BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers packing, moving and moving related services, commercial relocation, small pick ups and deliveries, preparation for sale/security deposit retention, cleaning services, dump runs and labor services only.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J & C Moving LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J & C Moving LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 08, 2009 Business started: 04/02/2008 Business started locally: 04/02/2008 Business incorporated: 04/02/2008 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Christopher A. Cabral, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher A. Cabral, Member
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Relocation Service


Additional Locations

  • 587 Prospect Hill Rd

    Windsor, CT 06095 (860) 573-1901 (860) 298-0375

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (860) 298-0375(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ***** ****** to move my furniture from Meriden-Ct. to Danbury Ct. on April 29. My contract with him was for $800 to a $1000.The service was rude and the worst I have ever seen. Mr. ****** over charged me by $450 dollars plus when he backed up the truck up he hit the corner of the roof of my Mobile home and bend it badley. All my Furniture are damaged, plus the left a lot of my belongings at the house in ,Meriden which are lost, things I can never replace. He had helpers that had no knowledge of moving. I would never hire these people again they are the worst. And I wish I would get my money back plus have my roof repaired. Product_Or_Service: Moving

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I have send Mr. ****** an email explaining the situation and just ask for the amount he had overcharged me, and I would let it go with out the repair of my Roof. Mr. ****** called me, he was so rude that I hang up on him.I do not want to talk to this Man. If I don't get the amount back that I ask him for I will take him to Court and I might contact Channel 8.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/31) */ On January 30th, I received an online request from Ms. ******* for a Move Out of her home in Meriden. I contacted Ms. ******* via phone, and set up a date for an estimate. Upon meeting with Ms. *******, she indicated she was getting a divorce and moving out of the house. During the walk through, she indicated that we would only be moving some furniture and that she was getting a P.O.D and all of the boxes, loose items and small furniture would be put in the P.O.D. Ms. ******* indicated that it would be a small move and she would take care of all the small items. I gave Ms. ******* an estimate of 3 men and the truck at a rate of $135.00 per hour with a final price of $1080.00 which was to include emptying the P.O.D. into her home after it was delivered. Ms ******* then contacted me on April 23rd by email and phone asking me if I could get her moved on April 29th. I contacted ms ******* and told her I could not get her moved because e would have to move her on April 28th, the day before her closing as she indicated that her walk through was at 9:00 am and we were already booked fort hat day. Ms ******* pleaded with me to get her moved out, indicating that we could come out on sunday night to get her out if need be. I told Ms. ******* that I would come out late afternoon, and that I had a crew of 4 men and the cost for the extra man brought the cost of the men up to $165.00 per hour which she said was fine, she just needed to get out, I also informed her that because the shipment had to sit on the truck overnight there was a fee of $150.00 which she said was also fine. Myself and my crew showed up at 6:00 PM on sunday night to begin loading. *********** and her daughter were still packing her belongings, into inappropriate containes such as plastic bags, duffel bags and any other container that was available. Many of the items were fragile and not protected, ie a plastic bag with a pile of dishes and no wrapping on it. I told Ms. ******* that we could not safely move these items in the packaging that they were in, and her response was I know what I'm doing they will be fine. Also, she said she did not want to pay for the P.O.D. to be delivered and she wanted to have us unload what she unpacked into the P.O.D. load it back into the truck and deliver it with the rest her goods. Ms. ******* added many items to the move that she said was not going along with the P.O.D. items which more than doubled the size of the move. We loaded her entire shipment except for a large patio swing and I told her I would be back first thing in the morning to get the swing which I did. Ms ******* and her daughter were still at the house when we finished and I asked her to make sure that everything she wanted removed from the house was, she did and said we were all set. Myself and one of my men returned the following morning to get the swing and Ms. ******* had left a few items by the swing which we took, Ms ******* had every oportunity to indicate if any items were left as she was the last person out of the house and we took everything she asked us to. At the end of the loading process, we filled a 26' moving van top to bottom, front to back, MsS****** was leaving a 1700 square foot home with an over sized 2 car garage and a fully finished basement with a laundry room, the initiatal estimate had us moving 30% of the contents, in the end we moved 80 % of the contents, Ms ******* had us move 2 to 3 times the amount of items that she had indicated in the initial estimate. We did not chargew Ms. ******* overtime or any extras for coming on a Sunday night to make sure her closing woulod go through. At the end of loding day, one of my men asked if they could punch out because they were tired after the extra long day, and on the paperwork that hour was discounted to 3 men at th $135.00 per hour. Ms ******* at no point was ever overcharged and I have the documentation to establish that fact. Upon arrival to the move in, Ms ******* had purchased a single wide trailer home that was approximately 672 square feet with no basement, no garage, with a small 8x8 shed.Essentially, Ms ******* had moved her belongings from a total square footage of 3400 square feet into a home with 672 square feet. On backing into her home, I did bump into a piece of alluminum flashing on her house, there was never any contact with the roof. I showed Ms. ******* immediately, and she said it was damaged before and not to worry about it. I gave her the oppurtunity to note the damage on the final paperwork and she again declined. ** ****** directed where every box, bin bag and piece of furniture went and saw everything that came in the door, aand she stated at the end of the move that it went very well. The trailer home was far to small to take all of ** ******** belongings. The bedroom and living furniture actually had to be stacked on itself, ie dressers stacked on dressers , which was all done at ms ******** direction, all of her belongings were delivered as they were taken out of her house. Ms ******* also had us put all plastic bins on her porch, 50-60 of them because she stated she wanted to put them in the shed on her own because :she knew how to do it better" At the completion of the move, I indicated to Ms. ******* that the move was going to be over the estimate to which she replied "I know I added more, no problem, what is the bill" I gave ms . ******* the total which she said she was happy with and tipped the men telling them how great of a job they had done. Ms. ******** son-in-law was present for the whole move and he indicated as qwell how good of a job the men had done. At the signing of the paperwork, Ms. ******* had every oppurtunity to note any damage and she again said the move went very well. On June 2nd, 2 months after the move, I recieved an email from ms ******* indicating that she was unhappy and felt she was being ripprd off. I immediately contacted ms ******* to discuss the situation. Ms ******* was very argumentative, and at one point during our conversation started making derogatory comments towards the men on the job and I told her I would not tolerate such comments as the men had worked very hard for her and she had no right to make such statements. Ms ******* then yelled into the phone that she would see me in court and she could say anything she wanted and then hung the phone up. I then called her immediatly back to again try to remedy the the situation and she put the call through to voice mail. Ms ******* was given an excellent move at the last minute and after normal hours, which shows our dedication to customer service as we came 6:00 PM on a sunday night to ensure Ms ******* was vacated to ensure he closing. All items asked to be removed were and Ms . ******* confirmed that before we left, she and her daughter were the last people to leave the house, we took everything asked of us. The move was 2-3 times the amount that Ms. ******* had indicated. All charges are documented and signed for, Ms . ******* was never charged a dime she wasn't advised of and I have the documentation of that as well. The damage to her trim on the roof was already there according to Ms ******* herself. I am very taken by this complaint as when we left Ms ******* she indicated how happy she was with everything which was wittnessed by both her daughter and son in law. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1