BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Joyce Van Lines, Inc. / Agent is a full service; independent carrier, providing relocation services locally, across the country, or around the globe. They have company-owned storage and dispatch facilities nationwide.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joyce Van Lines, Inc./ Agent meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Joyce Van Lines, Inc./ Agent include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Joyce Van Lines, Inc./ Agent
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 26, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1947 Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated: 04/04/1991 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William H. Joyce, President/CEO Mr. Art Gronbach, Controller Mr. Edward Morley, General Consul
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William H. Joyce, President/CEO
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Joyce Of New England, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 195 Christian St

    Oxford, CT 06478 (203) 267-6622 (800) 451-0653

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 267-6622(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our Steinway grand was one of many items significantly damaged in the move. The movers took apart pieces of the piano they should not have, dropped part of the piano, used wrong tools to reassemble it, reassembled it incorrectly and caused obvious damage to the piano. The movers chipped, delaminated and gouged the piano. Our 30 year old piano, the replacement value of which is over $70,000, is in very good condition and the scratches from normal wear and tear could hardly be noticed by a lay person, unless they were to look very closely. Joyce Van Lines sent out 3 different people to examine and repair the piano and all 3 said that if only the damaged parts were repaired, the refinished portions would not match the age of the piano. We would not be happy with the result and the piano would be devalued. Nevertheless, Joyce only wants to cover the cost of repairing just the damaged parts and offered us $2,000 as a settlement (after initially offering only $400). It would cost $13,000 to refinish the entire piano.We acknowledge that refinishing the entire piano would improve the piano's appearance. However, if the movers had used proper tools and were experienced in moving pianos, they would not have damaged the piano and it would not have to be refinished at all. Offering to cover the costs of refinishing only the damaged parts would put us in a worse position than before the move.We have reached a settlement on all the other many significantly damaged items. We very much want closure after 10 months with respect to the piano, the only outstanding issue. Joyce Van Lines should not move pianos. They did not use a skid board or a piano cap and they had to even borrow our hammer. They damaged a valuable item and should put us in a position at least as good as before the move.

Desired Settlement: So that the refinished parts of the piano do not contrast with the rest of the piano, we will follow the advice of the 3 people sent out by Joyce Van Lines and refinish the entire piano. The third party who examined the piano was a Steinway employee. Steinway provided a quote of $13,000 to refinish the entire piano. We would be willing to split the difference.Separately, Joyce owes us the reimbursement for the third repairman's visit which they arranged and promised to repay us: $164.30.

Business Response:

Response:

Joyce did load, haul, store and deliver the ******’s piano on the proper piano board using the proper equipment. We sent 2 different repair firms to look at the damage. Both repair firms confirmed minor damage of $400.00. Steinway’s repair estimator was $2,000.00. In good sprit we offered the cost of the Steinway amount of $2000.00 to resolve this claim. The ******’s need to sign our release in the amount of $2,000.00 and mail to the claims department by 4 PM Friday, March 14 or I will rescind my $2,000.00 offer to settle, that was $1600.00 too generous. Respectfully, Will Joyce Owner

Sent on: 3/12/2014 2:28:05 PM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

We witnessed the handling of our piano -- the movers did not use proper tools.  They did not use a piano cap and they had to borrow our hammer which never should be used on a piano.  ***** *****, the Steinway repairman sent out by Joyce Van Lines, confirmed that the movers took apart pieces of the piano they should not have, dropped part of the piano and reassembled the piano incorrectly.  As a result of their negligence, the movers damaged the piano.
 
The damage to the piano, the replacement value of which is more than $70,000, is NOT minor.  The movers chipped, delaminated and gouged the piano.  The damage they caused is very obvious.
 
Joyce Van Lines had to send so many people to examine the piano because they did not like the feedback each one of them gave.  **** *****, the first repairman, said that he would repair the damaged portions for $400, but the repair would contrast with the rest of the piano.  **** **********, the second repairman, inadvertently sent an email to me that was intended for Joyce Van Lines, in which he indicates that he would not be able to refinish even just the damaged portions for $400.  In an email to both Joyce Van Lines and to me, **** recommended that an expert examine the piano.  ***** ***** from Steinway then examined the piano.  He recommended that the Steinway factory refinish the piano so that we would be much happier with the result.  **** ********** at Steinway then provided Joyce Van Lines with a quote of $13,000 to refinish the piano.
 
Our 30-year old piano is in very good condition.  Had it not been for the damage caused solely by the movers, we would never have to refinish the piano.  Because Joyce Van Lines mishandled the move of our Steinway, they have caused damage, the repair of which cannot match the age of the piano.  We think there are two fair options.   Joyce Van Lines could split the cost of refinishing the piano (ie, $6,500) since they caused us to be in this awful situation.  Alternatively, at a greater inconvenience to us, we would be willing to consider trying the $2000 repair, on the condition that if we are not pleased with the result, Joyce Van Lines would cover the cost of having Steinway refinish the entire piano (ie, $13,000).
 
Joyce Van Lines caused significant damage to many of our items.  The piano is the last remaining item at issue.  Clearly Joyce Van Lines badly mishandled the entire move.  In addition, it has been 10 months since we moved and we still have not reached closure.  It has been very frustrating and time consuming to deal with Joyce Van Lines.  I have had to repeatedly follow up with their representative -- the delay has been on their side.  With a young baby, having to follow up so many times and to have so many different repairmen examine the piano, has been trying.
 
Should we not receive an acceptable response from Joyce Van Lines, we will file a case in small claims court.  In addition, we will notify the relevant regulatory and business agencies and warn as many consumers as possible.
 
Respectfully,
 
***** *******

Business Response:

Mrs. ******s is trying to parle minor damage to an old well worn piano with many defects which were noted at origin on the Joyce inventory into a $6500 gain by using her computer. The damage was not noted at the time of delivery even though she inspected her furniture. She had noted damage to a cushion, lamp base and a loose leg on a table. Our delivery driver noted the damage on the appropriate form at destination. Our delivery supervisor’s affidavit (driver ****) reflects that the piano was put together properly and without damage. He did not use a hammer on the piano. The ******’s never pointed out any damage to our driver or crew members. **** did not observe any new damage to the piano and was very careful moving it in. Two repair firms were sent to document Mrs. ******s claim of new defects and reported possible minor new damage and suggested that a $400 cash offer be made to settle. Mrs. ******s has made it clear that she wants the complete piano refinished, but would take a $6500 cash settlement. Steinway gave Mrs. ******s an estimate for $2000 to repair the alleged minor damage. The estimate was a fix and a ploy to extract a larger cash settlement from Joyce. The damage was questionable and minor. Steinway’s $2000 estimate was done in collaboration with the ******’s to defraud Joyce. Upon further executive review our offer of $2000 is withdrawn. Joyce’s final offer is $400. This letter is our final electronic communication. If the ******’s wish to meet with me and my attorney, we are available by appointment on any Thursday afternoon in Oxford, CT. We prefer to settle this matter in a civil manner, face to face. Final e-mail from Joyce Van Lines, Inc., settle or sue. Respectfully, William Joyce

Sent on:

3/19/2014 3:49:20 PM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

Your latest reply is full of inaccuracies, falsehoods and wrongful accusations.  We'll share our experience with as many people as possible and see you in court.

 
***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/22/2012 Delivery Issues