BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specialty Pool Products offers internet and mail order swimming pool, spa and related leisure products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Specialty Pool Products meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Specialty Pool Products include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 24, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 04/30/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Metcalfe, CEO Mr. Tony Ruggiero, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Metcalfe, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Tony Ruggiero, General Manager
Business Category

Internet Shopping Tanning Salons Equipment & Supplies Sauna Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Furniture - Outdoor Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Skating Rinks Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Alternate Business Names
SPP Holding Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 54 Newberry Rd

    East Windsor, CT 06088 80098376654420 (800) 983-7665

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • 80098376654420(Phone)
  • (860) 627-6090(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pool liner in the beginning of May 2014. Specialty Pool Products called me and said the liner i ordered was out of stock. I ordered another one and I received the wrong one. Then I ordered another and Specialty Pool Products said they would over-night that liner. They didn't. They said the liner had to be costumed made because they don't sell that size (which that size in on the web sight and says nothing about being costumed made). Then I received the liner and the manager said i would only have to pay 250.00 for it because of all the trouble we went through. Well today June 17, 2014 my account still isn't credited. I went almost 2 months with out a pool. I had to cancel on the guy who installs the liners 5 times. My sister didn't get to have her graduation party with the pool. And now we cant put the liner in because of all the rain.

Desired Settlement: I would like Specialty Pool Products to pay for the liner and to pay for the liner to be installed. This is crazy that we had to go through this.

Business Response:

Customer placed order originally on 5/9/14. We contacted customer on 5/13/14 to inform her that the liner she purchased was out of stock. Customer wanted to think about whether to cancel the order or change the a different liner pattern. Customer called back on the same day and cancelled her order.

 On 5/19 the customer placed another order on line. The liner pattern that the customer reordered was a custom pattern which is shipped directly from the manufacturer. Additionally the customer called on 6/2/14 to inform us that she order the wrong liner. Another order was place for her. The liner was received by the customer on 6/9.

  Through our customer service department the customer was offered a $85.00 credit which brought the price down to $250.00 which the customer accepted and agreed to. We have already compensated the customer for any mistakes on our part.

 We apologize for any inconveniences that the customer may have occurred.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an above ground swimming pool from Specialty Pool Products on 27 Feb 2014. The pool arrived on 15 Mar 2014 and parts were missing and damaged. I contacted the company and sent them a very detailed description of the shipment. I am constantly contacting them 2 to 3 times a week for the since then. Today's date is 23 May 2014 and the only response I have been given was that they are working on the issue with the manufacturer. Today I contacted the manufacturer and found out that they were told that I was only missing some of the parts from my list was reported to them. I had to "cut out" the middle man and go directly to the source to get my situation moving along to resolution. I have given Specialty Pool Products more then enough time to resolve the issue, but, more than 8 weeks is too long. In the end, I had to do their job to resolve the issues.

Desired Settlement: I am just trying to get the parts that are missing and damaged so that I can install they pool.

Business Response:

We would like to apologize for the inconveninces the customer has experienced with the purchase of his aboveground pool through us.  The missing parts have been shipped via UPS. The tracking #'s are ****************90 and****************08 . One package has already been delivered and the other one is scheduled for delivery later this week.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10063520

I am rejecting this response because:

I had to bypass the business and go straight to the manufacturer/supplier of their pools to get the issues resolved. Their response is only because they found the information from the supplier. Also, to start with, there was only one missing part that was shipped out at the time I contacted the manufacturer. I had to send the manufacturer the same detailed e-mail I had sent to the business several times to get the other 4 missing items. The manufacturer was not aware of these last 4 items at all until I called and sent them the e-mail.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response:

In the customers original complaint, his Desired Settlement was;  " I am just trying to get the parts that are missing and damaged so that I can install the pool"

The customer was sent the parts that were missing and damaged.  I'm not sure why our repsonse was rejected by the customer. He has not indicated anything further, from his original  complaint.  Is there something else we can help with?

I again offer our apologies for the inconveniences that the customer has experienced.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: received defective pool liner. returned via warranty rules to mfg co. 24 june 2013. WE STILL HAVE NO POOL. mfg says contact SPP . ordered intex above ground pool 19 may 2013. received 23 may, assembled and filled. discovered seam weld leak. contacted INTEX for warranty. we followed their guidelines which involves cutting several large sections from the pool, including the leak area. this was done and mailed, priority mail usps, and received by INTEX 24 june. claim was approved. on 9 july i contacted them inquiring when the replacement would be sent. no answer. again i sent email inquiry. reply from INTEX states that "unfortunately your replacement has not been shipped out because the item is currently out of stock. once we receive inventory we will ship your replacement out as soon as possible. please accept our sincere apology for this inconvenience." we have a 9ft by 18ft above ground pool with gaping holes in it assembled in our yard. we cannot use it. we cannot fix it. we are both disabled seniors that worked very hard to put this together. we are not thrilled with the fact of having to redo the work when the leak was discovered; however noting the fact that this pool will hold about 4K gallons of water it was imperative that the assembly be done right the first time. we have had very hot weather, no pool. we are out $1260 for this pool, and also the cost of another filter to use for salt water filtering system. we bought this thing in may, it is now july, and INTEX is 'very sorry'.... we could have taken this money and had a pool company put a pool in the yard for a couple hundred bucks more and we would be in it now. intex continues to sell this very item via kmart and their catalog and that seems odd if they are 'out of stock' of the liner for our pool.

Desired Settlement: based on the extremely bad customer service we have experienced from spp, we dont want any more from them but to get our money back. we did not get the product we ordered. when calling on the order status in may, it took 20 minutes for a young man to figgure out if we even placed the order.....sad group of folks there. they sent a battered box on a broken pallet via 'overland' express trucking. the liner product leaked and if that was by virtue of the shipping beating or not we may never know. long story short its hot out and we are out a lot of money, a lot of hard work for us, and have no pool. i will be glad to provide photo's of the entire process including the package upon receipt up to the mess in the yard now....

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/29) */ We are sorry to hear about the issues you had with the Intex Pool that your purchased along with the delay in receiveing a replacement liner. The warranty on the pool is handled directly by Intex. We have contacted Intex on your behalf and they were able to locate a replacement liner for your pool. It was shipped out thier warehouse on Friday July 26, via FedEx Freight. The tracking # is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. It is expected to arrive to you within the next 5 to 7 days. We again apologize for the inconveniences that has caused. Additionally we would like to credit you $100.00 for these inconveniences.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered bought 2 new pool ladders on 5/31/12 last year as we were doing the pool deck over. Ladders were in stalled in July once job was complete and removed from pool in September for the winter closing and stored inside our shed. I put the ladders in this spring and approximately mid June one on the ladder steps broke. I called SPP and was advised there was nothing they could do as there is no warranty however I could buy a replacement step. It should be noted I have a salt system and do not add chlorine to the water. This week (7/7) a second step broke this time giving me a 1 1/2 cut on my right knee. I again contacted SPP and again was told there was nothing they could do. I pushed for replacement metal steps as these are obviously dangerous. After a lot of back and forth they did offer a $50 "pool bucks" to apply to the cost of new steps ($90). I purchased 3 new steps but not sure why this item would not be covered or why SPP continue to sell the poor performing and dangerous product. I was advised I could contact the manufacturer if I wanted which is my next step. Product_Or_Service: pool ladder Order_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like to have 3 replacement metal steps sent at no charge. I actually used the stainless steel steps from my old ladder for the old new one however did not have steps for the second ladder we added.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/12) */ We apologize for the issues you had with the ladders that you purchased last year. We will be sending you 3 metal (stainless steel) steps at no charge. We have processed an order in our system today, (order # XXXXXXXX). You should have your steps by July 19th. Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) While I accept the company's response and am partially satisfied I still was charged a portion for the inital 3 steps. ($39.97) I accepted this as this became a safety issue after the second step broke.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These people advertise that they sell pool covers with same day shipping. After days without getting a shipping confirmation they promised, we called and they said the order was delayed and would be shipped directly from the manufacturer. After another week with nothing, They said they would research the problem and get back with me. after I never heard from them I left three messages that I wanted a return call (these messages were left with ****** and *******). Neither of them ever called back. They have had our money for weeks and still we have no product or explanation or even basic customer service. These people are a scam. I have no reason to believe that my money has not been stolen. They advertise falsely. They took my money. They have yet to call with an explanation. Product_Or_Service: Pool covers

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I will be filing a police complaint as I feel this is now a criminal matter. They have had every opportunity to provide us the purchased product or our money. All they have provided is lies.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/28) */ We apologize for the delay in this order. Our dropshipper did not receive the order when we orginally set it over to them. The customers card was not charged. We have processed another order for the customer and it is scheduled to be delivered on May 21, 2013. Business Response /* (-10, 6, 2013/05/28) */ Correction...the order is scheduled to be delivered on May 31, 2013. Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Once again, they are lying. They said the order was scheduled to be delivered to me on 5/21/13. It is now 5/30/13 and the order still is not here yet. They have continuously lied since the order was placed. They basis for their advertising is same day shipping. It has been over a month since I placed my order and all I get from them are lies. Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/06/05) */ On 5/28/13 I sent a correction stating that the order was scheduled to be delvered on 5/31/13. This is noted in the BBB log of responses. The order was delivered on 6/1/13 at 10:37am. Again, we apologize for the delay in processing this order. Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/06/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It should be noted that this business advertises same day shipping and satisfaction guaranteed. This order arrived over a month late and after they previously stated to the BBB that it was to be shipped. In the course of trying to explain their abysmal customer service, they promised to discount this order. Of course, they charged me full price. When I pointed this out, they said the credit would be forthcoming. True to form, they have yet to issue the credit. It's just one lie after another from these people. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/06/10) */ The customer was sent an email on 5/30/13 stating that a credit of $30.00 was applied to his credit card. A credit can take up to 7 business days to post to his account. If he hasn't received it by 6/10/13, he should contact his credit card company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made a purchase on March 13. I received an aftermarket product, which I returned within a week of receiving it. Called once I received confirmation that the Seller received the product, and informed them I would like a return check, understanding that there would be a restocking fee. The original cost was $59.99. I have called weekly to find out the status of the refund. Each time I call I am given another reason that the check was has not been sent. The first week of April I was told that the check would be going out by the 10th. On the 20th I called back and was told it would take six weeks to receive the check. I called back on May 16 and was told that their was an issue with the check and that an email would be sent to a supervisor who would call me back with more information. I called today on May 22 and was just told the same thing. Each call starts with the same explanation that the check was sent out on April 10th. When I ask for a supervisor, I am told to hold on, and after five minutes of holding the original service rep comes back with the story about the supervisor calling me back as soon as he or she is free. Product_Or_Service: Above Ground Swimming Pool Skimmer Order_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like for them to send me a check as promised when I returned the item at my cost.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/24) */ We apologize for the delay in receiving your refund. There is record that the orginal refund check was issued and sent out on April 10th. We have since issued a new check (#XXXXXX) today and you should receive it in approximatley 7 to 10 days

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2012 Delivery Issues
1