BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Tools-Plus.com offers hand, power, cordless, woodworking and automotive tools via internet.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tools-Plus.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tools-Plus.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tools-Plus.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 23, 2001 Business started: 09/15/1979 Business started locally: 09/15/1979 Business incorporated: 04/04/1986 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric B. Savelle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric B. Savelle, President
Business Category

Machine Tools Tools - Cutting Tools - Electric Tools - Hand Woodworking Tools - Retail Tools - Pneumatic Internet Shopping All Other Miscellaneous General Purpose Machinery Manufacturing (NAICS: 333999)


Additional Locations

  • 153 Meadow St

    Waterbury, CT 06702 (203) 573-0750 (800) 222-6133

  • 60 Scott Rd

    Prospect, CT 06712

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 573-0750(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 26 2014, I purchased a ********* *** Grease Gun for $179.10 from Tools Plus.com (Order # *******). I received the product on October 28th and the packaging was severely damaged. I have photos to share if helpful. I called Tools Plus requesting a new product sent to replace the damaged packaged product. Tools Plus requested photos and then refused indicating that packaging damage was not their concern. I requested that they pay for return shipping for a product return. Tools Plus refused to provide return shipping for the damaged product. I then initiated a product return, in which I paid for return shipping. The product was shipped *** tracking # ****************** and was received on November 6th 2014 by *****. As of November 15th, 2014 **** confirmed that I have not received a refunded payment of any sort. It is my belief that I am entitled to a full refund including 2 way shipping, which now totals $179.10+$16.25 shipping back = $195.35 It is ironic and unethical that Tools Plus debates this request, as their own policies charge for damaged packaging upon return. Why should a consumer expect to receive a damaged package on a new purchase? See the Tools Plus return policy below. I am a handicapped individual, and nearly exclusively shop on the internet. I have hundreds of web purchasing experiences, with dozens of returns. I have never been treated this way before. The most recent contact individual is ******* ******, ********tools-plus.com. Return Policy: 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEE! Returns are quick and easy when you do business with Tools Plus. Just call us at ###-###-#### to get your return authorization number. See below for details that apply to your specific purchase. 30-Day Satisfaction Guarantee (you can return an unused item for any reason!) Tools Plus will credit you or provide an exchange for any item returned unused in original carton for any reason within 30 days of original purchase or within 30 days of Christmas or Hanukkah. Items must be in resalable condition, in the original carton, unused.* As a bonus, Tools Plus honors all power tool company satisfaction guarantees! If a manufacturer’s satisfaction guarantee for the item you purchased is longer than 30 days, we will match it! Please read your owner’s manual for details.* If you return an item that is offered with free shipping, the original outbound shipping costs will be deducted from your refund and the return shipping is the responsibility of the customer. Performance Issues In the unlikely event that the item you purchased is defective, the manufacturer will provide a remedy according to its own warranty. Tools Plus makes it easy for you by providing the contact information on our website for each manufacturer. Just click on "All Brands We Carry" on the left-hand side of the screen, and then click on the manufacturer of your product to instantly get their phone number.* Damaged Items We take care to assure your order arrives in excellent condition. If your purchase arrives with any damage, please call us. Hold the item and the packaging aside just as you received it. If the item was shipped from our warehouse (versus directly from the manufacturer to you, see "Drop-Shipped Items" below), we will start a claim on your behalf with the shipping company. The shipper may contact you regarding the damage. Please note that it might take them up to 2 weeks to complete the claim. Tools Plus cannot provide a refund or exchange until the claim reaches conclusion.* Drop-Shipped Items *** Industries (***, **********, ******): Because of the cost involved in transporting many of these items, returns will only be approved for return after you contact the manufacturer directly and speak with their technical support department. If they are able to resolve the issue or have replacement parts sent, they will do so and they will not approve the item for return. If the item is deemed to be defective and not repairable, *** Industries will work with us to arrange the return of the defective item. *** Industries can be reached at ###-###-####.* Returns / Damaged items: If you need to return an item which was purchased from us and which was shipped directly from the manufacturer, please give us a call. We will find out if we can accept the item from you or if the item needs to be returned directly to the manufacturer. In most cases, the manufacturer charges a restocking fee. This fee will vary depending on the manufacturer. You will also be responsible for the return shipping charges unless the return is due to an error on the part of Tools Plus or the manufacturer. If a drop-shipped item arrives damaged, do not sign for it. Please call us immediately with the deliverer present and we will assist. The restocking fee will not apply if it can be proven that the item was damaged before it reached you.* Cancellations: Requests for cancellations on orders placed through Tools Plus, that contain items that were shipped directly from the manufacturer ( drop shipped ) are subject to a 25% restocking fee and all return shipping is the customers responsibility - this includes shipped items that are refused at the shipping destination.* Lost Packages Lost packages are usually located by the carrier and delivered. To avoid duplicate shipments, replacements will be sent after the claims process is complete. Although we are unable to expedite replacements, please be assured that Toolsplus.com will work diligently with the carrier to resolve these matters in the most efficient way possible. Engine Powered Equipment (Gas or Oil) Engine Powered equipment, such as but not limited to, compressors, generators and power washers cannot be returned once it has been gassed or oiled. It needs to be taken to an authorized service center for any repair or technical assistance which may be covered under warranty. Factory Shipped Items and Special Order Items May be subject to a 25% restocking fee, as these items are typically not stocked at our store or warehouse and have been shipped by the manufacturer. Also, any shipping costs associated with the delivery or return of the item will be at the customer's expense. Incorrect Shipping Information If a package is returned to Toolsplus.com due to an incorrect shipping address provided by a customer, the customer will be responsible for any additional shipping costs or the return shipping cost as well as the redelivery cost. Toolsplus.com is not responsible for packages delivered incorrectly due to incorrect shipping information. If the item qualified for our "Free Shipping" promotion, it will not be valid due to the error on the customer's part, and the customer will be charged for all actual shipping costs. *If there is an error on our part, we will gladly pay for return shipping. In no event will Tools Plus pay for return shipping otherwise. Additional: Customer is responsible for sending items back to Tools Plus, including shipping charges. If receiving a replacement item, Tools Plus will charge $8.50 to send a replacement item to customer. Your refund will be in the same form that was used for the original payment. Please allow up to 15 days for your refund to be issued. We will refund you the amount you paid for the item only, excluding shipping. Tools Plus reserves the right to either deny a refund/exchange or to charge a 25% fee for returned items that: Appear used or damaged Have been engraved or personalized in any way by the customer Were returned more than 30 days after original purchase Are on closeout Were special-ordered for the customer Were sold as reconditioned items Have cut or damaged packaging The customer ordered wrong voltage or phase If an item is returned incomplete, Tools Plus reserves the right to deduct the price of the missing items from your credit. We are not responsible for manufacturer changes in product or specifications.

Desired Settlement: It is my belief that I am entitled to a full refund including 2 way shipping, which now totals $179.10+$16.25 shipping back = $195.35 due to receiving a damaged product, that was in no way my fault.

Business Response: Customer was refunded entire amount, including return shipping. Item was in perfect condition when we received it back.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 
Regarding the condition that the item was received , I have uploaded photos.  Thank you BBB for your help.  

Sincerely,

****** *****

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ball joint tool to do a job on my vehicle. During the very first use of the tool the clamp bent. I was unable to use the tool and had to rent a tool to complete the job.The next day I went to tools plus web and used the contact up form to ask for a refund. I waited a few days and never received any response. I then tried to contact them agin through the form and from the original email address again with no response.A week later I have not heard anything from the business and would like this resolved.

Desired Settlement: I was not able to use the tool for the job it was purchased for so I would like a refund.

Business Response:

Our Customer Service Department did not receive an email from this customer.....sorry do not know what happened.  We also have an 800 number and can be contacted by phone.

Now to get to *** ****** problem: He ordered an ***** **** Ball Joint Service Tool on 9/26 and received the item on 9/27.  According to this complaint the tool failed on him. If *** ****** had called we would have asked him the following questions, as this is manufacturer warranty issue and a requirement:

1) Please provide us a picture (if possible) of the the bent clamp.

2) Please let us know the specific application the tool was being used for (ball joints or universal joint or truck break anchor pins, etc.)?

3) What is the make and model of the vehicle the tool was being used on.  

All of the above information is required by the manufacturer and this will help us assist this customer with *****. Each manufacturer has their own Warranty Requirements and we are here to assist this customer. Since there was some sort of an issue with the email address *** ****** originally used, please send this information to my direct email address: ********************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, December 15, 2012, my wife, ****, and I went to Tools Plus to inquire about an emergency generator. We asked ********, who indicated he was the manager, if there was a unit which runs on gasoline. He indicated that there was and that it may be converted to propane in the future; this sounded great since we were planning on switching to this energy source for home-heating also. We specifically repeated "gasoline" so that is was not confused with "gas". Of course, neither my of us had any previous knowlege of generators. ******** sold us the Generac 8KW unit which was supposed to have an automatic transfer switch. This was delivered over nine weeks later on February 19, 2013. We contacted an electrical contractor, *** Hill, who came over on June 2, 2013, and told us we were sold the wrong transfer switch (which comes with that unit) and that the generator was not powerful enough to do the job. And, this generator was powered by propane & not capable of running on gasoline. *** Hill gave me **** *******'s phone number, the president of Tools Plus. I met with **** ******* at his business in Prospect on June 23, 2013. I contacted him and met with him at his business in Prospect on June 23, 2013. I asked if he would take this unit back and exchage for the correct generator and transfer switch. It was obvious that Mr. Saville didn't know much about the product-line he sells. During our conversation, he said, "I'm really not making enough on this. Do you mind if I add a few hundred dollars?" I left feeling very upset that he is obviously trying to take advantage of this situation and rip us off. We exchanged email addresses. I will forward the correspondence. We asked if we could exchange this unit for the correct one. He refused unless he could charge us $700 extra. Since then, we contacted a second electrical contractor, who is a certified Generac repair person. After checking out our service, he knew exactly what we needed. Product_Or_Service: Generac 8kw HSB standby generator Order_Number: XXXXXXX Account_Number: Customer # 01-BEA939

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We would like to return this generator to Tools Plus with a full refund. We refuse to conduct business with anyone who has such an unethical and unprofessional attitude. It is obvious he just wants to rip us off. Please indicate how we may forward these e-mails to you.Thanks very much for your assistance in this matter.Sincerely,**** & **** *****

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ This customer came to our store to inquire/purchase a emergency temporary home standby electric generator which needs a Electrical permit and a certified electrician to install. No different than a new furnace or central a/c unit. We are neither electricians or electrical inspectors. Their electrician (Mr. Tom Hill) referred them to us. The customer agreed and paid for a "special order" non-stock model to be ordered and (if I remember correctly) shipped directly to them as soon as Generacs national backorder situation cleared itself. Delivery was on (or about) February 19, 2013. "Four months after delivery" in June I rec'd both a call and a email from Mr. *** Hill to please contact Mr. *****, (which I did) to discuss possible "upgrade/swap out "as they say the unit is wrong for their application. On June 11th, I met with Mr. *****. I was sympathetic to their problem and Mr. ***** seemed to be reasonable as we spoke of options to make this situation right. He left to speak to his wife and discuss with her what we spoke about. My next contact was the email from Mr. ***** on June 24th, 2013 (see text below) Note: They had paid $2204 for the 8000watt they received and the XXXXXwatt unit they felt would be correct is $3429. I offered $1800.00 for their unit towards a new (in stock) XXXXXwatt unit. (It should be noted that the Beards had opened the packaging the generator came in and disposed of all the factory wrapping and packaging which unfortunately prevented their generator from ever being able to be sold as new again. Who said what about gasoline is a moot point as they now apparently accept that they cannot get one that runs on gasoline, as they are still moving forward to install a emergency temporary home standby electric generator. No emergency temporary home standby electric generators on the market today use gasoline. They use either Natural Gas or LP Gas and in rare instances diesel. I asked them how they felt they were loosing $700 (as the difference is only $404) See below. Their unit has since been replaced by a new part number further lowering its value. A Timeline: 2012 here in CT was a 2nd year of unprecedented stormy power outages Generac was completely sold out of "All" its emergency temporary home standby electric generators from Late November until late in the first 1/4 of 2013. December 2012 The Beards purchase their emergency temporary home standby electric generator. February 2013 The Beards received their emergency temporary home standby electric generator. Sometime just before June 4, 2013 I spoke to Mr. Hill (the electrician) about this situation June 4, 2013 A reminder email from Mr. Hill Hey, my customer hasn't heard anything back on his generator upgrade/swap out. The one in prospect we spoke about. Can you have someone handle this ? I would appreciate it. His name is **** ***** on ******* St prospect XXXXXXXXXX We appreciate your business! ****** A Hill IV Pure Power Electric llc Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone June 11, 2013 Met with Mr. *****, discussed options, and I waited for a phone reply after he talked it over with his wife. June 24, 2013 Finally heard back in the form of this email from Mr. ***** **** & **** ***** 131 ******* Street Prospect, Ct XXX-XXX-XXXX cp XXX-XXX-XXXX We're getting very tired of dragging this thing out. **** is also very upset that you want to charge us extra for this. It was your company who made the mistake, not us. We went to Tools Plus because we didn't know what to order in the first place. It's poor form to hold us responsible. Do you think we will patronize or recommend your business in the future if you do this? The best time to exchange generators is early on Monday or Wednesday. June 24, 2013 Within hours I replied with this message This whole thing is a bit awkward. We generally don't take anything back without its original packaging. Your model was a "special order" shipped directly to you from the manufacturer. We are not electricians, have not seen your house and don't know your zoning and permitting. We don't claim to be experts. However, we are willing to compromise. 14kw with 200 amp TS = $3429.00 (new one in our stock) 8kw with 100 amp TS + $2204.00 (you paid.) This is an odd non-stocked slow moving model that cannot be resold for new. Between the cost of me taking this back, keeping it in stock and having to resell it for less than new, we are willing to refund you $1600.00 to your credit card including pick-up. If you would like to replace it with the 14kw 200amps TS as we spoke about, we can give you $1800 We are awaiting your response. July 25, 2013 Reply from the Beards (Two weeks later) Hi, ****, this is **** ***** and I am the one who paid for generator, battery ,and lift gate charge + tax: $2,524.24. We were helped by your salesperson, ********, on December 15, 2012. He brought us upstairs and tried to sell us an inferior unit that you had in stock. Then we were discussing generator options and he told us that this GENERAC 8KW unit would work. This was ********'s recommendation for this special order. He also said that it was gasoline powered and that you could convert it to propane, which was complete misinformation. Additionally, the unit was on backorder 4-6 weeks. I called after four weeks for an update on a Saturday and was told that there was no current information & to call back in one week . I called a week later on a Saturday and was told that I had to call back during the week and ask for "Customer Service". This was upsetting because I spent quite a bit of money and it was strange that someone was able to assist the week before on a Saturday. We waited nine weeks before this unit was delivered. This Generac 8KW unit and the automatic transfer switch will not work in our home, as you already know. You told my husband, ****, that the salesperson, ********, was fired for this disaster (I did not say he was fired because of this "disaster") that he created. You sell generators and we would expect that you would be experts. We went to your store vs. buying online because we needed assistance and guidance with this very costly purchase. **** went to meet with you and said you agreed to take the unit back. Now you want me to lose all this money because of your incompetent employee? This is unjust and unfair. Why would someone sell us such an odd, non-stocked, slow moving item? I really need you to take this generator back and not for a $700.00 penalty...that is outrageous! I can have the electrician deliver the generator, battery and automatic transfer switch to your warehouse. Please consider providing a reasonable credit as this is not our fault. Please contact me by e-mail or my cell phone number: XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you. Sincerely, **** ***** July 25, 2013 My reply (again within hours) Hi ****, I don't understand the 700 penalty? Do you feel I should cover any of the difference in the price of the two units? Note: sales tax is only charged on the difference in sell price) Also, I suspect you heard the term gas used several times during the conversation and just assumed it meant gasoline? The industry uses the term gas in the course of selling home emergency standby generators All home emergency standby generators that we sell are powered by Natural Gas (which we call gas. Gas = Gaseous, Gaseous = vapor (not liquid)) All our home emergency standby generators are field convertible between Nat. Gas and LP Gas ****, you are the one who is being unfair. You took a month to respond to our last communication/offer. Also, it was weeks in between your husband and me talking in my office until I received the "dragging out" email (below) plus this sale happened over 6 months ago. All the time your generator is loosing value. Any negation room we might have had has evaporated. Yes, it "is" a very expensive electrical device. One that requires permits and inspections and certified electricians to install. The same electrician (and inspectors) should have been consulted before you made your purchase. We need to get this done in the next 7 days or I will have no choice but to retract the offer On July 30, 2013 The Beards open a BBB case. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) As we requested, we'd like to return the generator and patronize professionals who are familiar with the product they are selling. It was when I opened the generator that we realized it was the incorrect unit. If it is a problem that we don't have the cardboard it came in, get it from the company. It's still a new, unused unit. We were so impressed by the independent electrical contractor, we realize we should have done business with him in the first place. He knew exactly what we needed by "load-testing" our home. *** Hill didn't know enough to do that. He told us to go to Tools Plus because they would know exactly what we needed. He was wrong. He and Mr. Saville are unfamiliar with this product line. I have no confidence in either of them to provide us with safe, reliable, emergency power. Mr. Saville also tried to sell us a 200 amp transfer switch for more money than the correct 100 amp unit. Please just take this back and provide us with a refund so that we may do business with someone else who is knowledgeable and experienced, and with whom we have confidence. Thank you, **** ***** Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/13) */ I'm sad to see that Mr. & Mrs. ***** are not accepting our good faith effort to resolve this situation. The facts remain: 1) Our Return Policy (posted at the store and at our website) state: "A 20%-25% restocking fee will be charged on any special order items returned, freight charges in and out will be the customer's responsibility. Any item returned in non resalable condition will be charged a restocking fee of 20%.25%" 2) Although our policy clearly states we are not responsible for the shipping costs, as a good faith effort, Tools Plus was assuming the cost to pick up the 8,000 Watt unit and deliver the 14,000 watt unit (including lift gate service of an estimated cost to Tools Plus of $600.00). Also, the unit was ordered based on the information provided by the Beards to our salesman at that time. Once again, we are not electricians, have not visited the customers house and do not know the customer's zoning and permitting regulations. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was no verbal or written documentation stating there was a "20%-25%" restocking fee. Instead, Mr. Saville told me, "We're not really making much money on this. Do you mind if I add a few hundred dollars?" That's not a "clearly stated policy". He wants to rip us off for as much as possible. That's also why he wants to sell us a larger and more expensive unit and transfer switch than what has been recommended by a competent Certified Generac Technician. The unit wasn't ordered based on the information we provided. Please remember, we asked if there was a unit that ran on gasoline which could be convered to propane. We really didn't provide any information to the salesman other than that our house was wired for 100 watts. We just didn't know anything about generators when we went to Tools Plus. That's why we went there. We assumed, based on Tom Hill's advice, that "They know what you need." Mr. Saville wasn't present when were at Tools Plus. How does he know what information we provided? As he stated, "we are not electricians, have not visited the customers house and do not know the customer's zoning and permitting regulations." Shouldn't the salesman have recommended that we learn this information before the purchase? Please understand that an emergency home generator will need periodic servicing and may need to be repaired. We want this done by someone who is certified to do this, and very familiar with this product. Mr. Saville isn't. Besides, we wish not to do any future business with his company. After getting a second opinion, we learned that the 14,00 watt unit is too powerful for our needs. He just wants to make more money. Also, the 200 watt transfer switch is not the correct switch (and also costs more), since our house is wired for 100 watts. We want to purchase the correct unit from a Certified Generac Tenician; someone who we can trust. This excludes both Mr Saville and Mr. Hill. We just don't feel safe, buying an emergency home (electrical) generator, powered by propane, from people who just don't know anything about the product their selling. We don't have confidence in them; we don't trust them; WE DON'T FEEL SAFE! The unit is still unused, unmarked, and is on a pallat and can be easily picked up. The warehouse is in the same town. It's a few miles away. Why would this cost $600? Please don't allow him to rip us off. We're very upset about doing business with someone who has no ethics and just wants to sell something to make as much money as possible. Please make him pick this up so that we can do business with someone who knows what their doing - with someone we have confidence and trust. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/08/16) */ It's unfortunate that the Beards feel we are ripping them off which is obviously not true. Tools Plus has been in business for 35 years and if that was the case we would not be in business. We have never been told we could not be trusted. As far as the restocking fee is concerned, it is posted both at the front counter of our retail store and on our website. Here is the link: http://www.tools-plus.com/return-policy.html Manufacturers and retail restocking fees are common, especially for large machinery or power equipment and not there to make a profit. There are High costs involved with returns (man hours, transactions costs w/credit card fees & banks, and equipment that cannot be re-sold or returned to the manufacturer). Now unless you've owned your own business, it's difficult for me to explain. Most manufacturers, including Generac, do not even accept any returns of their products back. The *****'s generator was shipped direct from the manufacturer as a special order and the Beards accepted delivery, opened the packaging and disposed of the entire factory wrapping and packaging which prevents this generator from ever being sold as new again or ever being sold at all. To explain our good faith effort to resolve this issue and the $600.00 shipping costs: The cost to pick up the Generator would be $300.00 based on two men and a truck. If the *****'s had "trusted" Tools Plus, the delivery of the 14,000 watt generator cost was another $300.00 which we were also going to absorb. Not to mention the fact that we would be left with an 8,000 watt generator that could not be returned to the manufacturer and at best, sold as used. Obviously, clearly there was a misunderstanding between yourselves and our salesman, but I have to be honest, it's ultimately, you the customer, that has to be responsible when making any purchase. Sincerely, Mrs. *******

4/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have to pay extremely high shipping, due to the failure of the business's staff, to contact me in a timely manner. 3.15.13 at 10:30pm CDT, I placed an order for tools, indicating that I needed them to arrive, at the local ups depot, by the evening of 3.20.13, and seeking shipping advice. When no call came before noon on Monday, I believed that everything was in order, and went on to my afternoon appointments. At 2:25pm CDT, Monday, I missed a call, telling me that not only had they not shipped my order, but they were waiting for me to contact them, to release the order. When I was able to retrieve that message, return that call, at 9:45am CDT,Tuesday, I found out that due to the delays, I now had to pay more than $60 in shipping charges, (more than 12% of the cost of the entire order) to even be able to receive my order, one day late, on Thursday. I asked the phone operator for some consideration on this issue, as I had expected my order would be shipped out Monday morning, and they hadn't even called me, until after 3pm in the afternoon, eastern time. She refused to make any adjustment. At least, had they contacted me on Monday morning, I would have had a less expensive option ($50-ish), or could have paid the $60+ rate, and had the product on Wednesday, when I needed it.

Desired Settlement: I believe that both sides of this issue are partially to blame for this situation. I shouldn't have assumed the company was going to act on my order, and I should have called, first thing Monday morning, to raise the issue. However, I also believe that contacting me, near the end of the day, when my shipment could have already been on a truck for 5-6 hours or more, is not sufficient. Splitting the cost of the expedited delivery with me, would have been a service-minded move on the part of the customer service agent, and one I would gladly accept.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/20) */ Customer ordered 10:30pm on a Friday evening when Tools Plus is closed for business thru the weekend. Hours of operation are clearly stated on our website. Customer's order was processed on the first business day we were open, Monday March 18th. He selected the "FREE" shipping service which was *** Ground. Our Shipping Time Expectancies Map contained on our Shipping Policy Page, and on any *** website clearing shows transit time for*********** as 3 Business days from CT to WI, which would have his package arriving on Thursday, March 21st. Customer's order also contained the following note: "It is very important that this order arrive, no later than Wednesday night. This shouldn't normally be an issue from CT to WI, and I can pick it up at the**********, if needed - as my *** home delivery driver doesn't usually make it until late in the day, to late on Thursday. Thanks!" Due to the customers note, "To Late on Thursday", our diligent staff very courteously called him on the phone number he provided to us. We left a message as he did not pick up the phone. Customer did not call us back until the following day. At that time our customer service representative explained that if he needed the package by Wednesday, he would have to upgrade his shipping method from the "FREE" ground to next day. Customer did not want to pay that additional shipping fee. She then gave him the option of 2 day and the cost which he agreed to do. Our staff also very courteously followed up with a phone call at 4:30 pm that day to remind this customer that this service does not have a guaranteed time of delivery and he would have to do, as he stated in his note, to pick up at the**********. To conclude, since this customer required this merchandise by a certain date and time, he should have: 1)Checked the accurate expectancy times which would have alerted him to his error in anticipated delivery times. 2)Should NOT have selected the "FREE" ground service and upgraded his delivery service or placed his order at an early date if he wanted the "FREE" shipping service. 3)Provided us with a phone number he could be reached at during the day. We cannot be held to a certain time to be able to contact a customer to inform him of his error. Our staff went above and beyond to assist this customer. Tools Plus should not be responsible for a customer's error in selecting the wrong shipping method and told what time to call a customer during the business day to inform him of his error. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) There was no settlement offered. The respondent is correct, as I told the operator I spoke to: *** from CT to WI is 3 days. Thus, had they shipped out my order on Monday morning, as expected, I would have received it in plenty of time, particularly as I was willing to travel to the********** to pick it up, shaving a day off the delivery time. When I spoke to their telephone rep, she told me that by paying the very expensive rate for shipping, she assured me the package would arrive in the morning on Thursday. Alas, this also was not true, or they elected to downgrade the shipping, because the package was not sent in the proper manner to be received on Thursday before noon, instead, it was to arrive before the end of the day. It is interesting to note, that although I spoke to an operator on Tuesday morning, my package had still not left until very late Tuesday afternoon. As a retail manager with more than 20 years shipping experience, this tells me that they did the very least they could do, in terms of having my package arrive in a timely manner. At the end of this story, my order, placed late Friday night, was not shipped out of their business, which opened early Monday morning, until late Tuesday afternoon. Very poor service, indeed. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/03/27) */ First, I would like to clear up one very big misconception this customer has regarding *** and pick up times. *** does not pick up their packages until the end of the business day or at 5:00 pm. All packages start their journey at the end of the business day and ship through the night. Please call *** to confirm. Second, we received a very large and specific NOTE on this order on Monday morning. If "received by Thursday, It's too late". Knowing that the package would not get there until Thursday, we had one of two options: Option 1: Ignore the note with a specific directive that it would be too late if he received it on that day. You selected regular ground shipping, which would have had your package arriving at any time on Thursday. After a package ships, you cannot upgrade without a huge surcharge. Option 2: Contact the customer and advise him of his error and see if he wanted to upgrade his shipping option so he could receive his package on Wednesday as he wanted. Once again, it did not matter whether our customer service representative called you at 10:00 am or 2:00 pm; all packages get picked up at the end of the day. Just to give you some background on how our system works and probably most systems. We do not work through the night. Our business day starts at 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Orders from the internet get down loaded several times a day, the first time at 8:00 am. Orders are verified for authenticity (fraud) and pulled from their locations and packaged and wait to be picked up by *** throughout the day. We get our packages picked up as close to the end of the day as possible, so that we can get as many orders out as possible. ***, *********** all process the movement of their orders after 7:00 pm at night. In other words, if we brought your package to *** first thing in the morning or the last thing in the afternoon, it would be the same and that package would not get processed until that evening. To say that you placed your order on Friday night and for us to question your order on Monday, is about as quick as any company could do. If you provided us with a cell number or a telephone number you could be reached at, we would not be having this conversation. Also, we were faced with choosing Option 1 or Option 2. Would you have preferred we totally disregarded your note? What would you have done? If we selected option 1, I'm sure you would not have been happy with that selection either. We reacted as quickly as possible calling you on Monday for additional directive. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They offer no resolution. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/04/09) */ 1.Customer placed order 10:45 pm, Friday evening, March 15th (after business hours). I can provide a copy of original order which includes customer's specific note. (It is very important that this order arrive, no later than Wednesday night. This shouldn't normally be an issue from CT to WI, and I can pick it up at the**********, if needed - as my *** home delivery driver doesn't usually make it until late in the day, too late on Thursday. Thanks!) 2.Tools Plus called customer first business day, Monday March 18th, leaving a message and advising customer that the package would not get there by the desired date utilizing *** Free Ground Service and awaited further instructions. 3.Customer does not call back until Tuesday, March 19th and was informed of shipping options to get his package to him by the desired date. Customer was then provided options for expedited service. *To receive merchandise by Wednesday, March 20th, overnight shipping would be required and his cost. *To receive merchandise by Thursday, March 21st, two day shipping would be required and his cost. *The customer was given the option to cancel his order if he did not want to pay for the expedited shipping costs. Customer did not want to cancel his order and agreed to the expedited shipping costs and asked to have his merchandise shipped 2 day. 4.Customer files BBB complaint on Tuesday, March 19th Tools Plus handled this customer's order in an exemplary manner and is not responsible for a customer's error in selecting the wrong shipping method. Customer further agreed to the expedited two day shipping rate and could have cancelled his order if he did not want to incur those fees. Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no resolution. The company has elected to build its own circular logic, where it has done no wrong, and only the customer has failed. I hope this approach to customer service serves them well. It didn't with me, nor anyone I've already shared this story with.