BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Collegian Movers, Inc. offers complete moving, packing and full service storage. Residential, Commercial and Industrial. Serving the East Coast and shipping to any where. Climate controlled storage. We also offer long distance and international services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Collegian Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Collegian Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Collegian Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 1992 Business started: 01/30/1989 Business started locally: 01/30/1989 Business incorporated 01/27/1992 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Fernschild, President Mr. George Desrosiers, V.P. Sales Mr. David Glass, Accountant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Fernschild, President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Sales Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Transportation Services Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies Travel & Moving Services Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Service Area
Connecticut, metro New York, New England, Eastern Seabord
Alternate Business Names
A Collegian Movers

Additional Locations

  • 1 Mason St

    Greenwich, CT 06830

  • 37 Washington Ave

    East Haven, CT 06512

  • 674 Naugatuck Ave

    Milford, CT 06461 (203) 366-8882 (800) 966-6838 (203) 359-8889 (203) 869-7450 (203) 283-5044

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Guys did not wrap a single thing to protect it from getting damaged. Luckily nothing coming out of house was damaged. Your driver ( who i will call "****" because I dont remember his name, Jamaican accent) who was in charge was the only one I have a complaint with. Very bad attitude most of the time and I wouldnt want him working for me but its your business. Everyone else was great and pleasant. As we were finishing up the pack I was told by **** that my motorcycle would not be taken because of the fuel in it. Had that been communicated by you to me beforehand I obviously would not have filled up my tank. One of the other guys improvised and disassembled my bike emptying the gas out of it. Then preceding to take the gas with him. They had to crowbar threshold from front door in their opinion to get couch out of house. Even though I moved it in with a friend previously without having to do that. I asked him before leaving to please put it back together. He said he will send someone back to do it. Needless to say, noone came back. They also scratched up the wall quite a bit in trying to get the couch out of the house. Upon arrival in NJ I was demanded the money up front before everything was taken off the truck. I said that makes no sense. I showed him the money and said I would like to pay half now and half upon completion. Why would I pay before the job is done? What if you break stuff or dont reassemble? He threatened to drive back to origin city and charge me double after speaking to his boss which i presume wasnt you. I asked to see the contract which states payment is due upon delivery. Delivery does not mean still inside your truck. When I buy a couch and have it delivered they dont consider it delivered until its in my house. This was absurd. The other workers told me payment is due after job. I ended up giving in and paid much to my dismay Of course one of my bookshelves that **** took out by himself with the handtruck completely broke into pieces and is irreparable. Now Im out at least $100 for that. Needless to say I was completely dissatisfied with the entire event solely due to that ****. In case you are wondering I paid for their lunch and gave them plenty to drink. I also tipped the crew very handsomely because I didnt want to hold back from everyone because of one ****. I have taken picture if the need arises to show the damage

Desired Settlement: $600 Gas taken 2 bookshelves broken Not repairing door threshold Scratching walls/paint in tryiing to remove couch Being completely unprofessional For aggravation and lack of response from the company after several attempts to deal with this in a civil manner.

Business Response:

October 5, 2014

******* *****

Manager, Marketplace Operations

CT BBB

RE: ID ********

Dear *******,

In regards to the issues with the above mentioned move please be advised the Collegian Movers Inc “CMI” gives binding estimates on almost all interstate moves, this move was a binding estimate. What this means is that an exact list of items to be moved is provided by the customer, the access at both locations is stated and identified and a guaranteed price is given based on this information. On this particular move the actual number of items to move was more than what was listed. In Addition the customer was not completely prepared and packed, and many items were on the 2nd and 3rd floor. Additionally on the 3rd floor there were approximately 12 huge xxxl boxes packed with books, appliances that were not ready for moving and the stair access ways were very tight. No stairs were noted on the estimate. This job was estimated as a ground floor to ground floor move. Had these items been mentioned and the stairs at the time of estimate or anytime before moving day the price would have increased significantly and additional men would have been sent to assure a timely load. Instead we had to send men from the warehouse at the last minute.

When the warehouse manager arrived he said it was like an episode of horders, trash all over the place, doors had to be removed, a baby (aprox. 1 yr old) was crawling around unattended (one mover had to quickly put down an item to stop the baby from falling down the stairs), the fridge was full and was on the 3rd floor, etc. The customer was picking and choosing what went causing further delays (the house was a mess).

On October 3, after speaking with the customer, in an effort to resolve the issues, an employee went out to the origin house to confirm the front door was reinstalled. While there a neighbor came out and asked if he was with the “**** ** **********” because she had filed a complaint to them about boxes and trash left in and around the house. Her concern was for rodents and bugs. The employee took photos of what could be seen from the street of the piles of boxes and debris left behind, on the side of the house (not a pretty sight).

In short the customer did not properly prepare accordingly or communicate to us the actual details of the move. It should be noted that our driver did his best to accommodate this customer and make the move as smooth as possible given the unpreparedness of the customer. Moving a motorcycle full of gas is not allowed by movers. All furniture is pad wrapped in the truck and secured, unless the “pad n wrap” service in house is requested (VIP service $$).

CMI is continuing to try and work out an amicable resolution with the customer.

Thank you in advance for your assistance regarding this matter.

Collegian Movers Inc

Consumer Response: First of all I would like to start by saying that I am appalled that I have to respond to some of these claims due to the fact that these movers are outright lying about so many of these claims: My responses to these absurdities will be in bold and I will go through all these point by point.


In regards to the issues with the above mentioned move please be advised the Collegian Movers Inc “CMI” gives binding estimates on almost all interstate moves, this move was a binding estimate. What this means is that an exact list of items to be moved is provided by the customer, the access at both locations is stated and identified and a guaranteed price is given based on this information. On this particular move the actual number of items to move was more than what was listed.

The actual quote that was done was done by employee named ****** over the phone well before a single box was packed. I asked to to quote for the average amount of boxes that people pack per room and we went through all listed items in terms of furniture. I said to ****** that since I havent packed yet what will happen if we have more boxes than the quote. He stated that if you pay for 60 boxes and you end up having 100 than "we are going to have a problem." but if you exceed the amount by 5-10 boxes then it will be fine. I said Ok but since I havent packed anything, what if I end up with 100 boxes?. He said then you can just pay for the remainder boxes. I would also like to point out that even if there were more boxes, there were several items that were included in quote that werent taken. That is: Dining room table, all associated chairs, 2 bed frames, and a dresser. So even if there were some extra, there were some not included as well. If they should choose to charge me for said overage I will like them to list what was extra. Also I had bought coffee for them. Gave them $37 for lunch. Gave them $200 tip to the crew plus I believe $35 to employee named **** who didnt stay with us for the entire move (more on that later) and I paid in $100 for the move and never received change from the employee referenced as "****" in previous complaint. So I would say that I more than covered said overage.

In Addition the customer was not completely prepared and packed, and many items were on the 2nd and 3rd floor. Additionally on the 3rd floor there were approximately 12 huge xxxl boxes packed with books, appliances that were not ready for moving and the stair access ways were very tight. No stairs were noted on the estimate. This job was estimated as a ground floor to ground floor move. Had these items been mentioned and the stairs at the time of estimate or anytime before moving day the price would have increased significantly and additional men would have been sent to assure a timely load. Instead we had to send men from the warehouse at the last minute.

I called ****** within 3 days of getting the quote saying that in his listed quote it says that we are on ground floor and that is not the case. ****** responded, "if you want, you can change it." To which I responded, "what do you mean if I want? It doesnt make any difference to me but only matters to you!" He responded again, "If you want." I took this repetitive statement as acknowledgement that it wasnt a big deal otherwise he would have demanded I change it. Now I see why he didnt, so that if the customer complains than they have this rebuttal to not reimburse items.

The movers didnt show up on time for the move. Even the time that "****" listed that he arrived was a lie. I assumed that he lied to save himself from his boss. If the movers had come on time there would have been more time to complete move. I would love to know where these movers that came last minute came from since they arrived 5 min after the first guys. Also employee named **** left for several hours during the move as well as didnt join his crew on the drive or to unload truck.

The boxes referenced were not XXXL as stated. They were XL. I didnt special order these crazy XXXL boxes to make their life difficult. And there were less than 5 of them not 12 as stated. None of these boxes were heavy. Maybe awkward but not heavy. My 110lb wife was able to carry them herself and did so withthin our house. As a matter of fact all these "XXXL" boxes were carried down by ONE employee except ONE box! The one that he didnt carry I helped "****" bring down myself and it gave us no trouble whatsoever. I would posit to say that there were never enough movers sent to begin with. 

When the warehouse manager arrived he said it was like an episode of horders, trash all over the place, doors had to be removed, a baby (aprox. 1 yr old) was crawling around unattended (one mover had to quickly put down an item to stop the baby from falling down the stairs), the fridge was full and was on the 3rd floor, etc. The customer was picking and choosing what went causing further delays (the house was a mess).

Before the movers came myself and 2 friends undid our bedframes as well as took off every single hinge and door and wooden post to clear all furniture for removal with exception to the front door for obvious reasons. I also repeatedly told them that there was no need to remove threshold from door (which they never replaced causing this complaint) in order to remove the couch since I myself was able to bring couch in without this removal. If these movers had any ability to do their job this wouldnt have happened.

My entire family was there as well as a friend watching the entire time during move. At no point was my 1 year old unattended. I am utterly angry at the implication that my son was left alone. 

The fridge stated was on the 2nd floor not the 3rd as stated. 

At no point were the movers delayed to our packing/choosing. Their delay was due to the fact that they never had enough employees at job, **** left in middle, and they were inept at moving. The exact job they were hired to do.

 

On October 3, after speaking with the customer, in an effort to resolve the issues, an employee went out to the origin house to confirm the front door was reinstalled. While there a neighbor came out and asked if he was with the “City of Bridgeport” because she had filed a complaint to them about boxes and trash left in and around the house. Her concern was for rodents and bugs. The employee took photos of what could be seen from the street of the piles of boxes and debris left behind, on the side of the house (not a pretty sight).

I have no idea how this paragraph has any relevance to their job of moving. As stated, all these problems are on the outside of the house. I would also like to point out that there are new tenants renting the space and I have no idea what is there since the move nor should i be responsible for this.

In short the customer did not properly prepare accordingly or communicate to us the actual details of the move. It should be noted that our driver did his best to accommodate this customer and make the move as smooth as possible given the unpreparedness of the customer. Moving a motorcycle full of gas is not allowed by movers. All furniture is pad wrapped in the truck and secured, unless the “pad n wrap” service in house is requested (VIP service $$).

****** who originally gave this quote new from the start that there was a motorcycle. He failed to mention that there can not be gas in the tank. I had just filled up that week because that little detail was missed. **** disassembled the gas tank to drain the gas and then left with it to hide from the leader named as "****." **** apologized and acknowledged  in a phone conversation since that he took this gas. 

The said padding that was used was not used on our furniture. It was piled up in the corner of the truck.

CMI is continuing to try and work out an amicable resolution with the customer.

With all the lies within their claim, honestly, I dont see how they are trying to work out a resolution.

I am including some pictures so you can see some of the ineptitude of these movers.

A company like this does not deserve the A+ rating that they currently have which I was I feel others should be warned about their moving abilities or lack thereof. And severe lack of professionalism by "****" the lead mover.

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

*** *****

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collegian Movers uses the BBB acreditation despite not living up to its standards. I used the acreditation to help make the decision to use them. My complaints are:1. The service provided regarding the move was very substandard and did not comply with my wishes. My contractor complained they did not move furniture as required away from walls for the painters which ended up costing my extra money2. Post the move, I never heard from Collegian and never received an invioce. 3. 9 months after not hearing from them, I follwed up on several occasions. Despite assurances they would return phone calls, no one ever did. 4. In my phone calls they were unable to locate information on my move. The person anwering the phone was very unhelpful.5. Finally in May 2014, after escalating my frustration to their manager, I received a return call from **** ****, who promissed to locate my goods and help arrange the return of my goods. He sent an invoice, but never called regarding my move despite promissing to do so. He said they were very busy and would try to do something. He didn't return phone calls after.6. Their accounting person assigned to me (***** *****) was very rude. He refused to answer any question regarding my invoice, assurances that goods were there, abiliity to deliver my goods, and subsequently hung up in my face. He obviously did not want to answer any questions and only wanted his money (remember it was I who awoke them to the fact they never sent an invoice and who follwed up numerous times).7. They refuse to anser calls and return emails regarding my questions and only want their money. I have always assured them my willingness to pay as soon as I can get assurances tham my goods will be deliverd and they answer my invoice questions.8. Collegian is not deserving of BBB acreditation and should be avoided by all consumers. There are too many other deserving, honest and high quality services providers who deserve our business.

Desired Settlement: I would like BBB to help me resolve this ****er by contacting the company and asking them to answer my questions, assure me that all my goods are in their position and not damaged, and will commit to deliver my goods within a certain time frame after payment. If necessary, I would appreciate BBB helping me should any dispute regarding my invoice be necessary.

Business Response:

August 7, 2014

******* *****

Manager, Marketplace Operations

CT BBB

 Dear *******

The customer moved into our storage facility in July of 2013 and regretfully was never billed. Regardless of billing, storage charges are due monthly and accrue interest and penalties when late. In light of customer service we waved the fees and interest on the first billing (9 months of no payments). We have since invoiced the customer several times, with no payment and explained to him that he can only schedule the move out of storage once the bill is paid (SOP - standard operational procedure). He continues to not pay his bill and respond’s with unreasonable, costly and time consuming requests. We have returned his calls and emails.

Collegian has secure vaulted storage were all the items of each customer are put into large wooden boxes called vaults and positioned in the warehouse.  The vaults and contents are not touched until the scheduled move out. Once the account is current, now with a balance exceeding $2000, we can schedule the move out.

Thank you in advance for your assistance with this ****er

Best regards,

 **** **********

President

Collegian Movers Inc

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because unfortunately **** **** is not telling the whole story.  The BBB status reflects "Better Business", excellence, and quality customer care. **** forgets to mention that I had to call the client many times before returning my phone call. **** forgets to mention that even after speaking with someone and requesting information, they still never got back to me.  **** forgets to mention that I spent my time trying to help them find my bill which they had forgotten about.  After finally speaking with **** (because I demanded to speak with management) , I made a very simple request see below:

 

'Thank you ****. I look forward to hearing from you tomorrow regarding getting the things in storage this weekend.

Also with regards to the bill, can you kindly provide an itemized statement so I can confirm the services that were performed as well as the specific items currently in storage.

Many thanks,

****** ***

In fact ****, never got back to me during the weekend nor the following week until I called him. Does the above seem like an unreasonable request? I attach further email responses for you to decide if my requests were unreasonable or rude?  Please note at this time (end of May) , I still had not received a bill. I again followed up several times during June and July.  I then got the bill, and there were items that were not mine and needed clarification. Again, they never got back to me until last week (7/26). Before getting back to me, they sent a different, more expensive invoice charging me interest and penalties - remember THEY STILL HAD NOT ANSWERED THE MOST BASIC OF QUESTIONS AND REFUSED TO COMMIT TO A DELIVERY OR A DATE UNTIL I PAY. They simply sent another bill and charged more fees with the mantra -  you pay me first and then we will take care of your delivery and your questions.

 I would be very surprised that the Better Business Bureau would consider this quality customer service that deserves its logo. I work in the customer service area and manage warehouses as well so I know what is good client service. Finally please note, I have sent **** and Collegian movers their monies per their original invoice given he finally responded to part of my request. I can only hope now they will deliver my goods on time and in good condition. Will keep you informed.

 

Sincerely,

****** ***

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Collegian Movers to move my small one room office from ******* to ****** on July 1, 2014. They arrived over an hour late. They damaged the wall of the office from which I moved. They acknowledged the damage in writing on the freight bill. One of the movers, ******, called the Collegian Movers' office and informed "****" of the damage. On July 3, 2014, I spoke to ***** at Collegian Movers. He asked me to send him the pictures I had taken of the damaged walls. I sent him the photos via email and received no response back. At that time, the owner of the building had not yet had the work performed to fix the walls. On August 7, 2014, I sent ***** the invoice for $150 that I received from my former landlord. Granted, the invoice from the painters has the wrong month on it (it says that the work was performed in June and not July; I am attempting to get a corrected invoice), but all the same, I have still not received a response from Collegian Movers. Overall, my move was handled very poorly and I would not use Collegian Movers again nor would I recommend them to anyone. When I booked Collegian Movers, I was adamant that the movers had to arrive by 8:00 am. This was because of the parking situation at my previous office. Regardless, though, they showed up over an hour late and got upset when they could not park anywhere easily. The supervisor of the crew was very rude and confrontational with me. Finally, I have had the same furniture moved on 2 previous occasions. Each time, 2 men moved it without issue. This time, 4 men moved it and they managed to damage my furniture and the building. As I told ***** when I spoke to him on July 3, I am not making any claim for the damaged furniture; I simply want to be reimbursed for the painting to repair the walls. At this time, I am making this complaint because I am being completely ignored. As ****** told me, Collegian Movers deals with damage to walls "all the time" because "it happens." Why then am I being ignored?

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $150 that it cost to have the walls painted that Collegian Movers damaged. My former landlord has deducted this amount from my security deposit. Collegian Movers charged me $648 to move ONE room of office furniture about 5 miles. The entire move took 2 hours. At the time I booked them, I knew that they were essentially over-charging me but I was willing to pay the money to have professional movers move me in order to avoid problems.

Consumer Response:

From: ****************** ***************************
Sent: Monday, August 18, 2014 12:28 PM
To: info@ct.bbb.org
Subject: Complaint with ID ********.

 

To whom it may concern:

 

I received a satisfactory response from the business about which I filed a complaint with the BBB (Collegian Movers).  I would like to withdraw my complaint against Collegian Movers.  Please let me know whether this email is adequate to do so.

 

Thank you in advance for your response.

 

Regards,

 

***** ** ** *****

 

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers were lost because they were given the wrong address or put the wrong address in there GPS. It took them an extra hour to get there. They told us it was included in the Travel Time posted on the bill and we wouldn't be charged. They started at 10:30 AM and finished at 5PM (6.5 hours). They put 7.5 hours on the Bill of Lading. I didn't notice it until after they left. When I called the company to let them know of the difference, I was told the extra hour was for the time it took them to get there. I was told by the driver I wasn't going to be charged for this when he arrived.

Desired Settlement: Send a check for $132.60 that we shouldn't have been charged.

Consumer Response:

From: **** *******
Sent: Monday, April 14, 2014 11:40 AM
To: BBB
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #********

 

To BBB,

We have received a reply from Collegian Movers, and they want to resolve the issue.  They said they will send me a check ASAP.

Thanks for your help resolving this issue,

**** *******

3/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PAID ALMOST 1000 TO HAVE THEM MOVE ME. THEY DROPPED MY DRESSER AND RUINED IT. DRESSER WAS A FEW MONTHS OLD. ENTIRE BOTTOM BROKEN OUT DUE TO DROPPING. FILED AN INSURANCE CLAIM. **** WITH THEIR OFFICE SAID CHECK WAS IN THE MAIL, STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED A CHECK AND IT IS TWO MONTHS. I AM GETTING THE RUN AROUND. ALSO, I PAID EXTRA TO HAVE AN ITEM DELIVERED TO A 3RD ADDRESS THE NIGHT OF THE 7TH. THE ITEM WAS NOT DELIVERED UNTIL THE 10TH. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Desired Settlement: REFUND FOR DRESSER AND FOR EXTRA I PAID TO HAVE ITEM DELIVERED ON THE 7TH.

Business Response: To whom it may concern

Collegian Movers did respond the customer and complaint in a timely fashion.

We responded on February 5, 2014 (post marked) with a letter and settlement check.  The response was sent to the address listed on our paper work and the claim form. Since the letter (paper work and claim form) did not have the apartment number the letter was sent back as "insufficient address..."

We then contacted the customer to inform them of this and readdressed the envelope to include the apt number. Then again on March 8, 2014 we received the letter back again with " No mail receptacle - unable to forward". Today we contacted the customer and received a different address and again resent the letter.

Attached is a copy of the 2 envelope covers showing the post marks and notes

Thank you in advance for your assistance regarding this matter

Collegian Movers Inc 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I have received the check.  However, their movers ruined a piece of furniture. I sent the amount of the piece of furniture with a receipt and photos to the company.  I received the check today and the amount they paid was much less than replacement cost.They were given the receipt.  The item was 4 months old when they ruined it.  I am shocked that they would ruin the furniture and then send half the amount of cost to cover this item.  It is very disappointing.  I will not be satisfied until I have the replacement value for the piece of furniture their movers ruined.  I did not expect movers to drop a piece of furniture and completely ruin it and send a menial amount saying this is what it is worth.  I will not be satisfied until I am reimbursed the replacement cost. 

Sincerely,

**** *******

Consumer Response: From: ** *
Sent: Thursday, March 13, 2014 1:36 PM
To: ******** *******
Subject: Re: FW: Message from *****************

We did not have a signed contract.  They sent the contact that I submitted to you, the quote and when they came on that day I wrote a check for the amount.  I did not meet them or exchange documents prior to the day of move.  I have the insurance claim with the receipt and photos but I submitted that with my original complaint.

5/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Collegian Movers 2 months prior to our move for a quote. The actual cost was double the quote. Horrible sales practices. Awful business but crafty when it comes to inflating the cost and man hours.

Desired Settlement: We contacted Collegian mover 2 months prior to our 10 mile move of our 2 bedroom home. I was given a detailed quote based upon our belongings. The movers showed up with a vehicle that was too small. A second vehicle was sent for and showed up 3 hours behind schedule. The move in to the new home was a disaster. Both vehicles did not show up to unload at the scheduled time. The second vehicle was 6 hours late to extend the overtime hours. IN short the move bill was double the quoted price.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/14) */ Consumer's Original Complaint : We contacted Collegian Movers 2 months prior to our move for a quote. - Original contact 3.8.13 at 10:48:47 AM The actual cost was double the quote. - Our detailed estimate emailed on 3.26.13 at 12:48:40 PM was to include - 1111 cubic feet of items, our trucks hold 1950 cubic feet to allow for some additional items not listed - the customer had a 20' trailer and was to move some of the items not listed himself - when the movers arrived they found this was not the case - after loading all of the original listed items the customer requested they move everything, at which time the foreman call to have another truck dispatched to complete the move. The second truck was only charged for at regular rates and only for the time it was used. Original estimate was for 2,143.95 which is very accurate given the customer provided list - final cost was $3,379.28 which includes all the additional items not in the estimate. Horrible sales practices. - in addition to the detailed list of items by room our estimates included this language "Estimate is provided based on your description of the items moving ... Please read the items list for accuracy and confirm that we have included all the items that you are moving, including the correct number of boxes to be moved. All charges are hourly, ..." Awful business but crafty when it comes to inflating the cost and man hours. - Customer never complained to us about any service issues. Consumer's Desired Resolution: We contacted Collegian mover 2 months prior to our 10 mile move of our 2 bedroom home. I was given a detailed quote based upon our belongings. The movers showed up with a vehicle that was too small. - estimate of detailed listed items provided for by the customer was for 1111 cubic feet - truck capacity is 1950 cubic feet? A second vehicle was sent for and showed up 3 hours behind schedule. - Second vehicle was not needed in original estimate and only sent at the customer's request to move additional items that he was originally going to move himself. Additional items were mostly in the 2 car garage, yard and the shed. The move in to the new home was a disaster. ?? Both vehicles did not show up to unload at the scheduled time. - scheduled unload was between 12:00 noon and 2:00 PM - truck was signed in at 1:15 PM The second vehicle was 6 hours late to extend the overtime hours. - no overtime was charged - all charges are at regular rates - 2nd truck was sent later so the customer would not be charged for the truck sitting and waiting to be unloaded. IN short the move bill was double the quoted price. - Again the estimate for what was listed by the customer was accurate - it's the additional items not included in the estimate (the items customer was going to move with his 20' trailer) that resulted in additional costs. In summary the cost of the move was over the estimate price due to additional items not included in the estimate that the customer was intending to move on his own. The attic was estimated at 50 boxes but had 150 boxes and items, garage was to have a refrigerator only - but we moved everything in a full 2 car garage, the shed was not to have anything but was full and we moved that also. In short the price charged was very fair giving the items originally contracted for and all of the additional items moved and work provided. Thank you in advance for your help in resolving this matter. Sincerely ****** ****** Collegian Movers Inc

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service