BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

This Business is not BBB accredited

William T. Hughes, Jr., LLC

Phone: (203) 856-1733 Fax: (203) 847-0828 View Additional Phone Numbers 7 Reservoir Ave, Norwalk, CT 06850 http://www.hughesbuilders.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

William T. Hughes Jr. LLC offers construction and remodeling services, specializing in custom carpentry, millwork, and built-ins.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for William T. Hughes, Jr., LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on William T. Hughes, Jr., LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 06, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1999 Business started locally: 10/01/1999 Business incorporated: 04/01/2004 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William T. Hughes Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William T. Hughes Jr., Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Millwork Contractor - Interior Trim Building Restoration & Preservation Carpenters Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Builders

Service Area
Fairfield county

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7 Reservoir Ave

    Norwalk, CT 06850 (203) 847-0879 (203) 856-1733

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 847-0879(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 27, 2014, my daughter called me from home to let me know that my kitchen ceiling was raining and also pouring through the kitchen light fixture. She covered the floor with towels and pots to collect the water and already needed to be emptied periodically. I own this house for over 30 years and this has never happened before. This did not make any sense to me because it was not raining and it hasnt rained in days and there was no more snow or ice on the roof for days. But the temperature outside has risen to the point that the ice and snow was melting in ******** **. I also assumed that it cant be the roof because I had a new roof installed and completed in August 2012. So I called my plumber to let him know what was happening and he told me it wasnt possible for a pipe to cause this problem because there are no pipes in the attic. I only have a vent which only contains air. The only possible leak is the roof and to call the roofer that completed the roof in August 2012. I called the roofer, ******* ******* *********************** *** ******* ********. He said that since it happened over a year ago it was not his concern anymore. I asked him if a new roof should last more than a year and he said not necessarily, and then reiterated that after a year he does not have to concern himself with a roof he did 18 months earlier and hung up.In the meantime it already did damage to my light fixer because water does not do well with electricity. Who knows how much more damage will happen before this could be fixed. The payment method was a combination of using my credit card for supplies, trade because my kids and I did the cleanup and my son actually was on the roof working alongside the other workers. The remainder was paid to ******* ******. This totaled $19,500. I do not know what it will cost to repair what ******* caused. The settlement should be the amount it will cost to repair including the electrical and whatever other damage this causes.

Desired Settlement: The only possible settlement would be refund because he wouldn't even come over to see it. He only lives a few houses from mine. I now have to hire another roofer to do the job. We have the biggest storm due to arrive on March 3, 2014, so they say. I hope I will be able to contact another roofer by morning which is Friday, because the weekend the chances will be slimmer and by Monday the storm will be here. Who knows how much damage will be done if thats the c

Business Response: In response to this customer complaint I would first like to say that she has provided the BBB with false information.  Just based on that, it has given me even more of a reluctance to help than even after she personally came to my house and harassed my wife before even sending me one email.

The facts are: 1)  I did look at her roof and there was no snow on it. Further, the house has not had snow on it for well over a week since the two day warm up we had in the second week of February.  If this was an ice damming situation or a problem with the snow melt it would be occurring as the snow was melting or if there was ice on the roof. Neither is the case.
2)  The customer installed a electrical ice melting product along the edge of the roof after I finished the job.  I had nothing to do with installing this item and so it is possible that some damage may have occurred to her roof because of that product or the way it was fastened to the roof.  And still my point exists that there is currently no snow on the roof and the roof has been clear of snow for over a week.
3)  I informed her of these things when I returned her phone call to answer her complaints I also said that I would look at the interior damage but since the 1 year warranty period has expired, she would has to pay for any additional work.  She became demanding and so i concluded the phone call.  I did not hang up on her. 
In conclusion, if I was called during the period of warmer weather as the snow and ice melted off the roofs on ********* ****** I could conceive of a roofing problem.  However I was certain to ask if  it had just started to leak or was it previously occurring while there was snow on our roofs.  She informed me it just occurred that day (Feb 27) and we have not had snow on our roofs for over two weeks.
As you can see from my long history with the BBB that I have excellent rapport with my customers and a perfectly clear record of complaints.  I urge the BBB to see this issue as an unreasonable complaint and clear it from my record.
Thank you.  ******* * ****** ***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

**** is correct on some of his comments but most is incorrect or exaggerated.  I did knock the front door but there was no answer.  I went back to my home to send him an email so he might be able to read it from his cell phone from wherever he might be.  I wanted him to witness the flood in my kitchen.  Soon after I saw that his truck was in the driveway, I did not know if he saw my email yet and so I did approach his driveway but did not go any further than the gate to his front yard because his dogs were loose in the front yard that time.  Simultaneously his wife walked out and onto her front porch.  I introduced myself and pointed to my home (so she would know who I was) and asked if **** was home.  She said **** was in the shower.  Then I asked if she could ask **** to come over to my home when he was done.  She said yes and I left without entering the property.   Soon after, **** did call but never offered to come over or see the damage.  **** is also making up the story of harassment, it simply never happened, and there were not any negative words with her what-so-ever. 

As I mentioned in my complaint, I did call other roofers this morning (2/28/14).  They came over promptly because of the upcoming storm.  A plumber and two other roofers inspected my kitchen and attic.  They have a 7 year warranty and never heard of anyone that gives a year warranty.  They question ****’s work ethics.  Only a thief would underbid others, do a poor job and then not stand behind his own work after only a year.  They said the least **** should have done was to walk over and view the damage and suggest a remedy and witness the saturated insulation and wet plywood in the attic.

They all gave me a big thumbs-up though on the ice and snow melting devices because it definitely helps to prevent from ice damage.   After all that is its job.  The ice melting devices were on the receipt of the items **** himself picked up and brought to my home from **** ***** and we discussed it before the purchase.  Afterwards it was discussed again because not enough was purchased.  I had to buy more. 

**** is correct in saying that most of the snow and ice has melted, but only by days not weeks.  My plumber and two separate roofers offered an explanation this morning for this leakage.   As the lower layers of the snow and ice on the roof were melting over the past few weeks, it entered the attic and refroze because the attic is not heated. The water on the plywood floor and insulation underneath froze.  Now that the temperature was slowly rising the ice in the attic began to thaw and leak through my light fixer in my kitchen.  I have towels and pots all over my kitchen floor and as the pots fill they are being emptied and fresh towels are being put down. The men that were here this morning witnessed the disaster.

As of this evening, Friday 2/28/14, the water is still filling up the towels and pots I have throughout my kitchen floor.   So the melted snow and ice is now in my attic and the only possibility is from the faulty roof.  I do not know what the extent of damage will be yet but I could say that so far it has damaged a custom made kitchen light fixer.  As for the roof, I will have to hire another roofer to fix ****’s work plus materials. 


Sincerely,

******* *******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Obviously, these responses are proving incommensurable for lack of an argument.

I’d like to take this time to be technical.  I have picture proof and witnesses that the day of Feb 27th,there was not a roof full but still (March 3rd) some snow on the roof (hence it did not snow here since my initial claim to BBB).  (See attached photo). ****’s drive-by confirmed that there was no snow on the front roof, but the problem is not on the front roof, it is on the rear roof, which is where the kitchen is located. If he took the time to see the rear, he would have noticed that there was snow.

This is still hearsay because we are not arguing that there was snow on the roof or not. We are making attempted to see if my claim is legit. I have had several professionals look at the roof to confirm there is a problem. This is not a plumbing issue, it is a roofing problem. There is only one way water could have entered the attic and that is through the roof.  If there is snow on the roof or not is totally irrelevant because the snow melting and finding its way into the attic is the problem.  Then it remained as ice until the temperature increased, then began flooding my kitchen through my large custom-made light fixture. 

Although his claim that I harassed his wife is false as well, this too is irrelevant to the fact that we are talking about the roof. If he had a problem with harassment he should call the police and not express that on this platform. **** also said that he returned my call is another lie.  I do not have his phone number so I couldn’t have called him.  The thing good about phone ****s, you can’t lie about whether or not you made a call, the proof is in the details.

I asked the roofers and the plumber (since he was involved), whether or not the melting devices is a good tool to have on my roof.  They supported the installation of this electrical device because the roof is a lower pitch and the device would prevent ice damage.  Apparently, **** should become more acquainted with this product if he ever does another roof. 

****’s suggestion that I should have contacted him before I knew there was a problem is ridiculous because I don’t make a habit of sitting in my attic waiting for the snow to melt into my attic.  There is no way I would have known that the snow melted and refroze onto my attic plywood floor and saturating the insulation.

No other explanation can be made for why water entered my kitchen, except a roof ‘problem’. The exact explanation is unknown but still hearsay because a problem exists and persists and **** is not here.  **** never offered to view the damage but did suggest that a plumber fix the leak and someone else repair the damage.  That is when he told me that he only stands behind his work for only a year.  This was the first time I heard of his one-year expiration date, which was the day of my complaint on 2/27/14.   I asked him if he felt his roof repairs should last longer than a year.  This is when he’s said he was done with the call and hung up.  The other roofer’s jaws dropped when they heard of any roof warranty less than 7 years.    

I have a damaged custom light fixture, roof problem and additional cost from another roofer’s repair costs (yet to be), but not a plumber cost because there are no water pipes in my attic as **** suggests.


Sincerely,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they were agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.