BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A Plus Exterior LLC offers home improvements, specializing in roofing, siding, gutters and downspouts, as well as window and door installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Plus Exterior LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Plus Exterior LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 15, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated: 07/27/2011 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alexander Montero, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alexander Montero, Member
Business Category

Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Mason Contractors Deck - Repair Deck Builder Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Installation Doors - Industrial Doors - Commercial Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Dumpster Services Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Snow Removal Service - Roof Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Contractors - Retaining Wall Carpenters Chimney Builders & Repair Contractors - General Garage Builders Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Products & Services

A Plus Exterior LLC sells the following brand(s): CertainTeed. GAF

Method(s) of Payment
credit card, check or cash
Service Area
Connecticut
Additional Information

This business also provides dumpster rental & dumpster service.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* ***** ***************** ***************** ** XXXXXTEL: Home: XXX-XXX-XXXX, ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX COMPLAINT AGAINTS A PLUS EXTERIOR LLC *** ** **** *** XXXXXXX. **** XXX-XXX-XXXXX **** ****** ********** ** XXXXXMy husband and I hired and sign contract with A plus exterior LLC on 2/15/2013 for $23,000 to frame our new addition that includes dinning, kitchen and master suits and before we sign the contract we explain to them that we already have a layout and drawing for our kitchen and all appliances have been bought for the kitchen, we took them to the basement and showed everything to them. So before they started the framing we gave them the blue print and the kitchen drawing and layout, so that when they start building the first floor they can use the kitchen layout that was drawn from the plan. But the builders ignored the drawing and layout of the kitchen and build a kitchen that is off four inches from the refrigerator and four inches from the pan tree. When we call A Plus Exterior they refused to take responsibility, first ****, the owner screamed at me on phone, but we asked him gently to come over so that he can see the problem, but he was rather rude in his text messages, and later he came into the site and blamed the kitchen company that their drawing and layout was wrong, and afterward ****, call the kitchen company and ****** the sales guy from ************** in *********, explain that he drew based on the blue print, that A Plus exterior LLC should have follow the kitchen drawings but A Plus Exterior called me up change the story and said oh the kitchen people said you built the cabinet too big. I keep on explaining to **** that I gave you the plan and layout of the kitchen before you start building anything so please move the walls so I can install my kitchen correctly, but he refused, he said we have to pay for moving the walls that are loaded with electrical wires and plumbing pipes. Before the walls were closed for sheetrock and painting, the builder for A Plus Exterior made two mistakes. first the kitchen widow opening was too low it was the same level with the sink but instead of take responsibility and fix the problem. **** came to our house and blames the window company for it, but we refuse his accusation and asked A Plus to move the kitchen window up which they did. Second the electrician found out that the kitchen window was actually on a wrong spot, because the electrician measurement base on the drawings and layout of the kitchen was off. We asked A Plus to move the kitchen window to the correct spot which they also did with reluctance and then I asked the builder is everything okay now with the kitchen? No more problems? He said yes. Each time they make a mistake in regards to the kitchen we gave them a set of new kitchen drawings and layout because the builder always said he left the drawings and layout of the kitchen at his home. But when we closed the walls and the kitchen was delivered for installation the carpenter measurement and the space provided by A Plus Exterior LLC did not add up to the kitchen drawings and layout, it was off by four inches from the refrigerator and four inches from the pan tree. So our kitchen is not installed everything is on halt because A Plus Exterior refused to admit to their mistakes to fix the problem by moving two walls. So right now we are at the tee of our finance because every delay to the completion of our home is costing us a lot of money, we are paying two mortgages for over six months. Enclosed are the blue print, drawing and layout of our kitchen. Product_Or_Service: FRAMING AN ADDITION FOR OUR HOUSE

Desired Settlement: WANT A PLUS EXTERIOR TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY REMOVING THE WALLS, SO THAT OUR KITCHEN CAN BE INSTALL CORRECTLY.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******* Owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@*****.com To Whom It May Concern: I'm sincerely sorry for the issue occurring at the ******* residence, however, we were hired to build using plans provided by the architect, engineer, and approved by the customers before we quoted the job. We completed the work according to the professional plans approved by the customer and the plans provided at contract signing. We had absolutely nothing to do with the kitchen. The *******'s hired an outside kitchen company to provide a kitchen for them. We weren't involved in the kitchen process. The company supplying the cabinets never measured the kitchen, therefore, it doesn't fit. We attempted to guide the best we can in an effort to prevent this kind of problem; however, they refused to take our advice. They are paying for their lack of experience and due to the fact that they wanted to save money by doing some things themselves. I'm more than willing to discuss the situation, however, I performed all deliverables as in my contract. Best... A Plus Exterior LLC ******************** XXXXXXXXXX Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/07/22) */ COMPLAINT AGAINTS A PLUS EXTERIOR LLC *** ** **** *** XXXXXXX. Tel: XXX-XXX-XXXX * **** ****** ********** ** XXXXX A Plus definitely knew about our kitchen layout before my husband and I signed the contract and his carpenter begins to frame our addition. We bought the kitchen and the windows and gave them both plans but A Plus Exterior was not happy that they are not going to sell us low level windows and kitchen so A plus Exterior decided to ruin our kitchen, they tried two times to ruin the windows but they were caught, but they succeeded with our kitchen because we figure that out at the end. Right now my husband and I are focusing to fix the problem and move into our new home and then pursue A Plus Exterior legally in Small claims court to pay for damages because we definitely have evidence to show that A Plus Exterior knew about our kitchen layout and measurement but decided to ignore it and cost us extra money and time. Sincerely ******** and ***** ******* Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/08/09) */ January 2013 I first met Mr. and Mrs. ******* to give a quote for building their addition. They had recently been taken advantage of by a contractor who left them with a hole in the ground and nowhere to turn for assistance. I gave them a price of $120,000 to be the general contractor for the complete job from start to finish and they refused. At that time Mrs. *******, an accountant with no prior knowledge in the construction field, decided to be her own general contractor. I was hired to install the framing, siding, roofing and the gutters. The contract was to frame out the addition according to the floor plans. The floor plans were drawn up by the architect, approved by the engineer and stamped by the city of Bridgeport. I did the job according to the plans. I was never hired to install, measure, or design a kitchen. The *******'s gave the *************** the same floor plans that were given to A Plus and that were approved by the engineer. The person who designed this kitchen used the outside wall to outside wall measurement, making the cabinets that size. They did not take into account the Sheetrock, 2x4's and 2x6's. The kitchen designer should have taken this into account this since the floor plans clearly stated where the walls were going to be. If he made the kitchen according to the plans that were given to them, the kitchen would have fit because we (A plus exterior) did the project according to the floor plans. In my extensive expertise in the construction of an addition, the kitchen is never ordered before the room is built. After personally speaking with the kitchen designer he informed me that he warned Mrs. ******* that she should wait until everything was built. The inexperience of Mrs. ******* in being a general contractor and her trying to rush the completion of a project that requires adequate time to ensure perfection is the ultimate reason for the project not being completed to their satisfaction. We advised Mrs. ******* on many occasions that the decisions she was making would not be in the best interest of the project. She chose not to take our recommendations. Mrs. ******* did not give us the kitchen plans at the signing of our contract because we were only hired to do the framing. I was only given the addition floor plans. My contract clearly states any changes to this contract or work described should require a change order in writing. Upon completion of the job the *******'s paid in full and were very pleased. They checked our work against the plans and agreed we did a great job. The inspector himself measured and we passed *** inspection. A Plus accurately completed the job we were hired to do. Four months after completion we received a call that the kitchen did not fit. I personally rushed over to see the problem and ensure we had done everything accurately. I referenced the floor plans and measurements and went over them with the *******s again. At that time Mr. ******* agreed I did it in accordance to the original floor plans.Due to the fact that one of the walls needing to be relocated for the kitchen to fit is a retaining wall plumbing and electrical work is also involved. We at A Plus offered our services to rectify the problem for only the cost of labor and materials. The *******s refused our offer and decided to file a complaint instead. We are very sorry that our customer is experiencing difficulties with their project but feel that we accurately completed the job that we were contracted to do, and should not be held liable for mistakes made by other parties. APlus stands behind their work, if we do anything wrong we fix for free. in this case we did everything we were hired to do. **** ******* Aplus exterior LLC

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1