BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A K Remodeling & Design Services offers a full service remodeling company; handyman, home improvements, additions, kitchen and bathroom remodeling, decks, windows, doors, siding, roofing and gutters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A K Remodeling & Design Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A K Remodeling & Design Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A K Remodeling & Design Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated: 04/06/2004 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brant A. Batzinger, Manager/Member Mrs. Torri Batzinger, Owner/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brant A. Batzinger, Manager/Member
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Caulking Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Doors - Repair Drywall Contractors Drywall Taping and Texturing Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Handyman Services Granite Cabinet Refacing Doors - Installation Storm Windows & Doors Appliances - Installation Pressure Washing Windows - Repairing Moldings Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Deck Cleaning & Sealing Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Service Area
Hartford, Middlesex and New Haven Counties
Alternate Business Names
A K Associates, LLC Case Handyman & Remodeling Services

Additional Locations

  • 40 N Plains Ind Rd Ste A

    Wallingford, CT 06492 (203) 269-1576

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The wood from an existing deck was removed and an extended deck was added. **** was used. After a bad snow storm and snow had to be taken off of roof, the deck separated from house. The insurance co. came to look at damages and would not pay because they said the deck was not attached to the house properly. I called Case (*** *********) and told him what had happened. He sent a worker who assessed the damage and told me that it wasn't done right in the first place. I wanted it fixed. *** ********* did repair damage by removing and re-installing existing deck boards and said he would repair frame to house and install one new **** board. I paid him an additional $188. The end of last year I noticed the board he put in had warped and was raised enough to cause someone to fall as you walked across the deck. This year it got worse so I called him and told him what happened and he said he would come out and look at it. He never came. I've called several times and he doesn't answer the phone, not does he return my calls. I'm at my wits end because I don't want to pay any more and I want it fixed.

Desired Settlement: See above in complaint description.I've paid $5469.49 in 2008 to do the deck and $188.00 on 9/8/11 to repair the damage that the insurance co. said was his fault. I feel that if it was done right the boards which are **** should not have warped. I want it fixed and I don't feel that I should have to pay him any more money.

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

In 2008 we were contracted to remove existing decking and leave existing frame. Contract included to expand the deck to 16 ft. saving old frame to save money. The deck was built and attached to house properly. Contract included adding new **** decking to surface of old and new frame. Three years later in 2011 we were called that the deck was sinking. Upon arrival we were told that a contractor had shoveled the snow from back of roof onto the deck. This weight of snow damaged the old frame not the new one. We were also told she did not want to pay for the repairs. I explained that we were not going to fix for free. We charged her $188.00 for a new piece of decking and hours for two trips to try to even the two sections together. At not time were we told an insurance adjuster said it was done improper. The deck framing is damaged but not because of improper installation. It is damaged due to tons of snow and ice dropped on surface and left there. The contractor that removed the snow is the one that should be involved with this complaint. We are willing to help make this right but not without some compensation. We did respond to her call and saw that the sag in the old framing is present again. In order to fix it we need to remove decking and repair broken frame of old deck. I was away over holiday and did not receive this until Monday afternoon and I apologize for being late in our response.
7/16/2014 7:15:59 AM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********
-----Original Message-----
From: ******** ******* 
Sent: Monday, July 21, 2014 12:59 PM
To: *******************
Subject: Reply to complaint#********

I received the reply from Case Remodeling and unfortunately I'm away and can't show you my documentations which are at home. I will not be home until the second week of Aug. At this point it's his word against mine.  It is not the frame that is broken but the one **** board that he replaced that is warped (buckled).  He has not called me at all. I have done all the calling. Also, I did not see him come to the house to check out the problem.  I don't want the case closed yet until someone can look at what I'm talking about and explain why he can't replace  or fix that one board.  
   Thank you,
******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.