BBB Accredited Business since

Westport Builder Group

Phone: (203) 227-1055 Fax: (203) 549-0578 11 Wake Robin Rd, Westport, CT 06880 http://www.westportbuilder.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Westport Builder Group, LLC offers new home construction, integrated design-build services, offering clients a range of architectural, engineering, interior design, and construction services. They also provide custom cabinetry, mill work, and handcrafted specialties.

They are a network of licensed architects, designers, construction supervisors, cabinetmakers, and field personnel, and work collaboratively with an extensive group of professional consultants and sub-contractors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Westport Builder Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Westport Builder Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Westport Builder Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2004 in CT Business incorporated 10/22/2007 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bernard Deverin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bernard Deverin, President
Business Category

Home Builders Home Improvements Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Home Theater Architectural & Construction Specs Architects Engineering Consultants Engineering Contractors - General Home Design & Planning Contractor - Commercial Contractor - General Green Builder Contractors - Retaining Wall Contractor - Interior Trim Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Building Contractors Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Method(s) of Payment
Check or Credit Card
Alternate Business Names
Westport Builder Group, LLC

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unprofessional, Incompetent and Dishonest on every level. We were told the job would be completed in 4-6 weeks. After 9 MONTHS, the job remained unfinished. MASTER BATH: Ripped up floor to lay new tile and put foot through my ceiling before floor boards were down. Great start. Installed new tile floors and worked on completion of bathroom without covering floor. Had to clean and re-grout multiple times. Installed vanity and used marble top as his work bench, chipping the marble in multiple places. Painted bathroom and got paint on new tile floor and vanity. Ran 3-inch pipes into 2-inch pipes for the new toilet. Genius. NEVER had his work inspected, for obvious reasons! Called City Hall to confirm I had Certificate of Occupancy for new bathroom and that's when I was made aware nothing was ever filed. Now I have to have my house ripped up to get the proper inspection to obtain the C/O. I already know the plumbing has to be reworked, who knows what else was done incorrectly. MASTER CLOSET: Was supposed to install new wood floors to match existing floor. Didn't weave floor properly and looks totally off. I could have done a better job. Awful. Was supposed to install built-in shelving, draws and bars. Never started, never completed. Had to hire outside vendor to complete. KITCHEN: Laid new wood floor to match the rest of the house. Didn't line up with entry ways to other rooms and looks terrible. There is a hump in the floor right in the middle of the kitchen. I was told it would settle. Two years later, it's worse. Had new windows installed 2 feet higher than they were supposed to be and had to do it over again. Shot a nail gun through another one of the new windows and had to have mechanism replaced. Window still doesn't operate properly. Didn't measure cabinets properly and installed improperly as well. I personally had to go back to his cabinet guy on multiple occasions to rectify the issue. Unreal. Left a big gap between cabinets after installation and had the audacity to say, "just slap a couple of wine bottles in there". Didn't know how to install the appliances. I had to hire a guy to come in and install them. Was supposed to build built in bench for breakfast nook. Never done. Had to hire a guy after the fact to complete. FLOORS: All floors sanded and refinished throughout house. There are streaks throughout and the poly is coming up in multiple places. Got stain all over baseboard molding and walls. Sloppy. Outside of the actual work, never in my life have I had to order the materials, pick them up and deliver them myself. Isn't that the point of hiring a contractor? The work was sloppy. There were cigarette butts thrown all over my yard. Garbage left throughout my house. A genuine disaster. Additionally, about 6 months into this 6 week job, his workers told me they weren't being paid and were not going to be returning. I had to pay them myself just to keep them working! I confronted Bernie on multiple occasions over my concerns and was met with one excuse after another. After 9 months, I had enough. Honestly, I can't believe it took me that long. I had to spend and additional $10,000 or so to complete the work and I still have to have the plumbing redone and get the inspection he never got, all in order to obtain the C/O I need for the new bathroom. The best part is, I called Bernie regarding the missing C/O and lack of inspection on record and he said he would take care of it in a week or two. That was 7 months ago. Honestly, I'm not the least bit surprised. I have given this man every opportunity to right the wrongs of this job and time and time again he has turned his back on me. Hence, this review. Next stop, Department of Consumer Protection. Bernie is as dishonest a man I have ever met. Bernie's work is amateurish at best. Bernie is as unprofessional as they come. ******** ****** ** ******* ** **** **** *** ** ** ******* ******** ** ***** ***** *** *** * *** ******* ***** ****** ** ** *** ******** **** ****** ****** **** * ***** ** ***** * *** **** ****** ** *** **** **** *** **** *** ****** **** *** **** **** ** ***** *** *** ****** **** ** ******** ** *****

Desired Settlement: We have had so many issues with the work, after the fact. While I wouldn't expect a full refund, I do expect some form of restitution. I want Westport  Builder Group to pay for the work that has to be done in order to have my new bathroom inspected and brought up to code in order to receive my certificate of occupancy. I also expect monetary compensation for the aggravation of having to deal with this for the last 2 years. It's shameful that people are allowed to do business in such a manner.

Business Response:

– As we have discussed, when I left their home, they had a beautiful home, new master bath, new kitchen, new windows, and floors. They, and their in-laws had just put a fresh coat of paint on the entire interior. None the less, beautiful when we finished. Our contract has always guaranteed work for one year. This was now two years later, that I hear from the *******. As well, they only brought up needed their CO, which their Realtor asked for because they were selling the house. It was not until I realized the unpaid balance, and decided to stay out of it, that *** ****** started with complaints. I’m always available for questions from the BBB.

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


This man is so completely dishonest that I honestly think he believes his own BS.  Not only has he screwed me over, but now he is sweet talking the BBB.  Unreal.

1.  OF COURSE we complained over a year after the job.  That's when we found out the *** never got our C/O!  Upon that realization, we had to have people come in to look at the work so we could get the C/O on our own, because he was to incompetent to do it himself.  It was at this point that we were told his plumbing wasn't done to code and has to be reworked.  I expect Westport Builder group to pay for this.  Period.

2.  OF COURSE he wasn't paid in full.  You know why?  Because he never completed the job.  Our contract called for a built-in breakfast nook, which he never built.  Our contract also called for a built-in, walk in closet in the master bedroom, which he never built.  We had to hire outside vendors to complete those jobs.  We also had to pay his "workers" directly, because he couldn't afford to pay them and they refused to come back.  The only money owed him for the contracted work, after paying his "workers" directly, was $2152.15.  I can assure you that it cost A LOT more than that to complete his unfinished work, which I feel I should be reimbursed for as well.

3.  I have no idea how having my in-laws help paint my house is relevant in this discussion.  It's apparent that he is just fluffing his response to the BBB because he doesn't have a leg to stand on.  Typical Bernie, deflecting from the issues at hand.

4.  If Bernard really wants to play the he said/she said game, the BBB can simply look at his reviews on ******* ****.  That says it all.

5.  Lastly, if there is not a fair resolution to this debacle, I will not hesitate to speak with **** ** Connecticut.  ******** *** ** ****** **** *********

The bottom line is, this man is full of **** and if the BBB can't see through it, I don't know why the institution exists at all.  You're supposed to protect the consumer from ********* like Westport Builder Group.  The BBB should give him a giant F, just like every single one of his reviewers on ******* ****.  It's a shame that Bernard is allowed to have the BBB's stamp of approval on his business.  As long as he does, he will continue to screw every fool that hires him.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: To clearly state some facts with these latest issues ( from a contract from 8/23/2013). In the copy that you have already received, the customer, in their contract schedule, was to have shelving installed in their narrow closet. He chose not to, and purchased manufactured drawers. That’s was their choice. When the project was  done we were paid in full ($21,000) for the project. Most people don’t pay their bill and have you do more work when they are unhappy. (You have the pictures)

There were other multiple  separate projects, repairing the  framing, which was uncovered after work was underway, replaced windows, refinished the floors. As well, install a new kitchen.

*** ****** paid those work change orders. As far as him paying workers, this is news to me. I never received anything about it. Was never told who, receipts, canceled checks,. Nothing.
With regards to their kitchen, and the corner back wall, in which they had hoped to put a built-in bench so a small table. Logistically there wasn’t the room, as well a huge cast iron radiator, that was  making it not feasible. That would have required a massive, costly plumbing exercise, so to my recollection  the idea was dropped.

Now, *** ****** has admitted that he never paid his final bill; which I believe was $5,000; thus  he is now saying he paid workers therefore its, $2,152.15

As per  our contractual  warranty, I have always been willing to return and correct  something.  However, again, I never heard from them till over two years later, and it was specifically for a CO because they were selling their house. Now, it’s out of control and has become a slanderous  slug fest. Makes you think of the debates, and I prefer not to be a part of it, nor should I.

Always happy to answer any questions.

Please look at attached.

Sincerely,

Bernie

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Let's start from the top,


Shelving does not a closet make. He was contracted to build a walk in closet, not hang shelves. He didn't do it. Period. The job was paid in full, in good faith, that it would be completed. That was, admittedly, my horrendous mistake. As far as "being disappointed, yet hiring him to do more work", that is an outright lie. If I could have fired him on the spot, I would have, but I had already contracted him to renovate my kitchen, at the beginning of the Master Suite project, and the kitchen job had already been started in piecemeal.  Sadly, I was locked in. 

His not being aware of me paying his workers directly is another outright lie.  The only way I could get them to come back was to pay them myself.  As I stated previously, he couldn't afford to pay his men and they, obviously, refused to work if they didn't get paid. The 6 week job had already taken 6 months and I couldn't afford to have them walk away, as much as I wanted to never see any of them again.  I was in too deep. 

As far as the built in benches in the kitchen, which again he was CONTRACTED to build, it is not my problem if he underestimated the cost.  Why would I just "drop it". That makes no sense at all and speaks volumes about Bernies logic and reason, or lack thereof.  

Lastly, "slander", by definition means to make false and damaging statements about a person or entity.  None of my statements have been "slanderous", as every piece of information I have volunteered has been truthful.  I CANNOT say the same about his story.

BBB, we can go back and forth like this forever.  I would think you would have a better system for the resolution of these discrepancies.  These actions are sophomoric at best. If you're having a difficult time deciphering the truths in these arguments, simply refer to this so-called businesses other reviews.  They say it all. 

Furthermore, the plumbing issue is still at hand. The bottom line is, if all of these permits and inspections were on the up and up, answer me this:

Where is my Certificate of Occupancy (C/O) for the new Master Bathroom?

Until that is furnished, and/or I am compensated for the cost of having to attain it myself, I will NEVER drop this complaint.  



Sincerely,
**** ******

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted with Westport Builder Group in September 2013 to rebuild and replace a large window with doors. Contract was for $15,000 and the initial deposit to cover the purchase of materials, $13,000. was cashed by Bernard D****** of Westport Builder Group on 9/18/13. After a year of no activity, lies and excuses, we asked that the deposit be returned. To date, 22 months later, our money has still not been returned - nor has any work commenced.

Desired Settlement: Return of our money plus interest.

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Westport Builder Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)