BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

This Business is not BBB accredited

Affordable Professional Painting, LLC

Phone: (203) 500-8470 37 Elm Court Ext, East Haven, CT 06512 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Affordable Professional Painting offers interior and exterior painting services for both residential and commercial properties. They also perform power washing and wallpaper hanging.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Professional Painting, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Professional Painting, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 29, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2010 Business started locally: 01/01/2010 Business incorporated: 04/05/2012 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Depino, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Depino, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Painters - Commercial or Residential Deck - Repair Plastering Contractors Wallpaper Removing Bathroom Remodeling Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Doors - Installation Baths Acoustical Ceiling Removal Fire & Water Damage Restoration Pressure Washing Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Deck Cleaning & Sealing Kitchen & Bath Design Drywall Contractors Drywall Taping and Texturing Home Improvements


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    37 Elm Court Ext

    East Haven, CT 06512 (203) 500-8470

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.paintingcontractorsnewhaven.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Affordable Professional Painting, LLC failed to live up to BBB standard of TRUST and failed to complete job as agreed. I reviewed the list of BBB accredited businesses and contacted Affordable Professional Painting, LLC (APP, LLC)for painting services. After speaking with *** ****** I agreed to have APP, LLC paint my deck on June 1, 2013, the price agreed upon included labor and materials. The deck was painted on June 1, 2013 and a check payable to Mr. ****** was issued for the full amount for services rendered. A couple of days later I noticed areas of the deck where the original paint was coming through as well as sections underneath the deck which were not painted at all. I contacted Mr. ****** on 6/5/2013 to express my concerns, Mr. ****** agreed to stop by to assess and asked that I leave a gallon of paint outside as he would personally correct the problem. On 6/17/2013 I contacted Mr. ****** to remind him that the paint was left outside and the issue was not resolved. He asked to come by that morning, I was at work and although inconvenient I agreed to have my father meet with him that morning to go over the issues with him. After speaking with my father, Mr. ****** admitted that the work performed was unsatisfactory and would contact me with a resolution. Mr. ****** contacted me and agreed that the work performed was unsatisfactory and failed to complete the job. He agreed to paint the sections that had been missed underneath the deck with the leftover paint, however, to fix the remaining issues would require an additional $500 for the cost of additional paint to complete the job. I strongly disagreed and refused to pay an additional $500. I hired a professional painting company and clearly expect that the original estimate factored in the cost to complete the job. I did not agree to a price that would not complete the job in an acceptable manner. Clearly, I would not agree to those terms and would not have hired APP LLC. I asked Mr. ****** at a minimum to complete the sections underneath the deck that had been completely missed with the remaining paint. To date I have not heard from Mr. ****** and the issue has not been resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the work that was not completed as well as the gallon of paint that was left outside, under his direction, which has dried out due to weather conditions. Also, I would like to see APP LLC removed from the BBB list of accredited businesses, this was a key factor in my decision to hire APP LLC and they do not live up to the BBB standard of trust.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/27) */ The job was done as agreed upon One coat of deck Floor and rails. With color change 2 coats ended up Being required for the desired look the customer Did not want to pay the extra cost required to complete the Work to the proper standard. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/08/29) */ Affordable Professional Painting LLC has failed to address all issues, response incomplete and not provided within the required timeframe. Job was not completed as agreed upon. Consumer Response /* (-5, 15, 2013/08/30) */ No written contract. Verbal agreement.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1