BBB Accredited Business since

Landmark Landscaping & Lawn Service

Phone: (203) 268-6100 Fax: (203) 304-8206 .., Newtown, CT 06470 http://www.landmarkslandscaping.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Landmark Landscaping & Lawn Service offers landscape design and maintenance, as well as tree removal, land clearing, and lawn installation. They also perform snow removal.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Landmark Landscaping & Lawn Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Landmark Landscaping & Lawn Service include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Landmark Landscaping & Lawn Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Landmark Landscaping & Lawn Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 2001 Business started: 05/01/1992 Business started locally: 05/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mark Marsala, Owner Ms. Ellisa Hanna, Administrative
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Ellisa Hanna, Administrative
Principal: Mr. Mark Marsala, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Patio & Deck Builders Walkway Design Patio Builder Snow Removal Service Lawn & Tree Care Lawn Installation Service Stump Removal & Grinding Stump Grinding Contractors - Retaining Wall Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
Lawn Experts, LLC Lawn Xperts

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized work perform to my property at **** ****** ******* *********, CT 06615. My tenant on the third floor moved in July. She told me her son worked for a landscaping company who is a good friend of mine and she would ask him to get a quote to clean the weeds and trim hedges in the yard. I told her I have someone to do that and she responded that he has not been doing a good job because weed are everywhere and all the shrubs are overgrown. I told her to get a quote from her son and let me know. I never discuss the matter with her again until I received an invoice #**** dated 8/7/2015 for $691.28 stating to make the check out to a Mark M****** the owner of Landmark Landscaping and not the company name. I called the company to find out who they were because I did not authorized them to do any-work on my property. I spoke with Mark M****** and he proceeded to tell me the tenant gave him the go-head to do the job. I told him I would have never agree to the amount when the guy who usually does the job only charges $100. Mark M****** started screaming using 4 letter words and I could not get a word in. Since he was being so unprofessional I hung up and decided to call my tenant and explained to her that she had no authority to get this company to work on my property without my consent. I would never agree to spend $691.28 to clean the yard when my property has no grass it is completely paved the weed are from the flower beds. She sent me pictures before the work was done and after pictures. Because I leave out of state. I Got a call last month from my tenant son and said to pay him directly $400.00 I told him, he is not the person billing me since August I have gotten a bill every month from Lawn Experts LLC signed by owner Mark M******. I spoke to my attorney he said to ignore them and report him to the better business Bureau for unfair practice because I never gave him permission to do work on my property.

Desired Settlement: I want him to stop billing me or contact me again regarding this matter.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

First I would like to let you know that this is the first notification that I received from the BBB.  I gentleman who is an acquaintance of the owner of Lawn Experts LLC who is indeed Mark M****** got a request from this gentleman to do the job.  He said that he lived there and it he was authorized to do so.   As he is an acquaintance we did not question the situation.  We have been in business for over 28 years and we do not get a good reputation by doing work that is not authorized on top of the fact that we were not going to get paid.  I did however send the bill out month after month with no response at all.  Out of nowhere I got a call from a lawyer who claimed to be her lawyer and said that his client did not authorize the work and has no intention of paying.  I told him that I was sorry and that I would deal with the gentleman directly and that she would not be held responsible for anything and that this is the first I had ever heard of the problem.

I did not argue or anything.  I took his word and ended it.  We obviously wouldn't just go do work that would cost us and we had no idea we were not going to get paid.  Not a good business plan.  As far as him telling her to pay him directly that is not how we do things. So that haas nothing to do with anything.

I would be angry as well if this happened to me but I also wouldn't just ignore bills from August till now.  All it would have been taken was a call.

If there are any other questions I would be happy to answer anything else.

Thank you.

Ellisa H****
Admin.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Landmark Landscaping & Lawn Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)