BBB Accredited Business since

Academy Marble & Granite, LLC

Phone: (203) 791-2956 Fax: (203) 791-2958 View Additional Phone Numbers 101 Wooster St Unit C, Bethel, CT 06801

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Academy Marble & Granite, LLC offers marble, granite, natural stone, quartz countertops, vanity tops, tub surrounds, fireplace fabrication and installation services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Academy Marble & Granite, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Academy Marble & Granite, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2007 Business started: 08/17/2006 Business started locally: 08/17/2006 Business incorporated 08/17/2006 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sinan Sepkin, Member Ms. Ayse Sepkin, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sinan Sepkin, Member
Business Category

Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Kitchen Remodeling Granite Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Fireplaces Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile and Terrazzo Contractors (NAICS: 238340)

Additional Locations

  • 101 Wooster St Unit C

    Bethel, CT 06801 (203) 791-2956 (203) 798-1014 (203) 947-6903


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a stone countertop for this company which includes the templating and installation of the stone. The day after the installation, I noticed cracks in the stone. I notified the business immediately. They said the would send out some one to buff out the stone and re seal it. Upon closer examination, one of the cracks goes all the way through the stone. It's a defective piece of stone. That is not acceptable. No amount of buffing will fix that. Also, the overhangs of the counter edge are not consistent. This is a template and fabrication error. The corners on the counter are cut sharp when I asked that they be rounded. Again, a fabrication error. When I mentioned these problems to the business, I was told they are not responsible because my wife signed off on the installation indicating she was satisfied. However, I am the customer. Not my wife. I was not present at the installation. I didn't sign off on anything.

Desired Settlement: There are several issues with the stone contertop. The only acceptable resolution would be for it to be replaced with non defective stone and fabricated correctly with uniform overhangs and rounded corners.

Business Response: I personally went to see the job. I still disagree with his complaints but I sent a crew to replace the island and got things fixed for him.

He should be all set. I haven't heard from him since


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* ******

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Academy Marble & Granite in ******* *********** came out to my home where they measured, prepared, and a couple of weeks later installed a granite countertop for an outdoor countertop. Within a very short period of time the granite cracked. I contacted ***** ******* the owner of Academy Marble & Granite and asked him to come take a look to see what could be done. He sent out his repair team, who took a look and then indicated that the granite had a "vein" in it where the crack was forming, accordingly it was defective and could not be repaired. ***** ******, the owner, then sent me a bill for repairs. I advised him that his team indicated that the granite was defective and I asked him to replace the defective granite. He agreed that I did not need to pay the invoice since his repair team did not do anything, but he refused to replace the defective granite (Note: I find it odd that he sent me a repair bill to begin with given that his repair team did not do any repairs). ***** ****** then turned around and blamed the cracked granite on me saying that the surface must have not been flat, or perhaps the exposure of the granite to extreme temperature changes was the cause, or perhaps I caused the crack in the granite, and then he indicated that for an outdoor countertop you should never use granite. I advised him that he was the expert and that he and his team came to my house to template-out and then install the granite countertop, accordingly he and his team (a) knew that the granite was going to be installed outdoors and (b) knew of and approved the surface that the granite was being installed on - and if either the granite was not an acceptable stone to use for an outdoor countertop, or the surface the granite was to be installed on was not acceptable, then as the experts in this field they should have said something to me at that time as I am not an expert in granite. I further advised ***** ******, the owner, that his team informed me that the crack in the granite was taking place along a vein in the granite and that given the existence of the vein, this piece of granite was defective and should never have been used - He then re-blamed the crack on me indicating that it was my fault. I asked him a final time to please make this right and replace the granite. I indicated that I am not looking for anything but what I paid for and that if he did not make things right I (a) had an opinion from an expert in the field of stone countertops who looked at the granite and indicated that it was defective, and (b) had received multiple quotes to replace the granite, so if I had to I would pursue this legally. ***** ****** then told me that it wasn't about the money, he advised me on how to find a real expert, and then he indicated "let's see what the judge has to say."

Desired Settlement: All I have ever asked for is what I paid for. I paid for a granite countertop that was free of defects - all I want is for ***** ******, the owner of Academy Marble and Granite in ******* *********** to come take out the defective granite countertop his company installed and replace it with an identical defect free piece of granite.

Business Response: Dear ********

Below I did a copy paste of the part of the complained. Just the part when the product was sold and when the problem occurred. 
Complaint Background:
Product/Service: ***** ******** ******* ******r
Purchase Date: 1/21/2013
Problem Occurred: 7/31/2014
Account Number: 
Order Number: 
Talked to Company: 7/31/2014
Talked to Company (2nd): 8/29/2014
Talked to Company (3rd): 11/17/2014


I guess only  that is enough to remove the complaint from your database.

Consumer Response: To whom it may concern,

The issue at hand is that Academy Marble and Granite installed a granite countertop that was defective from day one.  As per both (a) the installation technicians from Academy Marble and Granite who came to see the cracked granite countertop as well as (b) a separate expert that I had come look at the countertop, the defect is that the piece of granite that was installed had a "vein" in it and veins are highly susceptible to cracking.  In short, the piece of granite installed by Academy Marble and Granite should never have been installed.  I paid Academy Marble and Granite for a non-defective granite countertop to be installed and all I ever asked from the owner of Academy Marble and Granite is for him to install the non-defective granite countertop I paid to be installed.  I'm sorry to see that the owner is focused on the fact that the time-frame in which he was notified of the defect was longer than he would have liked.  Having said that, the bottom line is that the particular piece of granite he installed should Never have been installed in the first place - as per both his very own technicians and a separate expert, it is only a matter of time before a piece of granite with a "vein" in it will crack.  Furthermore, per both the technicians at Academy Marble and Granite and the separate expert, veins do not develop over time, they are embedded in certain cuts of larger pieces of stone right from the beginning, and normally the areas of stone with veins are discarded due to the fact that they are highly susceptible to cracking.

In short, given that we are talking about a granite countertop that had a defect in it that could only have existed from the day it was installed, I have asked the owner of Academy Marble and Granite to make things right and install a new piece of non-defective granite.  The owner of Academy Marble and Granite has refused to make things right, and has repeatedly berated me (in e-mail messages I have saved) in hopes that I will go away.  This approach to customer service, under any circumstances, is utterly unprofessional.

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


****** ******

Business Response: The defect in the stone does not come out 18 months after the installation. It is produced by nature in thousands of years.

It comes out day 1.
There is no written or verbal warranty for that much of a time.
Please do not waste my time anymore otherwise I will have to go to court for my lost sales.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As the owner of Academy Marble & Granite has correctly indicated, the stone was created over thousands of years, and the existence of the vein (which is considered to be a defect) did not happen after 18 months.  As the owner has implied (and as an independent stone expert who has viewed the stone countertop has articulated to me), as stone is created over thousands of years the vein defect had to have existed on the day that the stone was installed.  Unfortunately, unlike the owner, I am not, and have never been a stone expert.  Accordingly the existence of a vein would never have cought my attention or be something I would have known to be concerned about on the day the stone was installed.  It was only once the vein defect began to crack that I sought out an explanation for what was happening (including reaching out to both the owner of Academy Marble & Granite, as well as the independent stone expert).  Once I sought an explanation for what was happening I learned that a piece of stone with a vein defect, which had to have existed on the day the stone countertop was installed (which the owner has also just acknowledged), is a piece of stone that should never have been installed.

As the owner of Academy Marble & Granite is an expert in stone - and not me - I believe that he should have known better than to have installed a piece of stone with a vein in it.  This vein has now cracked, and the owner, as the expert in stone (not me), should accept responsibility for having installed a defective piece of stone.  All I have ever asked for is for the owner to replace the defective piece of stone with a new piece of the same stone without defects (which is what I paid for - but still have not received).  This is not an unreasonable request - So please ask the owner to stop insulting and threatening me (Note: His latest reply closes by indicating that I am wasting his time and that if I keep wasting his time he will sue me.  Threatening a customer who is trying to be reasonable is unproductive - and unprofessional).

****** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Academy Marble & Granite, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart