BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Bantam Supply Co., Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 567-9431 Fax: (860) 567-2006 PO Box 637, Bantam, CT 06750 http://www.bantamhome.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bantam Fuel offers home heating oil, in addition to heating and air conditioning sales, installation and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bantam Supply Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bantam Supply Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 19, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1930 Business started locally: 01/01/1930 Business incorporated: 09/28/1979 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Peter Aziz, President Ms. Carol Albini, Sales Manager Ms. Alison Anderson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alison Anderson, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Peter Aziz, President
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers Heating & Air Conditioning Gas - Propane Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Alternate Business Names
Bantam Fuel Bantam Home & Energy

Additional Locations

  • 99 Bantam Lake Road

    Bantam, CT 06750 (860) 567-9431

  • PO Box 637

    Bantam, CT 06750

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase new baseboard radiators for my home. I was told that they didn't need to be painted that they were coated in the factory. I was provided with a contract that stated as long as I had automatic delivery of home heating oil I would not be charged any interest. The first three months I was charged the entire amount (via approved credit card) and the charge had to be reversed. This hapened at least three times, one time I was told that I had been reimbursed too many times even though the charge was still clearly stated on my credit card statement. The radiators were also noted to be rusting before they were completely installed. I was told that this had never happened before and they would replace them. The new ones also rusted. I now have a complete set at my house awaiting installation as soon as I am able to paint them. I was instructed by the manufacturer and Bantam that I should sand them lightly to apply the paint. I started to do that today and immediately noted that with very little effort I could sand right down to the metal. I called Bantam and spoke to a representative who reluctantly admitted that he was the salesman who sold the radiators to me. He obviously had no knowledge of what was on the radiators and what to do to prevent rust. I am completely dissatisfied with the product and the service. I have spent hours on the phone and have had several people here to inspect the radiators none of whom really cared about the problem or really tried to resolve the problem. I have a copy of my billing statement which is supposed to detail what I was billed for what I paid and my balence. The bill has several color coded high lighted figures and one would need a degree in accounting to understand how much I have actually paid and for what. I also had a service contract and was billed for items that should be covered and then possibly reimbursed but I really can't tell. I want this situation investigated and resolved. I trust the Better Bisiness Bureau will be able to assist. Desired Settlement: Other (requires explanation) Product_Or_Service: sterling radiators

Desired Settlement: I want a complete set of radiators that are not rusted. I want a detailed account of what I have been billed and what I have paid. I want confirmation that I have not been over charged for the product and services I have received. I want refund if I have over paidI think that if I were paid minimum wage to cover all of the time dealing with this company I would be able collect enough salary to pay for these radiators.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/07/03) */ Responding to Mrs. ****** complaint regarding the radiators installed by Bantam Fuel.Bantam Fuel has followed through and done everything they can to resolve the situation and Mrs. ****** is in agreement with that. Mrs. ****** wants to get someone else other than Bantam Fuel to paint the radiators and Bantam Fuel cannot do anything at this time untilthe radiators are painted. Mrs. ****** and Bantam Fuel have come to an agreement and we believe Mrs. ****** is in agreement Bantam fuel has complied with everything she asked for and the complaint has been resolved to this point. Submitted by ***** ******, Sales Manager. Consumer Response /* (2110, 14, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) The complaint has partially been answered. As I review the situation that began with the contract to install the radiators that "didn't require Painting" the contract provided that as long as I had auto fuel oil delivered I would not owe any interest. I have received a copy of my billing statement which is very unclear because I was billed more that twice for the entire amount and then credited but the bill is so difficult to interpret because I was also billed for interest and for things covered by the service contract that should not have been billed and I want to know without any doubt what I was billed for, what was paid and what I owe. There is also another issue that I had forgotten, the fact that they were not properly measured and the radiator does not fit correctly in places where the molding ends and there is a blank spot and also places where the sheet rock does not match up. I am talking about basic poor work manship not the areas where the radiators were not as tall as the old ones and it is obvious that it could not be helped and is understood that some work needs to be done to make it look "finished" The bottom line I want to know how much I have paid for these radiators and want them reinstalled. I have put a few coats of rustoleum paint on the bathroom radiators but it has been so rainy and humid that I need to paint at least one more coat of paint before they will be ready. I want all of these questions answered in writing and to receive any money that has been over paid if that fact is revealed in the investigation.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

10/10/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1