BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Braun Moving, Inc. offers moving and storage services locally and interstate.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Braun Moving, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Braun Moving, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 12, 1996 Business started: 09/24/1987 Business started locally: 09/24/1987 Business incorporated: 09/24/1987 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip D. Braun, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip D. Braun, President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Delivery Service Movers Warehousing Services Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Braun Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

  • 46 Barnabas Rd

    Newtown, CT 06470 (203) 590-7300 (203) 426-2394

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 590-7300(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Braun ****** for my interstate move. Due to improper packaging,, my furniture was damaged. Due to improper identification, items were lost. An maple dining room table that we value was damaged during our move. I paid extra for the gentlemen to pack my goods. Regardless, the gents ought to know how to carefully wrap and protect the legs of a table. That is part of any movers responsibility. One of the legs was damaged. I have attempted to get ******s to recognize the damage and have it repaired, yet they hide behind a deductible for their warrantee. I am sorry, I do not agree that a deductible is in play when there is damage due to carelessness. Further, two items were lost. A piece of luggage that contained within it a *** exercise platform. Granted that neither of these has a tremendous monetary value, but it is their responsibility to try to locate them. By the way, it was their gents that saw fit to store the *** board inside the bag in the first place, instead of putting a piece of luggage and an electronic device in a box! I reached out by phone twice and then with a "required form" to try to get them to locate the bag. I seems to me that it should not have been all that difficult to make a few phone calls - to the warehouse and the other homes that were on the same trailer truck - and have those people look for the bag. Nope! They hide behind the deductible again and have the audacity to claim that they did not page the device in the bag, I must have. Both of these cases could have been cleared up so easily, but they force me to seek your help with a resolution.

Desired Settlement: I want compensation so that I can have the table repaired by a knowledgeable wood re-finisher. I want Braun/******* to locate the bag that went lost, of to be compensated for replacements for the two items.

Business Response:

September 17, 2013

Better Business Bureau

******** *******

Re: Case# *******

Dear ********,

Braun Moving Inc. is an agent for ******* ********* *** *****. 

Mr. ******* filed his claim thru ******* and paid for valuation coverage of $45,000.00 with a $250.00 deductible which gets handled thru *******.  The claim gets processed thru ******* ********* *** ***** not Braun Moving Inc.

Mr. *******’s filed a claim for $165.00 which would need to be met before any settlement can be forwarded.

Mr. ******* never contacted our office asking Braun for assistance with his claim.

I have attached copies of all correspondence thru Mr. ******* and ******* *********.

Thank you

***** *******

Relocation Coordinator

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Held delivery of household goods hostage for increased payment in violation of their "estimate/order for service" . No bill of lading weight. *** ****** of Braun Moving, Inc. provided a quote for packing and shipping our household goods. The first quote provided on approx. 8/20/2012 was: Transportation: 13,930 pounds, 1103 miles for $6722.27 and cartons at $527.91 for a total of $7,250.18 In early September we requested a revised quote as several larger pieces of furniture and other innes had been sold after the original quote. On 9/8/2012 we were provided a quote of: Transportation: 11,949 pounds, 1103 miles for $5976.55 and cartons at $459.49 for a total of $6436.04 After the shipments was in transit we received a call from Braun informing us the delivery would not be made unless we paid them $8373.05 with a credit card prior to delivery. Delivery would not be made unless we agreed to this. The Order of Service clearly states if total charges exceed 10% of estimated charges, you may pay 110% of the amount estimated and request delivery of your goods, and you will be billed for the balance of charges 30 days after delivery. Braun refused to do this. Braun acted in violation of it's own agreement. Further, the Bill of Lading provided at delivery did not indicate a weight so it was impossible to determine if the weight was a factor in the increased cost. Brans was hired, in part due to it's 30 years of experience and membership in professional associations such as yours. Therefore, one would not expect estimates to be off by over 30%.

Desired Settlement: 1. Copy of Bill of Lading(s) indicating weight of shipment (see complaint description)which can substantiate the additional charge beyond the estimate. 2. Refund of $968.51 which is 50% of the excess charges demanded before delivery in compensation for this unethical practice of holding our household good hostage in spite of the fact we should have been invoiced 30 days after delivery for the excess charges and given 10 days to pay. 3. An apology for the unethical behavior in demanding the extra payment before delivery

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/09/03) */ September 3, 2013 ******** ******* Better Business Bureau, Inc. 94 South Turnpike Rd Wallingford, CT 06492 Re: Case# XXXXXXX Dear Ms ******** The ****'s bill of lading reads the weights of their shipment on the bill of lading which they signed and acknowledged at destination. Bill of lading has stated gross, tare and net on the bill of lading. Their estimated weight was 11949lbs, their actual weight was 14020lbs. Estimated items on estimate 243 total items shipped 313. Estimated packing 15 total packed 73. Therefore additional items added and additional packing requested did increase the price. If they asked for copies of the weight tickets it would have be given to them. They could have also requested to observe the Gross and Tare weight if requested. Mr. **** sent an email authorizing us to charge his credit card for the cost of his move for $8373.05. If customer wanted to pay the estimate plus 10% we would processed then payment of $7079.64 and he could have been billed the balance of $1293.41. The ****'s have never requested copies of the weight tickets and their balance owed would have been paid in full by now since they moved last year. Not sure why we are getting this complaint against us when the move is almost a year ago. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ***** ******* Relocation Coordinator

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1