BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC offers vintage and new reproduction lighting, period lighting, vintage table and floor lamps, custom lighting and accessories, replacement and custom made lamp shapes, home decor products, alterations of lighting and home decor products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 16, 2006 Business started: 12/07/2005 Business started locally: 12/07/2005 Business incorporated: 12/07/2005 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Director, President/Member Mr. Mark Wagstaff, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Director, President/Member
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Wagstaff, Controller
Business Category

Lighting Fixtures - Retail Lighting Fixtures - Supplies & Parts Antiques - Repair & Restore Lamps - Repair Lamps - Supplies & Parts Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Lamp Shades - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lamps - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lighting Systems & Equipment Lights Bulbs & Tubes Lighting Consultants Lamp Shade Frames & Supplies Antiques - Dealers Antiques - Reproductions Furniture - Retail Housewares - Retail Lamp Shade Covers Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)


Additional Locations

  • 167 Brainard Rd

    Hartford, CT 06114 (860) 493-2532

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband in December brought a lamp to the Light Centering to be fixed. At the time he picked up the lamp, he saw two lamp shades that he thought I would like but noticed their return policy that all items could only be returned for store credit only so he was hesitant to purchase them due to if it wasn't something I liked he wouldn't be able to get a refund. The salesman made him a deal he could buy them to take home and show me and if I didn't like them and he brought them back within 7 days he would get a full refund. He purchased them for $155.71. When he went to return them because I did not like them, they went back on their deal and would not refund the money. We had another lamp that also needed to be fixed but were going to bring it at a later time. He was basically forced by the manager that if we got the other lamp fixed he would take off the difference and refund that back. I feel this is unfair business practices and we pretty much had to have the other lamp fixed in order to get part of our money back.They refunded us $86. Thank you. ****** *****

Desired Settlement: See above

Business Response:

In response to the complaint we received on 3/12/2014.

My name is **** **** and I am the General Manager at Restoration Lighting Gallery.  The ownership and management at Connecticut Lighting Centers & Restoration Lighting Gallery take customer service very seriously. Each customer is made aware of our lamp shade exchange policy during the selection process and it is also printed on the customers receipt and reiterated by the salesperson to the customer at the conclusion of the transaction.

Upon completion of the first repair of (1) lamp, (2) lamp shades were purchased for (2) lamps that the customer had and it was said by the customer that a second lamp would be brought in for repair. 

When the second lamp was brought in on 1/25/2014, for repair, the lamp shades were also brought back. After reviewing our policy on lamp shade exchanges with the customer, we issued a full merchandise credit with the understanding that the new repair would be paid for with the merchandise credit and the full balance of that credit would be refunded.  We made that refund on 2/8/2014

We are wondering where we fell down in helping this customer; our store policy is “seven (7) day exchange or merchandise credit”, we broke our policy and took back the lamp shades as well as refunded the customer’s money. We did retain a portion of the refundable amount ($30.26) to pay for a repair the customer brought in to have done.    

 I am attaching the copies of all the receipts & correspondence that are associated with this complaint. All included attachments were sent to the customer via email & USPS.

If there are any questions or I can be of any assistance to you please contact me directly.

**** ****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******
-----Original Message-----
From: ***********
Sent: Tuesday, March 18, 2014 3:56 PM
To: *******************
Subject: ** Lighting Complaint Ref # *******
Importance: High

Dear ********,

In response to the letter sent to me on Friday, March 14, I would like to indicate that **** **** claims to take customer service very seriously but actually does not.   The agreement between my husband and the salesman was I quote " if you wife does not like the lamp shades bring them back within 7 days and I will give you a full refund NOT a store credit or merchandise credit."  They are practicing unfair business practices and this is unacceptable.  Mr. **** indicated in his response that there was an understanding that we would bring in the second lamp for a "new" repair.  There was NEVER an understanding regarding that matter.  We were FORCED to bring in the second lamp for repair in order to receive the credit refund on our account.  

Please validate this complaint on ** Lighting.   It is apparent that Mr. **** is trying to cover up the fact that the company deceived us with providing a refund on the lamp shades and intent was to make a sale no matter what the cost.
 
I am providing this information as to be truthful and knowingly been taken advantage of by CT Lighting.

Thank you.

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1