaint is that I have been very overcharged to repair my furnace. On January 29, 2013 Aiello put in a brand new furnace for $7,513.00. Last week on April 17, 2014 the furnace was not working and I called Aiello for a service call. They told me that I did not have any warranty coverage because I had passed the one year period of coverage. They charged me an initial fee of $69.00 to see why the furnace wasn't working. I needed a starter switch, a small plastic part that I was charged a total of $443.40. I feel that I was taken advantage of because I did not have a choice but to have the part replaced but I was very overcharged to say the least. The service tech asked his supervisor for an adjustment because I had just paid over $7000. for a new furnace last year and they gave me a 10% discount off the price of the April 17th service call. The $443.40 is the final charge for the part and replacing the part. Honestly, I have to pay these prices for each little piece that may break, I do not have any recourse? I felt a reasonable price for this part would have been less than $100. Please look into this matter because I would truly appreciate your input on this situation. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: I feel very overcharged for a replacement part of a starter switch at a total of $443.40 on a furnace that was 15 mo. old, original cost $7,513.00. Ideally Aiello would cover the replacement part and I would be refunded $443.40. I would pay the $69.00 service fee for having them come to my house but I feel they should refund the rest because they should sell products that have a better quality and last longer than 15 months on the most expensive piece of equipment in your home.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Delays with **** resulted in delay of comments and responses: 5/7/14 1:44 PM - spoke with ***** re: BBB filing- per GFC will offer 1/2 off to accommodate price concern. She seemed satisfied with results. noted account. Giveback in amount of $221.70 per ******* ******** 5/8/14 2:58 PM ISSUED CR/CC **** $221.70 AS PER Giveback / GFC 5/9/14 3:53 PM REC'D FROM **** - INQUIRY - TO CHARGE ON 4/17/14 $443.40 DISPUTE NOTES AS COPIED; The Card Member does not recognize the Charge. Please provide support and itemization. In addition, if the Charge relates to shipped goods, please include Proof of Delivery." 5/9/14 4:16 PM CALLED **** - SPKE W/ CSR - ***** - advised her that customer was issued partial credit $221.70 on 5/8/14. credit not showing yet takes 48 to 72 hrs. 5/16/14 3:14 PM called **** CSR / - FOLLOW UP ON CASE) SPKE W/ ***** - CONFIRMED ALL DOCUMENTS WERE RECEIVED AND CASE WAS CLOSED IN OUR FAVOR. NO OTHER FOLLOW UP NEEDED. **** Customer is satisfied with outcome
6/25/2014 2:40:01 PM

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Aiello Home Service one time and paid my bill in full on the first visit. I was talked into a service plan by the repair techinician who also said you can cancel it anytime you want too. I gave the technician by bank account number and ever since then I was billed $8.75 a month for at least a year now. Recently I hearf failure and lost my job because I am unable to work due to my current illness that was in April. I called Aiello home service in April of 2014 and spoke to *******. I told ******* of my predicament and asked her to stop my electronic payments of $8.75 which I had never used. She said she could only stop it my mail or email. She gave me her enail address which I had saved in my browser. Today, June 19, 2014 I was checking my bank statements for the past two montrhs and found that Aiello Home Service Company had taken out $8.75 both on May 19.2014 and June 19. 2014 for a total of $17.50. ******* seemed like she could care less and said there were other employees who worked there and maybe it was one of them. She gave me her email address and told me to resend the email which I did. As I was entering her email address into my email form her emailed popped up with the same email address except for the capitalized letter of her first and last name. I am requesting that all electronic payments on the service plan stop and I am requesting a full refund of $17.50. Sincerely, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: Stop all electronics payments for the service plan of $8.75 and a full rfefund of $17.50.

Business Response: This has been resolved, for some reason this customers email was caught in our spam filter. We have spoken to customer today 6-19-2014 and a credit for cancelled plan has been issued.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Aiello in October to repair a propane gas furnancein my home. I actually had 2 gas furnances, one for the 1st floor and one for the main living area on the first floor.The 2nd floor unit had recently been repaired by another servie provider and was working well.The unit servicing the first floor was not working and it was suggested that I replace it at a cost of approzimately $4000.I decided to accept Aiella's pro[osal to replace both furnances for %7508 after paying them$313 for a servie call which did nothinbg but provide a lead for the sales person.Aiella replace both my furnances in early November but left many quality issues and to date I have had tjem back to my premises 5 times to fix theings that were done imporerlyand again today I am without heat ofrom my first floor furnane.I had a incorrectly installed thermostat that was blowing fuswes in the 2nd flor fuernance, had openings in the fron of the first floor furnane that was blowing heat out thriough the fron of the unit, had poor connections between the furnance and the duct work which requirred a connection to be mde/repaird and also needed an open section of duct wpork for the 2nd floor furnance to be closed.Heat supposed to be going into the ducts to heat the living space was instead blowing on the walls in the basement furnance rooom.Also when the furnances were originally installed, there was a wiring proplem wjich prevented the second floor unit from running which the installer attributed to a wireing problem from the factory of the equipment manufacturing.

Desired Settlement: I would not recommend this provider to anyone else and want my complaint to be listed on your site reference.I may request qa monetary resolution if the problem persists in order to have a qualified HVAC expert to fix properly.

Business Response:

Mr. *****,

As of this writing, all of your concerns  have been resolved, thank you for allowing us to serve you.

Customer Concern 1: Customer claims he paid a $313 service fee for what he calls just a lead for the sale person.  Aiello Sales Representative actually gave him back $350 towards the service call in a discount of the Installation.

Customer Concern 2; improperly installed thermostat. Thermostat was installed correctly. Technicians found that the thermostat wire at the thermostat had a bare spot in it and we had to strip it back farther in the wall to correct.  We also at that time sealed around the line set access holes to prevent air from blowing out.

Customer Concern 3: duct work connections. Aiello did had to go back again for blown fuses, at that time we found a part of the duct work had in fact pulled away. It was a missed at the time of install and Technician did reconnect and fix.  Looked for reason why fuse keeps blowing, Technician checked all wires found what he thought might be a pinched wire from factory.  Second Technician went back and we decided that it has to be a bad thermostat wire in the wall.  Aiello sent licensed electrician there at no charge he ran a new wire and relocated thermostat and everything is working fine. No further calls since.  Ultimately there was a bad existing wire in the wall that was shorting out periodically.

 

Aiello has responded and taken care of all concerns of customer

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aiello service providers came to my home and provided me with an estimate to repair a broken heating pipe and purging of the heating system. I signed off on the estimate with the knowledge that the price of the estimate may change after the actual completion of the work. Also, the estimate did not include an itemized costs receipt for the $680.96 I was charged. I was shocked when the repair took an hour and involved replacement of 8 inches of copper pipe and the purging of the system. When I called Aiello and tried to ask for an itemized receipt for this $680.96 cost. I was informed that they did not provide this type of information and that I paid for a service not a repair job. In looking up the track record of Aiello, I found that this is a common complaint.

Desired Settlement: A reasonable price for the work completed which included an hour of labor and 8 inches of copper pipe.

Business Response:

**** *****

 

On January 9th we were invited to **** *****’s home because she had no heat on his lower level.   She called in at 7:50 a.m. and was told we would have a tech to her between 10 & 2.  We arrived to the job at just past noon on the same day.  Though the customer said it only took an hour and was a quick fix, it actually took two techs and was just over 1 ½ hours to complete. 

 

Also, the price was quoted up front before the work was started.  The customer approved the work and then we proceeded until we got her heat working.  When we quote work, it is inclusive of parts and labor. 

 

The customer tried to reverse the charges with ****, but after reviewing the case, **** declined.  They believed that we had done everything contracted for and she approved the price ahead of time. 

 

We her at Aiello work very hard to please our customers because we know how fast word travels.  However, with approximately 15,000 customers served every year we know that we can’t please everyone.  Some people will never be satisfied.

 

3/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aiello came out to *** **** ******, purged 3 radiators (cast iron) charge 341.62 per radiator the total charge was $382.38.Mr. ***** is disputing the bill, he believes that he should not be charge this amount for 15 minutes.

Desired Settlement: Mr. ***** wants to know if this is an accurate bill if not he would appreciate an adjustment to the finale cost.* ** ******** ***** ****** ****** *** ***** *** ******** ****** ****** * ******** ** *** **** ** ******** ****** *** ***** *********If you have any questions please contact Mr. ***** or me at ###-###-####

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

In regards to the consumers concern for work performed on November 25, 2013.

This customer called Aiello Home Services for a “no heat situation” on November 25, 2013 at 10:45am  Aiello was able to dispatch a technician to this customers home and have our service truck to arrive the same day at 3:06pm. The technician diagnostic found some radiators needed to be purged quoted an exact price, the customer agreed and the work was performed. Aiello Home Services quotes all of its work up front and in writing; we get authorization in writing before we do any work in the consumer’s home. Aiello Home Services uses a straight forward pricing policy, this insures the homeowner of knowing the exact cost before the work is done, this gives the homeowner to opportunity to reject the quote before any work is done. This customer accepted the price, the work was done and it was paid for by the customer. It is only now after the customer had the work done, is warm is he concerned with the price and is using the system to get a cheaper price. I am not clear as to why the customer did not decline the quote and shop the price at the time of the “no heat” situation.

 

GPS units are installed in all Aiello Service vehicles, Global positioning satellite data will show that Mr. *****s statement of time Aiello Home Services invested into his "no heat" service call is false. Aiello Home Services will provide documented reporting if required.

 

Aiello provided premium service for this customer, and responded and resolved this customer’s emergency in just over 4 hours. Aiello technician quoted a fair price for Aiello to diagnose and perform the work required; Aiello did the work and left the customer with a heating system in working order again

 

Thank you.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/28/2013, Aiello Home Services tuned up my furnace. The service man only changed parts and could not adjust the furnace temperature, co2, efficiency,stack temperature....So, the service man said that he is going to ask his supervisor to send a knowledge people to my house. Next day, they send a man to my house . He only took the record and do nothing. I called Mr. ******* (supervisor) several times asked him send person to my house to finish the job. But Mr. ******* didn't want to pick up my phone and didn't want to send people to my house to solve the problem and complete the tune up job. He only did half of the tune up job. He didn't do all the adjustment, he didn't gave me the final report sheet for sign. In the middle of the tune up he just went away. Now, my furnace can not start automatically after their tuned up. I wrote a letter to the owner Mr. ******* asked his help. Mr. ******* just ignored me. Please help me by asking Mr. ******* to send a knowledge person to my house to adjust my furnace and solve the furnace can not start automatically problem. I had contract with them from 11/14/2012 to 11/5/2013. I paid $14.09/mon. I have paid $169.08 Usually,for tune up furnace will cost $149. Please ask Mr. ******* to return me $20. They told me if they send people to my house, They will charge me $69 only for send people to my house. I think adjustment for furnace and fixing furnace can not start automatically problem are all belong to their tune up job. (Because every thing happened just right after their 10/28 services.) They just treat me un-reasonable. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: Please ask Mr. ******* to send a knowledge technician to my house (without any charge) to adjust my furnace and to solve my furnace can not start automatically problem. Please tell him that this is his responsibility. Because my furnace is running very smoothly until his company's tuned up. And please ask them to return me $20 for overpayment.Thank you very much for your help.Sincerely, ******* ****

Consumer Response:

From: ******* ****
Sent: Monday, November 25, 2013 6:25 PM
To: *********************
Subject: Could you call Aiello owner Mr. ******* (###-###-####) to send a technician to my house tomorrow?

 

My Id is *******. I file the complain on 11/21. I wonder weather that you can call Aiello to send a technician to fix my furnace without charge tomorrow. Because after Aiello people came to my house on 10/28 to tune up the furnace, my furnace could not automatically start for 4 times in the first week after their tuned up. I think this is their responsibility to fix that free.

Although right now it is not happen. I do not know whether it is going to happen again. I am going to ****** from 11/27 to 12/1. I worry that it happen at the period that I am not home. Then, there is no body home to push the emergency button to make furnace start again. And the house is going to freezing. May be it going to freeze the pipe.

I call Mr. ******* today and leave a message asking for his returning call. But he did not call me back.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response: As Aiello Home Services has stated to Ms. **** already, Aiello will repsond to this service call. If there is an issue unrelated to the tune up, there will be a charge. If there is a problem that is due to the tune up, Aiello will provide the repair at no charge. Ms. **** understood this and declined previously to have Aiello Home Services come out to look at her system. Aiello will send a technician out on the 27th of November to look at her system at no charge to determine what the problem is.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Aiello send a technician (*****) to my house to check and adjust the furnace combustion results today (11/27). After he done the work, he prints out the work report and have me sign it. I satisfy the work that ***** has done today


Sincerely,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

101 Customer Reviews on Aiello Home Services
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart