BBB Accredited Business since

Sippin Energy Products

Phone: (203) 261-3668 Fax: (203) 268-0769 View Additional Phone Numbers 234 Main St, Monroe, CT 06468 http://www.sippin.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sippin Brothers Oil Company Incorporated offers home heating bio-fuel, as well as heating and air conditioning sales, service, and installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sippin Energy Products meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sippin Energy Products include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sippin Energy Products
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1919 Business started locally: 01/01/1919 Business incorporated 12/26/1956 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Sippin, President Ms. Roberta Convertito, Office Manager Mr. Gary Sippin, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Sippin, President
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Alternate Business Names
Sippin Brothers Oil Company Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • 234 Main St

    Monroe, CT 06468 (203) 264-3040 (203) 743-5709 (800) 994-3835 (203) 261-3668

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was on a fixed budget program with Sippin for Oil delivery and some service contracts from Oct 2014 to Sep 2015. In early March 2015, it was determined that i was going over my budget delivery amount so I spoke to ***** or ***** (they keep changing names on who i talked to) and we reworked a new monthly budget amount . The budget amount went from $392 to $545 which I've paid on time without fail since it's automatically deducted from my checking account. The decision on the revised budget amount considered if there would be a need for any further oil deliveries to be made from March to August which we agreed would be the new end of the budget term. There was an anticipated delivery at the end of March for 188 gallons which was factored into the revised budget amount. Sippin made a unexpected 'delivery' in May of 101 gallons of which i NEVER received a delivery ticket. The only evidence that i have that a delivery was made was them telling me there was one. The amount for the delivery is $275. I discovered this 'delivery' was made after i made my August payment of $545 and while on their website I expected to see a zero balance which to my surprise I didn't. I immediately called customer service and the response they gave me is that i have to pay for this delivery. I do not feel i should pay for the delivery because of the following reasons 1. Our reworked budget in Feb looked at my prior 2 years of delivery activity and no deliveries were done in May. Sippin's contention is that it was a cold winter but we've had unusually cold winters for the past 3 years including hurricane sandy and I never received a May delivery so that excuse doesn't make sense. 2. They force you to be on automatic delivery if you're on the budget program which means they can ship you oil even if you don't need it. They determine when and how oil should be shipped based on their computer models and when someone disputes t he delivery they always say the computers determine when oil is to be delivered.

Desired Settlement: I want Sippin to acknowledge that the delivered oil is not my responsibility to pay and for them to take no judicial action towards me.

Business Response:

*** ***** ****** has been a customer of Sippin Energy for about four years and we appreciate his business very much.   ** ****** purchases his heating oil from us via our automatic delivery system whereby the oil is delivered throughout the year automatically without the customer having the burden or responsibility of monitoring their oil supply.  He was also enrolled in our Budget Payment Plan which sets an estimated monthly payment to cover oil deliveries and other services.  The budget payment provides the convenience of smoothing out payments during the year and is adjusted as needed.  We made an oil delivery on May 14, 2015 for 101.3 gallons with a charge of $273.41.  *** ****** indicated that he never received a delivery ticket for this oil delivery and refused to pay for the delivery.  We always leave a certified delivery ticket at the customer’s home after each delivery, but we did mail him a copy of this ticket upon request.  I have also attached a copy of the delivery ticket to this response.  *** ****** did not indicate at any time that he wanted to suspend any further oil deliveries from us.  

In an effort to satisfy *** ******, we offered him a significant discount of 40 cents per gallon for this oil delivery and would work with him on the payment timing.  This discount reduces his balance to $232.88.  He refused and still insists that he does not have to pay for the oil that we have delivered to his tank.  We were never directed by *** ****** to suspend automatic oil deliveries to his home. He is in possession of and will benefit from the heating oil we have provided and we’d just like to get paid for it.

Sippin Energy Products

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ****** The May deliver was made in error as agreed by Sippin. The delivery was never supposed to be made. They have an electronic monitor on my tank that accurately tells them how much oil is in my tank. While speaking to the Sippin manager on Monday August 31st, she admitted that I had 188 gallons in my tank at the time of the delivery. She also agreed that this amount was more than sufficient to last me for the rest of the summer into September when my usual delivery occurs. She agreed that the May deliver didn't need to be sent. She was going to follow up to see why the manager arranged for the delivery but I haven't heard a response from her. I am steadfast in my belief that I should not be responsible to pay for oil that was incorrectly delivered to me. As Sippin has stated I've been a loyal customer for a number of years, I pay my bills on time every month and I've used a number of their products and services so I'm not someone who's looking to get out of a bill I'm not like that I pay what I owe and in this situation I do not feel I should have to pay. I will reiterate I sat down with Sippin in March and we worked out a revised budget plan which factored in my March delivery. We looked at my history and in the past year or two there were no deliveries made from March to September so we were confident that this budget amount would get us squared away. My account would be satisfied if it wasn't for the erroneous May delivery. I have done everything correct and by the book and Sippin has made the mistake so why am I asked to pay for their mistake? I will not.

Business Response: We feel we have provided *** ****** with a very generous and fair concession and stand by our prior response. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I've made my case regarding why i am not liable for the oil, i have nothing further to say. 

Sincerely,

***** ******

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although I decided not to extend my contract for heating oil delivery and furnace service with Sippin Energy for this coming fall-winter and I informed Sippin Energy personnel of my decision, Sippin delivered a tank full of oil and billed my for it and also for upcoming season service.I paid the invoice for the oil but not for service, as no service was performed.But Sippin keeps sending me invoices, asking me to pay for services I did not request or receive.

Desired Settlement: I ask that Sippin Energy stops sending me invoices for fake charges.

Business Response: This customer was on automatic delivery with a price contract for oil with Sippin Energy and although his price contracted oil was exhausted, he was still on automatic delivery, and received a delivery because it was due.  He called our office and our representative (*****) extended a generous discount on that delivery and also a generous discount on a new price contract for his oil.  At that point he decided to go with another company who offered him a low introductory price. He did not ask us to terminate his furnace maintenance contract at any time during any of these discussions (we have all phone conversations recorded).  Since receiving this BBB complaint, we have credited the account the amount due for the service plan, and I have also spoken personally to this person and indicated the same.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********



Please refer to documents


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sippin Energy Products
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart