BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

K & J Tree Removal

Phone: (203) 248-8733 Fax: (203) 909-6506 180 Tom Swamp Rd, Hamden, CT 06518 http://www.kjlandscapingllc.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

K & J Landscaping LLC offers commercial and residential landscaping services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K & J Tree Removal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K & J Tree Removal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K & J Tree Removal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 22, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2004 Business started locally: 03/01/2004 Business incorporated: 06/21/2006 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kyle D. Delucia, Organizer Mr. Rob Wright, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle D. Delucia, Organizer
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service - Transplant Concrete Contractors Drainage Contractors Excavating Contractors Trenching Contractors Mason Contractors Walkway Design Swimming Pools - Removal Property Maintenance Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Firewood Mulches Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Driveway Preparation Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Natural Stone Restoration & Cleaning Stone Setting Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Stone - Natural Lawn & Tree Care Lawn Installation Service Stump Removal & Grinding Stump Grinding Contractors - Retaining Wall Landscape Architects Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
K & J Landscaping, LLC

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2014 I had some work done by this company on my patio and sidewalk by having some pavers placed for a new sidewalk and patio. They company stated that they would fix my lawn that was torn up. The lawn was not fixed to to the way the grass was before. They also stated that between the pavers I would not get any weeds due to the sand that that they put in it. I have been getting weeds all over my patio and sidewalk. They stated they would come out and kill the weeds and place more sand down. They have yet to do that and I have given them plenty of chances to come out. They will not work with me nor give me any answers about when they will show up. I would like them to come out and fix the job that they never finsihed in the first place by adding more sand between the pavers and getting rid of the weeds.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come out and fix the job that they never finished in the first place adding more sand between the pavers and getting rid of the weeds.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

The customer hired K&J Landscaping for patio and walkway installation work which was completed in April 2014.  The customer contacted our office on August 11, 2014 regarding concerns with the weeds between the pavers and the need for additional stone dust.  She was advised at the time that the office would contact her prior to sending someone out to review her concerns. On August 21st, the customer was advised that an appointment will be scheduled either the afternoon of Friday, August 22nd or Saturday August 23rd. 

On August 22nd, office staff spoke with the customer three times as follows:

At approximately 8AM the customer was advised that scheduling was pending;

Mid-morning the customer was again advised that she would be provided with an appointment time as soon as possible, most likely by the end of the day or by no later than Monday morning;

At approximately 1:45PM, the customer was provided with an appointment time of Saturday, August 23, 2014 at 10:30AM.  This conversation was conducted by phone and the customer verbally agreed to accept the appointment as scheduled.

The customer also received a call from another staff member at 2:45PM in response to a message left by the customer.

Staff will continue to work with the customer to ensure satisfaction with work completed.

Sincerely,

K&J Landscaping, LLC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired K&J Landscaping to remove 16 trees from our property. They cut the trees down on Monday, 4/7 & Tuesday, 4/8/14. They demanded a check when the tree-cutting was complete & we complied. They promised us they would be back on Friday to remove the trees that are laying all over my lawn & they have not returned. I have made multiple calls to them & they claim "you are at the top of the list". It is now 9 days later, they have our money & they can't be bothered to complete the job. This is not good customer service.

Desired Settlement: Remove the trees & pile of brush they said they would cart away & repair my lawn where the trucks damaged it when they drove on it during the rainstorm on 4/8.

Business Response:

Hi, *******,

We received a complaint last week. #********. It has been resolved and the customer is happy. The wood was taken away and the yard has been cleaned up to their satisfaction. We are looking for this complaint to be noted as resolved on your website and the BBB files. Let me know if there is anything else needed by K & J Landscaping to make that happen.

Thank you in advance.

*** ******

Operations Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. They made up for it with this quick response.

Sincerely,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues