BBB Accredited Business since

Arbor Energy LLC

Phone: (203) 272-3250 Fax: (203) 272-0393 280 Schoolhouse Rd, Cheshire, CT 06410

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Arbor Energy LLC offer oil delivery, service and installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arbor Energy LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arbor Energy LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 01/01/1994 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Gayle Paulick, Customer Service Supervisor Mr. Bruce Owens, Owner/Member Mr. John L. Williams, CEO/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gayle Paulick, Customer Service Supervisor
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Heating & Air Conditioning Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Additional Locations

  • 280 Schoolhouse Rd

    Cheshire, CT 06410 (203) 272-3250


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have not had a signed contract with this company since 2008. They tell me that I am on automatic delivery. I never asked to be on automatic delivery but paid for oil from them in the past because it was convenient. I received a delivery yesterday. The price on the ticket was 3.159. So I did some research online and one of their competitors , ****** price is 2.479. ****************** is 2.32/gal. I called this morning to complain they told me the price on the ticket was wrong and the real price was 2.859/gal. This price is higher than what I want to pay. The practice of automatic delivery has to stop. If I don't have a signed contract with you don't just deliver oil to me when you want. I will call you if I need oil.

Desired Settlement: Keep your prices competitive. Don't price gouge.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****, This is in response to the complaint we received from Mr. ******* *****, ID # ********. Mr. ***** has been an automatic oil delivery customer since 2003. Between 2003 and 2014, Mr. ***** had elected to prepay for his yearly oil twice, once in the 2006-2007 heating season and again in the 2008-2009 heating season. Before and after Mr. *****’ prepay years, he has been on automatic oil delivery at the prevailing market price with Arbor Energy. Mr ***** did acknowledge he has received Arbor Energy’s “Pricing Program Enrollment Form” yearly, but he has opted Not to lock in his oil price in recent years. As stated in Arbor Energy’s fuel agreement, which Mr. ***** received this summer, in bold letters, “If you do not wish to select a pricing program, you will remain on automatic delivery, and Arbor Energy will provide heating oil to you at its prevailing market price”. As a courtesy to our “ Heat Only “ customers, (these are customers who would not be using oil in the spring/ summer months since they have another source for heating their hot water) I personally called Mr. ***** at his home (I left a message on his machine) and emailed him on April 28, 2014 stating he is due for an oil delivery the next day. If he would like to go off of automatic oil delivery for the summer, to please contact Arbor Energy’s office at 203 272-3250. Mr. ***** did not respond to my email or phone message, so his account has remained on automatic oil delivery. Arbor Energy has not had a phone call or email from Mr. ***** until today December 29, 2014. Mr. ***** explained to me today that his oil delivery ticket had the price per gallon as $3.159. I did apologize to Mr. ***** that the market price has gone down and when the ticket is posted later today, it will be posted with the current market price of $ 2.859 per gallon. I also explained to Mr. *****, if he pays within 10 days of delivery, he is eligible for his “prompt pay discount” of $.10 per gallon off of the $2.859, bringing the market price down to $ 2.759 per gallon. Mr. ***** complained he had called other oil companies whose market prices are lower than ours today. I tried to explain to Mr. ***** that we are a full service oil company with service contracts and 24 hour heating emergency service. The companies Mr. ***** called were “C.O.D.” companies, who only deliver oil at a discounted rate in exchange for cash on delivery with no service contracts or heating emergency service for customers. I also explained to Mr. ***** that we are well below the State of Connecticut’s average oil price for the entire state and for the county of New Haven, which Arbor Energy is a part of. I also gave Mr. ***** the directions to the state of Connecticut’s oil price website to please check out for himself. This is www.****************************************** ******* *** ******** ****** **********. Arbor Energy prides itself in offering fair, low “ lock in “ prices for our customers in the summer months as well as fair market value oil prices for our customers during the heating season. I have taken Mr. ***** off of automatic oil delivery today, and explained that we will not be delivering oil to him unless requested going forward. Thank you for your time in this matter and we at Arbor Energy hope this matter can be resolved promptly. Respectfully, ***** ******* ********** of Customer service Arbor Energy

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Arbor Energy LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)