BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Jensco, Inc. offers retail and wholesale giftware, decorative kitchen items and housewares.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jensco, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jensco, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jensco, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 20, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated: 09/02/1983 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wesley G. Jensen, President Jo Ellen A. Jensen, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wesley G. Jensen, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Marshall, Vice President Sales
Business Category

Housewares - Retail Kitchen Accessories Novelties - Retail Internet Shopping General Merchandise - Wholesale General Merchandise - Retail Gift Shops All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)


Additional Locations

  • 165 Hurlburt St

    Glastonbury, CT 06033 (860) 633-5834 (800) 270-4202

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 270-4202(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought containers of Bag Balm through this vendor's ebay site, B's Merchantile. http://stores.ebay.com/Bs-Merchantile The vendor is part of Jensco, Inc, and their warehouse is at ************************************ XXXXXTheir advertisement on ebay showed a fuzzy picture of a Bag Balm tin. It was priced at the about the same rate as a standard 10 oz container of product. ($25 for three tins, and then $25 postage to get it to the UK). When I received the tins of Bag Balm in the post (I am in the UK), I found that I did not get the 10 oz tins, but the one ounce miniature tins (1 oz). I queried the vendor, and told him that because postage charges would make it too costly for me to send these back to him, could he at the least change his advertisement to make it clearer so other customers were not paying exorbitant prices. (Even in the UK, one can get bag balm for about $16 per 10 oz tin). I suggested that perhaps he could put it was the 1 oz size in the header of the ad, or put a clearer photo with a size comparison, etc. He just replied said that I needed to read the fine print at the bottom of his ad, and that there was no such thing as a standard size of the ointment, and that I was making a big thing of nothing. He also reiterated what great customer service he had in that fact he even bothered to respond to me. There is in fact is a standard size of 10 oz for bag balm. The firm began in 1899 selling its balm for farmers for the teats of cows; a one ounce size would not have covered one cow's teat! The 1 oz size was developed later equivalent to a travel size or purse size of the product. "Sold off pet care shelves and at farm stores for $8.99 per 10-oz. green tub (with a cow's head on the lid), it's made of petrolatum, lanolin and an antiseptic, 8-hydroxyquinoline sulfate substantially the same formula used since John L. Norris bought it from a Wells River druggist before the turn of the century."http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/news/nation/XXXX-XX-XX-bagbalm_N.htm Product_Or_Service: 3 tins of bag balm, 1 oz size

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the vendor to make his ad more clear, indicating at the top he is selling a one oz tin, rather than the 10 oz standard size. He also could accompany his ad with a clearer picture. When you click for a close up, the amount of oz is cut off in the picture. This is so customers, particularly foreign customers, don't overpay. I had to pay $25 for three small tins of a product that sells in the US for $4 each ($12 total), and then the postage to get it here, for a total of $50

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/04/21) */ Our Ebay ad picture "clearly" slows a "1 ounce" can and my complete item description of what we are offering in this ad states " 1 ounce can, a small container". We sell only the 1 ounce Bag Balm. We do not sell another size, nor do we suggest that any other size is available. We have sold this product on Ebay for several years and have many satisfied customers worldwide. We are a Top Rated Ebay Seller on Ebay. Clearly, the buyer bought our product in haste, based upon the price and did not view my picture and item description completely before purchasing it. We feel that our ad is presented correctly, giving a full explanation of the product, size, amount, and number of cans that you are buying in our ad and we have no intention of changing it. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I would like the business order to indicate the size of the product in their header on their ebay advertisement so others do not pay the same amount for the 1 oz size as for the 10 oz size of product. To make this amendment takes 2 minutes and represents no cost to the seller, and I have a difficult time understanding what the possible objection is by the seller. Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/04/28) */ Our product is properly displayed, the size of the can is displayed, and it was completely described, including the size, in the item description, as is required on Ebay and we have been selling it, as shown, for many years, and have many satisfied customers worldwide. You also made a case against us with Ebay. Ebay has reviewed your case and has ruled against you. Our product remains as listed. We wish you well in future purchases on the internet but suggest that you read the entire offering and not a quick buy on price alone. Our ad on Ebay remains as listed. Thank you for your interest in our products.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.