BBB Accredited Business since

Fallon Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (860) 298-7071 Fax: (860) 298-7077 View Additional Phone Numbers 800 Marshall Phelps Rd, Windsor, CT 06095 http://www.fallonmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Fallon Moving and Storage, Inc. offers residential and commercial moving and delivery services, as well as storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fallon Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fallon Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fallon Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 1994 Business started: 07/01/1992 Business started locally: 07/01/1992 Business incorporated 06/05/1992 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond J. Fallon Jr., President Mr. Jim Pace, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond J. Fallon Jr., President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Delivery Service Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)


Additional Locations

  • 800 Marshall Phelps Rd

    Windsor, CT 06095 (860) 298-7071 (888) 519-4666

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 24,2014 we filed a loss and damage claim in the amount of $723.43 for a loss sustained during a move from either********* ** to******** ** or a move from ******** ** to ********* **.The loss was presented in person at Fallon Moving to ****** ******* and consisted of four items. Since that date we have called numerous times and sent a letter dated November 28, 2014. During these numerous calls we have asked to speak to *** ******. He never answered a single call or returned a call.Total fees for moving and storage amounted to $5,332.78.

Desired Settlement: Refrigerator freezer repair $426.00Broken knic-nacksRefrigerator repair 426.00broken knicnacks 75.00Antique cabinet lost key 47.43dining room canechair repair 175.00Total 723.43

Business Response: Fallon Moving & Storage was 3rd party contracted to remove wet items from this home after a pipe froze and flooded the main living / kitchen areas.***** **** insurance handled this claim for *** * **** *****. It is our understanding that the heat had been shut off prior to the occurrence in January 2014.  We were contracted by**** ******* who was the appraiser on site. The main living area was iced over due the extreme cold. The Fallon team packed and loaded items and brought them into our storage facility in******** ** during the restoration of the home. I (**** *******) personally surveyed the home which was in very rough shape due to the water damage. Any and all damage to the items would have occurred prior to our arrival and beyond our control. We inventoried the items and took exceptions for damage during the pick up.  It is our opinion that any additional claims be filed with their insurance company.
Regards,
**** ******* ************ * ***
Fallon Moving & Storage

8/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait and switch sales practice as well as the furniture damages after the moving. I have submitted this complaint to ******* ****** and **** ********* on multiple occasions and urged them to send it to their senior management, but I never heard anything back from the company. On Aug 6, 2013, Sale Rep **** ********* inspected my moving content and provided a written estimate for my move from New Haven, CT, to Shelton, CT. He told me and my fianc that this move would be a quick local move. The cost would be based on the total labor time that would start from packing to the completion at the new place such as after setting up the furniture. He also said that since this is a small move, it should not exceed a full working day. In his written estimate, **** ********* quoted a total of 9 hour for my move. However, on Aug 16th during the move, the movers (consists of ***** *****, and ******), told me that **** ********* was completely wrong about the labor time. The labor hours would include the traveling time from the company to my old address and the returning traveling time from my new apartment back to their company. I was totally surprised about this as this is not what **** told me during the sales. I called **** during the move, asking for explanation and also asked removing the travelling time from the total labor time as it was not disclosed to me prior to the move, but he refused. I was overcharged with 2.5 hours of labor rate after the move. In addition to the overcharge of labor time, they also damaged my antique table and torn a leather couch. Again, the submitted claim and this complaint were submitted to the company management via ******* ******, but so far there are not a single response after almost two weeks. Product_Or_Service: moving Order_Number: n/a Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund provide refund for the 2.5 hour labor time that is overcharged. total amount is estimated at $332provide compensation for the antique table damage, est at $200provide compensation for the torn leather couch, est at $450

Consumer Response: Consumer indicated they have not heard from the company

Consumer Response: I have contacted the company a few times asking for response. but they never responded to me. I checked the record about this company and the BBB site shows a A+ status. I am just simply surprised by their status provided their service is really subpar and they don't provide any feedback for customer complaints.

thanks and regards,

Business Response: This complaint has been settled.

Regarding the claim, Fallon has based your compensation on your selected evaluation, $.60 per pound, per item.

Antique Table.............80 lbs

Leather Sofa...............160 lbs

                                     240 lbs Total x $.60 per pound = $144.00


 Fallon mailed you a check for $144.00 on October 22, 2013.


On September 12, 2013 Fallon gave a good will refund of $ 133.05 for 1 hour of time. This was refunded to the American Express credit card provided.



Respectfully,


Fallon Claims Department


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have received the refund and I am happy with the outcome.  

 
Many thanks for BBB to follow up with this matter.  In addition,  I also wanted to thank the business for resolving this.  

Sincerely,

****** ***

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My boyfriend and I dealt with Fallon Moving & Storage the Atlas Van Lines affiliate in Connecticut. It was AWFUL. Their filtered Yelp! reviews support this bait & switch oufit.The paperwork was sent over to **** ********. It was sent numerous times and she said she never received it, but then ******* received it, etc. This place is NOT tech savvy at all. Then we were forced to deal with ******* ****** who was incredibly rude and condescending.Our stuff was packed early July & did not leave CT for CA until late August. Then they said we can only take delivery on 1 day (their delivery driver is running behind) and if we don't take it on the day it is available we have to pay an extra $800 or so to have a local transfer company delivery our goods. (Side note: we were out of town dealing with a funeral so no way we could be there that day!) They said our road is not accessible for large trucks but I've seen semi trucks making deliveries there everyday. They go based on assumption and this is a bad way to do business.In addition, our stuff was packed July 9th and didn't even LEAVE Connecticut until August 19th. And now they want us to be on THEIR timeline? This is just crazy. Between the 2 of us we have moved over 22+ times on corporate moves and have NEVER experienced such bad service. I would never deal with them again. I don't understand why they didn't ship my stuff to California, and have it held there until I was ready to take delivery. I'm sure they were trying to cut some corners and take in the income for the storage or maximize their own profit opportunity somehow. My estimate was $4520 and ended up being $1005 more or 22% over the original estimate.I want to report the because I see on Yelp! they have done this same bait and switch to other people and it's just not right.

Desired Settlement: I want my $1005 back. They did not do an accurate job estimating my job. I would have never picked them had I known the cost would have been over $5500. I vote with my consumer dollar and I would not have voted for them.I eventually had to have somebody else receive my items since I was out of town for a funeral.

Business Response:

Dear ***** **** and  ***** ****,

 

We apologize that your moving experience has resulted in a complaint. In regard to your settlement, the charges are all tariff charges and have been edited and approved by Atlas.  *** **** contacted Atlas immediately and emailed *** **** ******* at Atlas.

 

 

However, The following will address your stated questions.

 

1.)Your paperwork was signed and returned on 6/27/13. You had a move date of  7/9/13 - Atlas Van Lines shut off accepting  shipments this time of year as it is the busiest weeks of the year.  *** **** did not have a place to live or a delivery address, so his belongings  came into storage in CT until he called for delivery.  The cost of savings for storing at Fallon verses storage in CA  benefited you.  We were able to give a 68% discount verses 55% you would have received in CA resulting in a $205.82 savings.  If you had wished storage in CA no move could have taken place until after July 13, 2013.

 

2.)Regarding the delivery window, you were given dates between  8/19 -9/6 - Both you and ***** were told  repeatedly that delivery could occur at any point during that time frame.  ***** **** signed  the "CUSTOMER RESPONSIBILITIES GUIDE/HIGH VALUE INVENTORY" form that tells the customer  they need to be available. (Please See attached)

 *** **** was called on a  Monday to inform him of delivery on Saturday.  This is above and beyond the standard night before delivery notification.  On Tuesday we were working to get the shipment delivered by a local agent as the driver had to stick to his schedule.

 

3.) Per. ****** Maps, your delivery address  says it is located on the end of a pier. We were not sure if the tractor trailer could make the delivery direct. We contacted the Local Agent in the area who told us your address was not accessible.

 

4.)We have been on *** ****'s time line as he is the one who needs to tell us when and where his new home is. On 7/29/13 we received a call and made note that *** ****  was ready  for delivery and the first delivery could be 8/19/13.

 

5.)Again summertime is the moving industry is the busiest time of year - they called for an estimate  on JUNE 25 for a JULY 9 MOVE.   *** **** was informed of the busy time of year and we provided all information to you both.

 

6.) Your Storage was estimated for 30 days - you stored for 41 days. The weight was only 274 lbs difference. Given the circumstances, the estimate was accurate.

 

Again we apologize for this unfortunate occurrence

 

 

Respectfully,

*** ******

10/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company for moving my furnitures from *** ***** to *******. After unpacking the furniture, two pieces of furniture was severely damaged. A custom leather coach was torn . Multiple corners of the couch was scratched too. The corner and the left front leg of the antique table was also severely dented and scratched off. The total damage is estimated at $650.I filed a claim with the company right after the move, but I never heard anything from the company after almost a month. I hope BBB can file the complaint on my behalf. thanks and regards, ******

Desired Settlement: compensate for the furniture damage of $650 in total

Business Response: Fallon Moving & Storage has assessed the damage and acknowledges that your claim will be settled based on the valuation you have selected.

Respectfully,

*** ******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: fallon company inspected the damage, but they did not pay for the damage or repaired the furniture that are damaged as of today. 

Sincerely,

****** ***

10/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the sudden death of both our parents myself and my brother decided to move to ********. We contacted Fallon Moving who said they were part of ***** ******, a name I had recognized. Mr **** ******** came to our house on 9/12/2011 and went over every item in the hose one by one, checked every box we had packed and came up with a price and weight. The price was $4960 dollars and the weight was 8,428 travelling 1269 miles. We also called ***** *** ***** in ******, CT, they came out did the same item by item, room by room inspection and came up with a price of $5181 dollar and 10,000 pounds travelling 1169 mile. Mr **** ******** call me several times and I told him we were buying a new home in ******** and selling the on in CT. So in January we told him we were interested in his offer and he said he would come out and do a new top estimate to make sure the price was good. He also told me in the twenty years he had been doing this he had never been by more than 10% on the weight. He came out and gave us a final price of $4970 dollars and 8428 pounds travelling 1269 miles. Me and my brother ***** agreed to this and signed a document with a pickup date of February 1st. On January 30th the lead driver came over and started labeling every single box and piece of furniture. He came back the next day with a crew and started loading. I noticed that the moving truck had other things on it including a motor vehicle. I asked about this and he said he would have 3 loads on this truck heading south. I asked how he was going to get a accurate weight and he said he had been doing this for 25 years and not to worry. He left and we said we would meet i8n ********. On the way down to ******** we received a call from Fallon Movers wanting payment. I called our bank and made arrangements for full payment plus an extra 10% since she said the load was over. When we got to ******** she said we needed to pay an extra 3042 dollars because the load was weighing in at over 16,000 lbs. She said she would bill us. Product_Or_Service: Moving Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) This is a typical scam we found out run by moving companies. We paid over $5500 dollars and think that is a fair price. We want them to stop harassing us with phone calls and sending people out to the house to intimidate us. They were paid for a job they gave to quotes for. How many other customers are they doing this to. If you look on the internet it is quite a few. Enough for President Obama to enact the Federal Motor carrier Safety Administration to look into over 1.2 million reported cases.

Business Response: At this time Fallon Moving & Storage and ********* ***** have reviewed the customers complaint and ask for an extension so that we may work out an amicable resolution.


Respectfully,

*** ******

Business Response: This customers complaint has been settled directly with ******


Respectfully,



*** ******

9/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable