BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Petro, Inc. offers heating oil, burner service, installations, air conditioning sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Petro, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Petro, Inc. include:

  • 18 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Petro, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 18, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1903 Business started locally: 01/01/1903 Business incorporated: 10/22/1969 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathie Knepple, Administrative Manager Ms. Debra Daniels, Customer Service Mr. Richard Houston, Customer Service Manager Mr. Michael Matarese, General Manager Ms. Barbara O'Hara Ms. Kim Petrone, Customer Service Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathie Knepple, Administrative Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Kim Petrone, Customer Service Supervisor
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Water Heaters - Dealers Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Natural Gas Companies Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Asbestos Removal Service Heating Contractors Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Heating & Air Conditioning Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Alternate Business Names
Colonial Fuel Home Oil Company Home Oil Norwalk Kasden Derby Energy Kasden Elm City Fuel Ortep of Connecticut, Inc. Petro Oil Petro-Brookfield Petro-Canton Petro-North Haven Petro-Norwalk Petro-Norwalk Petro-Norwalk Petro/Kasden oil Petroleum Heat & Power Co., Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 239-9233 (Fax)
  • (203) 328-7421 (Fax)
  • (203) 985-4577 (Fax)
  • (860) 693-6813 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Petro in November of last year, along with other oil co's to get price quotes on oil and contract services. After speaking with them, they sent me a Retail Fuel Delivery and Service Agreement, and buyers right to cancel. Cancel what? I never signed anything to begin with, and no oil was ever delivered. I decided to go with another oil co, and called Petro and spoke with xxxxx, informing her, letting her know I would call them next year. Thinking everything was cleared, I start getting bills for a service agreement f/$212.65, with a $100.00 credit. Again I call and speak with xxxxx, and she says she will take care of it. We still kept getting the bills, so my wife called them and got someone very nasty on the phone, and he threatened to charge us a $399.00 cancellation fee. So we have been getting bills for the cancellation fee, and received a call from a debt collector, and now a bill from the debt collector also. This is absolutely crazy, this has been going on for months, after repeated phone calls to them, nothing was signed, no oil delivered, and no services rendered. And now we are in collection!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want to have them stop harassing us for this cancellation fee, and have my credit cleared with the debt collector.

Business Response:

I have reached out to the customer and left my direct phone number to give  me a call back to resolve. I have removed the ETF from the account.

 

Regards,

******** *******
Admin/Operations Supervisor
office: ###-###-####
**********************
Petro CT- HOD #183

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have received a letter from Petro stating I no longer have a balance, and a transaction report stating the same.  Also, the  xxxxxxx Credit Service phone calls have stopped.

Sincerely,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I spoke to Petro on January 14, 2014 I explained that I had just purchased a house, hadn't moved in yet, but needed my tank filled up one time. I understood that there were "Auto Delivery" options, but I explained I was not ready to commit to anything at that time. They filled up my tank, and I did pay for that tank. They also sent me a contract via email and I noticed that under Delivery Option it said "Auto". I replied to Petro's email (without signing the contract) and stated that "I asked for one tank fill up. I do not want any recurring service at this time." They responded that they "are auto delivery" and my next delivery was scheduled for 2/08. I responded that will be too soon. An empty house wasn't going to go through a tank of oil in 3 weeks. They asked for a date that works. I never provided a date and never signed the contract. On Feburary 7th, they showed up and filled my tank and then billed me for it in the amount of $268.05.

Desired Settlement: I do not believe I should have to pay for something I did not authorize. I did not sign the contract consenting to auto delivery. I am requesting that this bill waived. It was Petro's error to fill my tank when I did not agree to it.

Business Response:

I have reached out to this customer and given my direct phone number to call me back to try and resolve this dispute.

 

Regards,

Kimberly Petrone
Admin/Operations Supervisor
office: ###-###-####
kpetrone@petroheat.com
Petro CT- HOD #183

 

 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10048397, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 

Kimberly - Do I mail the check to the address in New Haven shown on the invoice that you sent me, or do I send it to the billing address in Newark, NJ?


Sincerely,

Jennifer Merritt

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or around Oct 15, 2013 I contacted Petro advising them that I would be selling my house at ** ***** ******* ******** ** ***** scheduled for Oct. 29th and would need them to (1) cancel my current contract, and (2) obtain a final tank reading for the property closing. On Oct. 25, 2013 a representative from Petro, ******** *****, visited the home and provided me with a final tank reading certificate and forwarded final tank reading documentation directly to my closing attorney that same day. The property closing occurred on Oct 29, 2013 and the deed of the property was transferred. On or around mid Nov 2013 the new property owner, ****** ***********, opened a home heating oil account with Petro and ordered a tank fill. On Nov. 21, 2013 the new property owner's tank was filled at a cost of $631.50. The billing was applied to my account, which was to have been closed on Oct. 29, 2013. After several attempts to correct the issue with Petro three times over the course of a month they have yet to make the billing change. Petro has agreed that they made the billing error and has on several separate occasions sent the appropriate adjustment necessary to correct the matter to their **********, ** office and the *******, ** offices, but has consistently failed to issue the correction.

Desired Settlement: Issue the appropriate billing revisions by crediting my account and debiting their new client's account for $631.50, the cost of their new client's oil delivery.

Business Response:

We have removed the deivery charge from the account. The person who does the posting was out of the office for a few days near the holiday and it was delayed. However, we have contacted the customer and let them know that the charge has been credited. Have left a a direct contact for the customer to call back.

 

 

Regards,

*** *******

**********************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To the Better Business Bureau,On 12/13/2013 I called Petro, Inc. oil company for service of my boiler. The appointment was made from 11:00am to 2:00pm. The man was late so I went to work and was called when he got to the house. He checked the boiler and I was called, he was rushing because he had a doctor's appointment and had to leave he gave me a price of $495.00 for the part and the diagnostic fee which I already knew was $49.99. I asked him if he could call the company to see if they could give me a better price because, I found that $578.00 was to much money to pay. The answer he gave me was he had to leave and I either put the part in or I was going to have to wait for someone else to come in and replace the part if they could get someone else to come and install the part. I had no choice but to tell him to replace the part because it was the day before the storm and I have a one and five year old living in the house. On 12/14/13 I called ********** ******* supplies and I was told the part cost $149.99 so this was a mark up of about 200% of the cost of the part, I have called them twice on 12/16 and 12/17 a Mr. ******** a supervisor was suppose to call me and they have not returned my call. I have had parts replace by them before and never was told that I needed to have a contract. Now I was told when I called on 12/17/2013 that price is a flat rate for not having a service contract with them. The man that came was also very rude to me on the Phone. I have not paid them jet and I have to pay before the 12/23/2013 or I will be charged a late payment fee. I have been a customer for over five years and this is the first time they have over charged me and I have never had a service contract with them.

Desired Settlement: I would Like to have Petro contact me and give me an explanation on how they price people and take advantage of the weather to over charge people.

Business Response:

We spoke with this customer today. Our field service supervisor explained the charges to the customer as well as offered a discount to resolve the matter. The customer seemed satisfied with the resolution.

 

Regards,

 

*** *******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

Sincerely,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am getting harrassed by Petro oil sales team. I fulfilled my one year contract which terminated on 9-30-13. I told them that I wish to no longer purchase oil and wasnt interested in renewing my contract. They told me that they would close the account. But I am getting numerous calls from other sales represenatives saying the account hasnt been closed and they are trying to get me to renew with them. They will not take no for an answer and stressing me out in the process. I know longer know what I can do. Can someone please advise me what to do.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to stop harrassing me.

Business Response:

We have terminated the account of the complaintant. No more calls to renew will be made to this consumer.

 

 

Regards,

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern,We signed up with Petro Oil in Feb of 2010 and stayed with this company up until a week ago this year. I find it unfortunate that I need to file a complaint against this company but I feel they were dishonest and sneaky and did things that were illegal. Our price was always higher upon delivery then the posted daily price of oil that day. Even thought we had a Cap plan that said we'd only pay the highest price if oil prices went up, we always paid the highest price through Petro. And on several occasions, Petro locked our account and would not deliver until we made payment. We had a hard time keeping up with our payments of $270.00 a month as we are a single income family. We did make multiple payments in some months and doubled our payments when we could. We always tried to make a large payment but they still froze our account three times. The latest being just recently and we were almost out of oil. We have a toddler in our home as well and to think that a company we were making payments to and tried our hardest to pay each month would freeze our account and then not even tell us, I found that to be awful. When we would talk to Credit, they would hound us to make large payments and double payments which were very hard for us and they would tell us they would not unfreeze our account unless we made a double payment. We paid $700 in Dec 2012 but they called just two weeks later looking for yet another payment. When we finally talked about renewing our contract with them, they had the highest price around. Only after we told them we were going with another company did their price miraculously come down to where all the other oil company prices were. We still ended our agreement as we do not find them trust worthy. We were also told that because we were ending our oil delivery with them that they would be cancelling our service contract that we had paid in full with them up until Aug 2013. Product_Or_Service: Petro Oil and Service Contract

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would like a refund for the Service contract that we had paid in full up until Aug 2013 and for someone to review this companies pricing. We feel we were over charged month after month for oil at a higher price then we should have been paying. I would like to see some sort of refund for this as well.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/15) */ This customer signed up for a ceiling protection plan in Feburary of 2012 for a one year period. The highest price they would pay would be 4.469 per gallon which included the cost of the protection. Two of their deliveries were made at prices significantly lower than the ceiling and two were made at the ceiling price due to the rise in heating oil costs this season. The account was set up on a monthly budget plan of $270 starting in April 2012. By the time the first delivery was held for credit in December, the account was behind on the budget by $920 and had accumulated a balance of over $1000 part of which was from a delivery that dated back to August. When this account was closed in February 2013, the service agreement had been in place since August of 2012 and the terms specifically state that there are no refunds or pro-rating of the contracts. Therefore based on this and the information above, the account balance is legitimate. We will however be willing to speak to the customer regarding this matter to see if we can come to agreeable terms to get this resolved in a timely fashion. Please note that we do not have any record of the customer speaking to our customer service department to try and resolve this issue before filing a complaint. Mrs. ****** spoke to the Customer Service Supervisor, ****** regarding pricing for the new year and did not bring up any of these issues. Thank you for you help in this matter - please advise the customer to reach out to ****** again to discuss this matter further.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Delivery Issues
5/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2012 Delivery Issues
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1