BBB Accredited Business since

Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (866) 247-2758 Fax: (718) 585-6159 View Additional Phone Numbers 7 WhitneyStreet Extension, Westport, CT 06880 http://www.noahsarkinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Noah's Ark Moving & Storage offers moving and storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated: 08/02/1999 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jude Angel, General Manager/Owner Mr. Amit Arava, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jude Angel, General Manager/Owner
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Noah's Ark Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

  • 7 WhitneyStreet Extension

    Westport, CT 06880 (203) 221-8055 (203) 325-2779 (866) 247-2758

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke to a great sales person on the telephone (***** ****** who assured me that this company was not like the others - the price would be fair, and that other companies would come in low and then all sorts of hidden costs would arise. He assured me that Noah's Ark was not like this. First, the movers arrived 1 1/2 hours late, the foreman of the crew charged me for additional square footage which I understand, but then tried to also charge us a fuel surcharge of 14% of the cost which was NEVER described to me, ever. They also asked for a tip (which I was going to pay anyway - and had gone to go get cash for), but then the foreman complained that I wasn't giving enough...he didn't see that I was paying EACH guy $40. I spoke to a dispatcher on moving day and he removed the fuel surcharge as that was not in the quote. He was very understanding and also accepted a personal check. I thought I was all set until I got a call from another dispatcher the next day telling me that my load was bigger and that I would need to pay more. I had already signed off on all the documentation and agreed to a price and now they were trying to ding me for more. His name was ****** I then called to schedule delivery and spoke to ***** again and he told me it will be delivered within 14 days of whatever date I give them. Not ideal, so I asked if there were any way to get sooner and he said no, and I said, well I guess there's not much I can do as you have my stuff, and he said, "that's right,"...which sounds like a threat to me. I have already written them a check for close to $3000 and will have to pay them about the same again when I receive my things and they're treating me like a second class citizen. I feel as if I am being completely screwed by them and treated terribly when I am paying them a ton of money to move and transport my items. I never would have chosen them after now knowing how they treat their customers. Product_Or_Service: Moving and (Free) Storage Order_Number: XXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to know clearly what I am paying (I thought I had my correct and FINAL invoice - given to me by the foreman ), but it feels like they will continually try to screw me any chance they get. I would like to know that what I signed is it and that they will NOT be adding any more costs to this bill.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/07/19) */ Mr. ****** received over the phone estimate that was based on the information he communicated with our sales representative, ***** ***** which amounted to 694 cubic feet. On move day upon loading the truck the foreman estimated his load to be about 900 cubic feet, and he was charged accordingly. Just as an example, in his original estimate he claimed having 5 bicycles to be moved where on move day we loaded 9 bicycles on the truck. While it took longer to load the truck due to the additional items, his labor charge wasn't changed. Due to misunderstanding regarding the fuel surcharge, Upon Mr. ****** questioning of it, it was eliminated. At the warehouse the receiver of the shipment determined that the foreman miscalculated the amount of cubic feet, and therefore, called Mr. ****** to inform him of an additional charge to compensate for same. At the end of this conversation with Mr. ****** no additional charge was added. With regard to delivery date, Noah's Ark has specific procedure. Shipment is guaranteed to be delivered 7-14 days form the date the customer is ready to receive it (and it is documented on the paperwork). Mr. ****** stated that he will be ready to receive his shipment as of July 3rd,and his shipment was delivered on July 8th. With regard to the tip, Noah's Ark apologizes for the misbehavior of the foreman and as a result this individual is no longer an employee at our company.

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Delivery Issues
9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service