BBB Accredited Business since

Express Kitchens

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 247-1000 Fax: (860) 247-6000 3080 Main St, Hartford, CT 06120 http://www.expresskitchen.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Express Kitchens offers the design, services, and installation of kitchen cabinets, as well as laminate, granite, silestone, countertops.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Express Kitchens meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Express Kitchens include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Express Kitchens
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 2004 Business started: 07/01/2002 Business started locally: 07/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/04/2002 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Parag Mehta, Owner/Member Mr. Hitesh Kothari, CEO Mr. Shibu Thankhachan, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Parag Mehta, Owner/Member
Customer Contact: Mr. Shibu Thankhachan, Controller
Business Category

Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Granite Cabinet Doors Cabinets Countertops

Alternate Business Names
Express Countertops, Kitchen & Flooring, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2415 Dixwell Ave

    Hamden, CT 06514 (203) 287-0039

  • 303 Boston Post Rd

    Orange, CT 06477 (203) 283-4909

  • 3080 Main St

    Hartford, CT 06120 (860) 247-1000

  • 3310 Berlin Tpke

    Newington, CT 06111 (860) 436-3686

  • 67 Federal Rd Bldg B

    Brookfield, CT 06804 (203) 546-7290

  • 779 Wolcott St

    Waterbury, CT 06705 (203) 528-4958

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/30/14, I purchased a white Silestone countertop from the ******* ** branch of ******* ********. The sales person was probably the rudest person I've ever encountered, but I proceeded with the purchase anyway. The installation was shoddy - yellow, inconsistent, and rough seams, rough edges, and the backsplash was too thick for me to be able to turn on the hot water at full flow. After several months of working with the stone yard and a representative at ******* ********* main branch in ********, including them sending out a repair person multiple times, the countertop is now what I'd refer to as "good enough". The primary seam, which I was told by the gentlemen that did the template would not be noticeable, is still noticeable and uneven. The backsplash had to be cut down in height to allow for hot water flow. Generally speaking, what I purchased was not what I got and is not of a quality that I think anyone would expect of a brand new countertop.

Desired Settlement: Once we got to "good enough" I asked (I was a bit surprised they didn't offer) if they could take a % off the original price. Their response was an offer of a $100 credit stating they dont do discounts, but rather stand by their work. I disagree. They stood by their work in the form of me making concessions. To me, standing by their work their work would have been replacement. In lieu of replacement, I felt at least 25%-50% off would be acceptable.

Business Response: ***** job: We installed the job on 10/21/14. Customer signed off on the install (attached herewith) A few days after Mrs ***** reported a concern with the seam; upon site visit we determined that the seam color turned pinkish/orange color, most likely from using too much hardener or not enough pigment color additive. We spoke with her, told her I would be sending ***** out to fix any issues she may have and to be there to point out the concerns. ***** went to her house on 11/3/14 to change the seam color and sealed the back splashes to the countertop with epoxy. She was happy with the job and signed the satisfaction sheet.(attached here with) A few days after; she called again and said she wasn’t happy with the size of the seam on the back splash. The splash had a field cut that wasn’t straight, we remade the splash to the left of the seam and to the stove and sent ***** out again to replace them and try to tighten up the seam further. This was done on Nov 6th. She contacted us again with more concerns about seam again, some little nicks on a notch that where visible, because of clear caulk used. As well as concerns her faucet couldn’t turn on all the way etc.. We visited her and made a appointment to remove her backsplashes on 1/31/15 and cut them down to 3 ½” and go back to install them and address all her concerns again on 2/4/15. We were able to successfully reinstall the backsplashes, caulked the bottom of the backsplashes to the counter, addressed the little nicks ect.. to her satisfaction again. She did sign another satisfaction form.(Attached here with) At this time we are happy to report that we have addressed all her concerns with the countertops. Every time she has had a problem we have taken care of them. We believe that we have finished the job 100% and do not believe that there are any grounds for refunds. If you have any other questions please contact me at ************. Sincerely ******* *****

3/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased our new kitchen cabinets from Express Kitchen in *********. This has been a lengthy process for us which we began in September 2014, as we are renovating our house. We paid for our cabinets in full in October and were told by our salesperson that our order qualified us for a free sink. Our paperwork detailing our order and payment also confirms that we qualified for a free sink (up to 249$) because we paid over 3000$ for our "Star Cabinetry". At that time we were not ready for countertops, because we were unsure what material we wanted. We let our salesperson know we were unsure, and she gave us quotes for countertops. At no time did she tell us that the free sink was conditional upon us getting our countertops there. Susequently we decided to purchase our countertops elseware, and we let our salesperson know that as we were in the store on 2/20/15 reviewing & revising our cabinet order (there was no mention of the sink during this conversation by the salesperson). We stopped in to the store again on 3/2/15 to review & add to our cabinet order and our salesperson stated "you remember you are getting a free sink right?" To which, my husband assured her we remembered. Our order was delivered on 3/3/15 and the sink was not delivered. My husband has been into the store several times to go over the very botched up order and when he asked about the sink he was told by our salesperson and ******* (from the ******** office who he spoke with via phone) that our order did not qualify for the free sink because we didn't get the specific cabinets that the free sink comes with. My husband advised him that we were never told that, and we were reminded about the sink, and he was then told we were only getting it because they thought we were getting our countertops from them. The only concession ******* was willing to make was to charge us 100$ for the sink. We have spent an excess of 5000$ at Express Kitchen for cabinets, and are not willing to pay for the sink, when we were assured in writing that we were getting it for free.

Desired Settlement: We have now had to purchase a sink on our own, and we want Express Kitchen to reimburse us for it. We will submit the copy of the reciept for our sink and want it reimbursed to us. We are not willing to pay Express Kitchen any additional money.

Business Response: Greetings We are happy to respond that we did reach out to *** ******* and have provided the sink to him at no charge. We are glad to work with the customer with any concerns that he may have to ensure the kitchen project is completed to their satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a kitchen installed on November 10, 2014 and the end product reflects multiple issues; the contractor Express Kitchen, fails to rectify shoddy workmanship. Copy of letter to Express Kitchen copy and pasted herein elaborating on details (pictures in original letter did not transfer). Express Kitchen *** ****** **** **** ******* ** ***** RE: ******* – Kitchen installation issues Invoice # ******* To Whom It May Concern: On November 10th I had a kitchen installed. I was told the install process would be two days – cabinets in one day (11/10), counters and appliances in one day (11/18). In fact, it took 6 days of contractors needing access to the home causing me to miss excessive time from work and much time wasted waiting for contractors that didn’t come and had to be rescheduled! I spoke with ***** (Express Kitchen) in the morning Saturday November 22 regarding outstanding issues with the install. ***** told me “her commission had already been charged $135 because she forgot to charge me for the dishwasher install” which, in fact, is charged to me on my invoice and she basically said “I’ll see what I can do but [no promises] they already charged my commission…”. It is none of my business or concern that her commission was withheld and I am not sure what that has to do with anything. She offered no solution or promise of my satisfaction so I stopped payment to Express Kitchen for $2,406.32, the balance I paid on November 17. It is unheard of in the world of contracting that a job be paid in full prior to completion for just these reasons. As of now, the following issues remain outstanding: 1. The dishwasher is not recessed – I paid $165 for install and it sticks outs 2” beyond the countertop, any sweeping done in front of it will shove the dirt under the dishwasher, the legs of the dishwasher are in plain sight 2. The microwave is loose - Not only did I pay $105 for this to be installed, and it should have been done on Nov 10, I had to call multiple people, multiple times, I waited for contractors who never showed up multiple times and now that’s its finally done it actually rattles and wiggles on its bracket and over time this will only worsen, at some point it may crash down onto the stove and/or person using it 3. There is a toe kick gap between the two corner cabinets – I was charged $82.32 for toe kick. This should have been sealed instead a 3” gap remains and food (like a dropped grape, etc) and dirt will collect between the cabinets. Once the lost food begins to rot, it becomes a bigger issue as well as a buildup of unreachable dirt over time. 4. The sink counter has a significant gap against the wall – $2,257 for stone counters and there is almost ½” wall gap on the sink counter. The man who did the template specifically mentioned none of the walls are flush, and he accounted for that on his templates - the other 3 walls are perfect indicating the fault lie with the template or the stone cutting. The caulking job is so bad gaps were left where I am able to actually pass paper right through as if nothing is there at all and there is unpaintable caulk mess all over the wall. Water and other substances will get behind the cabinets causing rot and mold over time. The cabinet installer came by to see what could be done – he suggested the tile company should provide a 4” matching backsplash and then left without even so much as a “good bye” or any indication when I will be contacted regarding fixing the issue. 5. There sink cabinet has a significant gap between it and the wall large enough to insert my fingers - There should be ¼ round or other trim installed here to prevent things getting behind the cabinet. I was charged $33.60 for molding and $21 for a repair kit for just this type of thing. 6. I was charged $165 for ‘extra work’ for dishwasher install – (copied here, verbatim) “Misc Sku-extra work to do plumbing for dishwasher like putting extra dtain or parts.but no electrical included”. The plumbing for the sink and dishwasher was already present, brand new, with shut offs, all Express Kitchen did was screw in the hose…and leave the dishwasher protruding from where it should be. See relevant pictures attached below. I have sent a copy of this letter to the BBB, State of Connecticut and do not intend to release the $2,406.32 I have disputed on ********** until all above issues are corrected. Sincerely, ********* ******* *** **** *** **** ********* ** ***** ###-###-#### The dishwasher is not recessed (PICTURE) There is a toe kick gap between the two corner cabinets (PICTURE) The sink counter has a significant gap against the wall – paper/food/water fits easily behind (PICTURE) – the caulk is all over the wall and UNPAINTABLE, is sloppy and attempting to caulk a ½” gap! (PICTURE) The sink cabinet has gap against the wall large enough to insert my fingers (PICTURE)

Desired Settlement: Correct, repair and/or replace all 6 outstanding items. As of now, the following issues remain outstanding: 1. The dishwasher is not recessed – I paid $165 for install and it sticks outs 2” beyond the countertop, any sweeping done in front of it will shove the dirt under the dishwasher, the legs of the dishwasher are in plain sight 2. The microwave is loose - Not only did I pay $105 for this to be installed, and it should have been done on Nov 10, I had to call multiple people, multiple times, I waited for contractors who never showed up multiple times and now that’s its finally done it actually rattles and wiggles on its bracket and over time this will only worsen, at some point it may crash down onto the stove and/or person using it 3. There is a toe kick gap between the two corner cabinets – I was charged $82.32 for toe kick. This should have been sealed instead a 3” gap remains and food (like a dropped grape, etc) and dirt will collect between the cabinets. Once the lost food begins to rot, it becomes a bigger issue as well as a buildup of unreachable dirt over time. 4. The sink counter has a significant gap against the wall – $2,257 for stone counters and there is almost ½” wall gap on the sink counter. The man who did the template specifically mentioned none of the walls are flush, and he accounted for that on his templates - the other 3 walls are perfect indicating the fault lie with the template or the stone cutting. The caulking job is so bad gaps were left where I am able to actually pass paper right through as if nothing is there at all and there is unpaintable caulk mess all over the wall. Water and other substances will get behind the cabinets causing rot and mold over time. The cabinet installer came by to see what could be done – he suggested the tile company should provide a 4” matching backsplash and then left without even so much as a “good bye” or any indication when I will be contacted regarding fixing the issue. 5. There sink cabinet has a significant gap between it and the wall large enough to insert my fingers - There should be ¼ round or other trim installed here to prevent things getting behind the cabinet. I was charged $33.60 for molding and $21 for a repair kit for just this type of thing. 6. I was charged $165 for ‘extra work’ for dishwasher install – (copied here, verbatim) “Misc Sku-extra work to do plumbing for dishwasher like putting extra dtain or parts.but no electrical included”. The plumbing for the sink and dishwasher was already present, brand new, with shut offs, all Express Kitchen did was screw in the hose…and leave the dishwasher protruding from where it should be.

Business Response: We are happy to report that we have come to a agreement with *********. We visited her house last week and again today and all 6 items that ********* had concerns on have been resolved.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

December 9, 2014

To: BBB

Complaint # ********

Re: Kitchen install

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

On Monday December 8th Express Kitchen visited my home and repaired the last of the outstanding issues.  *******, the owner, was professional, eager to communicate and accommodating while trying to reach an agreement on resolution.

 

Please consider my complaint satisfied.

 

Thank you,

********* *******

 

 

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of the drawers is too big, such that I cannot even open it, since it runs into my dishwasher handle

Desired Settlement: I was promised a new drawer, which I never received. Then I was never called, while a new drawer front sat in the store. I've contacted by email, phone, and stopped by, but still no resolution, several months later.

Business Response: We have reached out to the customer via email; We will ensure we resolve his concerns.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. At this point it is still promises, not reality. Time will tell if there will be any follow-through.

Sincerely,

****** *******

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a complete kitchen from Express Kitchens, including granite counter tops. One cabinet in particular was extremely delayed, and was not delivered in a timely fashion until several phone calls to the business. Once the cabinet was delivered (the day before the granite install) it had damage and was not exactly the same as the others (it had soft close doors, none of the others have this feature). Granite was installed, with several noticeable chips to the back of the counter, and the back seam of the counter to wall (behind the sink) was never sealed. I spoke to ******* several times requested credit for the cabinet, and damage to the counters. I submitted photos to back up the complaint, and confirmed receipt of the photos. I have made several calls to follow up with no answer and no credit given.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the cabinet, and acceptable credit for the damaged counter top ($350). Also I would like the counter to be sealed along the back wall as it should have been.

Business Response: We will reach out to ***** by Tuesday the 7th October to resolve his outstanding request for Credit.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our kitchen installed on May 13,2014. We contact them on May 20, 2014 looking for our counter top install. They had not measured our kitchen for install. They admitted that they forgotten. They said that they would send a check for $300 the inconvenience for ten days of waiting. We have yet to receive the correct check. They sent a check that wasn't cashable. They spelled our name wrong. We are still not completed on installation. We have had our crown molding fall off the cabinet. They re-installed it but we still have a gap on the crown molding to the ceiling, which has not been corrected. We have tried on many occasions to speak to Operations Manager ******* ***** to correct the poor installation of cabinetry / plumbing. We have yet not been able to speak to him. We were contacted by e-mail stating that the kitchen installation is completed. ******* spoke with his contractor ***** about June 21, 2014 and he stated that the kitchen is 100% completed. We have a base plate toe guard that is off the cabinet. The side panel to the refrigerator is bowed and while the installer was trying to fix it, he damaged our new tile floor and he left holes on the side of the panel were he tried to toe nail it to the floor. He also damaged our brand new tile floor. No one has tried to repair or replace or damaged tile.(We have photos that we sent to ******* and his response was are these old photos.)We have tried numerous times to voice mail and have no response to these calls. The kitchen faucet was installed incorrectly twice and still leaks. (I have video of the leaking faucet.) When asked to replace it, he said that if faucet was defected he would have to charge us $200 - $400 dollars to install. We feel that the installer incorrectly installed the faucet and broke a piece which we had to go replace. In summary there are additional items that needed to be corrected. We are very frustrated dealing with them to complete and repair the kitchen installation. Please Help!!!

Desired Settlement: We would like our kitchen repaired / fixed to original specifications as agreed to on the contract.We would like the &300.00 check sent as agreed. We would also like our check sent for the balance of $250.00 for the faucet that we had to purchase. They incorrectly ordered a bathroom faucet and then sent us a damaged kitchen faucet which they installed.

Business Response: ******* ***** and ***** ****** from Express Kitchens visited the customers to view the issues. There are 3 distinct points mentioned by the customer:- 1. Delay in Install of countertops - The customer is correct, there was a delay in scheduling installation of counters, we spoke with the customer and offered them a $300 refund; the customer agreed to this, there was a spelling error on the check that was sent; but it was re sent and the customer has received it. 2. Cabinetry product issues:- Upon visiting the customer's home there were some minor adjustments that need to be made in addition to changing a fridge panel; we have agreed with the customer to perform this and are in the process of scheduling a date for our installer. 3. Leaking Faucet:- We sold the customer a faucet worth $127, customer reported that it was leaking after install, I offered to re-order the faucet or a full refund; customer asked for a full refund which was sent to him; customer made a additional request for our plumber to unhook the leaky faucet and install a new faucet that the customer purchased, although this is not covered by warranty we went ahead and did this as a customer service gesture; consecutively customer called to complain that the new faucet was also leaking; I offered to send the plumber to go there and fix it or change it out with a new faucet; if the plumber had made a mistake it would be no charge, but the customer decided to take it upon himself to install the faucet for the 3rd time. We have done everything in our power to resolve the faucet situation and do not agree with the customers demand of $250 refund for the faucet.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: In reading******* response to our discussion on July 2, 2014, I totally disagree with his comments stating there are only minor issues to address. In speaking directly with him and his contractor, I was able to physically show them each and every issue. I discussed the faucet fiasco that their plumber initially installed the faucet, within hours it was leaking. I had to shut off the water under the sink. I called ******* and he set up an appt. for them to return. They inspected it & removed it stating it was no good and needed replacing. The plumber (********) spoke with ******* on the phone, Then handed me the phone. ******* told me that he would have to order a faucet(none in stock). He said it would take another 4 to 6 days to have a functioning kitchen. We had a dinner party planned that evening to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. He  then stated I could buy a faucet and he would reimburse me later. I left to get a faucet at***** store. I returned and the plumbers started to install it. Within 10 minutes, the plumbers stated "We have a problem". They showed me a broken part and said they needed another part. I returned to ***** to explain my dilemma and they opened another box and gave me the new part package. I returned home and gave it to the plumbers to install. They finished and left. A short time later the new faucet was leaking. I called*******; he stated that if the faucet was defective, he will charge me $200.00 to $400.00 to recover some of his expenses. I asked for my original box that the faucet came in. I also told him I will not pay a second time for a faucet to be installed. I returned the faucet for credit, I purchased another faucet, returned home and installed it correctly, thus, no leaks. The plumbers were in such a rush, they installed it incorrectly, the seated plate was at a 50 degree offset angle, it needed to be exactly 90 degrees from the upper stem. the inner diameter of the stem must line up with the outer collar seated plate. ******* asked me if he could look at it, he took a picture and sent it to his plumber (********). Below are all the remaining open issues: 

I placed check marks next to each line item that has been ignored since the inital installations of 5/13/14, 6/4/14 They are:

Toe plate and side molding needs to be re-installed.

* Replace hinge & cabinet door.

Replace round head screw with flat head screw and cover with felt ring to protect cabinet finish.

* Install grommemets on al cabinet doors.

* Need marker pen to touch up marred wood surfaces.

Crown molding gaps (2) places needs to be corrected.

* Refrigerator side panel (bowed) to be replaced & secured properly.

 

Sincerely,
******* *******

Business Response: We have already agreed with the work order list that the customer has posted here during our site visit. We have scheduled our installer to go out to finish these items on August 6th. We are working hard to address all the customers product related concerns and make sure they are satisfied.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
1. The repair date of August 6, 2014 is incorrect. The date is August 12, 2014.
 
2. The response from Kitchen Express regarding the faucet fiasco is incorrectly stated. 
I discussed the faucet fiasco that their plumber initially installed. Within a short time it was leaking. I had to shut off the water under the sink because the water was flowing out onto the kitchen floor. I called ******* and he set up an appointment for them to return. They arrived and inspected the faucet. Removed the faucet stating that it was no good and needed replacing. The plumber (********) spoke with ******* on his cell phone, then he handed the phone to me. ******* told me that he would have to order a faucet (none in stock). He said that it would take another four to six days to have a functioning kitchen. I told him that we had a dinner party planned for our 34th anniversary and that it was unacceptable. He then stated that I could buy a faucet and he would reimburse me later. I immediately left to buy a faucet at ***** store. I returned and the plumber started to install it. With in ten minutes the plumber stated "We have a problem". They showed me a broken plastic part and said that they needed another part. I returned to ***** to explain my dilemma and they opened another box and gave me another parts package. I returned home and gave it to the plumbers to install. They finished and left, a short time later this new faucet was leaking. I called ******* immediately and he stated if this faucet is defective he will not charge me, but if it defective he will charge me $200 - $400 to recover some of his expenses. I disagreed, I asked for my original box that the faucet came in because the plumbers took it. I needed it to return the new leaking faucet from *****. I told him that I would not pay a second time to have the faucet installed correctly. I returned the faucet for credit, I purchased the same faucet, returned home studied the detailed instructions and proceeded to install it correctly. I noticed when I removed the upper stem it was not flush and not at 90 degrees to the upper faucet. I review the pictorial instruction and it stated that the stem must be 90 degrees to the upper faucet or it will leak. I showed ******* when he came to review all the open items to finish and stated that the stem must be at 90 degrees or the faucet leaks, ******* took a look at it and took a picture of it with his cell phone and sent it to ********. In summation, in my opinion the plumbers were in such a rush they installed the previous faucets incorrectly and I should not have to pay for their errors. I am only asking to be reimbursed for the cost of the faucet, not my time missed from work or labor charged to install the faucet correctly.

Sincerely,

******* *******

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started a kitchen remodeling during the week of April 21. we are still waiting for finishing items for our kitchen. My husband and I have taken several days off for scheduled appts only to have the installers not show up and no calls to cancel or showing up 1 1/2 hours after scheduled time. Initially the wrong counter was ordered, it was not in when it was supposed to be and nobody notified us until the afternoon before the scheduled install! We had to wait 2 1/2 weeks for a replacement,leaving us with no use of our kitchen. The initial sink was dented which again left us with no use of our kitchen for another week. A replacement was ordered and it came without necessary installation hardware.I had to leave work early AGAIN and go to Hartford to get another sink. Scratched cabinet doors, gaps between the counter and walls and the list goes on. The installers failed to show 3 times and we are still waiting for our sink to be fixed and caulked, a side splash and other things.This is not the quality work we were promised when we signed our contract with Express Kitchens.

Desired Settlement: Complete all outstanding work as originally contracted in a timely manner. Compensation for time lost from work due to missed/no show appointments.

Business Response: ******* (Install Manager) & *** (Project manager )visited customers home, We have reached a resolution with the customer. We are going to send our installers to correct all the items mentioned by the customer and have also agreed to refund the customer in full for the sink that they are not happy with. We will do everything necessary to resolve the customers concerns and ensure the kitchen is finished to the customers satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

**** ******* I am waiting to hear back from ******* regarding the date for the finish work. Once the work is finished and finished to our satisfaction, I will gladly rescind this complaint. **** *******

Business Response: The final installation for **** ******* is Scheduled for Saturday the 16th, I have confirmed this with **** via email, and would like to assure the customer that we are expecting to finish the kitchen 100% on this date.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We started a kitchen remodel project with Express Kitchens last March !! This has been the worst company to deal with in regards to service. We have had at least 5 (if not more) appts. scheduled where nobody showed up . This is despite having appointments and times made in advance, they don't show and they don'e even have the common courtesy to call. I can't even get a response from a manager. The most recent missed appts occurred on Sept 29, the appt was scheduled for after 3,which I left work early to make sure I was there. Nobody came or called. My neighbor told me they came at 1:30 !! Why, I don't know. I had to call yet again and had to now wait until Oct.20. Again.......nobody showed up or called. I emailed them and have not even gotten a call back. This is such poor customer service. This is how they treat their customers? I can not refer anyone to them with this history. I complained about this with you earlier in the year and I unfortunately thought all was settled and we were finished, we have a whole loose counter that is not secure in the wall and can't get them to come and fix it. I also have billing disputes and was told by the manager ,he would call to go over it and correct it, never got a call from him and this was in the beginning of October!! How long do we have to wait?? My husband and I are beyond frustrated and disgusted with this whole company.

Desired Settlement / Outcome
Desired Settlement:
Desired Outcome:
I want the job completed. I want a call from the district manager/CEO/Owner, someone above Charles. I've had it with trying to be accommodating and having to wait until they have time. My time is important too, I am the customer and for good quality service, we should be taken care of asap. This job has been bungled since the beginning and I'm sure the CEO/district managers/regional managers have no idea this job has been run so poorly and would not be happy if they knew. I want to hear from Shibu Thankachan or Hitesh Kothari, so I can tell this to them directly. There are also billing errors that have yet to be corrected and again, I am looking to have this corrected asap too.


Business Response: We have reached out to the customer and spoken with her over the last couple of days, and I am happy to report that we have resolved all her concerns with the cabinetry and billing. The job is complete and **** and *** are happy with their kitchen.

7/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a new complete kitchen installed 4/14. After the install we noticed that repairs had to be made. We contacted the company and they sent out a repairman 6/14 and most of the repairs were completed. The repairman was supposed to finish the backsplash which was not the correct size. The repairman said that he would have to come back with another backsplash. We were also concerned about how the countertops were installed. Two of the seams are acceptable, one seam is mismatched and not acceptable. The repairman took pictures of the unacceptable countertop seam and said that he could not make the repairs to the counter tops and the company would get back to us. We have not heard from the company since the repairman left. We contacted the company three times (6/11, 6/25 & 7/5) via email, two to the install manager ******* ***** and one directly to the company. The company still has not contacted us to complete the kitchen as promised as of 7/11/14.We would like the BBB to help us get our kitchen finished and we are requesting a settlement. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: We would like the seams on the counters repaired or the countertops should be replaced if they can not be repaired and the backsplash should be finished.

Business Response: We visited the customers home this week, We applied a coat of seam fill to reseal the seam ; The customer was un-happy with the finished product, as the seam was not leveled. We have come to a agreement with the customer as you can see in the email attached here. we are refunding the customer for countertop, and are going to go back out there to finish a side splash.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Sincerely,

******* ******

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/25/14 I sent an email to ****** *******, Project Manager, regarding a problem with my trash drawer. Specifically, since the install the trash drawer never closed properly and now it randomly opens up without being pulled open. I requested repair service for the trash drawer since it was becoming a hazard for my family. Specifically, both myself and my 10 year old son have accidentally bumped into the drawer not realizing it re-opened after being closed. My son hurt himself. On 5/27 *** ******* responded to my email and stated that she would get back to me after discussing the matter with ******* *****.On June 7, I sent a follow up email to *** ******* and *** ***** on the status of my request. In that email, I also stated that if I did not hear back from them asap I would have no recourse but to file a compliant with the BBB. It is now June 27 (5 weeks after my initial email) and still no response. For the record, there were numerous problems with my kitchen install but in the end Express Kitchen came through and corrected the issues (after I lodged a number of compliants with *** *****). Throughout my kitchen installation I was very transparent over my concerns related to the breaks in communication at the project management level as well as the product quality. I was assured by *** ******* that I would not have similar issues to those experienced by my neighbors (who also worked with Express Kitchens). She also committed to seeing that any quality/service issues would be corrected. My kitchen installation took place around July/August 2013. I am filing this complaint as I feel Express Kitchen has not lived up to their end of the deal which is to stand by their products (and fix any defects) and to ensure quality customer service. If anyone in my household gets seriously hurt because of the broken drawer I will pursue other cause of actions against Express Kitchen.

Desired Settlement: I want my drawer installed properly to avoid any future accidents or problems!

Business Response: Express Kitchens Installer visited the customers house on June30th to resolve her concern with the roll out trash drawer, Our installer was able to make the necessary adjustments. The customer signed off & acknowledged that the trash can drawer had been fixed, See attached sheet.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the professionals because I didn't want to do it myself, I needed a cabinet with a trash basket inside, I had to pay extra to modified the cabinet and when I got it the insert for the trash didn't fit, they told me they don't make one that fit the cabinetI had to put that cabinet because I need to install the stone countertop that was cut already for that cabinet, but it is a useless cabinet not even close to what I pay forEven I didn't get the insert for the trash can, I have not get the money back

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the cabinet to make it what I pay for in my house because it is install already, or give me 100% of the money back so I can hire a carpenter to make this a functional cabinet

Consumer Response: From: ****** *******
Sent: Thursday, December 05, 2013 10:12 AM
To: BBB
Subject: complaint against express kitchen

I, ****** ******* from ** ****** *** ** ***** ******* **. want to make a statement that on Dec 5 2013, Express Kitchen complete the job to my entire satisfaction, if there is any questions please feel free to call me at *** *** ****

Sincerely yours
****** *******

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered and paid for counter tops for our kitchen on May 6, 2013. We were told that we would have them in 3 - 4 weeks. At 4 1/2 weeks they delivered the 5 counters, one that had bad coloring compared with the other 4, and one with a chip in it. Thirteen days later they arrived again with the 2 problem tops. The new one that replaced the one with a chip, now has 2 chips, and the other, although the color is right, has a seam that is not flush, and now there was also a chip in it. Eight days later we went to Hartford to see the progress, since we were tired of disconnecting the plumbing for each visit. The seam was still not flush and nothing had been done about the chips. We went back the next day and reluctantly accepted the counters. (There are tiny chips along the edges of some.) Twelve days later they installed the counters. In the process they put 4 chips in my porcelain sink. One is 6 inches long and about 1/2 in high. That one is in the front of the sink. They claim it is not their fault, that the sink was old. The sink had no chips when they started. They never mentioned the damage when they were here. They said to wait to clean up the area around the sink when the caulking was dry. We have also noticed that one counter doesn't even reach the end of the cabinet. It seems to me that 9 1/2 weeks is a long time to wait for poor workmanship and damage to a good sink. They offered us something for all our problems before the sink problem. We accepted a 4 ft.finished counter for my workshop of any light color. I feel they should either fix or replace our sink. We now have the hole cut in the counter for a sink of this size. If we have to replace it and can't find one the same size we will have to buy a new counter. Product_Or_Service: Counter tops

Desired Settlement: Fix or replace sink

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/31) */ Customer purchased counters only from Express Kitchens, Customer wanted to reuse their old sink which we put in. When we finished no damage was noted on the paperwork. Inspite of this we have contacted ***** and have ordered a touch up enamel kit to try and repair the chip. Customer has agreed to this solution and we will take the necessary steps to address his concerns Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/08/22) */ Express Kitchens came out yesterday to repair my sink. The sink still is in very poor condition. I am still very displeased with their response and the work they have done. I have given up ever getting any satisfaction from them. I don't think they really care about their customers after they get the money. I am left with a damaged sink, counters with small chips, and one counter that doesn't reach the end of the cabinet, and that counter is also not level. This job was supposed to be done in 3 - 4 weeks. We ordered and paid in full on May 6, 2013. To say the very least we are very disappointed in the job and the time it has taken.

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service