This business is not BBB accredited.

D.C. Masonry LLC dba D.C. Construction Service

Phone: (860) 763-1487 Fax: (860) 763-1487 View Additional Phone Numbers 34 Schneider Rd, Somers, CT 06071

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


D.C. Masonry LLC dba D.C. Construction Service offers all phases of masonry and concrete work.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for D.C. Masonry LLC dba D.C. Construction Service include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on D.C. Masonry LLC dba D.C. Construction Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 10, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 01/07/2007 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Douglas Caverly, Member Ms. Julie Caverly, Administration
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Caverly, Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Julie Caverly, Administration
Business Category

Mason Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Millwork Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Fireplaces Floor Treatment Compounds Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Chimney Builders & Repair Concrete Contractors Concrete Repair/Leveling

Alternate Business Names
D.C. Construction Services

Additional Locations


    34 Schneider Rd

    Somers, CT 06071 (860) 763-1487 (860) 930-5044


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A patio was installed by this company and the quality is unsatisfactory. We have attempted to get the issues fixed; however the owner is not in contact with us at this point. We sent him an email with photos regarding all the issues and he did not fix all requested items, most critical being the pitch is not correct in a certain area and is holding water when it rains. This will lead to mold and rot if not corrected. Once he received that email request, he stated via telephone he would come out and fix it. We found out the next time it rained, that he did not. In addition to that, the overall quality of the work completed is subpar. The work is messy with several areas of concern including small divots throughout, uneven concrete around some edges, unfinished and cracking/crumbling edges, and a chipped corner. We are in the process of having other professionals assess the work done and how we should move forward in terms of repair. At this point, I would not be comfortable having the original contractor complete/repair based on the original work completed. In addition, the contract told us that he would be in Florida starting next week and would be gone for a few to several months.

Desired Settlement: The total cost of the work on the proposal is $3,160. The owner has only collected $1,500 of payment which we would like to be refunded. He has not even asked for the remainder of the balance, which he will not be receiving as the work has not been completed to our satisfaction. In addition, we would like a refund of the original $1,500 paid, again due to the lack of professionalism and quality shown in his work. The issues that have remained unresolved will likely pose problems in the future which will cause additional funds to continue to correct over time. Please note: the $1,500 has been paid for by a credit card and I have also been in touch with them regarding a possible dispute.

Business Response: Good afternoon *******

This is a response to the ****** complaint. Before the job was started My **** told me he was putting a deck tile system over the concrete patio. I went over the deck system with him and I told him we should pitch the concrete away from the house and garage. After we poured the concrete, I received a couple days later a text message showing 3 areas of concern. 1. ½” chip on the corner of the concrete patio closets to their bulkhead. 2. Next to the garage foundation was an area about 12” X 3” that needed a very thin skim coat 1/16 “. I didn’t do the pitched area because I wanted to go over the process and make sure that it was going to be acceptable before we did the repair. I am very shocked that this couple filed a complaint with the BBB without talking to me first. The last message I received from Mr. **** was a voice mail telling me he couldn’t remove the dogs foot prints from the patio. He wanted us to seal the concrete. My concern is that this couple is making excuses so they don’t have to pay the balance owed to my company. The raising of the area in question so it will pitch from the bottom step is a very minor fix. We usually tool the edges of the concrete to give it a nice rounded look. He indicated to me that that was not necessary. As for the rough look on top of the concrete, I told him we were going to broom finish, which give the surface a rough non-slip appearance. Over time with foot traffic, if he decides not to have his vinyl deck tile over the concrete, the surface will eventually ware over time. We have been pouring concrete for 25years and very rarely have a complain t like this.

Thank you

Doug C******

D.C. Construction Services

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Good Afternoon,

I would like to follow up on a recent complaint I submitted against DC Masonry / DC Construction as I have a couple of additional complaints to mention regarding the service provided.

First, The owner stated we did not need to pull up our fence to get the truck/machines needed in the back yard to dig up the existing patio and level the land and that our existing 8 foot fence gate would be sufficient. This left deep tire tracks across most of our lawn. We were told this is common when doing these types of projects and that he would fill the tire tracks and seed it. He did fill the tire tracks promptly; however did not seed it and my husband, *****, had to call him to get him to come back and do it. The seeding was very minimal and we ended up doing it again ourselves to ensure regrowth. The next week as we are anticipating having the concrete poured, we are told we have to take out some of the fence panels to get the concrete truck in to pour. At no time previous was it mentioned that the gate we already had would not be sufficient for this project. If we had been told up front that the concrete truck would not fit through the 8 foot gate we have (and which the owner personally viewed), we would have pulled up the fence panels from the beginning, thus only have tire tracks in one area of the yard. Because he came in with trucks from two sides of the yard, there is an large area of land running across the entire yard that has been completely ripped up – which is completely unnecessary and unprofessional. We were having a patio put in to enjoy our yard, and now it is going to look horrible until all the grass fills in or we will have to pay a large sum to have sod put in. I understand that was partially inevitable since the trucks had to get in the yard, but we could have avoided a large portion of the yard having to be reseeded if he communicated better about what the process would be like overall.

Secondly, I wanted to mention that we also asked that the patio be sealed, which we were given a verbal quote of $508. We found this to be acceptable and so the owner was to come out on 4/29/16 to seal the patio. He called my husband, *****, to inform him that he could not seal that day because we needed to clean the patio of all dirt and debris. This was very unexpected because at no point was it explained to us that we were responsible for making sure the patio was clean to be sealed. We attempted to clean the patio that evening as the owner stated he would be back on Saturday, 4/30/16 to complete the job. After spending some time trying to clean the patio, it was evident that we would be unable to get all the dirt off before the next day as it would require a deep cleaning, most likely with a pressure washer. Again, at no point was it mentioned to us that we would need to keep it clean or have it cleaned for him before it was sealed. That being said, with a good portion of the yard around the patio, it had a lot of mud tracked on it over the week and a half after the concrete was poured from when it was supposed to be sealed. ***** left a voicemail for the owner on 4/29/16 stating we were unable to get all the dirt off and it didn’t seem like we would move forward with the sealing at this time, but wanted  a call back to discuss before making a final decision. The owner did not show up on Saturday to complete any work, nor did he return the phone call and we have not heard from him since then.


******* * ***** ****


Consumer Response: Doug,
Thank you for taking the time to speak with ***** this morning.
We understand you did not want to have our conversation recorded.  Due to this, we are sending you this message to follow up per that phone call in the hopes of finding a peaceful resolution to this matter. Please note that all further communication should be sent through the BBB until we can agree on a resolution.
First we want to start out by saying the voicemail you left ***** yesterday afternoon was extremely disrespectful and unprofessional.  We do not appreciate the manner in which you approached the situation. We understand you are upset about us contacting the Better Business Bureau; however, as your customers, we would think you would approach the situation with more professionalism than that.
Also, the voicemail and email sent last night stated that you will be filing a small claims against us if we did not respond to you by the end of the day.  We would like to note for the record that we did respond to you per my phone call at 7:28 p.m. and an email was sent shortly thereafter to confirm.  We did not hear back from you until this morning.
To recall the events of this project:
An email was sent to you on 4/23/16 with supporting photos regarding some areas of concern with the patio. This included the chipped corner, the unevenness at the garage, and the pitch by the steps that was holding water.  You responded to that email with a phone call stating you would come by the next week and complete the project.
After you visited the property, we received no notification that the only item addressed was the unevenness by the garage. Unbeknownst to us of the concrete pouring process, we were unaware of what the result of patching the area would look like.  We did not find out that the pitch had not been corrected until it rained again.
In regards to the rounded edges, we had more than one conversation regarding this to determine the best course of action and we stated because the deck tiles we are laying are square, that we would like to have square edges to line up with the tiles. At no point was it indicated this would leave us with a chipped corner. You stated you would patch this area as well and did not.  To us, these issues show that there was a lack of care in the original job completed.
In the meantime, ***** called you last Friday, April 29th, 2016 and left you a voicemail informing you that we were unable to remove the mud/dog prints from the patio.  We were unsure as to how to proceed since you would be sealing the patio the day after, Saturday, April 30th 2016. You did not return his call; which you admit to receiving in your voicemail to me yesterday.
You also did not come to the house on Saturday to perform the work discussed or to come discuss a resolution. We would like to pose the question as to why you would agree to seal the concrete when you hadn’t fixed the pitch? One would think that all patches should be completed before sealing the entire patio.
At the time of filing the complaint with the BBB, it had been nearly a week that we had not heard from you.
In a previous conversation in the process, you stated you would be leaving for Florida in a couple weeks and would be gone for a length of time and thus, you wanted to complete any outstanding projects you had.  Yet again, you didn’t call back, didn’t show up, and have made zero effort to communicate with us regarding the status of the project.
In the email you sent us yesterday, you stated you did not get in touch with us regarding the pitch due to the weather this week and not being able to perform that job at this time due to the rain. At no point was this communicated to us and we were under the impression the work was completed; until it rained.
As your customer, we should not have to reach out to you repeatedly in order to receive a status.  You, as the contractor being paid for a service, should be communicating with us throughout the entire process letting us know where things stand; especially when work has not been completed.
It seems there was some confusion about what the end result of the patio should look like since we are covering it with deck tiles once the project is completed. Although aesthetics were not a big concern for us, it seems you took advantage of that by not putting the care into it as you may have normally.
We were willing to move past how it looked because it would ultimately be covered; however during your period of non-response we were unsure if we would hear from you again before leaving for Florida.  As such, we had another professional come and assess the work and discuss options regarding correcting the pitch. It was stated to us that the correct way to fix the pitch would be to rip out the existing concrete and re-pour it; however it could also be patched, but this would likely crumble over time and need to be addressed again. The pitch creates a hazardous situation due to standing water causing mold and rot. This is a huge concern for us. Please note this professional also stated to us that the work as a whole was not completed in a professional manner regardless of the fact that it would be covered with deck tiles.
As of the time of writing this response, you have yet to offer to come fix the items we have listed or provide any other resolution. You have threatened us with legal action, but have not taken action yourself to resolve the problem.
Based on the information above, the reason we contacted the Better Business Bureau is that we lost confidence that you are interested in completing the job as planned before leaving for Florida since we did not hear from you. There is no reason why we weren’t contacted previously to go over the pitch and how that would be corrected.
We have 2 resolutions that we would find to be acceptable at this time:
1. You can come fix the pitch within 7 calendar days and provide us with a $500 discount off the final price seeing as how the job was not done correctly to begin with and will likely cause future issues that have to be addressed. Please note: if you chose this option, a time will need to be scheduled for you to come when ***** is not at home as your tone of communication from the last 24 hours has made her uncomfortable.
2. We can hire a different professional to fix the pitch and reduce the cost to have it repaired off the final balance owed to you.
If you have any other suggested resolutions, please feel free to share them. We would like to hear back from you through this messaging system as soon as possible.
Once we decide on a resolution, we will amend the original proposal to include the changes.
Thank you.
******* *** ***** ****

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with this business to repair a cracked and leaking concrete deck above my 3 car garage. I was told it was a 2-3 day job and the products, preparation and application would resolve the leaking issue. I paid half of the contracted price on 5/16/14 prior to the job being started. The job was begun shortly afterwards and instead of 2-3 days as told, it took approximately 45 days to complete. While the job was progressing I made concerns known that the cracks in the concrete were deep and was assured their method of repair preparation and filling was adequate and the final top coating and staining would seal the surface and prevent any further cracking or leaking. Final payment was made on 6/24/14 once the job was completed. Within a month or so a crack redeveloped in one of the previous cracks causing a water leak into my garage below. I contacted **** *******, the owner of the company, via email and he responded and eventually came out to assess the problem. He reopened the crack with a grinding wheel and applied more epoxy filler and I was told he would be back to finish staining the repair to match the rest of the job once the epoxy set. Days had passed and one area of epoxy along an outside edge had not set up properly and I notified **** of this problem. He eventually came out and removed and reapplied more epoxy but never stained the repaired area. I inquired when he was going to finish the staining and was told he didn't have any more of that particular color but would be back once he got a job using the same color. I was obviously not pleased with this answer but he offered no other solution and the change of weather meant it wouldn't be done until spring anyway. So I waited to see how the repair would hold up over winter. Obviously it was a hard winter and upon assessing the deck afterwards I noticed that all of the crack repairs were showing through again in the applied surface material and I was beginning to have leaks in a few places when there was heavy rain or in winter when the snow was melting off the deck. I again emailed **** and he expressed how hard the winter was. I had asked for him to call me to coordinate a time to assess the problem and come up with a solution. It has been several months since I contacted him and I have yet to receive a phone call or email to meet. The majority of this work had been done while I was at work so I could not supervise or ask questions until after the fact. It would seem as though that he either did not prep the repairs as thoroughly as needed or used inferior products or his skills were inadequate for the job. Whichever is the case, I feel the BBB should be notified and to see if this contractor can be held accountable for his lack of follow through to completing the job as originally promised or for him to reimburse the full amount I paid as I may need to hire another contractor to redo the job. All of my contacts with this contractor, except phone calls, have been in a continuous email for documentation sake.

Desired Settlement: My faith in this contractor to provide a proper job and complete it is shattered. I would prefer he reimburse me for the failed job and lack of completion and wish that the BBB will somehow prevent other consumers form using this contractor. Thank you

Business Response: I would like to explain to you what happens to concrete when it goes thru different tempature changes. Concrete moves and expands. This causes the cracking that you would see in concrete. There are many factors that attribute to cracks in concrete. I have a 6 page report on why concrete cracks. Mr ******** has a concrete deck which we prepared for a coating that was done in the summer. Yes a crack did occur later on, which we repaired. We were only contracted to repair the top of the deck. The sides of the deck as well as the underside which is above the enclosed garage are not protected from the elements. I cannot be responsible for cracks or other problems that occur after a long hard winter. I have no problem fixing the existing crack if it opened up due to poor workmanship. But after a long winter the crack opened up due to the severity of the cold winter.

Thank you

**** *******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: When my wife and I first met Mr. ******* at the *** * **** **** we explained our problem to him and he came to our house to assess the problem and provide a quote. Our home is about 90 years old and the original deck (approximately 30' long by 10' deep) was, at some point, covered in concrete which over the years developed cracks causing water leaks into our garage. I asked him if it would be best to remove the secondary application of concrete decking and apply a new concrete deck or what would he recommend. He assured me removing the existing deck wasn't necessary and that he could "waterproof" our existing concrete deck with his skills at working with concrete, preparation of the deck and the applications of the products he uses. He never mentioned before, during or after completing the job, as he expressed in his rebuttal, how concrete will continue to crack due to extreme weather conditions. Contrary to his response, he was contracted to repair the cracks on the deck and one of them did go to the edge. How could he expect to do a thorough job if he didn't repair this edge as well? The edge of the deck he refers to is approximately 4 inches thick and the underside is barely an inch deep. The rest of the deck is within the garage below which is heated throughout the winter. I understand expansion and contraction of materials, but again, he shouldn't assure someone of his ability to waterproof something if he ultimately knows it will fail.

At this point I don't want this contractor to return to my house as I feel he is incapable of doing a proper job. I would still like to receive a refund from him so I may find another contractor to redo the job he didn't complete. I'm also hoping the BBB can protect other possible customers from using this contractor due to his lack of follow through and appropriate skills. 


**** ********

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to do restorative work on my front brick wall and front cement steps. The work was not of quality and the work on the steps was never completed. I paid this company 50% of the fee up front per the contract in July 2014. The work was done in pieces over several months and never completed. The company has requested I pay the remainder even though the work wasn't done. Mr. **** ******* has emailed me many times saying he will come by to complete but he never does. He is now demanding i pay him the remainder of the fee and threatening to take me to small claims court. He is saying i haven't paid for 85% of the work which is not true. I paid him $1,700 which i believe is sufficient for the work done and I don't want him to do anymore work for me as the work done was not of the quality I want and obviously not within any reasonable time frame. I have pictures that show the cracks are still there and the colors of the steps don't match and are not attractive.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to be pestered by this company anymore. They do not provide the service they promised and I have more than compensated him for the work done.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on D.C. Masonry LLC dba D.C. Construction Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)