BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Collegian Movers, Inc. offers complete moving, packing and full service storage. Residential, Commercial and Industrial. Serving the East Coast and shipping to any where. Climate controlled storage. We also offer long distance and international services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Collegian Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Collegian Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Collegian Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 21, 1992 Business started: 01/30/1989 Business started locally: 01/30/1989 Business incorporated: 01/27/1992 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Fernschild, President Mr. George Desrosiers, V.P. Sales Mr. David Glass, Accountant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Fernschild, President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Sales Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Transportation Services Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies Travel & Moving Services Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Service Area
Connecticut, metro New York, New England, Eastern Seabord
Alternate Business Names
A Collegian Movers

Additional Locations

  • 1 Mason St

    Greenwich, CT 06830

  • 37 Washington Ave

    East Haven, CT 06512

  • 674 Naugatuck Ave

    Milford, CT 06461 (203) 366-8882 (800) 966-6838 (203) 359-8889 (203) 869-7450 (203) 283-5044

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 359-8889(Phone)
  • (203) 366-8882(Phone)
  • (203) 869-7450(Phone)
  • (800) 966-6838(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collegian Movers uses the BBB acreditation despite not living up to its standards. I used the acreditation to help make the decision to use them. My complaints are:1. The service provided regarding the move was very substandard and did not comply with my wishes. My contractor complained they did not move furniture as required away from walls for the painters which ended up costing my extra money2. Post the move, I never heard from Collegian and never received an invioce. 3. 9 months after not hearing from them, I follwed up on several occasions. Despite assurances they would return phone calls, no one ever did. 4. In my phone calls they were unable to locate information on my move. The person anwering the phone was very unhelpful.5. Finally in May 2014, after escalating my frustration to their manager, I received a return call from **** ****, who promissed to locate my goods and help arrange the return of my goods. He sent an invoice, but never called regarding my move despite promissing to do so. He said they were very busy and would try to do something. He didn't return phone calls after.6. Their accounting person assigned to me (***** *****) was very rude. He refused to answer any question regarding my invoice, assurances that goods were there, abiliity to deliver my goods, and subsequently hung up in my face. He obviously did not want to answer any questions and only wanted his money (remember it was I who awoke them to the fact they never sent an invoice and who follwed up numerous times).7. They refuse to anser calls and return emails regarding my questions and only want their money. I have always assured them my willingness to pay as soon as I can get assurances tham my goods will be deliverd and they answer my invoice questions.8. Collegian is not deserving of BBB acreditation and should be avoided by all consumers. There are too many other deserving, honest and high quality services providers who deserve our business.

Desired Settlement: I would like BBB to help me resolve this ****er by contacting the company and asking them to answer my questions, assure me that all my goods are in their position and not damaged, and will commit to deliver my goods within a certain time frame after payment. If necessary, I would appreciate BBB helping me should any dispute regarding my invoice be necessary.

Business Response:

August 7, 2014

******* *****

Manager, Marketplace Operations

CT BBB

 Dear *******

The customer moved into our storage facility in July of 2013 and regretfully was never billed. Regardless of billing, storage charges are due monthly and accrue interest and penalties when late. In light of customer service we waved the fees and interest on the first billing (9 months of no payments). We have since invoiced the customer several times, with no payment and explained to him that he can only schedule the move out of storage once the bill is paid (SOP - standard operational procedure). He continues to not pay his bill and respond’s with unreasonable, costly and time consuming requests. We have returned his calls and emails.

Collegian has secure vaulted storage were all the items of each customer are put into large wooden boxes called vaults and positioned in the warehouse.  The vaults and contents are not touched until the scheduled move out. Once the account is current, now with a balance exceeding $2000, we can schedule the move out.

Thank you in advance for your assistance with this ****er

Best regards,

 **** **********

President

Collegian Movers Inc

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because unfortunately **** **** is not telling the whole story.  The BBB status reflects "Better Business", excellence, and quality customer care. **** forgets to mention that I had to call the client many times before returning my phone call. **** forgets to mention that even after speaking with someone and requesting information, they still never got back to me.  **** forgets to mention that I spent my time trying to help them find my bill which they had forgotten about.  After finally speaking with **** (because I demanded to speak with management) , I made a very simple request see below:

 

'Thank you ****. I look forward to hearing from you tomorrow regarding getting the things in storage this weekend.

Also with regards to the bill, can you kindly provide an itemized statement so I can confirm the services that were performed as well as the specific items currently in storage.

Many thanks,

****** ***

In fact ****, never got back to me during the weekend nor the following week until I called him. Does the above seem like an unreasonable request? I attach further email responses for you to decide if my requests were unreasonable or rude?  Please note at this time (end of May) , I still had not received a bill. I again followed up several times during June and July.  I then got the bill, and there were items that were not mine and needed clarification. Again, they never got back to me until last week (7/26). Before getting back to me, they sent a different, more expensive invoice charging me interest and penalties - remember THEY STILL HAD NOT ANSWERED THE MOST BASIC OF QUESTIONS AND REFUSED TO COMMIT TO A DELIVERY OR A DATE UNTIL I PAY. They simply sent another bill and charged more fees with the mantra -  you pay me first and then we will take care of your delivery and your questions.

 I would be very surprised that the Better Business Bureau would consider this quality customer service that deserves its logo. I work in the customer service area and manage warehouses as well so I know what is good client service. Finally please note, I have sent **** and Collegian movers their monies per their original invoice given he finally responded to part of my request. I can only hope now they will deliver my goods on time and in good condition. Will keep you informed.

 

Sincerely,

****** ***

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Collegian Movers to move my small one room office from ******* to ****** on July 1, 2014. They arrived over an hour late. They damaged the wall of the office from which I moved. They acknowledged the damage in writing on the freight bill. One of the movers, ******, called the Collegian Movers' office and informed "****" of the damage. On July 3, 2014, I spoke to ***** at Collegian Movers. He asked me to send him the pictures I had taken of the damaged walls. I sent him the photos via email and received no response back. At that time, the owner of the building had not yet had the work performed to fix the walls. On August 7, 2014, I sent ***** the invoice for $150 that I received from my former landlord. Granted, the invoice from the painters has the wrong month on it (it says that the work was performed in June and not July; I am attempting to get a corrected invoice), but all the same, I have still not received a response from Collegian Movers. Overall, my move was handled very poorly and I would not use Collegian Movers again nor would I recommend them to anyone. When I booked Collegian Movers, I was adamant that the movers had to arrive by 8:00 am. This was because of the parking situation at my previous office. Regardless, though, they showed up over an hour late and got upset when they could not park anywhere easily. The supervisor of the crew was very rude and confrontational with me. Finally, I have had the same furniture moved on 2 previous occasions. Each time, 2 men moved it without issue. This time, 4 men moved it and they managed to damage my furniture and the building. As I told ***** when I spoke to him on July 3, I am not making any claim for the damaged furniture; I simply want to be reimbursed for the painting to repair the walls. At this time, I am making this complaint because I am being completely ignored. As ****** told me, Collegian Movers deals with damage to walls "all the time" because "it happens." Why then am I being ignored?

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $150 that it cost to have the walls painted that Collegian Movers damaged. My former landlord has deducted this amount from my security deposit. Collegian Movers charged me $648 to move ONE room of office furniture about 5 miles. The entire move took 2 hours. At the time I booked them, I knew that they were essentially over-charging me but I was willing to pay the money to have professional movers move me in order to avoid problems.

Consumer Response:

From: ****************** ***************************
Sent: Monday, August 18, 2014 12:28 PM
To: info@ct.bbb.org
Subject: Complaint with ID ********.

 

To whom it may concern:

 

I received a satisfactory response from the business about which I filed a complaint with the BBB (Collegian Movers).  I would like to withdraw my complaint against Collegian Movers.  Please let me know whether this email is adequate to do so.

 

Thank you in advance for your response.

 

Regards,

 

***** ** ** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers were lost because they were given the wrong address or put the wrong address in there GPS. It took them an extra hour to get there. They told us it was included in the Travel Time posted on the bill and we wouldn't be charged. They started at 10:30 AM and finished at 5PM (6.5 hours). They put 7.5 hours on the Bill of Lading. I didn't notice it until after they left. When I called the company to let them know of the difference, I was told the extra hour was for the time it took them to get there. I was told by the driver I wasn't going to be charged for this when he arrived.

Desired Settlement: Send a check for $132.60 that we shouldn't have been charged.

Consumer Response:

From: **** *******
Sent: Monday, April 14, 2014 11:40 AM
To: BBB
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #********

 

To BBB,

We have received a reply from Collegian Movers, and they want to resolve the issue.  They said they will send me a check ASAP.

Thanks for your help resolving this issue,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PAID ALMOST 1000 TO HAVE THEM MOVE ME. THEY DROPPED MY DRESSER AND RUINED IT. DRESSER WAS A FEW MONTHS OLD. ENTIRE BOTTOM BROKEN OUT DUE TO DROPPING. FILED AN INSURANCE CLAIM. **** WITH THEIR OFFICE SAID CHECK WAS IN THE MAIL, STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED A CHECK AND IT IS TWO MONTHS. I AM GETTING THE RUN AROUND. ALSO, I PAID EXTRA TO HAVE AN ITEM DELIVERED TO A 3RD ADDRESS THE NIGHT OF THE 7TH. THE ITEM WAS NOT DELIVERED UNTIL THE 10TH. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Desired Settlement: REFUND FOR DRESSER AND FOR EXTRA I PAID TO HAVE ITEM DELIVERED ON THE 7TH.

Business Response: To whom it may concern

Collegian Movers did respond the customer and complaint in a timely fashion.

We responded on February 5, 2014 (post marked) with a letter and settlement check.  The response was sent to the address listed on our paper work and the claim form. Since the letter (paper work and claim form) did not have the apartment number the letter was sent back as "insufficient address..."

We then contacted the customer to inform them of this and readdressed the envelope to include the apt number. Then again on March 8, 2014 we received the letter back again with " No mail receptacle - unable to forward". Today we contacted the customer and received a different address and again resent the letter.

Attached is a copy of the 2 envelope covers showing the post marks and notes

Thank you in advance for your assistance regarding this matter

Collegian Movers Inc 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I have received the check.  However, their movers ruined a piece of furniture. I sent the amount of the piece of furniture with a receipt and photos to the company.  I received the check today and the amount they paid was much less than replacement cost.They were given the receipt.  The item was 4 months old when they ruined it.  I am shocked that they would ruin the furniture and then send half the amount of cost to cover this item.  It is very disappointing.  I will not be satisfied until I have the replacement value for the piece of furniture their movers ruined.  I did not expect movers to drop a piece of furniture and completely ruin it and send a menial amount saying this is what it is worth.  I will not be satisfied until I am reimbursed the replacement cost. 

Sincerely,

**** *******

Consumer Response: From: ** *
Sent: Thursday, March 13, 2014 1:36 PM
To: ******** *******
Subject: Re: FW: Message from *****************

We did not have a signed contract.  They sent the contact that I submitted to you, the quote and when they came on that day I wrote a check for the amount.  I did not meet them or exchange documents prior to the day of move.  I have the insurance claim with the receipt and photos but I submitted that with my original complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Collegian Movers 2 months prior to our move for a quote. The actual cost was double the quote. Horrible sales practices. Awful business but crafty when it comes to inflating the cost and man hours.

Desired Settlement: We contacted Collegian mover 2 months prior to our 10 mile move of our 2 bedroom home. I was given a detailed quote based upon our belongings. The movers showed up with a vehicle that was too small. A second vehicle was sent for and showed up 3 hours behind schedule. The move in to the new home was a disaster. Both vehicles did not show up to unload at the scheduled time. The second vehicle was 6 hours late to extend the overtime hours. IN short the move bill was double the quoted price.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/14) */ Consumer's Original Complaint : We contacted Collegian Movers 2 months prior to our move for a quote. - Original contact 3.8.13 at 10:48:47 AM The actual cost was double the quote. - Our detailed estimate emailed on 3.26.13 at 12:48:40 PM was to include - 1111 cubic feet of items, our trucks hold 1950 cubic feet to allow for some additional items not listed - the customer had a 20' trailer and was to move some of the items not listed himself - when the movers arrived they found this was not the case - after loading all of the original listed items the customer requested they move everything, at which time the foreman call to have another truck dispatched to complete the move. The second truck was only charged for at regular rates and only for the time it was used. Original estimate was for 2,143.95 which is very accurate given the customer provided list - final cost was $3,379.28 which includes all the additional items not in the estimate. Horrible sales practices. - in addition to the detailed list of items by room our estimates included this language "Estimate is provided based on your description of the items moving ... Please read the items list for accuracy and confirm that we have included all the items that you are moving, including the correct number of boxes to be moved. All charges are hourly, ..." Awful business but crafty when it comes to inflating the cost and man hours. - Customer never complained to us about any service issues. Consumer's Desired Resolution: We contacted Collegian mover 2 months prior to our 10 mile move of our 2 bedroom home. I was given a detailed quote based upon our belongings. The movers showed up with a vehicle that was too small. - estimate of detailed listed items provided for by the customer was for 1111 cubic feet - truck capacity is 1950 cubic feet? A second vehicle was sent for and showed up 3 hours behind schedule. - Second vehicle was not needed in original estimate and only sent at the customer's request to move additional items that he was originally going to move himself. Additional items were mostly in the 2 car garage, yard and the shed. The move in to the new home was a disaster. ?? Both vehicles did not show up to unload at the scheduled time. - scheduled unload was between 12:00 noon and 2:00 PM - truck was signed in at 1:15 PM The second vehicle was 6 hours late to extend the overtime hours. - no overtime was charged - all charges are at regular rates - 2nd truck was sent later so the customer would not be charged for the truck sitting and waiting to be unloaded. IN short the move bill was double the quoted price. - Again the estimate for what was listed by the customer was accurate - it's the additional items not included in the estimate (the items customer was going to move with his 20' trailer) that resulted in additional costs. In summary the cost of the move was over the estimate price due to additional items not included in the estimate that the customer was intending to move on his own. The attic was estimated at 50 boxes but had 150 boxes and items, garage was to have a refrigerator only - but we moved everything in a full 2 car garage, the shed was not to have anything but was full and we moved that also. In short the price charged was very fair giving the items originally contracted for and all of the additional items moved and work provided. Thank you in advance for your help in resolving this matter. Sincerely ****** ****** Collegian Movers Inc

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service