BBB Accredited Business since

Specialty Pool Products

Phone: (800) 983-7665 Fax: (888) 674-7665 54 Newberry Rd, East Windsor, CT 06088 http://www.poolproducts.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specialty Pool Products offers internet and mail order swimming pool, spa and related leisure products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Specialty Pool Products meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Specialty Pool Products include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Specialty Pool Products
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 04/30/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony Ruggiero, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Ruggiero, General Manager
Business Category

Internet Shopping Sauna Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Furniture - Outdoor Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Alternate Business Names
SPP Holding Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 54 Newberry Rd

    East Windsor, CT 06088 (800) 983-7665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife purchased the ******* ******** *** ****** ***** from Specialty Pool Products. They ended up sending us two of them. My wife called them and they emailed us a label to send one of them back. I removed the old power ignizer and put the new one. I configured it for the 120VAC. I turned on the power and saw some smoke come out. I looked over the box and checked the 20 amp protector fuse , it looked good. I then configured the ignizer to 240VAC and tried again. The display came on but faded quickly. I had the other one with me so I installed it using the 240VAC configuration... It worked. The 20 amp mini ATO fuse located in the ignizer box is designed to protect the ignizer from power surges...it failed. I want to send this defective product back for a refund. I tried to return the item but they refused. Whether it was wired for 120VAC or 240VAC the surge protector should have prevented the excess voltage from damaging the ignizer components...it failed. Reference ******** ******** **** ******** ******** *********, owners manual", pg 15

Desired Settlement: A full refund of product...

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

The customer purchased this item from us on the phone two times, on 05/31/2016. Both items were shipped and delivered via ****** There was a miscommunication with the represenative about the second order. We offered to pick up one of the units. We issued a pre paid retrun slip to have one returned.

The customer called us again on 06/13/2016 stating that one of the units burnt up. He stated it was partially his fault becuase he wired it wrong. We informed the customer that becuase he improperly wired it and it burnt up we would be unable to accept the item back for return.

The customer called again on 06/14/2016 stating to another rep that the unit was defective. Due to previous conversation we let the customer know that we were still unable to accet this back. The customer then asked for the rebate form. This was provided.

As a one time courtesy Pool Products will pick up both units for a refund. Pre paid labels will be emailed/mailed for back up. Once the items are returned a refund only will be issued.

 

Thank you,

JoAnne E*******

Customer Care Supervisor

In The Swim

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

The customer may send back one unit. Once it arrives a refund when be received.

Thank you,

JoAnne E*******

Customer Care Supervisor

Speciality Pool Products

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you..

Sincerely,

**** *****

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had placed an order for a pool liner with Specialty Pool Products back in June using my ****** account. After not receiving my order as advertised, I called to get an order status. I was informed that the order was on backorder and it would be weeks before I would receive it, so at that time I cancelled the order. After logging into my ****** account a week later, I noticed the charge to Specialty Pool was still pending for $609. I called them and they told me to wait a couple more days to see if it would drop, to which it didn't. I called ****** and they informed me that SPP did not properly close out the order, that's why the charge remained pending. All the while, this pending charge is putting a hold on my checking account for $609. My husband calls and they tell him they did everything right on their end again. After several more calls to ****** who consistently tells me SPP isn't properly closing out this order, I call back again and tell them if this isn't resolved, I'm contacting BBB. That day, the charge is cancelled and the hold on the $609 in my checking account is released (11 days after being on hold). 12 days later, another hold is put on my checking account by SPP for $609. I make the same phone calls, yet again. This time I ask to speak to a manager and am told one will have to call me back. I never got that call. So again, I have to call and threaten the BBB. The charge is removed that day. 11 days later the hold is put back on my checking account for $609. Of course, I call again. This time I'm furious as we are a family of 5 and live paycheck to paycheck to which I've told SPP. They tell me the only way to resolve this is to speak to their ****** specialist who should return my call in the next few days. Waiting days was not an option as we needed access to our money. So for the third time, I threaten BBB and am put on hold. The person comes back to the line and informs me this has been resolved. I verify the hold has been removed from my checking again. Yesterday, 12 days later, the hold of $609 is back AGAIN! I need to take my children school shopping today and my available checking account balance is in the negatives because of this charge. This has been the WORST experience I've had after placing an order online. SPP didn't seem to think this was an issue because they wouldn't actually withdraw the funds unless something shipped but this is still a huge issue when my bank is putting a hold on that $609 every time they resubmitted this false charge to ******. Their customer service has been horrible and could care less about the impact this has had on our family.

Desired Settlement: STOP REAUTHORIZING A CHARGE OF $609 FOR AN ORDER THAT HAS BEEN CANCELLED ALMOST TWO MONTH AGO! I want to be completely removed from their system.

Business Response:

First I would like to apologize for the repeated charges to your ****** account. As of 8/17/15,  I see that the latest transaction in ****** has been cancelled.  This may be occurring because the customer did have another item on her order which they received, We have one of our I.T. techs looking into this and hope to have it taken care of immediately. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

7/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I place a order on June 14, 2015 I then received a email stating that my credit card was declined for NO reason. I resubmitted the order again, and then the next day received another email stating my credit card was declined for NO reason. Then June 15, 2015 I resubmitted the order, then received a email stating that the item was out of stock and the order was cancelled. I still have all the emails received from your Company as proof to show to my credit card Company.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $ 147.16 Thank you

Business Response:

The customer's original order was cancelled because their Credit Card declined. They placed another order with us in the amount of 147.16.  That order was shipped to the customer and was received. Here is the ***** tracking # showing proof of delvery - ***************

The customer tried to do a chargeback through his credit card company stating they did not receive the item. The customer was denied the charge back as we provided proof of delivery.

The customer purchased a product and we delivered it.

Consumer Response:

I had to buy it from ****** **** ********* due to the fact you kept declining my order then sent me a email stating it was out of stock.

I still have all the emails that your Company sent me, if you like you can send me a return label via email and I can return it.

Why was this order declined so many times? and Why was a message sent showing it was out of stock?

 

 

 

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

*** ******

Business Response:

The customers "credit card" declined, not her order. If she wants to know why her credit card declined she would need to contact her credit card company, as we not are given a reason as to why a customers credit card declines.  In her first contact with the BBB she does not mention that she actually received the item, just that she was looking for a credit?? Now she mentions that she has the item after we have proven that it was deliveried and that her credit card company refused her charge back?

She order an item, we shipped in good faith and she received it. If she would like to return the item, she can do so following our return policy.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

*** ******

5/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For 10 days I've attempted to settle a warranty issue with my in-ground pool timer/board. Approximately 10 phone calls to them (two with ***** *** Account Manager), several supervisors all un-returned, still has me in dealing with me without next steps in getting replacement parts. I informed all CSRs/supervisors the importance of settling this quickly, as my open pool will cause algae to form. SPP claims this is a ******* timer and informed me to take up the warranty claim with *******. I called ******* who toled me "no problem, we'll send you new parts, send us a pic" but in the photo I sent them, the item numbers did not match the part pictured, so they would not send me a new timer/board that was not theirs to begin with. Thereafter, I called repeatedly to SPP who said they would take care of the matter, no returned call, no email, more algae growing in my pool. I am not sure what time nor board I have, my BOL coincides with SPP claims, but ******* claims those unidentifiable parts are not ******* brand.

Desired Settlement: I want a timer and board sent priority delivery and chemicals to remove brown/yellow algae that I should never had... I opened the pool on 4/14, had a water sample completed, had a completely healthy pool... all of this was preventable. I want to talk to the president of the company about customer service.

Business Response: The Customer was contacted on 4/24 and on 4/27. He agreed to prepay for the parts needed. Once we rerturns the broken parts he will then be credited his prepayment.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the response is not clear/accurate:

1. On 4/24 at around 9:30am, I was contacted by ******* from SPP and a message was left on a phone number that I repeatedly asked SPP not use.
2. On 4/24 at around 3:30pm, I left a message with ******* which I agreed to purchase the warrantied products needed to make my pool function (recommendation I made over a week prior to SPP). I asked that SPP charge my credit account opened with SPP when we purchased the pool approx 2 years ago.
3. On 4/27 at around 10:30am, I called SPP to confirm that my order was processed and was surprised that it had not been processed. I spoke to ******* and she assured that the order will be expedited... Order was paid for on my ******** *******, not credit account and ******* agreed that SPP would refund me for the warranty parts purchased and once received by SPP.
4. I have not even broached the issue of cleaning my pool. I have a baseline health report completed on the day I opened my pool. The heath and condition was very good (high level of chlorine)... So my once crystal-clean pool, is now a contaminated pool all of which could have been avoided.  I cannot estimate  delivery of the products covered under warranty and thus an eta for making my pool function, so therefor, I do not know what nor how much chemicals are needed. 

Sincerely,

*** ******

Business Response:

Per the email string below the customer has informed us that "He Solved the Mystery". He is looking for parts for a timer that he did not purchase from us.  Although we sold him his pool package, the timer he is referring to that he needs parts for is not included in our pool package, nor do we sell it as a separate item.  We cannnot be held liable for his pools water condition due to parts he needs for something we did not sell him.

 

 

 

 

From: ***** ***
Sent: Friday, May 01, 2015 4:45 PM
To: 'Ron LaBeau'
Cc: ******* Morel-Lenz; Ryan Kuhlmann
Subject: RE: Fwd:

I am not sure where that came from but it is definitely something that was purchased from us.

 

Thank you

Chris

From: *** ****** [mailto:lifeisbetter2010@gmail.com]
Sent: Friday, May 01, 2015 3:10 PM
To: ***** ***
Subject: Fwd:

 

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Ron LaBeau <
lifeisbetter2010@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, May 1, 2015 at 11:49 AM
Subject: Fwd:
To:
mmorel-lenz@intheswim.com

I solved the mystery... This is NOT a ******* item like ******* indicated over a week ago... It appears to be an Intermatic GM40AV and as indicated in the picture. I should never received an Intermatic, since I bought all ******* products... 

 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/INTERMATIC-GM40AV-24-Hour-Electromechanical-40a-Spdt-Dpdt-Auto-Voltage-Timer-/321735365445?_trksid=p2141725.m3641.l6368

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pool liner in the beginning of May 2014. Specialty Pool Products called me and said the liner i ordered was out of stock. I ordered another one and I received the wrong one. Then I ordered another and Specialty Pool Products said they would over-night that liner. They didn't. They said the liner had to be costumed made because they don't sell that size (which that size in on the web sight and says nothing about being costumed made). Then I received the liner and the manager said i would only have to pay 250.00 for it because of all the trouble we went through. Well today June 17, 2014 my account still isn't credited. I went almost 2 months with out a pool. I had to cancel on the guy who installs the liners 5 times. My sister didn't get to have her graduation party with the pool. And now we cant put the liner in because of all the rain.

Desired Settlement: I would like Specialty Pool Products to pay for the liner and to pay for the liner to be installed. This is crazy that we had to go through this.

Business Response:

Customer placed order originally on 5/9/14. We contacted customer on 5/13/14 to inform her that the liner she purchased was out of stock. Customer wanted to think about whether to cancel the order or change the a different liner pattern. Customer called back on the same day and cancelled her order.

 On 5/19 the customer placed another order on line. The liner pattern that the customer reordered was a custom pattern which is shipped directly from the manufacturer. Additionally the customer called on 6/2/14 to inform us that she order the wrong liner. Another order was place for her. The liner was received by the customer on 6/9.

  Through our customer service department the customer was offered a $85.00 credit which brought the price down to $250.00 which the customer accepted and agreed to. We have already compensated the customer for any mistakes on our part.

 We apologize for any inconveniences that the customer may have occurred.

6/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an above ground swimming pool from Specialty Pool Products on 27 Feb 2014. The pool arrived on 15 Mar 2014 and parts were missing and damaged. I contacted the company and sent them a very detailed description of the shipment. I am constantly contacting them 2 to 3 times a week for the since then. Today's date is 23 May 2014 and the only response I have been given was that they are working on the issue with the manufacturer. Today I contacted the manufacturer and found out that they were told that I was only missing some of the parts from my list was reported to them. I had to "cut out" the middle man and go directly to the source to get my situation moving along to resolution. I have given Specialty Pool Products more then enough time to resolve the issue, but, more than 8 weeks is too long. In the end, I had to do their job to resolve the issues.

Desired Settlement: I am just trying to get the parts that are missing and damaged so that I can install they pool.

Business Response:

We would like to apologize for the inconveninces the customer has experienced with the purchase of his aboveground pool through us.  The missing parts have been shipped via UPS. The tracking #'s are ****************90 and****************08 . One package has already been delivered and the other one is scheduled for delivery later this week.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10063520

I am rejecting this response because:

I had to bypass the business and go straight to the manufacturer/supplier of their pools to get the issues resolved. Their response is only because they found the information from the supplier. Also, to start with, there was only one missing part that was shipped out at the time I contacted the manufacturer. I had to send the manufacturer the same detailed e-mail I had sent to the business several times to get the other 4 missing items. The manufacturer was not aware of these last 4 items at all until I called and sent them the e-mail.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response:

In the customers original complaint, his Desired Settlement was;  " I am just trying to get the parts that are missing and damaged so that I can install the pool"

The customer was sent the parts that were missing and damaged.  I'm not sure why our repsonse was rejected by the customer. He has not indicated anything further, from his original  complaint.  Is there something else we can help with?

I again offer our apologies for the inconveniences that the customer has experienced.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Specialty Pool Products
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart