BBB Accredited Business since

Donner Photographic, Inc.

Phone: (860) 886-2475 Fax: (860) 886-1015 View Additional Phone Numbers 187 W Town St, Norwich, CT 06360 http://www.donner-photo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Donner Photographic, Inc. offers commercial, elementary, dance and graduation photography services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Donner Photographic, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Donner Photographic, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Donner Photographic, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 09/24/1987 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Donner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Donner, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Vaclavik, Customer Service
Business Category

Photographers - Portrait Photography Studios, Portrait (NAICS: 541921)


Additional Locations

  • 187 W Town St

    Norwich, CT 06360 (860) 886-2475

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to purchase dance studio photos of our daughter in ******, CT on 4/26/15. We were told that the price of the photos was $14 each and chose 2 photos to purchase. Our sales-person, *******, told us that the group photos of the whole dance class were free with the purchase of the chosen prints. She ran our credit card and after signing and walking out to our car in the parking lot we noticed that we were charged $51.04. We went back in to discuss the charge that was more than we thought it should be and ******* informed us that the price was much more since we didn't purchase and entire package. I requested to just return the group photos and get a refund on them and she said "I'm sorry, all sales are final" She refused to refund us the difference saying that they weren't able to do so if they were allowed. This was not even 10 minutes after she swiped my credit card. We were lied to on the price and were charged almost twice what we were quoted and when challenged on it we were refused a refund.

Desired Settlement: refund our money to our credit card in a timely manner

Business Response: First we would like to thank *** ********* for his business and the opportunity for customer satisfaction improvement.  Our customer service supervisor has resolved the issue and happily refunded *** ********* for the disputed issue.  We strive for 100% customer satisfaction and work toward constant improvement in communicating our pricing structure at every sales pass.  All sales are final at the sales table as is advertised.  Our very capable customer service department may work with any customer that has questions or concerns regarding their purchase.

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wrote a check to Donner Photographic INC for my son's daycare pictures on 12/4/2012 check number 1026 from my account at ***** ***** ****. I received my son's pictures on time and without any issues. I had to close my account at ***** ***** due to fraud on January 5th 2014. Donner tried to deposit my check 1026 after I received the pictures and it came back account closed. I never heard anything via phone/E-mail/or mail from the company stating there was an issue with my check. I had assumed that everything was fine since I never heard anything from my old bank or them. To my surprise, I received a letter *** ******** ******** ***. dated May 22nd 2014 stating I owe a total $45.00 . $25 which is the check amount and now a $20 fee. I then called *** to clear up the amount that I owe and asked them if they could waive the fee since this is the first I'm hearing of it, they told me to call a manager whom I have yet to hear back from. I then called Donner this morning and spoke with Lisa in accounting. She told me they have nothing to due with the fee since it was sent over to ***. I explained to her the situation and told her I'd be more than happy to pay the $25 I owe but that I would not pay the $20 fee. The customer service from Donner on this matter was unlike any other I have ever experienced. No concern or care for the issue was expressed. Astounded that they never even tried to contact me with in the 5mths time that has passed. I would never recommend anyone using there services. There are other photography companies out there who have exceptional customer service, like, *********.

Desired Settlement: $20 fee waived

Business Response:

We are pleased to hear that our customer received her son's  pictures  on time and to her satisfaction. Our records indicate that our customers check was not written in 2012 as indicated in her complaint. A copy of the check reads 12/4/2013.  The check was returned to us twice by her bank. The first time  for insufficient funds and then the second time as a closed account, for which she had closed. Unfortunately we receive numerous amounts of returned checks.  We do have the resources to collect our customers returned checks, this service is out sourced to T******** ******** *************. The complaint of the $20 returned check may be settled with ***, as we are not charging her and do not receive this  fee from ***.  It is unfortunate that our customer did not realize that her bank had returned her check twice and that it had not cleared before she closed her account.   At Donner Photographic Inc. we always strive to provide total customer satisfaction and keep our costs low for our customers.   We are pleased that she has received her son's pictures as we await payment on her check.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Issue was deferred and deflected to outside comments not even mentioned in my original request and problem not addressed - I called my bank to verify check was returned for closed account which it was - and is also the reason listed on the letter from *** recovery for return- please see attached copy of letter - also there is not a copy of check enclosed in this notice so I had to spend my own time to research this matter to determine what account it was used- *** refused to send me a copy- all that is listed is the date the check was written and the check number. I contacted my old bank and they stated , since my account was closed they wouldn't of notified me- check gets automatically returned to the business or individual who presented it- therefore I would have no way of knowing it had not been paid- If Donner had given me some kind of notice/call/or email since they have all of information, I would of been more than happy to pay the $25 right over the phone (at that point in time there would of not been a fee because the account would of not been turned over to ***) but based on the company response, they do not handle their own clients and wait 5 months to hand over their accounts to ***. It is a shame that they don't have the time or concern to handle their own clients. Therefore, due to the lack of concern for this matter and horrendous customer service I am absolutely not accepting this response.

Sincerely,

**** ****